Amara Singapore

hi minssy

ya, house keys'll b coming in dec. rom in dec oso. our reno shld start in feb/mar cos jan/feb nd 2 source 4 contractor. gown selection in dec/jan. jun/jul - PS. AD in nov.

many things le. v siong even though spread out over a yr. tat's y i muz optimise my time n settle things like AD photography & other stuff where i can juz place a booking n etc.

how abt urself? u settled ur housing liao? including reno?

hi reismion,

good good. you sound like you plans too

i am fortunate.. i dun have to get fed up over house matters now.

hi minssy,
weekend hor, i go KPO at amara. heehee. cos near my PG's shop mah. then saw cocoon's flower decor. errrrr......i feel abit cannot lah. hehehe. IMO only lah.
but hor much better than goodwood park hotel one leh, that one hor, weekend i also go KPO. HEEHEE. actualli go there to buy durian mooncakes. so go and take a peek at their ballroom lor since they preparing for the nite banquet. the liliac and cream roses look so dehydrated!

hi mikmik,

wah! that's bad! dehydrated flowers? whats up with them man...

anyway, after what u mentioned, i will with june florist. hee... anyway, i made an appt with parkers next week to test the wine... hope i can get it settled then at least its 1 item down

oh how's your guest list coming along? you confirmed the final attendance with michelle already?

Hi MikMik

I will be going for my food tasting this saturday and tonight going down to see the set up since one couple is having their banquet today.

Wondering if its ok to skip the first dish for food tasting instead cos seems abit wasted to order that....

By the way, on the day of food tasting, other than commenting abt the food, will michelle run thru anything with us? eg. wedding cards? florist decor? theme to decide??

Wish me luck!

hi minssy,
yah lor! goodwood park some more leh! *shakes head* expected better from them lah.

heehee, u can take a look. if i recall correctly, coccoon did their bridal show's flowers. very nice from the pics but hor must top up lor. *sighs*

oh goody goody!! enjoy your wine tasting!! =) you've got a
311738.gif

i stopped the number from increasing. just confirmed with michelle. =)

hi reismion,
let's just say that the setup i saw wasn't my taste. heehee. have you been to the bridal show before?
anyway, i selected my florist based on the photographs i saw from both florists. =)

hi happy,
that's exciting!! wow!! they can let you have weekend tasting? have fun checking out the decor. =)
it's totally up to you. if you prefer to taste other dishes, then go for them. =)
on day of food tasting, you acn also bring a CD of the songs you wish to play during your dinner or your march-in for a test. i tested my compiled CD there and no problem to play it.
you will be required to fill in a feedback sheet on the food : its taste, presentation, quality, portion, etc.
after your food tasting, you can discuss if you wish to change the dishes with michelle.

cards ~ you can request to collect your acrds during food tasting so you needn't make an extra trip to amara to collect your cards. i collected mine during food tasting.

florist decor and theme decision ~ one month before your AD, michelle will make an appt with you to let you confirm all the details. =)

enjoy your food tasting!!! =)

Hi MikMik, Missy,

I am dissappointed with the invitation card especially the red ones. The colour was dull red and not outstanding. Not trying to be picky but I believe the hotel should not present a lower end design to the customers cos utimately it reflect on the image for the hotel right?

Its not the same as the one I saw previously on the net. Was told by Michelle it belong to the previous batch and they changed vendor.

Well... I am not fussy abt the card but its really not what I wanted and furthermore there isnt any second choice.

Any advise?

By the way, I am quite happy about Michelle personalised service. Was told that she will not be able to attend to me but i will be able to drop by to the third floor if I want to see the actual setup for the grandeur them cos one couple is having their banquet on the day.

By the way, has you gals met up with the florist yet to talk about the floral arrangement?
Is it true that every banquet will be different based on individual preference..cos the one i saw looks abit dull not the type of grand feeling though.. maybe its the flower selection or .. I really dono.. getting abit worried cos personally I am very particular abt the feel of the ballroom for my big day.

So for grandeur theme, what type of flower will suits best? I am think about different shades of pink flower.. rose will not be my option cos I don really fancy though it is pretty.

Any suggestion?

Hi MikMik,

Thanks for the earlier reply. I overlook.

I need your assistance again on certain questions kindly above recent post.

Thks!

hi happy,

the pearly cards are fine.. just simple, square cards and its elegant enough. the red one is ok also ah.. if its too red, it will be really cheena leh

they have 2 florist that you can choose. u decide based on the photos they have. its very subjective. but dun worry abt it. u only need to think abt the flower deco stuff 1 mth before your AD so why fret now

hi happy,

oh dear.....i guess the vendors are different. my cards were OK. only that i find the ivory cards to be of better quality than the maroon ones.

is there anything you would like to exchange away for the cards? maybe you like to source from other vendors for your cards then exchange the cards from amara for something else like wine waiver or free LCD rental or other perks?

nope, i didn't meet up with the florist. i made my choice based on the photos i saw. i understnad there are 2 florists ~ june florist and cocoon.
i chose june florist cos i like the backdrop better. i have in mind quite clearly what i wanted for the flowers.

for the granduer theme, some brides have used roses with lilies. if you like, maybe can ask for geberras for a lively atmosphere? orchids for a exotic atmosphere? i saw from the photos, that june florist used pink roses with white orchids and some filler flowers for the decor. lilies for a grand atmosphere?
maybe you would like to ask for more candles (gold coloured ones) to glam up the ballroom even more?

