Advice needed on how 30 yo female can become self-made millionaire

Hi May,

Just be passionate about the job you do.
If you are passionate, the money will just come.

My hubby is passionate about the career he is in. His favourite past time is to read any thing related to this field.

For me, my favourite books are romance novels and comics. Maybe that's why I don't do as well as him because I'm not that passionate about it

kittenpie

susanna, what is very important to you? money or career interest? if you identify a need in yourself that you must have A LOT of money, dont waste time in jobs or ventures that by their nature dont pay a lot.

if you are not aiming very high in terms of money and is flexible about money when the job is interesting, then it should not be hard to change jobs.

but the question is, how long will this interest last? the worst to happen is to join a job you think you are interested in, then lose that passion in a few months.

for eg, i know of some social workers do not earn much but are very very happy.

so how about you? what are you like?

kittenpie

Powder,

thanks. you made a good point about aiming higher.

i am the sort of people you talk about - starting from Base Zero. my parents will refuse to feed me if one day i stop contributing to the household. i have no safety net, absolutely nothing. sometimes even have to help them to clear a bit of gambling debts here and there.

i work very very hard. i work like as if i stop, i will drop dead on the spot. so sometimes i wish that i could channel this type of energy to something that can yield me more money.

i am so afraid that if i burn my bridges now to focus on the several potentially more lucrative opportunities i have on hand, and if i fail, whether i would be left begging on the streets.

then i realise that i am the pre-cursor of the 40 yo aunty who is mediocre. she is doing fine, not too bad, yada yada, but just not splendid. just not magnificent.

your response really speak to me. i have a cousin whose house is filled, ceiling to floor, with Louboutins and Jimmy Choos and other exotic brands. why so extravagant? sometimes we just want more, to aim higher. this is called self-aspiration.

may,

some of these material fruitions aren't more of a milestone and reward, more than anything else.. like how some pple set a simple BMW320i as their milestone, and some setting a Kia Cerato... doesn;t matter what moves n inspires u, just make sure u're true to yourself. if u want a BM, have the courage to be honest to yourself... it is alright to dream, what else do we have?

this is wat makes some pple an employee til they die.

yea, dreams. i stiil wanna buy that blardy plot of land on sentosa cove, and admire the natural settings on the deck of that blardy yacht.

still very possible unless u're like 50 and u dun come across as very dynamic n likely to succeed... else i dun ever doubt that pple can achieve things once they've gotten their mindset tuned in the right way...

yeah that is like one of my ultimate dreams, other than sleeping over in various settings on different continents.

in the mid term, still aiming for grange at tanglin road....

heh. what the hell of a dream for you (and a freaking nightmare for them).

in the meanwhile, still can drop them a message in the same context from an anonymous email addy...

kittenpie

used to stay with them for a few years. is currently attempting to move out but husband opposes. this is one of the main trigger points in our fights.

the in law always likes to boast to me about their wealth. about their many properties in singapore and what not. about their big a** cars. but what i received from them is even less than what ordinary HDB-dwelling in laws provide to their DIL.

in other words, i hate them. serious.

wah... money not meant to do these Emotionally-charged things leh... although it's a form of motivation, once u cross that line, u may find yourself to be the very type of person u dislike. so be careful...

and dun forget to help those underpriviledged pple... if u have the priviledge of financial success, always extend some help... my advice is to help the young First, cos they will be the ones to carry our generation's burden...

kittenpie

powder, my heart goes out a bit more to the old. they are about to exit from this life already, share with them a bit of joy before they depart from this world.

Hi powder,

I really admire you have such noble heart to help the needy just like my hubby.

For me, I'm a bit simple in the head, I just want to have the financial freedom to do the things I like.

Eg. reading all the romance novels and comics, travelling to many countries, any time I want, without having to worry about my next meal.

bedokboy

I prefer to help animals and nature conservation.

If I ever become a rich man, I would will away most of my assets to such initiatives.

May, no lah i m not so noble like those into social works. I want to try out sales and maybe like car sales or least something that is diff fr
what Im doing now. These might need experience or at least someone's recommendation so I don't mind to start from low to gain some experience first.

Eh, hw come donate assets to Cat's Welfare = anti social? I luv cats and I used to bring stray kittens home!

may,

the older gen in their 50s-60s... i think they had their chances to do better in life. as for the younger generation - they have not had their chance and they can Still change... thus my inclination to give them this chance. i dun like to use $10 to help a person survive on $10 in a week becos they failed to save that $10 for the last 40yrs of their life. i prefer to use $10 to help the younger strive and make $100 becos they still have it in them. i see it as me helping the poorer folks' children... not them.

