Amara Singapore

hi happy,

did you call her at 6879 2573? actually she is quite slow in replying emails cos thats the generic email addy.... i normally waited for 2 days but i'm ok cos i am not in a rush.

if you still cant get her, you may wanna call her boss michelle wong i think. just kindly tell her that the line is too busy lor..

Hi happy, she is quite prompt in replying emails leh.. i got replies quite fast.. maybe you should key in subject as Wedding Banquet cos they dun have individual email account.. Even if michelle didn't reply, someone else will reply on her behalf..

Hi minssy, you've got mail..

hi den

quite close la. :D

to all,

fyi michelle's quite bz w courses. been attending during office hrs. leave her a msg if u call her DID. mi tried reaching her to re-schedule my appt ytday but oni managed to get her abt 4pm. lol.

Hi Reismion..

I think she is on off on sat ..and another day in the weekdays..

She also busy clearing her off-in-lieu at this period (best period be'cos dun have wedding dinner in 7th month) otherwise, her boss goingto MAKAN all the offs liaoz..

Hi gals, I'm back! (still remember me not?)
4 more months to my AD liao, so hav to revisit tis thread 2 'refresh' myself. keke...

Need some advice here... When should i confirm t number of tbls wif Michelle? 2 mths in adv?
When will she pass me t carpk coupons?
Thks

MikMik & Minssy, I forgot, when ur AD huh?

hi lilian,

welcome back..

normally you confirm the final attendance 1 week before cos by the the RSVPs will be in already. but 1 mth before your AD when you see her to settle stuff like deco & flowers, i think she will just check lah..

carpark coupons is on AD itself after you check in. then you can pass to your jiemei for distribution.

my AD is in 3 mths time, mikmik's one is next mth

so your ours, wait for our feedback :p hee..

i see i see... I tot we can get t carpk coupons earlier so tat we can distribute to our relatives when we pass them t invitation cards. But it's ok la...
T number of invation cards we get will depends on t number of tbls rite?

mikmik, how's ur prep?

hi lilian,
wow!! still got time to do your preps.
abt 2wks to ur AD, u have to confirm ur number of tables. the carpark coupons will pass to u on AD itself. groom and overall coordinator and emcee have to go for briefing. u can ask them to pass to ur overall coordinator.
my AD is next mth. hehehe.
my preps getting busier. hehehe. hotel-wise so far 80% settled liao. just some final details to tie up, that's all.

hi lilian,
wow!! still got time to do your preps.
abt 2wks to ur AD, u have to confirm ur number of tables. the carpark coupons will pass to u on AD itself. groom and overall coordinator and emcee have to go for briefing. u can ask them to pass to ur overall coordinator.
my AD is next mth. hehehe.
my preps getting busier. hehehe. hotel-wise so far 80% settled liao. just some final details to tie up, that's all.

hi Den

hope ur meeting w michelle went well. juz an update. we will b booking amara if all goes well. waiting 4 contract 2 b prepared.

how abt urself? booking oso?

hi minssy & mikmik,

get ready 2 welcome me 2 ur club! ;)

I am back! Well just to check, other than grandeur theme, any others to recommend me to take on.
I love the grandeur but happen that my evening gown is full white lacy with gold skirting, i tot i will look like the table clothe color so tot of getting another theme.

And also, understood that we can chose the flower we have in mind for the overall set up / back drop. Upon one thread, I understood that amara actually engaged June Florist, do I have to request or will michelle propose in this instances?

Any advise?

hi happy,
welcome back!
another theme would be romance theme. nice too!
you can ask for alternating napkins to be red and dark gold if you are afraid of too much red.

hmmm.....the "central" flower(s) you will get to choose.
the backdrop on the stage ~ only 2 to choose from. so whichever florist u decide will depend on the backdrop.
i chose june florist cos i liked the backdrop better.
amara works with 2 florists for the decor. one of them is june florist.
michelle will show you an album of photos of the decor then you can decide better. better still if there's a "live" setup for you to take a look (i.e. a wedding taking palce that evening).

oh yes! also will get to choose the type of cake. the romance theme cake is the nicest!!!!!!

hi reismion,

u managed to convince your hubby ah? hee.. ok i prepare a pre welcome club cocktail for you first :p

hi mikmik,

oh they have different cakes ah? i thought its the standard 'cone shape' one?

hi minssy,
yep, 3 to choose from. a three tier square, a three tier round and a cone.
nope, guess cos they advertise with that cone shaped cake, that's why.
can't remember whether square or round 3-tier is for granduer theme...the tiered cakes will be decorated with flowers, depending on the type of flowers you choose for your decor.
but i chose the romance theme cake which is the cone shaped one. hahahaha.

hi mikmik,

ah i see i see! that long time ago when i went to see the actual set up by another couple, they had the grandeur theme and cone cake too. unique though its alittle weird! hahahh! so i was like 'ok lor.. take lah take lah'! hahahah

btw, i am going to visit the printer this thur to let them do the card. hope i can get the actual cards by 2 weeks time. then i will show you okie? ;)

hi minssy,
ohhhhh! think we saw the same setup? cos i saw a couple who chose granduer theme and with the cone cake. heeheehee.
cool!!!!!!!!!!!!! sure sure!!!!! this is so exciting!!!!!!

hi mikmik,

hahaahha! yah yah! then that couple decorate the guests walkway with tealight candles.. i am gonna do that too... hee... btw, do u happen to know if they will have a seperate table to put your wedding album?

hi minssy,

ooooooooooh! that means different couple.
they brought their own tealights? so nice!!!!!

