Amara Singapore

Minssy, your big day coming soon?
Mine is 1st week of DEc

hi ching,

sorry missed your message.. yah lor... i am sure every dinner will bound to have such clowns.. boring.

choose 2 types of flowers ah.. well well, roses is always the safest and most popular. lilies is cool too

i am going on leave only on this friday. then on friday, i will confirm with all my vendors including MUA to confirm the timings.. lotsa calls to make

hi littlemay n minssy

ya, i will give abt $80 - $100 for close frens depending on location. some venues r quite ex hence hope to help them cover a bit. close 1s i'll give more.

anyway, sure mk loss 1 if ppl give oni $20. another bride i noe those ppl promised her to come then fly kite. it think tat's worse n v mean of her frens. :P personally, 1 of my fren promised to come for our fren's wedding. end up nvr even inform any1 then MIA. :P

congrats for ur upcoming big day!!! muz b most excited. :D

minssy,

i like ur deco. sounds lovely. do show me some pics of ur deco after ur AD. thks in adv.

i think when u r tabulating yr budget shld put ave of $50 like that then u will knw roughly how much $$ u need to top up

example :if amara package =750 for sunday x 30 table =$22,500
est any pow = 50pax10x30 =$15,000
the top up = $7,500 ( excluing beer,wine& liquar)

something like that, then u can roughly guage how mcuh u hv to save.

to be kiasu a bit save $10,000 that will be anypow ave $42 per person, should always get the worse scenairo ;P

oh no... that calculation kind of 'wake me up'.
Ya.. tink gotta leave aside abt $10000 in case of loss.

In my opinion, if the guest is not able to afford a reasonable ang bao, maybe he/she is not so well off, we as the host cannot blame them lor.
But if he/she is rich and yet bao only $20, then it's another case liao... Can disown tis friend or blacklist tis relative liao.. keke..

i guess $10000 is the best estimate. just prepare to loss $10000 from your bank :-). Not to forget there is still a lot of hidden cost. So add up should be around $10000. AD ang bo, printing cost etc.

hmmm...so far, what I have heard from my friends is that they don't make lossess at dinners, some even make $$.
For normal friends, we normally give about $80-$100.
For close friends, I usually give more than $100.

Hi Littlemay,

same sentiments... $80-$100.We still have tea ceremony ang baos to cover a bit of the banquet. But most friends now the least i think is $50.. so if each give $50, you lose out abt $200/table, 10 tables will be $2k..

We must be happy brides... dun think abt the angbaos liao.. they will be some pp who give more then can cover those who give less... so not that bad... ( i wish my guest will be like little may)

Jl.. u ask such a qn here at amara... haha... wonder if your friend is any of us.. :P

congrats minssy...nw u muz yang yan and be a meimei bride hor....

ribenna, ur calculation really scare me....coz i noe one gal from another thread did make a loss of 10k lor...so me really keeping my finger cross...and tat is y me is so persistent on free flow of wine and corkage waiver for no limit on no. bottle for wine as these extra cost are someting which u cant calculate initially especially beer....

One of my close friends who went to a dinner at amara tonight say the service not good leh.. the service staff always in hurry to clear the dishes, serve until the lazy susan filled with food scrapes, food didnt portion properly.Bring wrong drinks.. no smile n not polite to ask permission to clear.Maybe this particular waiter serving her table is not good.

The ballroom for more than 32 is very squeezy....

sigh..... must feeback to michelle... so sad..

hi socksham,

hhmmm, overall reviews from the time i started to follow this thread is quite positive.. there were of cos negative stuff but its still quite ok.. i dunnoe man.... like you say, all these are subjective to the waiters.. i am sure there are bound to be some not so professional waiters in every hotel.. .technically speaking, how much are we expect from all these part time waiters that earn a meager $6 per hour or even lesser salary?

personally, i will bring up to the banquet manager when i see him and lets all keep our fingers crossed that we will have lovely waiters & waitresses

i think sometime no choice since most of the waiters are part time. and we should also know that we can't make everyone happy. as long as the overall service is okie I think it should be alright.

ya, i agree w madrock. even bigger names like pan pac & etc do screw up hence i'm not surprised. as for angpows, ribenna's calculation's quite realistic. muz b prepared to mk some loss esp when we've to give back angpow $ to our helpers n etc.

Hello ladies,
I'm a ex-amara bride, just popping in to see how things are going at Amara. Got a call from Michelle today about the complimentary dinner @ The Element for my anniversary.

Just like to let you all know, Amara did a wonderful job during my wedding, was very grateful about it. My guests have v good comment about the food and service, things like " 5 star hotels sometimes cannot even match this type of standard" was rather common...

hi joelle,

cool! congratulations!

abt the complimentary dinner, was it part of the package given to you or was it purely compliementary?

minssy, pimple huh...nvm...do u do facial care at hm...like applying toner and moisturiser...if yes, then wen apply toner, put the cottonwood on the pimple longer...it will help to let it go away faster....

hi gals, i tink waiters r only a small part of the whole banquet...furthermore, nt all waiter like tat....most impt is the food, ambience and wat other entertainment u provide for ur guest ba...

hi joelle

ya, thks for ur comments. phew!!!

btw is ur complimentary dinner part of ur package then? sounds gd le. if yes, muz bug michelle liao. hee hee...

The dinner is part of the package, one thing abt amara is v few perks but the price is reasonable :P

I missed the yam paste "or ni" they served during my dinner, its the best i tasted. Even my guests were still talking about it till today (my AD was in dec 04). Their cod fish is good too but didn't change to that cos rather ex. O ya about their waiter/waitress, according to feedbacks, they seems ok leh... my fren was saying they kept topping their soft drinks made them drink so much hahaha. And the food portion is big. Alamak I am singing their praises hahah

Must add that Michelle was very helpful, popped over before the dinner started and help me solve this last min problem that popped up.

