Amara Singapore

Hi Tare,

Most probably will get the wedding favour from thailand now need to negotiate what Li Ping allow me to exchange for.. I dun think I want amara cos dun really like that place...

Hi jas, thanks, will try to negoitate for additional dish for food tasting.. btw have u signed with amara? when is ur wedding?

Helo ladies,

Been busy recently.

Hi Shell, Yeah i went to a shop at bras basah. Their inserts are $0.10 more the the amara's printer but theirs is full color printing. That means u can print ur pix on the inserts if u want to. They provide the golden thread and tied for u too. Wah u collected ur cards already? I have not leh.... going to get some fr Li Ping as my FIL wants to print both chinese &english version on the card. Hey rememeber, if u have layed hair, ask ur stylist to do a bit of triming for u. So tat if u do set ur hair they will look nicer. And dun drink too much water on the day &night b4 PS if not u will get puffy face. And sleep well to avoid panda eyes.

Tare: Amara is not going to have 8 course wkday banquet fr 2006, all 9 course too.

Shell : U dun like Amara becos of their inflexible, right ?...but must like ur ballrm cos ur wedding dinner goin 2 b there

Joelle : I saw the latest copy of Style wedding mag...they stated wkday banquet 8 course is $629nett leh...

Hi, just to share that i had my wedding last year at amara and the service was good - no complaints about it...

Hi Joelle, how much is the printing per insert? Can I have the address of the printer cos Brash Basah is near town rather than going to kallang, transport through & fro is abt the same price if I choose one in the town... I collected more 70% ivory cards and 30% red card but my mum like the ivory as the red is very ugly so may go and exchange with her.. What colour did u print the insert?
Li Ping give u actually 80% of the attendance she said if u need extra can get from her again..

Hi Tare, I dun really like the bridal suite.. I am ok with the ballroom... But my colleagues & friends ask why I choose Amara there are better hotels with the price I paid.. I told them that the location is gd and I can have the ballroom to myself no need to share with other like Oriental Pan Pac etc..

Hi Shell,

My frenz mentioned to me that when she check with those shop at Bras Basah....they are charging her $1 per card...but if the price really not much diff after the transport...i would oso rather take Bras Basah....

Don't mind too much abt the bridal suite since u will oni stay there for 1 nite...u will oni make use of it to do ur MU, chgn & rest...after tat, the next day...12pm will just chk out...most impt is the ballrm loh...Amara is gd in a way...there will oni be 1 wedding...if we choose other hotels...they will normally give us a smaller function rm...definitely not their grand ballrm since it caters for bigger crowd...

Amy - Any advise to give for dinner? Just want to check did u use their projector + screen? Can all the guest see?

Tare, yeah 2005 they are still having 8 course but fr 2006 they are removing it liao... i saw fr SB's amara website...

Shell: Hi Long time no chat
ok the shop is call Isucess at bras basah level 3. They used the double A logo as sign board.Amara's printer is charging $0.50/insert, bras basah is $0.60/insert + gold thread. the boss is v friendly. haha my mum also say the red one v ugly, she dun like. But i am printing my own card, not taking all fr amara. Now not settle with the no of tables yet but i will keep to 36 at max cos i dun want to open the L-shaped.

Tare: think $1 is to print ur own card, not the inserts. i am printing a postcard invitation for $0.70/card.

i dun mind much abt amara's suite since i dun think i have much time to enjoy it... I agree with tare, i like the 1 wedding concept of amara + good location, central yet out of the town. Just tat they are v inflexible in their negiotation... but nvm take some lose some...

Hi Joelle, where did u go for ur manicure & pendicure? ANy cheap & gd recommendation..

Thanks Joelle, I will go Bras Brasah to take a look..

hi shell,

yes, i have signed with amara. my wedding is on 28 mar 2005.

hi amy,
the amara ballroom is rectantgular in shape. will it be very cramp when we march in?

Hi Shell,

Yeah got a shop to recommend but not tat cheap lah, its fave nails at scotts(Lido building) Went there for my medi & pedi. The service is v good. the place is nice and quiet.Forgot wat is their price...let me check i get backt to u.I remember is the standard prices, $35(medi) $45(pedi) not v sure but abt there...U PS nt week right..

Jas, I tot rectangular ballrm is good for march in, will not be cramp lah & we will have a long march in
I find Amara's march in space already v comfortable compare to the others..

Hi Joelle, Fave Nail also got a shop at Citylink right? U r right I will have my PS next wed.. So have u selected ur march in songs? My friend have compile a disk for me... But still short of 1 song which i like "From this moment"

Hi all, yeah i agree that the red cards are terribly ugly, that's why i chose another design from the printing company and pay for it. No choice since i do need red cards for relatives... My friends were surprised to know that the ivory design is from Amara itself - they thought i got it from somewhere else...