$100 in the hands of a grumpy 50yr-old who constantly blames life... is not as powerful as $100 in the hands of his son, whom i can still nurture to break out of that cycle. he can take care of his father in his old age... so it's 2 for 1 in my opinion.

i like to go to the root of things... plant trees for the future, instead of pruning the current trees....

kittenpie

sales is a good job though it is hard. i admire sales people who are suave at handling people and envy their jobs because they encounter all types of different people. challenging but interesting.

if you have nothing to lose, go for it. i feel that whatever it is, it is better than doing clerical admin. there are secretaries who tell me that they fear that their job is a species which is going extinct because admin features heavily in their job, and IT is making self-service viable. im paraphrasing what i was told, no offense to any secretary out there.

furthermore, if you are serious about changing job, it is better to do it when you are younger when time is on your side.

i love cats, but it is not humane to donate all of ones money to cats when so many human beings are suffering. lets help our own species first!

May, Like what powder say, I am actually trying to break through the "circle" that I m in but quite clueless and u r right, it is definitely better than what I am doing now. At least by trying, there's still a chance.

The people at my workplace share the same trend, they work here for ages, quite many work from young till waiting for retirement, wont leave no matter how harsh and unreasonable the management rules are, the management took advantage of these mentality, kept implementing ridiculous demands and cut down on staff benefits. Colleagues back stabbed each other just to fight for a little pay increment. So pitiful and I don't want to be like them and intending to tender after the big B.

kittenpie

susanna,

glad that you are not willing to settle for less. all of us have to start somewhere, often i ask myself what it would be to do something totally different. it feels scary and unsettling but all it takes is to take the first step. or else we will forever remain on the same spot. isn't staying on the same spot forever more terrifying?

im scared to grow old without realising it and not to have commensurate achievements to show for it.

May, totally agreed
Hopefully can get more inspirations from you!

dimpxtt

susanna low Teng Yee (susanna_low)

sounds like one of the semi-gov sector..in education sector that i have experienced..

quickly zao....lots of oldie-air suffocates me

May,

I thgt u going to church to hunt for pastor?

=p

How about investing in property?

I bought a few houses oversea 5yrs ago and the price of the houses had went up 50x now.

duckyholic

i have been working in this same company for almost 4.5years,
life is very mundane , no promotion, no development, no much pay raise
i m planning to leave my job soon as i have finally gather the courage to pursue my passion and try to do something which i tink i will enjoy
i can forsee that given another 5-10 yrs in this job, i will still be the same as where i m

as what MAY said, the tot of staying in the same spot scare me more than facing failure in my new endevours

charging forward may face the danger of knocking your head and nose with blood , but no matter what is better than to stay on the same spot forever, thats how i try to encourage myself

susanna, car salesmen can be quite tough too, unless u are prepared to work doubly hard than what u are doing now.

are u prepared to work on weekends? also if COE continues to rise and u are swatting flies in the showroom, where is ur commission gg to come from?

just citing u some scenarios cos I have some frens in this line. commission during the good times may be handsome, but they also have targets to meet.

ducky,

dun wait too long... the only con when u move, is perhaps some worries on the financials, else time passes very fast. if u want an edge over others... try to do things that they wouldn't do, build courage that most dun have, foresee what most won't be bothered to foresee... i can assure u that by just doing these - u will be Above average, and quite easily too.

it's not just abt luck nor hardwork nor loyalty nor stability... takes some guts n heart too. but make sure your head is always looking ahead, and not let fear conquer u... being fearless or less fearful of unknowns will give u an edge in life, not your academics.

thomas,

car sales is wat i consider a lazy-man's job. other than the few professionals who go all out to service u when u intend to sell/buy a car and do all the legwork, most others just wait for pple to come and push them into buying... it needs Little ability.

as such, if u enjoy when market is good even if u're lousy at selling... u should also suffer when the market is bad.

Dim, it's even worse than the semi-gov co, mine is an old skool Jap MNC
with nice colleagues and department heads but sucky management rules~
Basically it is a trading house but function more like a accounting co cum legal firm.
The accounting folks there scared that we will have too much free time at our hand and
like to implement ridiculous rules and many application forms/systems for us.
For simple documentations like inv/debit notes, we need to fill up several forms and
gone through so many dept head, wasting so much time and facing so many red tape for
new businesses.
There's no room for objection, watever they say we say "hai" "hai" like their dogs.
Somehow i feel that they biase the non-jap, even in jap, they doesn't have such
type of stupid rules.

ducky, that's a good one!

