Amara Singapore

Hi Amy,

Me still early to start preparation...oni book venue, AD photographer & videographer...BS will confirm in Dec...guess will oni be busy by next yr....

Hi Shell,

Ya, I hv booked CF Tien.....he has just increased his prices to $800...

I intend to play new age piano songs thru' out the dinner...

Hi Tare, Oh so fast increase the price?? luckily I paid deposit early.. Which videographer u choose? I havent source for any1 leh..

I will go for Sentosa for my PS tomorrow..

hi shell,

can i have your email address, need to tell u something. I intend to play songs with singer singing. most probably pop songs.

hi cookie_baby
welcome to Amara bride-to-be!!! i'm amare bride to be as well. don't worry liping is a nice lady.

hi tarepanjo,
when is your AD?

jas : ha ha... i like the way you put it - so funny
you won't want the whole ballroom to be so "quiet" right? music at the background makes the whole atmosphere even better - especially when you are playing your favourites! for me, i chose to play jazz music throughout the dinner

Hi Shell,

Ya, he want to match his videographer partner prices...tat why, he increase his charges...but he got skills & experience...so i thk most pple would not mind paying him more...i oso hv pay him my deposit...so lucky..still having the $680 package..kekeke...

My videographer is freelance one...he oni accept a few deals per mth cos it oni his part-time job...his schedule 4 tis yr & early next yr r all booked up...u can consider CF Tien partner...if u combine wif CF Tien...thk he charge cheaper...

Do share with us on ur PS...

Hi Jas,

My AD on 13 Oct 05...still a long way...all of u r so much earlier than mine...

Hi Amy,

Alot of pple choose Jazz as the backgrd music thru'out the nite...nice choice..i luv piano music...very soothing...hopefully, my guests won't fall zzzz...kekeke...

Hi Cookie_baby,

Do ask Li Ping whether u can still request for some additional perks...she is very helpful...

Amy: mine is wkday package so food tasting is not included. Haha cun wait till then. I'm with GHA(Tampines), love nest is at woodlands but yet to finish so going to stay with IL for the time being. Due to work, honeymoon postphone till dun noe when... but nvm better save the $ for lovenest.. :P.Hye mind sharing what u use for ur march-in songs? I am still scratching my head for them....

Jas, I'm most likely going to play my own songs.

Shell: me too, signed with them.

cookie: dun worry LiPing is a v nice person, call or email her and discuss on your concern.

which theme did u choose? i'm thinking of getting romance theme, but feel that overall it is too red. any comment for the cone shape dummy cake? to me, it look like a christmas tree.
But i like the stage decoration. Still wondering which theme to take. Comments?

thks 4 ur advice. will call her really soon...since i wanna view e rest of the themes besides Grandeur.

anyone noe if e screen provided by amara is the make shift type of auto roll down from ceiling type???

e last time i saw, i remember its at the side of the stage. n its a portable type so its bery pathetic and not all guests will b able to c...

jas, Most likely I am going for the grandeur theme. I agree romance is like too red for me..I find the cake something different fr the normal ones we saw elsewhere, pretty ok with it.. anyway its just for posing :P. Have you seen all the themes? If not can find out fr Li Ping then go and take a look. I personlly finds natural a bit too green for me..

cookie, amara's screen is a make shift type. According to amy all the guest will be able to see it. Hey just out of curious, why u sign up with Amara since you dun like their facility?

hi joelle,

OMG. it looks really unpro for a hotel ballroom to hv a portable screen.

i nb mention i dun like their facility...jus dat when i liase wif celin (at my time), felt dat she was inflexible.but i still took up the package coz i liked the hotel & ballroom decor.plus my fren had her rom there.n the feedback was the food was good for ballroom standard
.plus, i signed up last year.so my package price is really attractive as compared to alot others dat we viewed.so i took basically bcoz of budget and the entire feel of the hotel.

tell u something, i haven even been to the wedding suite leh.n they wanted to charge me $90 for a day room leh...when my fren got it at dat rate aso..bt hers was a one nite stay. will voice out to liping when i c her...actually my only complain was dat my co-ordinator was bery inflex n slow at respond. so now change liao, hope it will still turn out well

Hi Jas,

I also find Romance too red....remind me of chinese rest....kekeke...i will take Grandeur instead...like the gold feel...my hb dun like the "X'mas" cake...kekeke...so thk, we will not choose tat...but Li Ping ever mention b4 tat they do chgn their cake design occasionally...

Hi cookie,

I hv seen the set up of the screen...ok lah, not as bad as u thk...it at 1 corner near to the stage...

day rm @ $90 is consider quite ex...u must try to make it a 1 nite stay...