is there any surcharge if i nd 2 change my AD date? i've already confirmed a date w Amara but nd 2 chg due to personal reasons. pls advise.

hi reismion,

yes.. u can check your contract. the nearer to date, the higher the surcharge is. but you just signed, probably you can negotiate with michelle. explain to her whatever situation you have so that she understands.

hi reismion,

then must consider properly liaozz wor. explain to michelle and ask her to help you.. but i am sure she will if its really of genuine reasons...hope u can get it changed..do update us ah

hi minssy

ya, thks 4 the adv. called michelle. she's ok w changes in date. juz re-sign new contract can liao. nw i nd 2 chk for possible new dates n wkdays cos the orginal date was a Wed.

hi reismion,

yah think carefully lor..

i guess its a case to case basis. think you just signed contract and there are no bookings yet so she allow you to change. make sure your next date is confirmed okie?

Did anyone use or planning to use 2 projectors for your wedding night? If yes, is there any place to put. Is it too cramp?

Heard from my friend that the screen is quite small & ppl sitting at the back might have problems viewing the montage

Hi MikMik,

Congrats for your wedding this sunday.
So conincidently , my hubby to be was toking abt his colleague friend is holding their wedding at AMARA 18 Sept and didnt know is you....

Do you mind if you can show us the flora decor of your banquet as reference after your big day...

Well.. enjoy your day and be mei mei on your big day!!! CONGRATS CONGRATS!!!!

Hi Minssy,

What about your AD? Mine is on 3 Jan 2006?

well i have not got my PS done up yet and still have not bought my shoes yet... stress..

Hi Minssy,

We did check with Michelle & she said that she can provide us the scrren but we will need to get our own projector. When is your AD?

hi happy,

your PS shd be ideally done in oct. u still have time... shoes? not necessary for PS... its so easy to find shoes unless u have feet prob like me cos i am a size 9 and i have broad feet so i cant find shoes from regular shops...hee...

hi ching2627,

my AD is nov 14. probably we can wait for mikmik to come back and feedback to us?

hi clouds,

sure.. but not now cos i dun have the files.. in fact, i will post in multiply when i have time at home

hi valentinejojo,

no perks. u get what u see
. there may be things you can negotiate if you do not require but really depends. if you are doing hotel shopping and expect them to give you the best, then dun think abt it :p

hi reismion,

oh u went for a wedding dinner ah? i guess pple choose there bcos of the name and that the ballrooms are big enough to hold greater crowds.. i anti pan pac one. haahha

hi minssy

ya lor. the ballroom size is comparable to amara's but there's a few on each level hence not so "private" lor. compared to amara's lighting, pan pac's quite brightly lit. the best part was the dry ice effect. there were waiters holding on to the buckets and moving along with the couple while the couple made their 1st march-in. quite funny lor. :P

hi reismion,

i see i see... oh well, individual hotels has their own styles

amara has dry ice effect & fresh flowers petal on the first march in if i am not wrong.

hi reismion,

aiyoh! later then remind me lah! hahah! no lah.. i will update after my AD... lets wait for mikmik's update first.. think she is still busy leh..

Hi Minssy, Reismion,

I am back from my food tasting on saturday.

As promised, here is my sharing to my experience.

6 dishes that i have tasted:

1. Yam Basket
- Wanted to change as hear alot of neg comments but took the chance to try to see how it taste, surprising, it taste much better than i imagine. The yam basket consists of Sotong, some veg, abalone strips and others. Not oily and quite tasty.. just tat the portion is not very huge.

2. Fish
- TASTE good... sauce not saltish. just right

3. Crispy Chicken
- GOOD.. crispy and very tender..

4. Shark Fins
- Alright... But abit watery however my parents feel its ok... his nephew actually had 2 bowls.. well if a 3 year kid enjoy than it should be fine.

5. Sea cumcumber/ Mushroom / Spinach
- Ok for me but the sauce looks too dark wen the dish is presented. I am not a sucker for this dish. My relative says the sea cumcumber texture is alright. cruncy..

6. Stir Fried Prawns with Celery
- Prawns is fresh but abit oily as they stir fried with chily paste.. Something diff but not my type.

The couple that hold their banquet on Saturday had a better ambience comparing to the one i saw on Sept 15. No offence. Maybe I guess is the selection of flower cos both chose Grandeur theme.

Overall, our parents is impressed with the hotel ambience. Myself, I feel that the food met expectation just that presentation of the food can be improved.

hi happy,

cool cool.. guess their food is not too bad.. btw, u skipped the first dish and opt for the sea cucumber dish instead ah?

ambience wise... hhhhmm, like you say, its really the selection of the flowers lor..

so u literally went to see both set ups on sept 15 & 17 ah? :D

hi happy & minssy,

thks so much for the feedback happy. glad ur food tasting went well.
how's the portion like? sufficient for a table of 10? mi personally dislike sea cucumber so wont like the dish. also, my menu for nxt yr a bit diff liao. no more yam basket. :P

as for the arrangements, the 1 i saw on 7 sept was quite diff. using granduer theme but all red roses similar to romance theme. diff florist oso. ambience was gd. hope they'll consider using tat florist.

thumbs up for michelle for helping me out!!! :-D