Am I too hardworking?

chew your food, contribute to global warming and rest under the shade. why walk in a straight line when you can meander?

powder, you said "do not fear the unknown, if u already know the Known, n u know that u dun like the Known, then maybe the Unknown might be a better deal. having a 50/50 chance is better than killing any chance with your mind." - that's exactly what my husband said to me at our dinner on Friday night!

Funny enough, I got a job offer on Saturday morning. I didnt reply to them yet. I said I need "sometime to think about it". I am tempted because they made a very attractive offer.

Typically, I would jump at the offer without second thoughts. What have i got lose right? I can still quit if I hate the job. Afterall, this is the chance to prove if I am burnt out in my career or i am just unhappy in my current workplace. But I keep having this nagging voice -"what about the 'break' that you craved for???" Arrgh .. why do I keep questioning myself????

Gracies - I think as women, we do get a little more emotional & less logical sometimes. When I get upset at work, I try to walk away from the situation for a while - try to take a break, take a walk, fresh air helps to clear my head.

it's really how u view life, how u view Your life, how u view happiness...

when i wanna buy a car, i will not be thinking of the practical aspects cos cars appeal to my spiritual... and given that i'm 35, i have probably 7-10 cars more to go, before i'm too old to enjoy the sportscars, or my limbs are no longer as able... so i'm likely to just buy it at the rite time next year.

when i buy a house, functionality n location n the ability to make this house a Home comes first... i would also like to try living in other kinds of houses, or other locations... before i leave this world.

when it comes to jobs/careers - i'll pick the one tat pays me Best, then the one tat gives me most joy... Time has to be manageable... and stability is totally irrelevant to me...

Jobs that offer stability will offer the Same stability to everyone, good, bad, lazy or with an excellent academic result... i am not interested in getting wat everyone else is getting, nor am i keen to stay in environments where seniority Talks n takes priority over productivity & merit.

the only pple who can guarantee us stability - is Ourselves... i have no idea why pple look for this stability in companies, bosses, industries etc... all these changes over the years and the Internet/Computer have been proven as a very effective replacement for some jobs. we are in Serious Danger of fading as a nation if we continue to be complacent n constantly look to the government for answers...

i hope u understand that tho my answer is not direct, i am sharing something that may make a huge difference to how u retire, and if u're gonna end up having to do part-time for money during your retirement years...

lastly, i think u can accept the job if u want, but with a request for the start date to be 2-4weeks later... just say u're a workaholic n the break is something u promised yourself before a fresh start to cheong again. else call it garden leave or cleaering leave in the current company...

i see alot of pple with complaints on their jobs, colleagues, bosses, pay, etc etc etc... but the FACT is - they choose jobs that offer the same form of stability to OTHERS, as much as they offer u. IF u think u're Good, why be in the same environment where pple are seemingly employed n paid regardless of their character, quality, ability etc?

and WHY is money impt... becos it allows us to buy things we truly fancy, and not settle for 2nd best all our life.

like i said, Logic... very very impt. we follow the paths so commonly travelled that pple Fear leaving these paths... but then they dun explore the benefits of the common path until much later in their lives when it might be too late. If u think cost of living is gonna get lower and our pay increments are gonna get better - think again. if u think pple will hire u by virtue of how sporean u are, and not hire a cheaper foreigner who is more hungry n hardworking - think again...

by the time the complaints die down... we will be going to china and india to seek for better prospects. We KILL ourselves thinking that we're so great, hide behind our truly efficient government and think we're given protection by Default of being sporeans... think again.

our society needs a serious kick up the backside but everyone is more preoccupied with a Better life without actually working for it... they think that by working hard in school n getting excellent grades - that they can reap the benefits over n over n over again thru'out their lives... think again.

when u realise it's all a lie, u will realise that u have gambled your life on the Past, without looking further into the future. and whose fault isit anyway?

think again...

Hi powder! You said the same thing as my hubby too!

I wrote in another thread earlier on that I was also sick and tired of my current job as it is not only political, it had a bitch environment where the favourite past time is to gossip about other ppl.

I made a decision after discussing with my hubby about quitting and resting first and do what I wanted to do.

I do worry bout future cuz we just changed to a bigger hse. Of course I would worry bout money. Though the monthly installment I can use my CPF to pay off for a little over 2 years, but I can't help worrying. I have a persistent cough also and have been trying to treat it for the last few years. So probably take a break and relax and try to improve my condition. Not to mention TTC.