Hi shell, i thought the bridal suite is good enough? Not up to your expectation? I have friends telling me the same thing about Amara - why i chose that place over hotels in town. I gave the same reasons as you gals - 1 ballroom concept, can use their poolside garden for my solemnisation prior to the dinner, modern design (after renovation), etc...

Hi Joelle, my dinner went on very smoothly, so no particular tips to share at this moment. i had 40 tables so mine was a l-shaped. My guests seated at the l-shaped ballroom can also see the screen. No problems with that - basically, all can see the screen. No worries about that... When is your wedding?

Hi Jas, welcome to the amara brides group! i don't feel it's cramp when we marched-in. Agree with Joella - on my wedding day, how i wish the march-in can be shortened! cos so many people cheering for you as you march-in - so pai seh, yet happy

Joelle : When are u sending ur card out? Just to check, the inserts/0.60...the wordings is gold ?

agree wif u...beta to hv a rect. shape ballrm...

Hv u bought all the chinese barang barang stuff ? my mum says gal side r suppose to buy...likes sewing box, baby mini toilet bowl, tooth brush, lamp, etc ?

Shell : You can go to Sembawang CD shop to get the cd by Shania Twain...they should still hv the stock...do u meant to use it for ur march-in ? I intend to use the song for my montage...

Plaza S'pura also hv a pedi/mani-cure shop...quite cheap...they always having promotion...

Jas : Not to worry...tat times i went down to see the set up..there r abt 35-38 tables...the march-in space still quite spacious...not cramp at all...some htl r even more cramp...

Amy : i also dun thk the red cards is nice...but my mum oso prefers red cards...wonder why Amara dun wan 2 chgn tat design if no one thk tat it's nice ? now, i really wonder whether i should buy myself ?

Is the fd portion big & taste nice ?

im so relieved after hearing that the march in will not be cramp.

my AD is a monday that y i choose amara coz it is near to MRT. agree with amy coz don't need to share the ballroom. i went to Orchard hotel and was surprise that have to share the ballroom. another reason is the swimming pool for my solemnisation. Some hotels do give free function room but it look old. I prefer amara as they just renovated.

hi Shell,
mine is on a wkday. hmmm... preparation is ok, not so bad.

hi amy,
i'll be having my solemnisation at the poolside before the dinner as well. do u have any pics to share as i would like to see their decoration.

So far I think that I am the only one in this thread who hold my wedding on a wkend.. Wkdays packages are better as Amara offer free flow of beer right? I am thinking not to serve beer during cocktail but will the guest think that I am stingy?

Joelle: Hv u went for the food tasting? Do let us know ur comment.

anyone attending Amara's wedding show this evening?

hi shell, r u replacing beer with wine? i feel that it will be better to seek your parents and in-laws comments.

Hi evevanu, I have signed with Amara so will not be attending the wedding show.. But do let us know the taste of the food... We will have both red wine and beers for the dinner

Tar : my view is that i would not want to print my wedding invitation cards on a ugly design after spending much efforts on the entire preparation to ensure no mistakes... Anyway, it won't cost much to purchase new cards. I got my new red cards from the printer, much nicer - of course it would not have amara hotel details printed on the back of the cards, but who cares! Yup, the food portion was big. Taste of food - acceptable. Have you went for your food-tasting?

Jas : clap clap!!! happy to know that we share the same thoughts! ok, will pm you some pics in a while. When is your wedding? Have you went for your food-tasting? Like all brides, i was fearful that the food quality is bad (yup, after viewing all the -ve comments in previous threads). All i can say is it's not very very nice, like some restaurants out there, but it's of acceptable quality. Don't worry about it. Tip - choose the cod-fish dish, you won't regret it...

Shell : i had my wedding on a sat, so you are not the only one...

Hi amy,

I heard from the previous threat that the cod fish must not be missed. Li Ping also told me tat.. Is the abalone big for one of the dish cannot remember the name of the dish? This is what amara told me that they are different from other place as the serve one small abalone per pax

Hi evevanus, I have booked the minimum table for wkend packages which is 30. One point u need to note is that for example u have booked 30 tables and on that night ur guest only turned out to occupy 29 tables the extra table u book u will have to pack the dish home.. They do not allow u to come back anotehr day to eat... I personally find it in flexible for this arrangement.

Hi Shell, err... can't really remember liao as i had my wedding in Nov last year. Vaguely remember that it's not those tiny type - it's of a reasonable size. Have you went for their food tasting?

Hi amy, I have not went for my food tasting...

