Amara Singapore

hi lilian,

the red card aint that cheena.. i would say its with a little modern look so no worries...

amara's printer is jasvy but i blacklisted to it. first, the phone conversation i had with them sometime ago dun impress me. second, there are bad comments on them abt making mistakes etc. no good no good.

you can source on your own like what i did. mikmik DIY hers cos she realised its cheaper this way....

Thanks minssy!
U girls r GREAT!
kao_kiss.gif

heard fr michelle tat they might've more wedding favors for nxt yr. will b meeting her again to finalise n sign the contract. keep u posted.
personally i do prefer the white card but find it a tad too pale.

hi lilian,

minssy's right. the new red card is not cheena. the older version is very cheena. the new version reminds me of a CNY card. heehee. i used the red ones for relos.
friends and colleagues i gave the ivory cards.

amara's printer is javsy and i heard bad comments about them so never bother to look for them. hahaha. i enquired with other printers but all so ex cos i had two different types of cards so double the charges, i decided to DIY.

i just join this forum. i'm getting married next year. is considering Amara too. may i know what are some of the additional perks that u all get from michelle?

hi reismion,

last year when i went they said they may be changing this year lor.. but still like that..

hi nerdy,

welcome.

amara extra perks ah? dun have. haahhh! you get what you see
. can negotiate but you gotta 'sacrifice' stuff if you wanna exchange for something else. you will have more bargaining power if you have more tables or if you are having a weekend wedding

hi minssy

i'm having ard 40 tables and is on fri night. we trying to get free flow of beer cos my bf is from air force. those guys are super beer drinkers. but michelle willing to give 50L free only.

hi minssy

ic. hmm... better keep y fingers crossed.

hi nerdy,

v hard to bargain w michelle. mi tried for wknd pkg. gave up n chose wkday instead. plus dun've to commit so many tables.

hi nerdy,

hhhmm.. maybe you can go to the manager, michelle wong, tell her of your strong interest of choosing amara but you will decide on amara only if they give free flow beer? hahhahah

hi minssy,

tt is a good idea. my bf called up Orchard hotel F&B manager to give him a piece of his mind b4 they agreed to give some extra perks..

hi nerdy,

well well, do that only if you are really considering the hotel lah.. say now orchard hotel give way but if you are just shopping for hotels, then its really not nice leh.. just my thoughts

hi reismion,

welcome to the non official amara club!

day time cannot drink wine so i replace with shirley temple okie? haahhha

hi reismion,

that's wonderful!!
310532.gif

*brings out cocktail shaker and ice*
*waits for minssy the cocktail expert*

hi minssy,

sure!! *grin*

to both minssy & mikmik,

thks 4 the warm welcome!! *hugz*
btw 've u gals tried changing the items in the 1st course? e.g. no octopus. wat can i chg to instead?

hi reismion,

i only changed the CMI yam thingy to the coffee pork. super world best nice!

u gotta check with michelle if you dowan octopus.. she gotta check with the chef and revert back to you...

hi reismion,
*hugs*
yep, me changed. heehee. got a few items to change to. just ask michelle and choose from the list. =)

I have also shortlisted Amara as one of my potential banquet venues. Anyone knows what is their max no. of table they can cater. I'm looking around 35 tables.

Is it a must to have wedding flavours ? I feel that it is rather wasteful as many a time I saw guests leaving the items behind after the banquet so I thought it may be better to do without them and exchange for some other things with the hotel.

Need some comments pls

hi minssy & mikmik,

wow! not many ppl like octopus hor. but my contract stated octupus liao. still can chg rite? will chk w michelle again. my htb wants the dishes chgd by food-tasting time so i guess not urgent yet. any recommendations apart fr the coffee pork?

hi shermaine24sg

max is 45. L-shaped layout. u can exchange ur wedding favors for something else. juz chk w the co-ordinator. ;)

hi reismion,

ah that one later then worry lah. too early to do that now. in fact, the next time you liase with your hotel is when it comes to food tasting which is 3 mths before your AD. chill

hi shermaine,

its nicer to have wedding favours as it shows a token of thank you to the guest. its the guests choice to leave it there but still, i think its nice to have. i skipped the chocolate and exchanged for something else and am getting my own wedding favours which i deem as practical to my guests. so, i guess its time you can be creative! ;)

oh btw! if you wanna squeeze 35 tables in the rectangle ballroom, it will be very tight. unless you open the function room like reismion but that means u will have a L shape ballroom already...