My hubby always asked me why am I worrying the unknown.

I guess it's probably my traits that I'm always worrying bout something... haha....

the only attraction of the offer was the money. more money only means we get to fulfil our dreams sooner.

the job scope is the same - can i do well in it, yes. but will i learn anything different in this job - no. will i find joy - well, i'll find out.

i know these days there is no stability - like in China & India, i am competing with younger & more energetic colleagues who are sometimes happy to take lesser money.

When the company called me up on Saturday, at the end of our conversation, they asked how much I am expecting. I asked them "how much DO YOU THINK i am worth paying for?" they laughed & gave me the figure. :P

If you start to think "global", think "value adding" then what is there to worry about. Those words were used more than a decade ago and yet used and used again. Think what is your value to the company and how reasonably renumerated for it, then you can judge where you stand. Whether the enviroment is good, bad, bitchy is how you look at it. What is more important from 9 to 5 for you. And yes, China and India are emerging markets but if you are only thinking about it now, you probably on the 3rd or 4th leg. Lotsa people already been there done that. Compete with them, unless you are real good.

well i think by virtue of the call on saturday, they sound rather interesting? and who called u, was it the HR? i dun deal with HRs to be honest... only the hiring boss.

of cos whether or not to take the job, it's a personal thing... i do have my reservations giving advice sometimes becos Personalities, Needs, amongst other things - we may not be entirely aligned. we may not share the same goals... but one thing we do share - is that we want a better future for ourselves and family... and we want security in our lives...

i'll go a step further to tell u that Security and Stability can be very very different things... Stability is unimportant but Security is impt to me... job-security isn't abt whether i'll stay employed, to me it is abt whether or not i get paid for my dues... if i make 1mil for the company, i want to be paid 300k... i dun wanna make 1mil for the company to feed 10 pple who are making only 20k... and get only 50k for my efforts. Job security is abt Merit, abt returns, abt getting my rightful amount for the efforts i put in. that is the kind of environment tat gives me security... not the type that pays me 5k whether or not i do my job, and then i happily use the money to support my family.

and 1 thing to note... we are moving from 1 person who stays 20yrs in a company, to 1 person who have had a portfolio of companies under his belt... u decide which is the one u want. personally - i am Not a believer in staying with 1 company to climb... i dun think it is beneficial to my career path and loyalty is Not an asset not a trait. the older generation may see it as a trait, but unfortunately unless u're working in a pawnshop or traditional biz, your bosses are not likely to be from That old generation.

Hi Powder, it was the HR who called. I'm not so VIP lah! Supposed to meet the hiring boss before year end, so I'll make a decision only after the final interview. They are not the only ones doing the interview, I am interviewing them too.

To be honest, what you have said so far, has challenged me to think further & out of the box. Thank you.

Like you, i am all for changing jobs to get ahead. However, a lot depends the company that you want to work for - based on my experience, big MNCs with rigid HR practices still tends to frown against such moves while actually younger, smaller & more dynamic companies takes it as a positive trait!

exactly! u're interviewing them too! for me i'm just very particular abt speaking to HRs becos i'm very irritated when they start asking me for qualifications... Not in my field lah... it's like asking Santa Clause for his qualifications just to be santa claus at a department stall... so similarly i'm not employed on academics... if i needed to bring diplomas or certs, then the job isn't right for me... nor the attitude of the company, so why join in the first place? sooner or later they will hire young degree holders to tell me what to do...

OK, i must admit i have certain ideas in my head that may not seem logical to most, but it's highly logical to me. it's the same logic of choosing a pekinese to guard a 20,000sqft Bungalow, throwing tissue paper into an ashtray, or thinking that a 'manager' title on the namecard means u're very rich.

unfortunately if u start observing pple around u... u will realise that the ability to see Logic is not common. and Common sense is very uncommon.

Every year, i am called up to visit for 2-3weeks - such a place where logic n common sense is Absent. in this place, pple are more concerned with Rules without question, and choose to employ fuzzy logic and illogical senses. jobs tat take 5mins will take 2hrs... decisions that take 10mins will take 3days.

sometimes i refrain from speaking becos it's really a fine line... if u understand where i'm coming from, u might pickup something very impt. if u dun understand nor wanna hear wat i'm saying - u will think i'm a snob.

pass on the lessons to your children and the younger generation... i'm trying so hard to undo some of the bull guarantees that our teachers and parents have told us for years... And u know what's the scary thing? to have struggling peers swear by the same paths and trying to advise u to stick to it.

