Advice for PLus Size brides

Wow Chimes! Cool! and Congrats to you and I am sure u will be a lovely and pretty bride =)
Do share with us more pics ya..

When is ur AD and is ur ROM over already?

Hi Chimes,
My AD 5 Dec. is it too late to diet from May? when's yours?
same here, family all round round.. fatty genes all in the blood plus with eating as a hobby, it's really hard to slim down.

I sort of decided that I shldn't waste money on tailoring a Kebaya or Kua, gonna just buy a simple dress for tea ceremony. Anyone has any idea where I can get good and presentable plus sized dress for Tea ceremony and photoshoot?

hi Ling,
my ROM is in May and my AD is in Nov

hi Royal,
I guess it's never too late, I mean if you start in May, u have abt 6 months, losing some weight is better than losing none, right? Of cuz, we cannot expect to see miracles and be stick-thin ... but at least some fat off here and there

is there any shop in particular in city plaza that i can go?

i dun have much time le. Hopefully can settle 1 by tomorrow.

Hi SY, i saw some shop selling evening grown on level 4 or 5, at the side side kind, maybe you can check it out.

Yeah i agree with Chimes, slimming is no miracles...a lot of hardwork and it is never too late, thou it is always good to start early. We just try out best to slim down and lost what ever we can...My target not so far like chimes..lose another 5-8kg, i'll be very happy already.

Motivation to exercise for me is kind of hard. 1 paisei to exercise but my therapist say once i slim down, easier to exercise to maintain cause too fat also hard to exercise.

For myself, i try to motivate myself to cut my diet. Try to stick to 1500 calories per day so will auto avoid deep fried food and fattening food and drink. Today my colleague say seems like i really slim down.

Hi SY,
I guess the easiest way to lose weight is to work from our diet cuz we can control what we eat. Once we cut down on carbo intake, u will see the results soon. Then after that, u can exercise

Charmaine ... u were smaller than me to start with *lol* I was a size 18, now size 14. My target is to go down to size 12 :P Hopefully by Nov, I'm a size 12 ... hehe

RF is radio frequency. These days very popular for slimming & lifting facial. Uses deep heat but the newer version machine do not have any burning sensation and the heat can penetrate down and substain for appx 48hours after the treatment, can see the effect is better. So far i can inches lost on my tummy. It improve collegen and blood circulation too.

More info @
http://www.marmarahair.com/eng/radiofrequency.asp

Hi chimes ya me uk14-16, will be very happy if i can be uk10-12...easily contented. LOL

Ya i do treatment and also controlling my diet cause i want to receive the desire result in shortest possible time. But i do not have strict diet to see the result so far, my bday i still eat at restuarant for a week with different gp of friends as per normal, just to limit the calories intake i.e less rice, less soft drink etc. lol Exercise for me are hard, cause i fall sick easily...leg injured somemore for months haven't fully recover. And i like to go slimming instead of exercise cause they can do targeting slimming which purely dieting and exercise are hard to control. And i rather pay for the service than to exercise too lah...

Chimes and all who are dieting..happy for u gals, can slim down.. just when I wanted to start my exercise, injured my shoulder! what a luck..

Hi SY, you going to City Plaza? wonderng if you can do me a favour, to report what they have over there? Me looking of size 18/20 tea dress. Hopefully I can get it there..

Hello ladies!

I'm going to Korea in 2 weeks' time to celebrate my 5th wedding anniversay
As part of the itinerary, we will be visiting a hot spring / spa which requires swimsuit.

I'm a size 20, so where can I find nice simple swimwear? As I am a bit tall (171cm) one piece swim wear ALWAYS recommended by Triumph sales ladies don't fit comfortably...getting desperate here, even buy online from overseas I still won't get my swimsuit in time!

Would appreciate any help / advice!

Thank you ladies!!!

i'm not too sure but maybe u can try US brands like seafolly which have size up to UK18..
or u can also try sports brands like waveline/ arena..
hope that helps

Hi Chimes, wow that's really a very good achievement from Size 18 to 14. I am sure u will be able to hit ur size 12 before your AD.
GO GO JIA YOU!

Hi Charmaine,
Thanks for your info on RF
But how much have u spent so far on it?