Hi Evevanus, I have booked 30 tables, spare are not included... But if the 2 spare table not use on the wedding and u will not be charge

Hi Shell,

I thk it's ok not to serve beer during cocktail...since it's oni for a while & they can start to go into the ballrm...i thk ur guests will not mind having some soft drink to mingle ard....

Hi Evevanus,

I won't b goin for the wedding show as I hv booked Amara....

Hi Amy,

My wedding is next yr Oct...thus, will oni hv my fd tasting by then...kekeke...do u hv yam paste as the dessert ?

For those who have booked better source for hotel early so that u can have the first choice...

Hi Tare, I am going for red wine tasting tml... Will keep u update of the price and quality.. Heard that we can returned those unopened bottles.. btw have u book CF Tien as ur photographer?

For those who have not booked the banquet better source for hotel early so that u can have the first choice...

Hi Tare, I am going for red wine tasting tml... Will keep u update of the price and quality.. Heard that we can returned those unopened bottles.. btw have u book CF Tien as ur photographer?

hi shell,
yes, wkday packages offer free flow of beer for 4 hrs. It ok that u don't serve beer during cocktail. So far all the wedding dinner that i had attend, the host only serve wine after the 1st dish. This is common so don't worry that your guest will feel that u r stingy.

Is that u have confirmed with liping that if the tables are not occupied and we are not allow to come back to eat on the other day?

hi amy,
thanks for sharing the pics. My email add is [email protected]. My wedding is on 28 March 2005. I have not went for the food tasting as liping said that it is too early.

yo amy,

received!!! thanks you.

questions to ask you, in the picture is that a solemnisation ceremony before the dinner or it is the ROM package?
the guest was sitting around, will it be too far and they can't hear what the JP was talking?

helo!
Glad to more postings here!

Shell: Yeah fave nails has a branch at citylink, was told its pretty pack so is u want to go there must book! Hey Amara has the song "From this moment"So if you dun have can ask Li Ping for it. I cancelled my food tasting cos we can't come up with 10 person so not worth it.. (we got to pay for the food tasting, not included in the package)

Amy: my AD is 2 Dec 04 (coming!!)
Hye Amara don serve pre-dinner snacks right.. so what did u eat then? hahah me v vain, wanted a long march in so Amara can satisfy tat... :P

Tare: The inserts at BB are $0.60, think can choose wat color u want for the wordings... not likely to be gold leh... not quite sure... best if u go and see their samples (Boy, they do have lots of samples to show.... not sure when i am going to send out likely in end oct or nov...

jas : mine is a church service cum solemnisation ceremony, started at 6pm before the dinner starts... i paid a couple of hundreds to rent the poolside venue just for the 1 hour, but i was pleased at the overall deco done by amara. i didn't pay anything extra to add more flowers, etc... my pastor was using a mic, so no worries - all my guests can hear him, and my wedding vows too! since it's outdoor, you won't want to cramp all your guests too near to the pavilion, me prefer to spread out the crowd since there is mic anyway...

joelle : how come food tasting is not included in your package? wow, you big day is approaching!!! getting excited, har...
i think i just ate some finger food that day - too excited to eat anyway! that night, after the dinner was over, amara served piping hot food to our suite - tell you, even though i was hungry, their serving was so huge that both my hubby and myself can't even finish all the food! ha ha, you will know what i mean in less than 2 months' time!
oh yes, you will have a long march-in... which bridal boutique/photographer you use? honeymoon venue? love nest venue?

did anyone play the songs provided by the Amara or choose urself? wondering what songs did amara play.

btw, did u ladies has the floor plan yet?

shell : it's included in my package that they will serve us food to our suite after the banquet - basically, a bit of each dish from the menu except for the first 2 dishes, i think... yours not included?

jas : i chose my own songs, burn into cd for them to play during the dinner... you need floor plan?

hi amy,

did u play songs in the background throughout the dinner? im wondering will the guest feel that they are in the resturant eating dim sum.

im kiasu!!! want to know how the table arrangement and maybe can plan my guests.

Hi Joelle, I went to do french manicure at favenails too and even sign up their package...

Hi Amy, yup my was not included and I even ask Li Ping will they be serving anything after the dinner and she said no...

Hi Jas, I am also wondering if I should play music at the background... Btw r u going to play just music or with singer singing?

hihi gers,

dun mind me "cutting" in???me amara bride-to-be too...my AD is in jan 05.another 4mths to go.anywan here been thru wif amara oredi???or all r brides-to-be??

i signed my package last yr wif celine. nw dat she n pauline hv left, i m "stuck" wif liping.wonder hw is she. she still haven contacted me yet aso.

can u gers advise wat needs to be done??and do u thing its possible for me to neg for one more nite of stay in bridal suite,cz dat time celine say subj to availability so cannot incl in contract....