I beg to differ. Whenever I was called up for that 2-3 weeks i see lotsa people whom see beyond logic and common sense. Whom can integrate logic, common sense and instruction. And interestingly enough, they are groomed by the very same education system that you and I went through. I believe there are tonnes of such people around us, whether you look hard enough or you just too busy looking at yourself. No offence though if you know where I am coming from.

of cos can differ! it's a personal opinion/observation. just whether or not what u see is translated into the reality around u is another thing... if what u believe is that there are "tonnes" of such people around us, then our country has nothing to worry abt, pple will not have anything to complain or appeal abt, housing prices not an issue, no panic-buying n long queues, everyone's happy n need not worry abt the future nor look towards the government for answers.

i know where u're coming from, and it'll be an ideal which i would like to see as well, but whether i see what u see or we both see different things... i'm not so certain. if i need to look hard enough to see something which "tonnes" of pple are already displaying... then it's a contradiction dun u think?

i'm not so sure on whether we went thru the same education system since it's ever-changing.

Well, we are still bounded by the same national commitments. We are all stuck in-camp wasting away waiting for time and engaging in marathons of trash talking in canteen breaks. The topic of the day is always the same ... bragging of achievements, their sex experiences with prostitutes or endless rants about the government.

Occasionally, I do get to exchange more inspiring thoughts with some of the more sensible chaps. Its hard to come by though. Generally speaking, its a torture and totally brain-wasting for me. I cannot phatom why it could be a good break for others. If I am to rest, I will do it in the comfort of my home with the company of my family. Not the canteen hearing nonstop rants.

You choose to be with whom you want to be. Anyway, dun we all brag about something to somebody, like how successful you are. How many houses you have and how you paid in full and now onto another property. What seems important to you may seems trivial to others, likewise, no?
Well, both of you are so full of yourself. Now, what i am putting across whether you understand or see, is that you think you are a cut above the rest. But no, there are sensible chaps everywhere, there are surely people whom can see beyond logic and there are people with a less fortunate state that you been through made it through.
So dun see yourself as the all know and giving all good advice when you are probably just the same feather of the same flock.
I could not see anybody that make themselves useful think that in-camp training is a waste of time. It is a waste of time because you are wasting your time not because it is not constructive. And in doing so, you are wasting a lot of people's time which is why some jobs tat take 5mins will take 2hrs... decisions that take 10mins will take 3days. And from some of your previous posts both of you were officers?... Shame to think you probably go by " to lead we dare, to excel we will, all the way". Wat have they taught you guys.....

"Well, both of you are so full of yourself. Now, what i am putting across whether you understand or see, is that you think you are a cut above the rest."

What's is your bloody problem? Who's bragging? Before you shoot something as stupid as that. Back it up with something. Else, its just another rant yet again.

"You choose to be with whom you want to be"
During NS, u r basically stuck with the same group of men. There isn't much choice to talk about. So, I don't know what's up with your hostile accusation and bull for.

Oh really, guess I am entitle to my opinion. Stupid? And who is judging?
You are surely bascially, definitely stuck with the same group of men. But chosing to waste your time, I dun think so.
And who is ranting? Read it over and over again
if u understand where i'm coming from, u might pickup something very impt. if u dun understand nor wanna hear wat i'm saying....

I really don't know what's with you. I was only commenting about my time in NS listening to the trash talking. And suddenly all the accusations?!?

Choosing to stuck with same group of guys? Sorry, I don't have the luxury. We are assigned roles and throughout the exercise, responsible to mend the station. Canteen breaks are slotted within groups. Not much choice really. Like it or not, these men are in the same group and I'm their ICs. Or do you suppose, I choose not to lunch or talk with my own group of men?

My next ICT will be in ROC, doing the exact same thing. What group of men I have to face, I have no idea. Maybe someone like you. Barking at me for no reason! Please back with something than shooting from the air. What did I brag about that accuse me of?

"It is a waste of time because you are wasting your time not because it is not constructive. And in doing so, you are wasting a lot of people's time which is why some jobs tat take 5mins will take 2hrs... decisions that take 10mins will take 3days. And from some of your previous posts both of you were officers?... Shame to think you probably go by " to lead we dare, to excel we will, all the way". Wat have they taught you guys....."