Hi Royal,
Ya me too family genes..then always like to eat..but then again i think we have to motivate each other to work hard so that AD will be nicer ya keke

Have a good day ahead!

haha, ya..
Maybe we shld start a "size down" project. exercise together..cos me really no motivation to do any.. cant run os too heavy, so looking for briskwalking.. Anyone keen?

Hi Royal, me same as you, when wanna go exercise surely sick. Last yr wanna go jogging, end up slip and teat my ligament...

Hi Ling, i spent appx 3k so far.

Chimes, of course I kidding lah. but skipping's a good way.. will go buy a skipping rope..,

Charmaine, we both the same, I think we shld stop saying neg things and start work out positively...
Jia You!!

actually if can control ur diet n food urges herbal life is quite gd..i tried n lost quite a bit but now pile back a bit w/o herbalife but trying to walk n climb stairs do help also..
else swimming is also a gd way

i was like a 16-18 -> 12-14
so keep it up ladies!
most impt do it healthly *jiayou!*

Thank you JL & ZZ

I saw some XXL swim wear at Fun Fit Robinsons Centrepoint, but the sales lady was like ignoring me, ironing some other swim wear nearby. I feel too shy
to ask if XXL would fit, so I left without trying anything.

Waveline & Arena looks like they are meant for smaller ladies (size 30" chest???) so I'll continue to look. My last swimsuit was bought from Stadium at Taka B3, but they've got alot less selection there now.

What you've said is very true; my doc says it's better to walk briskly and longer to burn fat; running burns sugar 1st which is not so helpful for someone like me who's been overweight most of my life.

It helps to have your own cheering team, so let your best friend know you wanna lose weight, and celebrate whenever you lose (or even maintain) your weight!

So long as you are doing something to keep healthy and lose weight, you are in control of your life, so jia you ladies!

Hi Mudpie,

I remembered I bought my swimwre from waveline previously. Shey should have plus size for you. I am also looking for a swim wear for myself. just don't hv time to go shopping for it. Should really go robinsons..if not, buy from those market place also can, if you are not brand conscious, cos if you are going for hotspring, swimware tends to spoil easily due to the hot water..not worth paying so much afterall.

JL&ZZ, Herbal life is it very milky stuff? do they have anything like fruit juice type?

i bought my ROM dress at city plaza!

tude dress, white in colour.

Anybody noe where i can get a short cardigan to match?..to cover the arms?

my HTB was mentioning to me that, the more i cover, the more people will notice. Should just wear the dress as it is. But i got horrible stretch marks at the arms. I tink quite ugly

Hi everyone, am soo glad to find this thread coz i am also a plus size. heh. My AD is early Jan next year and I havent start looking for a BS. Am I too late for getting MTM?

royal, herbalife not really milky stuff lah.. basically its the basic protein as meal replacement in powder form which u can mix together with juices/ milk/ soya milk..
for me i don like the thick thick taste so wat i did was average amt of the powder but to a big amt of juice to mix n drink gradually..
for me i lost 4klgs in a mth substitute 2 meals n take 1 normal dinner..
i also took their herbal tea that helps to detox.. tat will increase ur body metabolism n also detox cos i kept running toilet to pee when i start to drink..
overall if u can control the hunger pangs that kicks in when u jus start for that first 7-10days u can last

i also did yoga for toning hope its helps

p/s: i don work for herballife

mp, u r still not too late.. usually MTM take ard 4-6mths..
but u shd start searching for ur BS now..
i'm with my bridal room, jazz with bridal concept..
if u have multiply can add me in then can share my gown pics with u

hi MP, welcome to the thread

ya, jengcc is right ... there's still time for MTM, no worries. Anyway, u might not need MTM afterall. It will be good if u can start sourcing around for your BS now. As jengcc has mentioned, I'm with Bridal Concept, in fact, both BS that jengcc has mentioned are in Bugis, one road apart hee

Royal, just saw your post. i got my dress on the 3rd floor. You can't miss it. once u come up from the escalator, you will see it.

i didn't explore any further after this shop.

i am a size 18, can fit into their size 6. Abit tight on the waist which according to the salesger, they can tailor to loosen half to one inch.

i didn't do it on the spot. Going to try to lose that extra inch off myself. If not successful, than tailor.

Got bigger size than 6..8 is abit too loose for me look even worst

JL & ZZ,
I do have a herbal life contact, but I dare not take it cos scare it will hv milky taste. Anyway, will contact shl I want to try it.

