Advice for PLus Size brides

hi Chimes,

I ask the BS to KIV the WG with frills for me first. Indeed, my FH still prefer the pink one. He say that one look sweeter. But the WG with frills seems to have better comments from my friends. I will wear it again to let my designer see.
I already print all the design i like out to get ready to see her tml.

Hi Chimes,

Me too! me too! my hubs normally "faints" everytime i buy a bridal mag..lol

Hi Charmaine,

Hows ur search for the venue?? Booked the place liao??

Hi Royal,

I like DG's gowns..they have a certain feel and look for their gowns...

Hi Ling ling,

Think ur frilly WG is nice and unique.. The EG can look around again. U are fair,so u shd be able to carry off more colors...I personally like EG to be in darker cols..give an ambience to the nite

SotongLet, yes fish cod oil or fish liver oil or fish oil. Similar product actually from different fishes... usually they are in soft gel capsules, easy to swollen and fast to absorb.

Parmida, yeah have already book Holiday Inn Park View on Xmas 2009. Looking for PG & VG. Anyone can help? I do not know where to start with. Can email yr pg & vg quote and feedback as refences to start with? [email protected]

I've tried manual lymphatic massage a numbers of times. It is suppose to be very light stroke using detox oil. Usually they will push the toxin to the lympt nodes and so it can pass out from the body and it aids in reducing water retention and slimming indirectly. But for me, i still find it rather painful when they are pushing to the lympt nodes especially on the back of the leg cause got a lot of toxin & water retention in my body... hai... thou the massasue is applying very little pressure. If you met with a good therapist you can see result almost immediately i.e. letting air out of yr tummy when they are massaging, or after the massage you'll feel quite light, and farting over the next few days to release the air etc.

Charmaine, ah.. so any recommendations for a good therapist for lymphatic massage?

Also how to lose weight pretty fast ah?? I need to lose about 5+ Kg by July for my fotoshoot. >.<

wah Charmaine, u r looking for PG and VG already? Still quite early if u r looking at Xmas 2009 ... usually their quotes for 09 won't be out yet

Charmaine, are u still doing ur MLD?? me thinking of going to try it out.. soon..hehe.some last min lose weight mehtods...lol

Just curious, what is MLD?
When are all your AD? Charmaine, Xmas'09 and you have booked Hotel liao? That's fast..:-)
Talked abt Bridal mag, I booked marked so many pages until I don't know which book to bring for my Gown visit..Surely it's MTM for me..

Hi Royal,

Maybe you can cut out or tear out some pages that u need and slot them into a folder instead, u don't hafta bring so many mags along in that way

Another way, if you do not wanna damage your mags, scan the pics in and print them out on an A4. then file them in a folder. ^^.

For me, I keep all in my thumbdrive. But need to check if my BS has a laptop tat i can use to show the design.

Cheers!!!

I certainly cant bear to tear those pages...I already have a thumbdrive containing some online designs..so many until i also don't know which one to choose the design from. My designer will probably think..this woman so Kiasu....

Hi Royal,

MLD is manual Lymphatic Drainage..its a massage pressing the lymph nodes in our body, its like a "detoc" massage...stimulate better blood circulation... hope i describe correctly..

Me went to try a trial session just now...it was nice
certain parts was abit ticklish and slight sour feeling for me... Think me will go try another place to see if theres any diff in the way they press...

If u like massage, u will like this too

Hi Parmida, glad to know you enjoy it.

Hi SotongLet, i do have a couple of good therapist to recommend, if keen, pm me or msn cause too long winder to type here. LOL...i got quite a lot of packages on hand...

5kg by July is possible. LOL, i'm targetting at 5kg by may actually....have a bet with my colleague to lose my waist till 30".

The in thing in beauty salon now is Radio Frequency Sliming. Mon going back to take measurement to see how much i've lost so far...lol...excited cause finally my bf say i've slim down.

So me kiasu, took fish liver oil, apply slimming ampoules, apply slimming gel, doing rf, and other slimming programs. LOL. As the date got nearer, i got more concious of my food intake too.

Charmaine cannot pm u. anyway i on my pm. You can pm me ur email or msn addy i add u ah. I really need to start losing weight... everyone say I put on alot of weight liao . T.T

I need to start myself on running and weights training soon. *yeah.. I will start tomorrow.. LOL*

hi ladies! how's everyone? hope u all are doing well =)

any one knows which slimming centre give good results? wedding in 3.5 months and i GAINED weight after my business trip T_T

my target is to lose 15kg but my weight like stuck no matter wat i do. already tried reductil (stopped cos i notice my hair like drop but it works!), tried G5 + elife + shake whole body machine at Haach (this one dun really work leh), tried to eat less (this one completely fail) and tried to gym (gain weight instead).

at a lost wat to do le... is it a crime to cancel wedding if cannot slim down in time?

