Advise on gown selection

hsleed

I am lazy to do shopping for my gown. Heard from colleague that the following 3 studio to consider:-
1. Tan yong creations
2. Michelle Huimin from Bridal Veil
3. Ted Wu

Can anyone advise on the package price, cost trade off and designs???

Hi Hsleed

I think alot will depend on your budget. All 3 designers have very differernt styles

Bridal Veil: Very clean cut. Focus on material and crystals

Tan Yoong: Does dramatic gowns with lots of chiffon and organza

Ted WU: Does great intricate embroidery.

Honestly, you shd go and BS-shop. It's actually fun, and the higher end ones, do not hardsell to you. So you can ask to try on OTR gowns and if you don't sign up on the spot, they ought not to show you black face.
Well, if they do, then i think they do not have gd customer service. So no pt going back to them.

Do check out The Wedding Present. They have great MUA and the designer does wonderful gowns tt have really impressed many brides.

Hi hslee, i m new here. i had my wedding 2yr ago using Tan yoong creation. i am quite happy wif Tan yoong work. But i actually paid more for my grown which is inside the magazine n it make me look like a fairy hehe!! But i think u still need 2 shop for ur grown. Tan yoong n Ted wu is good.

Hi hslee, I signed up with Ted Wu and I have no regrets! I visited his boutique twice to try OTR gowns and they were just gorgeous! Can't imagine what my gown will look like once he designs MTM for me! But you should really go down to the shops to try on their gown and get a taste of their service. I had no problem with Jean's (from Ted Wu) service. She was really nice and accomodating!

Hi Ming,
me AD photographer is ron fr eye-deas.
his price is 1300 which includes the coffee table book. he mentioned that its going to increase to 1500 soon. luckily my friend booked him at 1300 as well... seems everything price is going up by the month.. eg. BS, banquet, PS

Hi there ladies

would appreciate it if someone can send me pictures of 'fairy', 'embroidery' or any other type of WG for i'm at a lost too! AD is in June! my email is [email protected]

by the way, anybody wearing the qua or cheongsam here? where to get these done? are they necessary for the tea ceremony?

lastly, for MTM WG. who gets to keep it after the wedding? i want MTM but i don't want to keep leh...no space at home! and dunno keep for what also. I don't think anyone wears hand-me-down WG.

many thanks!

Tea Dress may not be kua or chongsum. u may also choose the less shimering evening gowns for your tea dress.

MTM WG are meant to be deisng for you and u get the 1st wear. unless indicated usually you'll return the gown to the Bridal Studio after usage.

There are ppl who dun mind gowns which are note 1st hand. Those are Off The Rack gowns. Usually they are the MTM gowns from the previous brides. Usually of the 3rd or 4th wear. 2nd wear gowns are sometimes kept as exclusive gowns. u might need to top up a little to have them.

Rgds,
EL005

Hi Grapey,

That a very nice gown that you are wearing ..? You look so beautiful in that dress. May I know of the BS that you engage services with ?
I am getting marry this coming year 2007 and really clueless . I need your generous advices.

Hi Grapey

I saw the bridal shoes in the website u sent...is this your bridal shoes? if yes...can i know where u got it and how much?

which BS did deal with? OTR or MTM? You really look great and elegant. Well done!

I did email to you but wondering you will receive or not. this is my email address [email protected]

thanks alot

I went thru about 9 BS before settling down on mine. Personally I feel that the ones that require me to make an appointment to attend to me gave me the best service in attending to me and answering my questions. Afterall we are mostly brides for the first time and definitely we are a curious bunch.

It's not to say those that don't make appointments are bad, but they are often in a hurry to sell me their packages.

I went with one that attend to their customers by appointments or nv more that 2 sets of customers at one time in the shop. I had my gowns brought to me to select from the designer because he can judge which gowns of his suit the the body type of the bride. It save me a lot of time and rather my job was to decide which gown I like best. Along the way he taught me how to play with the versatility in his gowns, suggestions on how to wear or match with accessories. It was a very satisfying experience even though the gowns were OTR, but feel as good as MTM because they mostly fit well on the body because he doesn't recommend gowns that need a lot of alteration as the gowns will be distorted too if they are overly altered to fit.

I personally think the workmanship for Margaret Brides is neat and the cut is precise. I have had 2 close friends who did their gowns there. Both MTM gowns turned out very very pretty!

In terms of design, I suggest that if you are going to MTM, checkout overseas designers and print out pictures of gowns you like. Then make a selection from there. That's what I did. I love the designs of Monique Luhilier and I designed my gown to look like one of her creations. If you would like to take a look at my pics, let me know your email add via PM.

I like crystals, beading, and perhaps sequins in a gown - the things that reflect light.

Will be good to have edging/trim at the gown's base too... and a train. But these I view as the good-to-haves... the reflect-light things are a must I'd say.

I like the sweet & simple look. :-)

Which bridal studios have more of such gowns? May not consider Bridal boutiques coz more expensive.

Can anyone help pls? Thanks!

Hi all, i had a MTM gown for sales (to keep), i had won it in the recent lucky draw. The retail price is 2888. Now i willing to let go at only 2000. The gown is from my bridal room (www.mybridalroom.com) .

Term and condition:
1) By cash only
2) PLS redeem the MTM gown by 15 of feb 2009
3) If specific babrics and details required, there willne additional top-up
4) The Mangement reserves reserves the right to update and amend the terms and conditions.

So those interested can email to me at [email protected]

Hi Grapey, could you send your bridal package details, wedding shoes lobang and any other useful info you think is necessary for a BTB to [email protected] pls. Saw alot of great reviews on your stuff...thanks

Kindly share with me the following info: -
a. your bridal package details
b. where to get good & comfortable wedding shoes
c. price range for getting gowns from designers
d. pics of your wedding gowns, etc.
e. recommendations for photographer (in-vogue? etc.) Price range?

My email addy [email protected].

I won't say all studios are like that. Some do only keep older gowns for photoshoot purposes. Some other studios allow u to bring ur AD gown for photoshoot. Just depends on ur studio and package.

How much deposit is usually required for a BS package? I only require wedding dress, evening gown, AD videographer (Photographer maybe as there might be people sponsoring me) and wedding cars. Clueless...

If possible pls email me if u have any details

Anyone can advise if there's anything to be done or to prepare for fitting?