Advice for PLus Size brides

hi eunice, mine's uncle Sam..
but i only went Sentosa cos no time liao..
jus hope my bikini beach shots don look to "gross"

Hi Cutie ..

Me sign up with J&M .. i have photo in multiply

but must add as contact to view the photo ..

Hi Royal .. me uk18 going to 20 soon .. hahaha

hey dearris

till now you haven't add me. Gave u my account on facebook liao. I have multiply but i can't remember le. Is it by email too? If so, same [email protected]

Wow great for you that you're losing weight... You've been dieting?

hey dearris

can see your wedding pictures or not. I think u really look pretty from the small photos i managed to see. I don't find u really plus size just that you're tall and more broad shouldered. The EG color suits u and makes u look really flattering. wtg

Hi Chimes,

I added u in multiply. Hope to view yr pretty pics soon..

Btw, any of u gals know where to buy 'pig trotters' canned now? my mom told me recently got sell awhile but nw dun seem to find it.. need to buy it for guo dai li.. if really dun have, any suggestions what to replace with?

BT,

I rev'd your email. Will view your pictures from home pc. Hmm..Pig Trotters, maybe can get from supermarkets like cold storage or Giant? major stores should have.. to replace, can buy a roasted piglet (Ru Zhu). if fact, pig trotters are used in this modern days to replace roasted piglet...

Dearris / Chimes, I saw your pics.. nice shots. both of u dun look plus sized.

Hey girls
Need some comments of my EG.
Do you all think i look nice if with a shawl on it or do you think i should MTM my EG?
My multiply id is btsher. Need to add me b4 can view

Hi Ling Ling,
The turquoise gown is your selected EG? Personally I feel that shawls are quite passe for gowns .. maybe you can ask your BS if they will be able to make something else for u to cover up your arms if you're concerned? Eg: clip-on sleeves or some details hanging over both sides of the shoulders to "camouflage" the upper arms like lacy frills, beaded chains etc?

If you feel more comfy in other cuts other than tube gowns, why not ask your BS designer if u wanna MTM?

Hi Chimes,

I have no ideas what kind suit me leh. That why i dont dare to take MTM, scare it will turn out badly done.

Ling Ling, you can talk to your BS designer and see what he/she suggest? Since they are the pro in this area,they should know how to cover up flaws and flaunt your assets. Maybe let them know your concerns, what u don't want etc. However, go with an open mind.

Hi Chimes,

Yup... birnerd is actually my hubby's nick.. I forgotten my login and lazy to re-create another one, so i jus use his to login n post here... keke...

BT, I saw your pictures finally. Bintan ya! sky so blue..I like it! Ur Photographer is Ben right? I think Mine also..

Going to choose gown again on 14 Apr. Wish me luck! Probably will also be talking to my desginer as well. Elson is quite good..he kept assuring me..no problem when I complain I couldn't find my size in Tampines GHA..

Hi Royal,
Have fun on your gown selection heehee ... I like the process of changing in and out of the gowns, very fun *lol* juz a pity that we aren't allowed to take pics of all the gowns we've tried.

Decided to give up my OTR EG and go for MTM EG instead. Met up with my BS designer last nite and we've settled the design of my EG .. hehe .. going to be A-line flare gown with two hues of purple, with black and silver lace overlay

Hi Chimes,

Good for u.
I was still wondering whether to take that OTR EG or to MTM my EG. So confuse!! Totally, no ideas on what design if I will to MTM. Where you get yr ideas from?

hi Ling Ling,
I flipped thru a lot of magazines, both fashion and bridal (foreign ones as well) ... surf online for ideas from real brides' gowns and I had my wedding folder done up with pictures that I wanna and think those might suit me.

hi ling ling,

u will need to flip quite a fair bit of mags, and surf the net...me spent quite a substantial amt of $$ on mags.heehee

Chimes,

I hope I can have fun trying gowns like you do. But hard lah. for you..it's easy.. changing gowns in and out.. for me...fat hope! no gowns can fit lah...no confidence to go ..

I signed with DG. I went GHA Tampines that day to try on OD gown.. only managed to get 1 and need major alterations somemore.

I didn't really went BS sourcing.. just went to afew.. like DG's service, then sign lor. Should have gone for more BS and see.. Anyway, already signed up liao, cant change.

Anyway, maybe going on alone on 14. cannot let FH know abt my agony cos he sure tease me..and ask me go on diet and exercise.

erm the BS that i went to does only mtm anyway. But it's just that they told me they couldn't offer me any gowns to try on coz I'm well endowed. So erm... ya... too bad for me lor. I won't get to know what sort of neckline, what type of gown would look good on me lor.

eerrr .... when I went BS sourcing, most of them said OTR is ok, I was size 18 when I started sourcing and I managed to try on gowns at all the 6 BS that I went to, which includes Di Gio. Now I'm size 14 after taking abt 6 months to shed off some weight, Im still plus-size lah, just a little smaller plus :P

i have less than 2 months to my ROM and still haven't get my dress yet ;(

doesn't help much when i am a plus size 18.

I am going to source for some ROM package this weekend (and AD packge if the price is good).

Any place to recommend? I don't think those tude dress, halter type will suit me. I am thinking of MTM but i doubt there is enough time for me to get 1

hi csy

my suggestion would be not to waste time and look for a good BS that you can really be assured that they won't do a shoddy job. Since you don't have much time to waste.