super stress now cos my FH everyday poke my fats or say things like 'u only say wan to slim down but u r still eating'. makes me feel so sad cos if i dun eat on time i will get v bad gastric. sigh....

anyone can help? recommand ways to lose weight?

hi don

I should say it can be disappointing that we aren't able to attain the weight we want but it's not the end of the world. Getting married is not about just looking good on your wedding day. It's about making that commitment to spend your lifetime with the person you love. So i don't see why you should cancel the wedding just bcoz you can't slim down.
Moreover your FH is still with you isn't he? What's most impt is that he still loves you no matter what size you are and you on other hand have tried your best in trying to lose weight. I feel that your FH is just teasing you about your eating so don't take it too hard. My FH does it to me too.

So just be confident and make yourself glow with inner beauty, good or better complexion and most of all love from everyone that cares about you.

Hi charmaine,

How is the radio frequency session?? u lost alot of weight?? how much does it cost?
Me going back for my massage on mon and see how it is b4 trying another one..
die liao! this is call last min hug buddha leg slimming...

this weekend, i been toying the idea of doing a cheong sum for ROM

wonder is it too funny. I heard that a nice piece of cheong sum will flatter the figure. Best of all, i can do it with sleeve to cover the fat arms.

i am doing my solemisation in chinese, for both side parents. Wondering whether it is suitable a not.

Don, errr... you can try south beach diet aka protient diet, but can only go on this diet for 1+mth dun go more than that. Also try endurance training, like slow jog/cycling/fast walk for 1hr every 3 days 1ce. Should see the results within 1mth.

1 thing is, my nutritionist friend keep telling me is, do not try to fast when u go on a diet, it will make ur body consume less food for energy. Therefore try to boost ur metabolism and eat healthy.

Cutie I agree with you saying our FH marrying us for us. Who say plus size cannot be beautiful anyway.

SY, cheong sum is lovely for ROM! It will be more memoriable as a CS is timeless and classic. My sis did hers in CS too and everyone was saying she looked very stunning and different.

anybody have contacts for seamtress to do cheongsum? i only have ard 1 month to do it.

duno in time a not.

i think if do cheong sum, next year CNY also can wear. So still not so bad

Hey all,

Finally discussed my WG with my designer. feel comfortable with her considering it's our first mtg. Gonna have a champagne colour gown instead of off-white.Looking forward to it.

Sad news: No Kua and Tea dress fits me.

Now need to look for off the shelf Tea dress.. Anyone has any idea where to get plus size nice dress for Tea Ceremony? If not, any good tailor to recommend?

I intend to wear it for my photography session in Aug too. So, I hv a couple of months to search..but now, I hv absolutely no idea where to get. Am also thinking should I wear peranankan style, though I have only 1/4 gene in my blood..haha

after we choose the design for our mtm wedding gown, will the brial shop make a mock one first for us to c before making the actual one or they straight away make the actual one (w/o beading end emb) then ok le then choose wat color beading etc...

but will it be funny for me cos I'm not 100% peranakan leh. Anyway, where to tailor this?
Need some advice.. If my WG is 100% champagne colour.. will it be too strong? I tried Off white and white, both doesn't suit me.. Designer and I thought champagne will be good.. but now on 2nd thoughts, I am afraid will the colour be too "much". Now I headache, what colour should the shoes be.. hard to get matching colours..sigh

As on mockup gown, I think, BS shop will do the gown w/o bead and details, let u try first, if ok then they add the details. The 1st try on your MTM should be consider your mock up liao.

hi royal,

i think champagne color is nice.
initially, i wanted tat color too. but cos the bottom of my gown is 2 color. so if choose champagne then will be no contrast. so i chose off white.

hi Royal, there's no rule that says u have to be peranakan to wear sarong kebaya ... hehe
as for shoes to match champagne gown, I guess simple gold strappy heels should do the job, even beige will do the job

fat people wear nice or not? I hv got people telling me, fat people wear will look nice, some people tell me not so nice... sigh!! I lost liao..
Gold Shoes hmm.. that's a good choice..Thanks Chimes!

royal, sarong kebaya, can try going to the peranakan district in sg to check out. I think it is at the katong laska stretch. Some of the peranakan shop there may also point you to the good tailors of those kebaya. Anyway I think there are always some ready made ones around and you can always try them first to check if you think you look nice.

My BS was telling my champagne colors are good for tanner looking people. I guess it the color look stunning on you than that is a good color for you. ^^

no problem, Royal

as for the kebaya issue, why don't u go look around to see if you're able to try some off-the-shelve ones? Then you will be able to see whether it's suitable or not.