Hi Cookie,

ICIC, same here too then, I chose Amara cos of the good entire feel + reasonable pricing
Just to go bear with the portable screen... I am thinking of put it elsewhere rather then the corner in front... not sure if its a good idea... i am thinking of putting it against the wall where we march in the mirror wall at the other end)...

Amara pretty inflexible on their perks, can try talking to Li Ping see how she can help. Will be good to get a night stay.

hi joelle,
comforted to noe i m nt e only wan feeling this way

actually i still considering whether to use the screen or not...so obiang leh.

besides putting against the wall, i aso got consider putting on the stage...but will become bery cloudy rite...haiz...we brainstorm for ideas tog ok.

yalor, they pretty inflex leh. mayb coz of their pricing lah...will try pyshco li ping hehehe. wish me luck.

when's ur AD btw

hi hi all.....

hmmm.... my boyfriend thinking of granduer theme as well. but i like the stage decor for romance! I guess had to make arrangement with liping to take a look. My mum said that the VIP table for natural theme look malay!!!!

LUCKILY most of you had the same thinking as me, at first i thought that i must be crazy to take up amara.
the reason i take up amara is the same as cookie baby, the hotel & ballroom decor!!! And the price as well. It is cheap compared to other hotels and near MRT.

cookie baby: what is the meaning of day room? y dun you make arrangement with liping to view the suite. I had visited. it look clean and cosy but the other thing is that it is small and no kitchen. btw, i dun really need kitchen!!!

Hi Tare & Joelle, I have just finshed my PS yesterday.. Went to Sentosa even though it was drizzling but luckily when I reached there the rain has stopped.. I have 1 Kua, 1 WG, 1 Actual EG & 1 EG & Casual... It is fun but tiring as the whole process last for 11 hours

hi shell,

i'm sorry, send the post to the wrong forum. I'm sorry!!!

u mean u change all your grown in the public toliet? My bridal shop told me that it is difficult to change in the public toliet therefore only one dressing in outdoor. He is quite reluctant to let me change to casual wear as well. Guess had to negotiate with him.

btw, did u go to Amara for ps?

Hi Jas,

I did not go to Amara for PS.. Actually they ask me to change into casual in the public toilet but due to rain, we took the casual wear in the studio.. For my case I wear a different WG for outdoor shots. The gown is much simple and easy to walk with... Anyway by the time I reach studio the gown was very dirty fill with mud...

Hi Cookie,

I oso choose Amara becos of the pricing & the ballrm...u r not the oni one...

The stage is not very big leh...if u put the screen on stage...abit cramp...

Hi Jas,

The meaning of day room is to use the room for a few hrs...mayb frm 12pm - 8pm...cannot stay till the next day...

Hi Shell,

Lucky u...manage 2 finish all the outdoor although it rainy...Other than Sentosa, where else did u go ?

No wonder, BS never allow us to wear a new WG for outdoor shot...otherwise, will feel so heartache if all cover wif mud...must show us ur photo when it ready..kekeke...

Hi Joelle,

How's ur photo ? Can let us see see liao ?

Hi Tare, I went to the studio at 9am and by the time finish the studio studio already 4plus reach Sentosa at 5.00pm.. Went to chapel in sentosa.. Very nice u can go there... Then went to a lotus pond (suggested by the photographer) Finally at the bridge near the beach then head back to studio.. If u gg beach must wear a flat slippers easier to walk.. Luckily mine no sunlight if not will sure perspire

I'm new in this forum. I am thinking of having my wedding dinner in Amara Hotel. Was wondering if you gals out there have the pics of the ballroom. And oso how is the food, good or bad.

hi shell,
i aso went to sentosa for my ps.there is a church in sentosa???i went to st theresa the church outside sentosa near psa.tink its the church when zoe tay had her wedding....

so lucky u!!!when we were at sentosa, the sun was smiling so brightly at us....we were melting under it....

karen & cookie : like all brides, i was fearful that the food quality will be lousy (after viewing all the -ve comments in previous threads). All i can say is that it's not those very very nice type, like some restaurants out there, but don't worry, it's of acceptable quality
give you a tip - choose the cod-fish dish, you won't regret it...

i had my wedding in nov last year. was nervous and happy throughout the day, so didn't really think of tiredness!

Morning ladies,

Shell, sou wear outdoor WG for outdoor huh. I changed into EG at public toilet. Not too bad, just got to find a clean one. Hey i agree on the wearing slippers on beach part, it made walking a lot more 'elegant' hahaha.

Amy: the ballrm looks fantastic. Just wat I imange, cun wait till then hehehe.

Tare: Not collecte PS pix yet, should be soon, once got it will let u all see.