Thomas, actually I have no clue on what I want to do and hopefully I can find
some inspirations from those who share their experiences.
I really envy who could find a job or have a career on what they like to do
with good prospects too! I am still trying

duckyholic

hi powder

your words are so encouraging and inspiring
i have been thinking for a long time, finally muster up my courage
i plan to leave after i take my bonus soon.....

not the norm, i wun be looking for another similar job to land myself to, cos i dun c myself much happier as this line is not my interest/strength that i feel that i can excel in
i know my interest area and intend to take up full time course to learn and then to set up my own

it do certainly has alot of uncertainty, but luckily for me i have no financial commitment , so i was just thinking ... why not ??

i wun know what i can achieve later ....
if realli starve ... hahahhaha..... then go back to old line hahhaha

kenturik

Susanna, Jap MNCs would usually favour the Japs so there is no way out. And yes, many work there for years and especially some with extraordinary retirement benefit. I used to work for one of the biggest Jap MNC whereby some of my colleagues actually have this policy that the company will pay them one month salary for every year of service even when they decided to quit the company.
Dun be dishearten by the huge red tapes and regulations cos it is a good govenance whereby you maybe of value to your next employer.
Dun stay there too long though, the world is bigger out there and only when you step out of it all then you would realise

hi ducky,

i would like to remind u that need a very strong mind, amongst the many qualities that comes into play when u fight your fears to make changes in your life. Not many pple have the ability to withstand the tirade of fears, questions, societal pressures when doing it... but i consider it very very necessary.

i'm not gonna give any examples of great men, simply becos they were great men. but u would find that in this forum, i often tap on my own experience when sharing on the less-travelled paths... and i'm just like u and other locals. wat made the difference in my life, was that i was more willing to face fears n uncertainties against the norms after we get our respective academics and apply for little jobs here & there. i rem my poly lecturer asking why i was a sales-assistant when he bumped into me at metro one fine day... he could not understand, but then he could not see that there's education in the most basic of sales. it would be too long and tedious for me to write every episode of pressure and mockery i faced, so i'll just leave it short.

so same with whatever u intend to do, or where u intend to go... be prepared to face disapprovals, amazement and pple thinking u're crazy... But i think u have read from time to time, of promising doctors, lawyers etc who seek a totally different avenue, away from the comforts of their academic headstarts... well, they give up far more... there's no guarantess and u should not seek any guarantees... But i believe whatever u pick up along the way in your quest - will be what eventually defines u as a person.

u will be happy if u put everything together and seek what u most want and need... money is Impt, but it should not create the fears that would handicap u from a fulfilling advancement.

scope

in no way it's just money for everyone.

it's also seeking different forms of self-improvement on life, ie. fulfilments, aspirations etc.

moreover, we don't land a new job with the hope of earning more and doing the same amt of stuffs. if it's purely for monetary reasons, it is likely to come with greater responsibilities and a need to gear up for bigger challenges.

so, isn't it too simplistic to label Greed on me if i seek a better-paying job with new challenges?

kenturik

Susana, basically working in a Jap MNC is rather safe and protected. Unless someone committed a grave mistake, they usually do not fire unnecessarily.
Before considering tendering, you should first improve your skill sets. If you are to move to another trading company, those experience and skills will surely come to play.

kittenpie

dear leecoco,

they where got time to lim kopi when they are so busy lim kopi at Police Cantonment Complex.

would you mind sharing which type of property you bought and which location?

dear susanna and duckyholic,

dont bear grudges against the place you work. treat every place as a precious life learning opportunity. if that place does not enrich you career-wise or financially, at least it gave you bread and butter and provided you a springboard to something else. or provided you with a lesson about either yourself or life.

i have had unhappy work experiences before too. but the unhappiness lasted only around that time. once i went onto something better, i look back with gratefulness at where my last step took me.

be thankful for whichever organisation you are drawing pay from, because it paid for the food on your table. for that alone - respect.

just keep your eyes peeled for better opportunities. Ken is right that the world out there is very big and only limited by your mind. i confess - i used to be an office creep who likes to keep whatever (little) knowledge i have to myself, hoping this will keep me ahead. play stupid politics hoping for such little return. only recently has my horizon broaden and i can see the foolishness in trying to fight over such little things when positive opportunities are everywhere, including elsewhere...

scope_guy

Hi Vios,

I don't know. To me, as long as I have enough for my entertainment and food and needs... Actually, I myself am very frugal type... except for some minor entertainment, I have nothing much to spend on.

So you can say, I have minimum target in real. For business, my target is just to make sure I am not slacking; but I won't like thinking of making a few millions overnight.

Seen people doing that, and they go crazy.. money crazy, and when they fell, they lost all morale to be back again.

Just... one step at a time. Don't aim too high, just decent profits; then you start businesses to service the community. I am thinking of selling to women... They love to spend, I love to take.

I mean, all these talks about big businesses and easy money, and what inspiration... in the end, business is risky, investment is risky, it's not you are diligent you'd get the big bucks.

People should learn to appreciate life as life is. LOL~

kenturik

No Scope,
business is not risky, investment is not risky... No need to read such market signs, no need to take one step at a time... Just Luck, Pure LUCK... If you have the luck, you will surely make it, if no luck, then you will surely lose big time. Isnt It????