SY Chen >> my fren worn a CS for her ROM too.. very nice

my favchoco >> don think have mock up usually is they wil go the gown minus all the beading etc..
basically the outline of the gown but if u hv like tapering on the bottom some will jus pin up for u to "c" but not actually do it less u change ur mind..
ropyal >> who cares wat u wear.. most impt u like it n looks gd

also dopn b bothered with comments from too many ppl.. ppl says white makes ppl llok fat but some fat ppl jus looks gd in white..
so if u r happy n feels best in that col jus go with it

most impt.. we cannot pls everyone who has a comment for everything else

so b happy gals

i think i am going to city plaza this sunday to try my luck at the gowns first

if really can't find anything, i will get a cheongsum done.

Haiz. i think i will look really bad on my ROM

hi SotongLet, have pm u my msn.

Hi chimes, i do think slimming gel and slimming ampoules do work. Recently i order some slimming ampouples use in slimming salon, and I was told to massage for 20 mins cause in slimming centre the massage help to breakdown the fat, so at home need to massage for 20 mins or so. And kneading daily will helps to soften the fat cell so can burn easily but sometimes find it such a chores.

Hi cutiephinphin, the thermo slimming ampoules i bought cost $48 for a box of 10. But usually beauty salon is selling appx $200-300 per box. The ampoules i apply liao is really warm after applying and the skin turn a bit redish but so far ok for my sensitive skin.

Slimming gel salon brand is appx $100 or so. You can it off the rack in sasa etc appx $20-50 should have bah. The 1 i using is Dr Johnson Thermo, cheap cheap $12 only. LOL but it is really hot too. But i'm too lazy to apply daily... If you're hardworking type should be able to see good result bah, like me so lazy..hard to see result from slimming gel, i only apply when i feel really guilty like having a sinful meals.

Hi don, you can try the RF i'm doing if you keen, you can go for a trial @ $80 i think. Can see pretty good result. They confirm that there is will inches lost but weight lost they can't commit. My sis saw my arm and tummy slim down so she took up a package too.

I also got a bit thinning hair issues, now trying out Yunnan now. Very smelly bust seems pretty good.

My target is 10kg then i very happy already. Now got 8kg to go. By May how to lost at least 3kg more.

Dear don, you can eat. But do not overeat. I got gastric as well. Just limit yr calories to appx 1500 calories per day. Avoid fried food and take more healthy food. Don't cancel wedding just because you can't lose weight. We try the best we can only...you can't keep postponing yr wedding just because of that.
Regardless wheather you are fat or slim, i'm sure yr friends and family will still you the blessing.

Hi Parmida, I lost appx 2kg plus by controlling diet and doing RF. RF cost me appx 3k for a 10 full session inclusive of slimming ampoules, slimming gel and wrap. Consider quite cheap in the market cause i did my reserach. Some salon selling @ $380 10 session but each session only 10 mins. Me going back for my measurement end of this week again. But i got quite good feedback, yesterday metup with my poly buddies, they say i slimming down. My friend's friend met me twice also say i slim down last week. My relative also think so, heee..quite happy about it. Will update you all again once i go for my measurement. You all can go for the trial $80 only think also appx 45 min or 1h, i can't remember, my 1h session is after bargaining. $80 is pretty cheap...and my sis did 1 session can see result already.

Hi Charmaine, I am new here..Can you share with me more on the RF tat you are using? Where is the salon located?

My AD is next Year May and now keep eating haizz sigh can't seems to be motivated to slim down..

If sliming is all that easy, then we wont hv this thread call: Advice for plus size brides liao..right?

Most of us here faces the same problem.. motivation issue. Me too.. hv been eating and eating still..

well haha Royal, u r right!

I guess it's probably due to the fact that we are so used to ourselves being big, so maybe nothing seems important enough to get us to lose weight :P

But ever since my colleagues have commented that I look so much better now, that I'm determined to lose some more and also, it's best for health.
So I guess we gotta find some turning point somewhere.

I'll hv my gown ready for me to fit in June probably and my photoshoot in Early Sep. Hope to slim down at least abit.. by then, but seeing my progress.like nothing has been done yet.. really sian.maybe start dieting fr May.. let me enjoy this mth first..

hi chimes

wat type of gown and evening gown u wearing??
i finally made up my mind. bustier for wedding gown and halter for evening. i choose maroon coler. like purple also .. haiz...

btw, when ur ps??

hehe yea man thanks for all the advise gals!!
Ya for my case my whole family round round de so i think difficult to slim down too..

Chimes, so how do u slim down? exercise? arghh i hate running haha

hi myfavchoco,
I'm having a bustier WG and a bustier WG with detachable organza &amp; lace sleeves (slightly longer cap sleeves) so that if I decide not to have sleeves, they can be removed. My PS is in early June

hi Ling,
I took reductil (10mg) and control my diet. Lost abt 15kg from last Sept till now, weight loss these 2 months has been slow cuz I hardly exercise :P