Amara Singapore

hi minssy,

shouldn't be a problem to request blue roses or pink roses. the actual grandeur theme done up by june florist had pink roses, white orchids and purple forget-me-nots and gold candle. quite lovely also. however, i prefer to have one central flower. some brides want a mixture of say, red & pink roses or red & white roses.
pending the confirmed attendance, number of veg guest and the songs. =)

morning mikmik,

oh that! o man! i was just sorting out with my FH last nite... i think the guest list is gonna be a nightmare of all brides including me man! faint.

hi hi minssy,
i just sorted out abit of table arrangements with hubby. already FAINTED!! now still need to figure out who to sit at which table................*turns to jelly*

hi minssy,
yah :-( and also got "who dun wanna sit with who" also not easy. end up having gaps which aren't easy to fill...

hi mikmik,

wah i guess i will reach your stage soon.. do u have alot of those outside friends that are like in 1s or 2s and have prob sitting them?

hi mikmik & all amara BTBs,

i'm currently liasing w michelle nw. find her a bit bo chup. does any1 have comments abt her service? i.e attitude & etc. pls give me ur comments. thks 4 ur help.

hi minssy,
once ur guests RSVP, can start on seating arrangements. i do have some like that. i try to group them together wif other frnds who r 1 or 2 also to form a table.

hi reismion,

she is relatively new but i dun think she is bo chup....since the first time when i liased with her, she has always been pleasant to me....and she is still as chirpy till now.....

hi mikmik,

roger! so i guess that will be my main homework from sept.. zzzzzzz

hi minssy

thks 4 the feedback. she's quite pleasant i agree but mayb we met her on sat when she's usually quite tied up. :P will monitor n see how 1st. btw which day of the wk is ur AD on? we r thinking of sunday but perks-wise, michelle cant offer us much le.

hi reismion,

so far, ok. i usually email her. her replies come back quite fast. sometimes even late at night. oh, sat she had all back-to-back appts so her time quite limited. best to make appt with her on weekdays so she can show you more. basically amara pkgs are quite comprehensive. depends on what types of perks you want. juggle around and see what can u give or take. =)

hi reismion,

yah maybe. during that monday when i went for food tasting, she cant talk long to another walk in couple also... no choice....

mine is on a monday. ok amara is not the best to give all perks but well, it really depends on what u want...

hi mikmik n minssy

thks 4 sharing. i find amara's prices quite ok but my HTB is worried abt the food. is the food gd in ur opinions?

hi reismion,

u r welcome. generally not much worries on the food. you can read our earlier postings about the food tasting. =) impt thing is u r both comfy with the hotel.

hi reismion,

u shd see my review on the food in one of the previous archives *drool*

M hotel ah? expensive leh.. i find it overpriced.

hi reismion,

yep, minssy's right, her food tasting pics were in the previous archives. food-wise all's cool. u can change the menu items if u like.

hmmmm...........M hotel.....kept increasing prices and every year's increase quite high. if u really keen, need to lock-in the prices quickly.

hi mikmik & minssy

thks for the feedback. i do find it quite overpriced to. will try n tok 2 my htb. he really liked m hotel's decor a lot le. actually me 2. :P cos amara's lighting is on the darker side. not so brightly lit.

hi reismion,

a... if you are not budget conscious, then i guess its ok... for me, amara is the perfect place: cheaper, next to MRT, not bad coordinator (though she can be abit slow to my emails :p), modern deco, nice food. when i calculate the difference in price just for the ambience & super nice bridal suite x the number of tables i will have, i can use that extra for other stuff

Hi pple..

I ave shortlised Amara as one of the hotels that i will hold my dinner. Hopefuly i could get a good deal from michelle. going to secure the 789 pack/ weekend. Heard fronm you guys that have to insert the coffee pork ribs and cod fish...

anyone have any idea when will the wedding show be coming for amara??

hi minssy

unfortunately i am. :P i do like amara but nd 2 convince my HTB. can save a lot of $$ as well and it's conveniently located. ;)

btw can u pls share w me ur pkg? will b arranging to meet michelle again to discuss abt the wkday pkg cos wknd wise, it's v hard 2 strike a deal w her as she has her constraints.

thks in adv for ur help.

hi reismion,

i help minssy answer. =) for pkgs, it's best u get from michelle directly cos our prices are for 2005. for 2006 weddings, there's another price-list. think the biggest difference for weekday and weekend weddings is the free-flow beer (wkday) and one barrel (wkend) and of cos the different dishes in the menus.
wkend dishes are more ex so if want to swop for certain weekend dishes from the wkday menu, have to top up from the wkday menu.

the number of perks u want will depend on the number of tables that u have and the type of perks u want.

for me, all the perks i asked for, i got them except for one -- the wine waiver for 24 bottles could not be increased. but then again, it's a weekday wedding so i guess wine consumption won't be that high.

hi mikmik,

we are partners in crime! hee....