Well I went for consultation, it was suggested to me to wear a Bustier. The consultant said that although Bustiers are common, but the right bustier (meaning right fit at the bust, armpit area, chest) will actually bring out your assets & minimize your flaws. But as you're only looking at ROM packages, I'm not sure how elaborated you want for your dress. For me I'm looking at a wedding gown and that was suggested.

it's good to have both WG and EG MTM. Cos normally most BS dont have much OTR choices for plus size. Even though, the sales did told me that there will be a lot of gown for me to choose for when signing up the pkg.
I was so dishearted when I went for my gown selection. No much choices for me. Even those that look very nice but when I wear on it, it just made me look fatter.
Haiz, want to slim down is also not an easy job...

lingling, i totally agree with you. It's really not easy at all to slim down...
well definitely we can't take halter and spaghetti lah... Can try with toga lor or as i said earlier bustier. Sigh... i know what you mean. The bridal package that I'm interested in also has an option of getting off-the-rack tea dress, evening gown etc but... surely no size for me also lah. And I'm around size 14.

ladies, MTM ensures better fit and the designers can do up something that u like, so u can start flipping magazines for ideas. I gave up my OTR EG to go for MTM EG cuz I saw something I like from the magazines.
c'mon .. cheer up, plus-size doesn't mean we can't look good lor ...
cutiephinphin, u sign up with which BS?
I'm also around size 14.

hi chimes

well there are only 2 BS that i'm interested in... will be going for my appt with the other BS this sat. After which I will confirm. However I roughly know the BS I will choose but I just want to look at another BS before I decide.

I ever went to MBM and fitted into 2 gowns. both bustier..actually most of us think Bustier dun look good on us, but we may be wrong, cos with all the'fishbones" corsets, you'll be surpised how "straighten up" we can look. I was told the more "fishbone", the better. With the right lgth of veil, it can cover up our flaws at arm areas, as for evening, just let down our hair to use as cover ups. i think it should look ok.

I tried Halter, it wasn't nice on me. In fact, my only OD gown i chose that was a halter, but I am going to have it altered to be a bustier. This can be done.

I am just hoping for the best now. no choice then will hv to take pills to reduce weight...yet, so scare that once stop, weight bounced back double! this was what happened to me many years ago! Sigh..

CSY, You can try shops or departmental stores like robinsons, etc.. some of them carry big size clothes and they can be used for ROM too. Maybe outside Tailors can help you do tailoring if you really cant find any and if BS do not have time for your MTM.

Try Sun Plaza Level 1 that shop, er.. cant remember the shop name. They sell plus size gown, i bought a few piece there.
Can try till you drop, somemore free alteration.

hey ling ling, so which WG did u choose in the end? the WG with frills?
this EG is quite nice, why don't u show it to your BS designer? He/she will be able to advise u accordingly, afterall, they are the professionals

ling ling, first hor..
u not plus at all lor..
so slim at least compare to me lah..
must b confident..
WL is like that one insist they bring u more gowns.. try every single type regardless u like or not cos u don like may look gd on u..

gals who have no BS yet..
u seriously can try my BS: My Bridal Room
they have plus size OTRs which r nice..
pop down one day no obligations u won't regret

Hi, sorry back track a bit, haven't been in for days. Reductil is available at most GP. Use to have buy 3 get 1 month free, $100+ per month. Yes GP will monitor progress monthly.

I used to have irregulary menses too. Went to see my family doctor who suggested me to take a blood test. My blood test show that some hormones are inbalance, took 6 months of hormones pills and now things are back to normal. Btw, the KKHS specialist did tell me the weight is one of the main issues. So i'm trying to loss weight.

Btw, you gals can try taking fish liver oil. Was told by my beautitian who used to be the trainer of a establish slimming centre, that fish liver oil is good as they release triglyceride and aids in slimming. I've taken for 1-2 weeks, feel pretty good abt it seriously. When i've taken, i perpire a lot unlike before. My bf took 1 day and he feel the diff...not sure if he is being too sensitive a not. But need to drink plenty of water when taking suppliments.

And 1 horrify thing i found out from her is fat cell once multiply, will not disappear, it can only strink in size. So better control out diet...don't over eat again...hai...

cutiephinphin, actually size 14 not that bad. GHA have size 11 dress (think usa sizing) and i can fit in. Digio i went to try some larger cutting dress, they can alter to crossback and admend to fit us too. Me trying to loose until sz 12 so got more design and look better in halter.

Actually, i was thinking of off-shoulder dress. At least cover part of the arms, still not so bad.

It doesn't have to be very elaborate becoz i am having ROm at my new house, follow by house warming. Need something that is comfortable but nice

Should i try Tanjong Pagar? They say more likely to get it there.

If i get a tailor, i have to provide them my own cloth rite or i can get it from there?

Charmaine, fish liver oil? cod liver oil will do? must it be the liquid form or can take as capsule?

Lingling, I remember that you are very fair rite? You can go for more strong colors. You can always go back to ur BS to try something similar to see if it is suitable too.

Cutiephinphin, so which BS have you shortlisted??

For My Bridal Room, I remember asking about the photo size and quality they return to us in CD. They told me it is resized to 5R and jpeg format if I remember it correctly. Otherwise If looking for OTR gowns, MBR has pretty nice selections.

hi sotonglet

Well i have 2 BS that I've always wanted but then the more i think the more less confident I feel and the more conscious I feel abt my size, especially my arms. I'm already imagining myself wearing the wedding gown and taking the photos and imagining how my arms will look like. Even though I can use the veil to hide but I can't keep wearing the veil either.

Anyway I'll be going to the other BS that I'm interested in this Saturday and see how and what they tell me bah.

I'm trying to lose weight too but it seems so so difficult. Or rather the progress is SO SO Slow...

hey csy,
I also held my ROM cum house warming at my own nest on the same day.

Me going WL tml to meet the designer. I was thinking of purple color for my EG