Do you think somehow exercises can be cut short?? The waiting game will click the clock and we are made to mend the stations throughout. Constructive? The way you spoke of it is as if you are the commanding officer determining how the mission is to be ran. In NS, its a place when our initiative are not appreciated. They only need men to obey unproductive instructions, physically run the show and dominate the ground, click the mouse and report status.

As officers, we have the additional role to motivate and manage the men. Making sure that their welfare is taken care of, meals allocated & consumed, etc. But, that's about it. The mission will take time. Those questions challenging how draggy the schedule is has always been raised and feedback. And the commander will his own reasons and decision. Constructive to us, the NS men? Not quite.

well kenturik,

i can agree with your point of view and what u have to say if it were in another thread discussing abt the priorities and essence in life, and definitely, financial/career success would not be the focus... but we're not in that thread are we?

it's not very appropriate to walk into a wedding dinner and accuse everyone of wasting food, when the theme of the wedding is celebratory of a union, where food n wine is served in excess.

in terms of bragging, it boils down to individuals who perceive things... i've gone thru this quite abit to understand why u would see it that way, and it's something i have learnt Not to argue abt nor correct. becos whenever i set-out telling pple that something is Possible, that certain financial goals/achievements are not just exclusive to the smart/academically excellent ones, i will get 1. pple are inspired to take charge of their lives, 2. pple who acknowledge that there's still hope, 3. pple who think i'm using the platform to brag n boast.

u just happen to fall into no.3... tat's really fine with me. u either see me as someone who is here to share simple ways to tune our minds to get ahead in life, or u see me as someone trying to show everyone how great i am. fact remains tat i'm just above average, and definitely not some top cream of the crop. i'm at my halfway line and feel a need to share some knowledge with those who want to cut down the periods wasted in figuring their careers out. i remain an opinion or avenue which offers a different perspective and option for those who toil away and dun really see the light at the end of the tunnel.

again, i must stress that this thread isn't abt religion nor family values nor the meaning of life. if it were, then finances/career would not be focal to my posts, and u would not have the chance to imply negative things abt my character.

u have every right to share abt values n morals and make trivial of finances/career/housing/investments... but do note the implications of that. do u walk into seminars where the topic is how to make wise housing investments - and accuse the speaker of boasting abt his wealth?

if u do not understand this, there is little strength in what u say when u say "Now, what i am putting across whether you understand or see, is that you think you are a cut above the rest."

there's no need to believe that u see something deeper than me, when u can't even read the occasion nor the essence of a topic to know what is being shared here. the entrance is grand n thought-provoking, but u're akin to preaching religious goodness in a success seminar.

end part 1

i wanna correct u on One point... and that is that on the contrary, i am actually very full of Others, not myself. it is very apparent, just not apparent to u. the reason why most examples i cite are of myself, is becos not only am i academically-poor, i also started life in poverty... if i can get out of the vicious cycle for which i was born into, i think most pple realise they can do better.

on becoming an officer, all my frens know i worked hard for it becos of 1 reason only - i Needed the money. my dad died a few months before, we were in debts from the medical bills, and my mum earns abt $600 a mth selling 4D. between a $215 pay and a $425 pay, i Had To achieve the higher one... the lack of money left me with little options. remember it's 2.5yrs n it's only after passing out that i get $615. i dun expect my mum to supplement me, i am not allowed to moonlight, but i wanted to save some money for further studies If i needed to.

being proud to be an officer, and finding the current ict to be a waste of time - are 2 different issues. u are expecting the sense of pride to override our Honest opinion. perhaps u will kill out of loyalty to country, i'm just the one who questions the need to kill First, and have to satisfy my own moral/ethical boundaries before i carry out anything.

"To Lead, To Excel, To Overcome" - am i not doing that before u decided that i was boasting?

Lead by Example - i am... but it seems i cannot give examples of myself.

Excel - seems i can excel but not go beyond your standards? in such case would i not have succumbed to my teachers/parents' expectations & be earning a 4k salary where a diploma-holder like me should be put in his place?