yep yep, according to michelle, amara will provide a glass table for our wedding albums.

hi mikmik,

hahah! yah. i thought i saw rose petals scattering around along the walkway too. cant remember. but i am gonna do that...

ok glass table ah? okie... dunnoe if i shd decorate that table. shall see how..

another thing. did amara provide u with the signature scroll or something?

hi reismion,

ok. then we shall welcome you next week! haahh! how did you managed to convince your hubby anyway?

hi minssy,
ohhhhhh! nice!!!
i'm getting guests to toss rose petals for our march-in. =)
hmmm.......i not too sure whether already decorated? maybe can ask amara for some rose petals to scatter on the glass table. will let you know after my AD. =)
yep, you can choose white or red scroll.

hi mikmik,

i think amara will provide the rose petals too rite? i am going to use bubbles though... already bought the bubble bottles from borders.

white or red ah? sounds like i am going to take the white one. red one sounds cheena leh. ahahhaha

hi minssy,
i posted this b4 (taken from the SB amara page) the scrolls can be seen here:
308353.jpg

white scroll on the left with words "OUR WEDDING"
red scroll on the right with the "XI" character

hi mikmik,

thank you for posting the picture! muacks!

bubbles will be for first march in... then maybe roses for second? or maybe none? dunnoe. see how. hahahah

hi minssy,

welcome!! =)

ooooooh! nice nice!!
heehee, no worries, the florist can provide u wif the rose petals.
just get ur emcee to announce when to blow bubbles and when to toss rose petals. =)

hi minssy,

no need to worry so much abt emcee script if u not particular. amara will provide u with the generic one when you go for your discussion wif michelle.
hahaha, but i veri particular lah so i re-wrote the whole thing. kekeke.

hi mikmik,

roger! actually i am not that particular. in fact, i dowan my emcees to follow strictly. i wanna have a light hearted event and not a formal one so i think i will give them a guideline and let them 'zi you fa hui'.

hi minssy

actually it was the price tat got him 2 decide. told him tat it's more affordable. after doing his sums, he agreed.

didnt noe got so many types of cakes le. will chk out the arrangement 4 the wedding nxt wk.
btw michelle did show us the scroll. looks ok oni la. wld prefer the white 1 cos the red 1 is a bit too dark a shade. :P hope they chg design nxt yr. ;)

hi mikmik and minssy,

thks for the info.

Dono whats with me.. signing the package and not knowing a tiny bite of info unlike reismion. michelle took the initiative to share with them like the decor, scroll , cakes.

I am not that lucky, wen first took up the package, the guy who served us seems putting on airs, but becos the price is right and plus we do not have time to source for other hotels, we like the ambience, we took it!

I think both of you deserved a pat or appreciation from AMARA cos I feel that you both did a pretty good job than that guy who served me.!!!

Without both of your contributions and willingness to share in this thread, I think i will be so lost...

Coolz~!

hi happy,

oh really ah? woohoo! anyway, who is your coordinator now? michelle or the stuck up guy, whoever he is? hee

hi happy,

you're most welcome
we are all amara BTBs

oic. was that alfred?
i was turned off to have him answer my phonecall when i called to look for michelle. he was SO RUDE on the phone!
he went like "yah, what? michelle not around. so what you want?"

hi mikmik,

wah! so rude ah?? he got freaking PMS ah? if i call and he is like that to me, i sure complain one! oh no! how can he exist in the hotel industry!? shd complain to the boss michelle wong man!

hi minssy,

yah lor. i was so turned off. i just told him in a very crisp tone that "pls ask michelle to call me at 12345678. my name is _______"

lucky he is not my coordinator else CONFIRM i wouldn't have signed up with amara.

hi mikmik,

wah lau! actually its all these that matters lor.. when i was shortlisting hotels last year, i called M hotel. the lady also sux.. she may not be as rude as this alfred but damn yah yah & 'buay kam wan' lor.. and with this, i chop M hotel...

hi minssy,

yah!! it's the first impression that counts. when i was calling up hotels, same thing. got encountered some "we got too much biz liao so bo chap" type like marina mandarin ~ the woman went "we fully booked!" then slam down the phone with a "clack". never even have a chance to ask about alternative dates! *thumbs down for marina mandarin's service*

hi mikmik,

oh! u know what? i wanted to say that i still kinda miss the cara phua from marina mandarin. that was the first hotel we visited. cara is sooooo nice! first, she is a hot chick. second, she serves us drinks. third, she is very patient and nice and even called & followed up but i had to say sorry. hahah! well i think it really depends on the person man! we got a guy who kinda spoilt amara's rep and we have a lady that you encountered that spoilt marina mandarin's rep.... sigh. what can i say?

hi minssy

ya, totally agree. :D she's quite nice as well. i'm sure we'll work well w her. my hubby said she n i juz as talkative. lol. *grin*

hi minssy,
ohhhhhh! we received such different treatments from the same hotel! i guess every hotel will have some black sheep. and in amara's case, we all now know who is it.

halo,
can i noe if t red & white invitation cards from Amara r of t same size?
Cos i'm intending to take mixture of them, but afraid t printer might charge extra for printing diff size insets.

hi lilian,
the red and ivory cards are of different sizes.
yep, the printers will charge extra for printing diff sizes cos a new printing mold has to be made.

Thks minssy & mikmik

My friend's printer charges $30 for t additional mold. I tink it's still ok.
Is t red card realli too cheena?
N for those Amara's recommended printers, do they charge cheaper? Any idea?