Thanks. I'm also looking at march 2007 for my wedding. Do you think it will be too early to do banquet searching now ? Do you think it will be possible for me to secure my dinner with 2006 prices if I book my venue early and since it is also be held early 2007 ?

hi minssy

okie.
will chill out 1st. btw the max i will've is 35 cos 30 is my min. definitely wont've enough for l-shaped layout. :P

btw how many tables will u be having?

hi shermaine24sg

sent u my pkg. 've u received my email?

hi shermaine,
possible to use the longish ballroom for up to 38 tables; only thing will be squeezy. more than that, the other function has to be opened up and you'll get an L-shaped ballroom like minssy said.

hi reismion,
no worries, can change. about 3mths to ur AD, u can call michelle and email her a list of dishes you want to taste. then you can specify what you want to try.
erm.........there's a crystal seafood delight to replace the yam basket dish ~ but comments for that dish also not fastastic.

hi mikmik

ic but michelle said the menu for 2006 has been changed. not sure if can get bk the same dishes. will chk w her when it's nearer to my AD. thks 4 the advice. :D

hi shermaine,

depending on hotel. check with michelle

its too early to book but good that you start reading and get an understanding first. things will change next year so whats now may be different even 1/2 year later.

hi reismion,

oh thought yours is 45? i blur. hee... 35 will be really tight lor.. i think the best is 30 + 2 or 32 + 2. even if its 32 + 2 i think its a little tight already.

hi minssy

it's okie. :D i tink max we might b having 32+2 but not confirmed yet. 've not worked out actual guests' list oso. tentatively 30 if all those we r inviting comes. ;)

i saw the layout for 27+2 ytday. still got lots of space. but u may b rite for ur config of 30+2 or even 32+2. *grin*

hi reismion,

cos i got the floor plan and realised that it will be quite tight to have more than 32 tables. i think the earlier part of the archive also stated something like that.. cant remember.

hi minssy

no wonder.
tink i saw the flr plan b4 but it was a brief look hence not much recollection.

juz a thought. i've read fr fellow forum members tat if i book a room at a hotel on my ROM day, i will get a promo rate. do u tink i can ask for something similar fr amara?

hi reismion,

my feel: maybe not.. they aint so generous. even if there is a discount, its quite minimum...

hi lilian,

i also thinking of second projector screen at the back but i will see how it goes.. ok dun be scared. its my personal feel that if the ballroom seats more than 32 + 2, it will be cramp with lesser walking space between the tables. they can contain a few tables more just that there will be less walking space nia....

hi clouds,

not yet... hahah! very late hor? i am in the processing of confirming the designs and will only get it next weekend i suppose

hi minssy.. ok lah... do get it done fast so that you can start to give out liao loh.. wah.. this year hor lots of people getting married.. so some can't make it.. cos they scared "chong dao"

hi minssy

mi oso.
may i noe which decor r u using? can send me ur venue pics after ur AD? thks in adv. heard tat they might chg florists nxt yr. :P

hi reismion,

my AD is on nov so i will only confirm stuff with michelle in oct. actually having 2 florist to decide will be good enough. this part u dun have to worry at all

hi minssy

icic.
tat's gd. 1 less thing 2 worry abt. *wide grin* overall how wld u rate their food?
how many courses did u go 4 during food tasting? mi got oni 7 courses for 8 pax.

hi reismion,

their food is not bad.. our packages is different. we will have 6 course for 6 pax only. anyway, that one later then u worry also lah. hahhah

hi reismion,

yah abit.. hee.. cos its too early for you to plan for certain things and there is nothing you can do except to wait. hee....

maybe you can look for your PG, VG, and just basically compile contacts. its something like, as you read more, you will have a better idea of what u wanna do...

then i suggest you come out with your budget too..

hi minssy

ya, i noe wat u mean. settled venue, BS n house location liao. nxt is AD photography (and videography) & house matters.