Overcome - i'm actually sharing how i overcome certain obstacles n mindset. not forgetting how i overcome pple like yourself and gain my own self-worth.

dude, i live it everyday of my life.

ps: u claim that there are sensible chaps everywhere, but is there really?

end part 2

and in case u're wondering what happened thereafter, instead of wondering how to argue n put me down further... i didn't manage to save enough for further education.

which brought me to the stage where If i wanted a better life, but lacked the academics to be given certain choices... what will my alternatives be? obviously i made some right choices to be able to share on this platform and obviously, the right attitude & mindset played a part. i am sharing just That.

u can be a doctor, a priviledged student or a minister, it does not diminish my efforts thus far & the relevance which it gives me to Share... and without doubt, it is alot more constructive to aid the thinking of the pple around me who might be struggling... than it would be in using an internet platform to boast n gain worthless popularity.

if u are as deep as u wanna come across, u would understand that boasting in internet forums dun translate into anything in real life... it is totally worthless.

and no, i dun have a facebook account where i add lotsa internet frens and tell the world how great i am. i am not the person whom u think i am, nor imply me to be.

if your next post is to argue for the sake of arguing... then u would be the very person whom u're trying to make me out to be. so look into the mirror and find honesty in that.

ps: i am not offended.

A few words and we are now reading paragraghs... thought provoking? Brilliant from Powder but a bit too much analogy. Milo, love the way you describe about in-camp. But trust me that it is not a waste of time, Let's lead by example not by sample.
To both, Merry Christmas and a wonderful 2010. Nice exchanging thoughts

more hot air talk.

Why don't you offer some constructive suggestions than empty criticisms? You came in here to shoot without backing over things u accused me of. Its so easy to shoot an arrow like this. Of cos, its not much to write about. Without much substance, just as how a terrorist hit and disrupt.

kenturik, with folded arms u speak?

am surprised u made a commentary on my post like a seasoned sports commentator... when u made no proper constructive post.

enjoy your x'mas too. hope u find honesty within self...

guys imho waste of time in ns is purely a comparative. For some, this few yrs they get to be independent and maybe its time worthwhile. But for few, maybe they are very independent and this conscription is a simply waste of time.

For the chor bo lang, NS is good as they get paid for their time, For the ultra productive, Ns is a bloody conscription that is waste of my bloooody time..... and i don find marching instill discipline.

each got their own view lah.

just to clarify, NS IS NOT a waste of time to me... wat occurs thereafter yearly til i turn 50 - currently Is.

You see the value in things only if u want to. If u think you are 'higher', u tend to 'look down' on others when u might not be necessary entitled to.

National service is a duty...when one says its a waste of time thereafter, he feels he is in a position when he no longers is obliged to 'serve'.

Dun take things for granted. Easier to pass judgement, than to take a objective view of the importance of doing national service. Typical singaporean who thinks too much of himself IMHO. When i take a look outside, i am proud to have done national service and thereafter an NSmen, knowing full well that i am doing my part for my country.

Btw, i am referring my comments only to NS.

Dun wish to have a barrage of accusation thereafter.

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year

When ration isn't enough, officers push for more. When there is none, we gave up our share and go out to get more so that no one goes hungry. The last to eat is always the officers themselves. When exercise drags longer and past midnight, we negotiate for offs and late book-in the next day and ensure everyone has transport home. And whenever men have a story or problem to tell, we listen and give them the benefit of the doubt. And would help as much as we could. When men are relaxing and idling in their bunks, commanders are doing the recon and planning. And we in-pro ahead for briefing and preparation. This is what is meant by leadership by example. If doesn't make officers so motivated about doing nothing and excited to wait.

I don't think anyone is challenging the need for NS. We all understand what it means collective for the nation but at the personal level, we all see how unproductive and slow the pace of NS is. All the time waiting and finding things to kill time is a pain no matter how you put it. The so called constructive part isn't taking days. The waiting part is definitely. Don't bullshit that you are all so motivated and proud of the waiting and canteen breaks. Its the painful part that we all honestly go thr. Don't be hypocrites to blast someone voicing that out.

i think it's impt to realise that the sub-topic was abt ICT, not NS.

and the thing is, sometimes pple are not looking down at u, but u are looking up, thus u feel pple are looking down at u.

anyway very abstract... i was wondering when u're gonna come in to take a pot-shot.

lastly, we can serve our nation in other ways... try getting the CEO/Leaders of organizations to go back to ICT as corporals/sergeants, sit around and have long canteen breaks, when they can be making the next step in forging our local companies forward.

some of the surgeons who are MOs, are allowed more freedom during ICT cos they have a higher purpose with lives... so altho it is not wrong to say what some of u say, i think the context of it is impt.