Dun woory it's not Amara's fault. Well, i got this last min request for a vegetarian table! (the guests told the waiter there and then that they wanted to be serve vegetartarian). Luckily, Amara managed to squeese something out for them and heard that its looked good! *PHEW* so I was super impressed!

But ladies, you must take note that things will still go wrong but take it easy.

hi gals, saw from other thread tat amara wedding show price is out $38/per couple....abit ex hor...

joelle, seeing your good comments on Amara food and service make me regret gifing amara up for crown liao...sob sob...

hi joelle,

wah.. cool cool.. and yes, the best is that price is reasonable..

hhhm, or ni is good ah? but i dun eat so i change to mango pudding! hahahahh!

hi every1
not trying to scare u gals off but just stating the worest scenairo.

The cost that i tabulate havent include beer , wine and liquar. That y is always good to get free flow of beer or wine that can cut down yr "unforeseen expenses". And all this cost is only for the banquet only , didnt include in the Bridal package,AD photography , your ANg pow to parent & helper & mics....
So if u include that that *phew* maybe $16,000

Me now tryng hard to save so NO MORE SHOPPING NO MORE TRAVELLING for me *sobsob.....

BUT It is always good to save more if it a subplus better still can treat it as a saving for both of u.

hi diana
dun regret i went to see the CP ballroom not bad like the long march in

heehee acutally i may not be taking up Amara thinking of changing to PPR cos of our budget.

After working out my budget i find that PPR is a much better comfort zone for us.

Hi gals if i am no longer a Amara bride can i still stay in this thread and chit chat wi u gals please..................

minssy, heehee...keeping my finger cross...

ribenna, i tink all the gals will still welcome u here lah...see me also nt a Amara Bride but still poking into this thread to chat....coz the gals here are friendly mah..haha..

hi everyone..

new to tis forum.. can i juz ask if anyone have or is gg to take amara poolside for solemnization? m kinda interested in it.. thanx.. =)

hi diana,

hahahhahah! stressed liaozz stressed liaozz. i must be friendly :p

ok lah..actually so long as there are friendly chats and informative and not so drifty, its still cool...

i posted in another thread recently and that clown actually asked if i am unemployed and how come i can post every hour! i find it so duh and just ignored her.. hahahha

haha....minssy u very bad...ignored ppl...hehe

actually work also can reply ma....kind of relax method to see anyone reply or any new msg...hehe

minssy, haha...u still piss wif the untactful bride msg...u noe wat, wen i saw her msg, i tink she muz be beri beri young tat y ask wifout tinking mah...kekeke...

madrock, how is the solemnization? my younger brother also intend to ROM next yr and they are looking for venue too....is it ex?

hi madrock,

hahahahh. she was duh to ask me stupid questions? hahaah

hi diana,

a.. not pissed lah.. just feeling weird on why pple will message pple like that.. hee....

hi everyone!

just wanna know from your experience whether the sound system in amara ballroom is good? will everyone be able to hear when someone speaks into the mic? coz i've been to one dinner (at another hotel, better not say the name! heehee..), the sound system was so bad that we could only hear muffled sounds when the MC was speaking! hopefully my guest would be able to hear everything clearly on that day...=)

btw do any of you have any idea whether amara is offering new wedding favours? coz the last time i enquired, it was only chocs and another item to choose from..

This morning I saw the Bridal Fair @ Amara Adv in paper liao. Like to share with the rest.

Touched. Impressed. Delighted.
Bridal Fair @ Amara

Saturday 26 November 05, 2pm - 5pm, Grand Ballroom
Level 3 $38 nett per couple (inclusive of High Tea reception)

Reservation: 6879 2626.

Anyone going? I will be attending and maybe we can meet each other on that day :-)

For those who are interested in Amara, you may like to go for the following fair.

Info given to me by Amara:

Bridal Fair @ Amara.

Date : Saturday, 26 November 2005
Time : 2:00pm - 5:00pm
Venue : Grand Ballroom, Level 3
Admission Fee : $38.00 nett per couple (inclusive of a tea reception)

Look out for our attractive Wedding Banquet promotions and exquisite evening and wedding gowns by J&M Design and Photography.

For further information on the Bridal Fair, you may wanna contact their Wedding Planners at 6879 2626.

madrock, me feel like gng to see wat perks amara offer but my hubby dun wan to go since we hv oredi book Crown...sianz manz....so can u let me noe wat perks they offer after u attend the show...thks...

Hay Diana, try persuade ur hubby... Say their hi-tea reception is super nice & have lucky draw!

I attended Amara's fair last year & their hi-tea is good.

Hi Minssy,
Your menu comes with Yam Paste? U mean I can change the dessert and no additional cost?
My current dessert is mango pudding, but my hubby loves "or ni". You think I need to pay extra for it?
My wedding is only about 28 days away....

Hi Littlemay

According to Michelle, if u change to "or ni", each table need to top up $10. I think still abt to manage the cost.

hi madrock,

thanx for replying.. want to kn how the venue is like.. i yet to view the site yet.. got any pics tt u can share? can email to mi at [email protected] thanx..

btw, any co-ordinator to recommend? intend to go down by next wk to look at venue.. =)

hi littlemay,

so long as the dessert are in the same category pricing, its ok....

you can downgrade but if you upgrade then it will come with a cost. madrock is technicall correct that you may have to pay, so do check with michelle cos she may 'waive' off if you have alot of tables or something.. its up to your negotiation already