Advice for tea dresses

psyduck

Hi..

Can anyone recommend what sort of designs and colors are suitable to be wear for serving tea?

Any recommendations of where to get nice ones or make them?

Hi duckie,

I wearing kua for serving tea but if you got a good figure maybe can wear cheongsum. What colour u wearing for EG also important.

Hi Karing,

I am the FH.. just checking up for my FW. she doesn't like Kua or Cheongsam as they doesn't suit her well. so looking for other sort of tea dresses.. any recommendation?

can consider pickung another evening gown, but in simplier design and but so bulky type.. that what my GF and myself had for our wedding. she chose a yellow and mine a light blue

The tea dress traditionally worn by Hong Kongers. It is 2 piece. In red. YOu shoudl be able to get pictures of it by searching on the internet.

Hi cactus_79,
Thanks! Saw one at the bridal shop, don't think i like kua as it's nt fitting, abit lose type..

i saw a nice dress at Tampines that day which is suitable for tea-dress.
Its at Century Square, 2nd floor. The shop is beside Giordano. forgot the shop name already. the dress is tube kind, knee length. pure white with full white lace around the whole dress. i love it! and only cost $49!!

Ber80-
yah.Kua is not fitting. But you should be able to get it altered a little. So you can see the waist still. Some definition there.

I'm planning to wear a kua. I like it cos it's so traditional.

I am not wearing Kua as I find it heavy.

I chose a buster red long dress for the tea ceramony. I believe the BS that you have chosen should have tea dresses to try on.

It is not neccessary to be red as long as the colour of the dress compliment your body on that day.

just to check:
if i were to do a wedding lunch..do i still need an additional tea dress? cos i will be serving tea before my wedding banquet at the hotel to my hubby's side first so i will be wearing my WG? hope to have some advice. thanks

Hi sadness,

When the groom picked up his bride in the morning to his parent's place. The bride will be in her wedding gown. Most likely both bride and groom will be serving tea to his parent. Bride will changed into Kua or tea dress when she proceed back to her parents house to serve tea.

If you decided to serve tea to everybody at the wedding banquet. I think it makes more sense to wear just the wedding gown. Unless you decided you have the time and strength to change in and out between the wedding gown and tea dress.

If you do want to offend the old folks, seek their advice.

This is just my thought, hope it helps.

hi sadness, if the serving tea section is only ur hubby side then wearing ur gown won't be a prob unless its returning to ur parents hs then u ned to change ur gown to something else.

Is there a must to change to a tea dress when you go back to your parents' place?

Or is it a tradition or is it a new trend? Is it alright if I wear my WG for both places?

Accordingly, it's a must, because it signifies the 3-day-return-home ritual. We've condensed the timeframe that it's to be performed on the same day.

hopefully i;m not too late in commenting...

according to traditions, the female must change into another gown/dress when she returns to her family side... cos if she dun change... it's like the female has been rejected by the male side... kind of like rejected goods...although now it's modern times...but there will always be traditional old folks around... so it's better to change into a tea dress or something... =D

slightly OT..but...do you kneel when you're serving the tea to your IL? Is it a must? Because I dont wish to kneel..

hi pple ,

jus a fill in .. heard from old pple..

bride have to change into a tea dress or KUA when returning to her own parents.

and the rightfully .. can be done within 3 days from marriage. does not have to be on the same day.

Bride has to be in red. as any other colors signifies mistress.
Only red meant that u are the first wife.

so be careful not to wear the wrong color. !

but it all depends on ur own family too lah ..

hi SheR, it is not necessary to kneel. Most imptly check with ur parents and ur parents-in-law first. So you dont get a shock. For me I did not kneel. Modern ones dont need to kneel. Really depends lor

Kneeling is a form of respect given to the Elders. Though we are in modern society now, I still feel that we the junior have to abide to this "rules".

There is no such thing as "like or dun like" during Wedding Ceremony. Alot of things we dun like but still have to follow. Every "rules" we follow signify certain meaning.

This is my personal feeling. U may think I'm conservative/traditional. I dun want ppl to say I (Mei1 Jia1 Jiao4)

I feel that it's a must to kneel to my parents and FPILs during tea ceremony because it's them who raise my FH and I up. But by kneeling down to the other elders during tea ceremony, it doesn't signify any special meaning. If I need to kneel to the elders, I will definitely faint because I have so many elders to kneel (at least 25 times up and down). Yes, I respect them so I offer them tea during the tea ceremony. If they force me, then it's them who "mei jia jiao".

i agree with iris..
wedding is not abt 2 person..it is about 2 family.. whatever my parents or my HTB parents want for the wedding..we just give it to them..

Some items can be very troublesome and make no sense to young ppl like us..but just follow lor.. everyone happee..

hi dawn,

those shops selling guo da li stuffs would have the teapot & cups...

i saw a few guo da li shops at chinatown

I suggest a long red simple dress but not with too much big fluffy decor on it for Tea ceremony. You don't want to look too plain to look like one of your guest yet not too overdress to beat your evening gown.

Anybody interested in a White Full-lace Knee Length Dress by Emmanuel B couture? Ideal for Tea dress or ROM. Original price MTO was $980/-
Highly Negotiable. For fitting - email me at [email protected]

All my gowns were MTM. Got 2 contacts for MTM dresses after a whole lot of research!

Quite cheap consider the dresses/ gowns are fitted to your size. Both at Roxy Square.

1) Just Nice - 62477083 (Mdm Chua)
2) Italia Bridal - 64407573 (Lisa

Hope it's useful to all of you! =)

I am not wearing KUA as it is not part of the customs of my dialect group. I'm a Hainanese, btw. Chose a white long dress for tea ceremony.

I'm having my solemnization and AD on the same day. Any idea is it alright to have the morning tea ceremony just before my solemnization? TIA

Hey Islyn,

I think it should be okay. I did my solemnization last year already so dont have this problem. But my colleague who just did her wedding had a evening solemnization. So dont think it is a problem =)