"National service is a duty...when one says its a waste of time thereafter, he feels he is in a position when he no longers is obliged to 'serve'. "

I beg to differ here. The person could simply be believing that he could contribute and serve in much more useful and constructive manner than waiting. Its a waste of time not because he disagrees with NS but how unproductive things are ran. There is a significant difference here. And in NS, authority often overrides common sense.

I beg to differ.....CEO/Leaders of organizations DO NOT go back to ICT as corporals/sergeants...instead some choose to 'serve' by becoming key appointment holders cos they believe in what they are doing for the country and the value that they can contribute. For current KAH, does that mean they are any less in forging their companies forward ??? i dun think so !

How unproductive things are ran does not negate the purpose of ICT / NS. Dun let this override its true value.

Dun ask what your country can do for you, but what u can do for your country.

If it involves waiting and canteen breaks amongst the training and development, isn't this what u can do ?

If the system needs a change, do something about it. Leadership by example is not abt complaining about the system but making small incremental changes, first with yrself and then influencing others. Leadership is not about doing more than others by virtue of your role / rank but inspiring others to do better above their own means thru guidence and mentoring.

My 2 cents worth.

"I beg to differ.....CEO/Leaders of organizations DO NOT go back to ICT as corporals/sergeants...instead some choose to 'serve' by becoming key appointment holders"

DO NOT? can choose to be KAH? wow!

u mean they promote a lance corporal to lieutenant/captain just like that?

ok, next time u tell your corporal to volunteer himself to go for Battle Ops, AOP etc... he's not even allowed to be present, let alone open his mouth. abit talk rot lah u...

Powder, to precise, the sub-topic isn't ICT but the torture of these lengthy of these canteen breaks and how bad these decision calls really are.

Clark,

why is there the suggestion that disagreement with the issues in the system somehow equates to disagreeing with National Service's overall mission and purpose?

The discussion can go on damn long. But, it does nothing about the pain we go through over the bad decisions made. The list of feedback (not just rants and complains) doesn't stop, it never did. We continue to give strong and practical recommendations. But as the yrs continue, reflect how much of it is really changed about the lack of common sense and wayang culture?

You want the change? The army needs a big revamp in its culture from top down. I hate the long waiting time caused by bad decisions and protocols made. This is the thing that is affecting most of us doing reservist. Unlike a job, u can choose to switch your career. National service, how many really have the luxury of choice? Don't bullshit, deep down, u know where that limits are in army.

Difference in opinion definitely does not mean one is bullshitting.

I hope you understand this point.

We can choose to disagree but to equate my opinion as bullshit in light of yours is unacceptable.

I am not taking a pot-shot this time round. Read my post again.

My point of contention is on the neccessity of NS / ICT regardless of bad decision because of its intrisve value and of 'leadership by example'. Powder has given a good example of which (leadership) but i do not agree with yours.

I do not bullshit as much as u claim. Again, this is a forum to air one's view but if u insist as such. i will rest my case.

It seems that u are too focused on the "waiting time caused by bad decisions and protocols made" that u feel to realise that development in an indivdual (in NS / ICT) is empowered in oneself. That is a choice in itself. There are limits in the army but to have the same limits imposed in yourself is self-defeading. "to lead, we dare..." is the spirit of which in what u post ?

Food for thought. We are all leaders in our own right....be it in NS / family / careers. i do not doubt yours but in the aspect of NS / ICT. i feel that u are missing out the value which others may misunderstand.

Powder, obviously KAH are promoted on the basis of their performance which is a choice they have made to serve with dedication during NS / ICT. This is the recognition that they deserve.

I am surprised that u do not understand this point. Do not assume that others do not serve with the same dedication regardless of rank / role just simply because of how u think.

Wow.....

clark,

"My point of contention is on the neccessity of NS / ICT regardless of bad decision because of its intrisve value and of 'leadership by example'. Powder has given a good example of which (leadership) but i do not agree with yours."

I repeat : "why is there the suggestion that disagreement with the issues in the system somehow equates to disagreeing with National Service's overall mission and purpose?"