Shell: I went to Punggol marina then to fullerton for nite scene. Mine was not tat rush for outdoor. Actually waited half an hr at boat quay for the sun to go down. Then I changed at East Coast Park's toilet. *Lucky it was dry & clean*

Cookie: where did u go for PS?

Think I have the nearest AD here.

Hi shell, my AD is still not confirm yet... Feeling so stress over the discussion with my FH. Now only getting information for banquets and etc...

So how about you, shell???

Hi Joelle, my PS started at 9.00am by lunchtime (2.00pm) I only finished 3 outfit.. By the time I finished my WG Shot was already 3.00+ close to 4pm and it start to raining so no choice by the take casual wear indoor lor.. A bit worry dunno the photos nice or not. If not I will regret.. Heehee...

btw Joelle, hv u prints the inserts for ur wedding cards? Did u got the address of Amara from Li Ping?

Hi Karen, mine wedding is mid jan (sat). Settle PS and now preparing the guest list

Hi Shell, glad to hear that you have settle most of the stuff... unlike me, being stuck in the middle. SIGH... so which bridal shop did you engage to??? and what is the package like???

Hi Karen, I signed up with Whitelink... My package is $3988 consist of 1 MTM EG & 1 OTR WG plus photos + bridal car..

What is date that u have in mind for ur wedding??

hi shell & joelle,

i had 3 locations for outdoor.one at St Theresa Church (near PSA), Sentosa Beach & Tg Rhu...

my make up started at 930am and by the time i finish all my 5 outfits, it was 4+. so only managed to go out at 5. me aso had a change of outfit into EG at Tg Rhu.lucky the toilet was clean coz my photographer jus assumed gt toilet available for me to change. by the time i went back to BS...it was 8+ liao. went home only konk out str away.

shell,
ur AD is close to my
. i booked my wif celine in late jan...before CNY...i believe u did it wif Pauline???

shell,
another thing...hv u contact lipeng???wat needs to b done wif amara at this point huh???we are just gathering guest list now leh...so dunno wat else to do

Hi shell, i am planning to have my AD on Dec05. Which date still dun know yet, cos have not get someone to calculate for us yet. Now only planning which banquet to go to,in hand only have concorde packages... but heard that concorde ballroom is very complicated to the guest... thats y i am thinking of having it Amara cos from the thread the comment is good.

wow...so many msgs for me to catch up...

Amy : So u oso choose Grandeur theme...btw, did u go to Amara florist to choose the flowers 4 ur ballrm decor ?

ladies : seems like photo shoot really take a long day...must really rest the next day...thk i will wan 2 choose a Fri...last Sat..saw a couple taking their PS at Intercon staircase...so nice...kekeke...

Cookie : will u be having ur fd tasting ? hv u got ur cards ?

Joelle : When r u having ur GDL ? Hv u order the teochew biscuit ?

Karen : Most impt is to get the date...then u can go ahead to settle the venue & other stuff...

Shell : When r u viewing ur PS photo ? Dun worry..they will make sure all ur photo turn out nice...then u will choose alot extra...kekeke

Hi Tare, Yup u r right it is better to choose a friday.. I regret to choose wed as it is in the middle of the wk so tired... Better book early if u want to choose fri.. If u choose to go Sentosa be prepare to Q at sentosa to take photos.. This is wat my photographer warned when I told him I want to go there.. I will be viewing the photos in abt 2 wks time.. Dunno can get back all the photos and negative or not... My photographer use analogue and not digital.. So I will have to scan my photos for the montage...

Hi cookies, Hv u collected the cards?? If yes, hv u print the cards?? I have collected my cards a mth ago but dunno how to print amara address on the inserts... Most probably I will go to the BRas Brash which Joelle recommend... I only deal with Li Ping, she is ok lah quite friendly but inflexible when u r exchanging the perks for other things..

Hi Karen, The most important things to do is to decide on the date then start sourcing for banquet venue.. Hv u settle for house?? I have a friend who is getting married in next nov already find someone to calculate the date so should not be difficult to find someone to calculate the date..

i hv only emailed liping once for some info...till date, she aso haben call me though she said she gonna call me soon.is it too early to collect e cards nw n start printing???i thot of doing dat nex mth only....

as for fd tasting, tink will do it in nov...currently we only cfm 25tables.but tink i will drag till dec den cfm the actual no of tables...better play safe

Hi Cookies, U must let her know in advance that u r collecting the cards... I have collected both red and ivory but I personally perfer the ivory ones even it is too plain.. I plan to send out the invitation cards 1st wk of Dec...

Hi Karen, u plan to hv ur wedding on wkdays or wkend?