hi reismion,

then save the money lah.. how many of your guests are going to remember the deco of the M hotel etc? its like, oh its nice.. thats abt it rite? anyway, honestly speaking, amara is not a hotel that will give super many perks one... what u see is what u get

hi mikmik,

high five! ;)

hi reismion,

yah do update us lah... work out the effective savings if you use amara and show him lah :p

hi reismion,

yah... sat is always the busiest for them i guess... hope u can get what u want.. so long as its within your budget..

hi reismion,

yah... sat is always the busiest for them i guess... hope u can get what u want.. so long as its within your budget..

hi reismion,
hope your "persuasion" will work well on your HTB. =) seriously, what ppl will remember about ur wedding dinner is number 1 = how nice the food is and number 2 = whether it's fun or boring. fun is up to you to plan the dinner "entertainment" for your guests to ensure they have an enjoyable time. =) frankly, only us brides will be concerned about decor. those little details like invitation card design, video/photo montage, march-in songs, etc which we concentrate so much on is actually for ourselves lor. =)

have a good appt with michelle. =) hopefully u can get all the perks u ask for. anything else u need to know, just PM minssy or myself. =) hehehe ~ minssy, i also volunteer you hor. =P

hi minssy,
YEAH!! ^5 =)

hi mikmik,

sure sure... i hereby appoint both of us as the non official amara promoters! wahahhhahah!

i have to agree with you said abt us brides concentrating so much on the card design etc etc. for the cards, i surfed some websites to get an idea and even made mock up cards just to see for myself what i want! hahahhah! oh well, but i am not complaining cos i am super enjoying the whole process! haahhah! i just wish that i have more free evenings to go recce for stuff.. keke....

Hi Minssy..

U also getting a package from Amara?? I will also be meeting michelle on monday in the evening part. Have to squeeze some perks from her. Very difficult to get those perks..i will be looking more on the weekend package (small request from my future mother in law)

hi den,

i am the amara unofficial promoter leh.. already got package from them. AD in 3 mths time :D

yes be prepared not to be able to get more perks from them. like what i mentioned in previous postings, amara is not generous in perks...

hi minssy,
YEAH!!! kekekekekekeke.
need to work late on weekdays?

hi den,
it all depends on what u r asking for. if u r asking for alcohol waiver then it's very difficult. not only just amara, i know of even stricter hotels on the alcohol regulations.

hi minssy,
IMO hor, the perks are almost similar. cards, parking coupons, hotel stay, alcohol waiver. all i asked for extra also got except alcohol waiver. chair covers no need to pay. decor got nice florist to do not some "in-house" type or fake flowers *shudders*
anything else i left out?? must do more hotel shopping then will know and can compare better. some of the other hotels are extremely strict that chair covers also need to pay, wine no waiver (becos they want u to buy their house wines), cards only 60% attendance, flowers decided by hotel, cannot change. must pay $$$ to change flowers of your choice. *faints*

hi folks,
i am a newcomer to this thread. I was considering Amara for my wedding. Had already went down to Amara and my coordinator was a guy. Din get much perks out from them.
i opted out for the food tasting and got corkage waiver for 24 bottles and 1 more night free stay. can i go better than that?

hi mikmik,

nah dun have to do OT at all... just that i always have stuff in the evenings and hardly have time...

hi rainette,

nothing much i guess.. corkage waiver for 24 bottles quite standard leh... 1 more night free ah? for what ah? hee... oh yah their projector is chargeable for my weekday wedding but i chose to opt out of the wedding favours and got them to waive it.

hi minssy

may i noe how tbls r u having? cos if u get more than their min, higher bargaining power le. tat's wat michelle told me. :P

Hi Reismion

I will be meeting michelle on monday also but at 7.30pm.30 mins later than you. Which means might get to se you guys. Anyway, she told me that there will be a military wedding coming up which has 45 tables, so i wanna take a look also. Its going to be in early Sept.

hi reismion,
(i always have a prob typing your nick out :p)

i will have about 30 - 32 tables. i think min is 25 if i am not wrong. anyway, all these bargaining power thingy can only be negotiated nearer to date i guess.

hi clouds,

my cards are not done yet. now doing the wordings cos need to get everything perfect before i send to the printer. and yes please, i would love to see yours! hee

hi rainette,
usually many hotels talk in terms of dollars and cents. if you want to exchange for something, either you get back equal or slightly lower value back.
considering amara's corkage is $20/bottle, a 24bottles waiver is $480.
some other hotels charge $30+ for corkage and there's still a +++ on the already expensive corkage. *faints*
yep, minssy's right, that amt of waiver is quite standard.
with 24 bottles of wines, you can serve 120 glasses of wines -- more than a 30L barrel of beer which is only 90 glasses.

Hi Minssy/ MikMik,

Ladies, I wrote michelle an email asking for the dates of the food tasting but she has not responded to me since last wednesday.

Tried contacting her but was being put on hold and the line cuts off.

Oh no.. what should I do?