Your example of KAH is hardly a representative solution for the average NS men! How many KAH are there vs the entire battalion? You are free to have your idea of leadership by example. We can talk about castles in the air. Big ideas of motivating and mentoring. Is it generically applicable? Not every NS men sticks with the same group. Every ICT has been a different group of men EVERYTIME for me. It doesn't matter, we do our part and taking care of them, going the extra mile regardless if its even appreciated.

Does it inspire? Maybe to some. I dunno and frankly doesn't change things the way it is. During the ICT, I do sense those the cooperative and sensible men but also idle kings that only want to sleep.

clark,

another point to add ...
"Do not assume that others do not serve with the same dedication regardless of rank / role just simply because of how u think."
In fact, the assumption is actually the opposite. Don't assume everyone have the same dedication, priorities and ways of serving. All these marketing inspirational talks to the men as if they are newly passed out privates or something isn't going to work.

Why are we expecting to much out of our NS Men? I have learnt to respect everyone has a different priority. As long as they get things done, who are we to impose onto them our own ideals on how things should be??

As I have put forth, there are lots of good initiatives and recommendations given each ICT. But, its falling to deaf ears by the people that really matters in the equation. Its time to bring balance to the expectation.

And in my context, u can completely forget about promotions. It doesn't happen in my unit. Unless a wrong diagnostic by specialists and MO and a medical board to upgrade our PES status to move us out to another unit. I don't hate the army nor my duties. I hate the torture of waiting aimlessly and having lots of time doing nothing in camp.

Lastly,
I do not bullshit differing thoughts. I bullshit the wrong presentation of the luxury of choice in the military. As I said, deep down, u know where that limits are in army.

kent,

apologies. will not take this further, u're distorting facts n peppering it with idealistic examples. u're just gonna keep using ideals to cover the lack of fact.

"wait to rush, rush to wait"...
CO says 0800 parade, RSM says 0730 fall in, CSM says 0715 gather at Coy line, PS says 0700 fall in, Section commander says 0645 get ready, 2IC says 0615 get ready.....
If information were disseminated down accurately and in a timely fashion, then we may eliminate a lot of issues.
Kent, as for KAH, it is an appointment given to those who performed and given the chance to perform. And yes, they are usually the dedicated lots whom serve on the rover scheme. And yes I have seen CEOs/Businessman whom are KAH whom are already doing their re-cycle phase. And yes, not anyhow promoted lah... you can opt out of rover but you cant opt in.

To add, it depends a lot on the commander and also the operators. I was lucky enough to serve with a unit of mature adults. We could see improvement in the system years after years. Every year, it was different, admin support, trainers, support staff. They were trying to minimise the call-up timing, training schedules were also more productive. NS man were running their own brigade and battalion. There were less time spend on admin and more time for training. Though, we still wait a fair bit cos there are some ops time table, that cannot be altered but at least the men knew what were happening....

here's an actual scenario in my unit:-
- Active unit requesting supporting unit to report at 0730hrs
- We challenged why since AOP is only starting in the afternoon at 3pm and no further deployment required.
- Exercise cut only at 3am the day before, we do not have resources to do shift. Men needs to rest, no breakfast indented nor bunks for us.
- The final decision : we needed to book in by 1159 because lunch is already indented. We book in to eat lunch and rot around waiting for exercise start. After all the ping pongs, exercise only started at 7pm and lasted till 4.30am. We booked out at 5am and succeeded to negotiate for the next day off.

And thank you for blasting me
- without looking at the context. I was talking about my time in my ICT no? Not yours...
"I was lucky enough to serve with a unit of mature adults." FINALLY, u realized how lucky u r? So, don't talk as if its applicable to everyone.
- while for doing our best to fight for our men and got the best possible possibility despite idiotic bad planning.

And it doesn't change a bit on how painful all the time-wasting is!

Not to mention, the active unit doesn't care about the interest of the supporting unit. We try our best to ensure we do not block nor compromise their planning.

But, each exercise, we are faced with new commanders and leaders keeping the buffers that you mentioned about. Wanting the support unit to give overnight support when if was never planned for. We gave the strong feedback but most surely, we will face another new unit in the next exercise that does the same sickening thing again. Its a damn vicious cycle.

Merry Christmas to you Milo peng.... Dun think too much, I am telling you only my good days.... when I just started my first ICT, they didnt even know we existed.... not to say waiting.....

Don't try to be friendly now. Why don't you just clarify why on earth did you shoot those accusations at me for?