SY,
will check out City Plaza cos need a Tea dress! Gosh, it's been donkey years since I been there..

Thanks all.

Hi SY Chen, got photo of that dress? How much does it cost?

Hi MP, when is yr AD?

Hi Ling, has added you.

For those who wanna try meal replacement, i would suggest maybe you can get 1 pack off yahoo auction first. Don't me like my mum spend hundreds of $ to buy cambridge diet end up throw everything away cause my mum bth, waste $ for nothing. Beside not everyone can take meal replacement. I'm fussy with food and i'm one of those who can't cause not used to it.

royal, i have half a bottle of the protein left if u want i can pass to u cos i stop taking liao..
let me know if u interested

Thanks everyone =) Making a list of studios to drop by next saturday. Have you any idea whether House of Etiquette has plus size kuas?

Jengcc, unfortunately I do not have a multiply acct =( My Bridal Room does not have a webbie?

Jazz, will check that out =)

Charmaine, 3 Jan.

Charmaine,

is a normal knee lenght tude dress, with some folds & ribbon on the breast area.

Will try to take a picture soon. cost ard $80

How is your ROM gonna be like? Simple or elborate type? From there you can work out the list of things you need to do..Enjoy your preparations!

I'm ling too haha..where are u gg to hold your ROM? Things to consider:
1) Date (I supposed you have got one in mind already then have to reg online 3 months before your ROM date.)
2) Location (Are you holding it in the ROM center or outside?)
3) JP (You would need to engage one if you holding it outside)
4) Dress (Do you already have a bridal package? if so then normally they will throw in the ROM dress else, you can always go n shop ard and buy when you happen to see one you like)

hmm..I m not sure if i have missed out any. But the above will be the more impt one haha n oh ya not forgetting ur wedding bands ya..keke

Like wat royal says, happy prepations!

royal & fellow ling

thanks for ur reply. Haven't search for a bridal studio yet. Is there any recommendation from you gals?

Likely to hold a simple rom then have a lunch.

Missyling,

There are many BS which you can choose depending what you really want. Suggest you buy some bridal magazines or surf this forum for some selection of BS then work according to your suitable style and budget.

Also need to decide if you need a Wedding Gown or just a tea dress for your ROM/Luncheon, etc..OTR or MTM? they are of different price range too.
I am with Digio, not sure about the rest. I hv been to Precious Moments; My bridal Room and French Studio before I decide on Digio, Simply bcos I was at ease with my co-oridnator and love their gown designs.

My suggestions, don't go for too many BS or you;'ll be too confused, just select some and then walk in..Negotiate for the best deal.Don't be afraid to request things and you'll see how they can quote you their best offer. of yes, bring along 1 or 2 friends with you for opinions.. but not too many else it'll be chaotic..haha

As for lunch, buffet or sit-down luncheon? In door or out door? these are some questions you and your FH need to discuss and decide. Once done, then you can source for suitable 'makan' place.

ROM venues should also be considered too..whether you want to have it at the registra of marriage or at your luncheon venue, etc, etc

When is your ROM date?

I am in search of nice and meaningful vows. Do anyone of you have any to share?
Any idea where I can get wedding songs?

Appreciate much.

Hi all, I am a new member. Would like to make new friends with all of you here. And I would sincerely like to seek advice from all of you regarding planning of wedding. I would be having my wedding in Jan '2009. Any idea where can i get plus size wedding gown? My size should be XL. Hope to hear from you all soon.

(my email add : [email protected])

Hi Royal, my rom dress & coordinator is at Digio too. Love their service and dress collection.

Btw, what can i engrave on my ring..any suggestion? My ring appx 5 character, my htb ring appx 9 charcter

Hi Valerie,

Welcome, we all learn from one another. Your size should not be hard to find. Try My Bridal Room. I'm with Digio but mine is MTM...don't think they have many plus size colection, but you can still try cos they can alter from the exisiting size to fit you. Their gowns are lovely!

Hi Charmiane,
Who is your cord at Digio? I love their gowns too. But too bad cant get OTR cos I'm too big for them! Alteration also cant fit! haha
Looking forward for my MTM cos jeslyn's doing the designing for me. Will be going for my mock-up try end of June.

u can engrave your wedding date or HB's initials. No need full name...or your love theme..