Advice for PLus Size brides

Hi Apple & Wendy,

I can check for you regarding the corset with my friend. I heard that the spa she visits which I wrote earlier has a corset thing that helps her look good and has slimming effect too.

went to visit my BS designer last fri..

hmmm at least some ideas wat kinda of WG & EG..

she got a kua... i can wear e top but not the bottom... sianz... how to squeeze my butt in ah????? if can squeeze in then no need to rent...
can save $$$

btw she agree to let me bring 2 gowns out for PS... most prob in late dec or early jan bah...

lim

i cnfm last yr... just that my mind is blank so i go n meet her for a discussion first..

so far my mt ups with her is ok... unlike those unhappy btbs from e actual forum... hahaha

well at least my hb finds jess ok

lim

You want to join me to go my BS, just take a look no harm. Although my BS got bad comment in the forumn, personally I tot its still ok. you may want to consider?

i am starting to search for BS now.. just have a few qns to ask.
1) how u choose ur BS? eg:from forums, frens etc
2) d u try on their OTR gowns b4 signing up?
3) do u have hard time searching for OTR gowns for PS?
4) which is ur PS? hows their service?

sorry for so many qns..

by the way i am a plus size too.

Thanks for your help

hi poogle, i hope i can answer some of your qns .

1)I haven't chosen my bs but i read local bride mags and i myself have an idea what design i want. i also read the threads posted on forums about the bs i had in mind. i also get inputs from friends who had gone thru the experience b4.

2)i went to 5 shops so far. not all shops let you try. So far two of the shops let me try their gowns. They are j n m and di gio. it is definitely advisable to try on their gowns b4 signing up so that you know the feel, fabric of the gowns

3)Surprising i don't really have a hard timw going to shop for BS. I had fears at first cox i'm plus size. thought that they won't have my size. They let try some OTR or they would recommend MTM. i made time to go down for two different evening. First time with my FH, the other time with a good friend. I think there are advantages goin with either one. With FH, there is a risk of them keep gettin you to sign up their packages, but a lot of decisions can be made together. With a good friend, they somwhow "back off" a bit cox the BSs know that you won't be making a decision without your FH.

4)all five of the BS i went to have quite good service. I went to graceful image, z wedding design, j n m, yvonne creative and di gio.

I hope i have helped you with your qns..

Hi Poogle,

Personally, I surf up the forums for the reviews, then I shortlisted 3 BS and went to visit them to have a feel of their service. Not so much on the gown as I know I wanted MTM, so their designs doesn't appeal to me. What matter most to me then was the working relationship cos if I am comfortable with them, then I will be able to convey what I want for my gowns to them

FYI, I visited Jazreel Low, J&M and Jawn Happy Ever After of which I chose Jawn in the end

Thanks ladies for your reply..

actually my AD is not fix yet, but i already started to do "homework". i plan to shortlist 5 BS and one by one go n "interview" them.

I also wan MTM packages,but even though its MTM package,still need OTR gowns for outdoor PS as most BS will not allow u to bring ur MTM out for outdoor PS.

and if the BS have my size, at least i know wat really look good on me (although i not pretty lah).and not keep guessing will it look good on me when the designer draw out the design on paper..

Ladies, can i take a look at ur wedding photos? if possible,kindly email to [email protected].

Thanks alot.

sorry for my long reply.

Heya girls!

I've finally gotten over with my photoshoot today! Thank God it stopped rainin when we started our session.. n no bright sun! hehe.. totally enjoyed myself, didn't even feel the time fly by...

Hey Jac... so happy for you too... Hope you really enjoy the photo session. BTW, which BS you are in? Where did you go for the photoshoot? one is ready then share with us ok? Ohh when is your AD?? Opps, sorry ah, so many question!!!

Hey Lim,
ya... i saw a few shots... managed to get a couple of shots on my own cam... I dun have BS.. mine all ala carte.... only took photography from White Weddings... I went Botanic gardens, Raffles Hotel, Tanah Merah, Canterbury Road, n Labrador Park... hehe... nw only got unedited photo... My AD is on 26th Nov... hehehe...

So much abt me... wat abt u?

Huh, got ala carte one meh? Isnt it more expensive then the whole package? Me still searching for BS, my AD is 8 Aug 07.

ala carte means u put everything together by yrself... from flowers, to groom's suits.. to gowns... etc.... i dun think its more ex leh... quite fun... but canb tiring... cos u have to choose everything yrself.. but u get to keep everything... n also u decide on every single detail...

Take yr time in selecting yr BS... no hurry really....
Dun be coax by the BS that time is runnin out... 9 months before AD is good enough i believe...

wow must go into so much details..... headache leh.

hey do your know that is some wedding and holiday showcase in expo, starting 13 july-16 july?

oh oh... i forgot abt it.. i went divin in Dayang... sigh... missed out on it... nvr mind.. got Natas fair comin in Sept...

Am helping my friend sell her evening gown. She got married 3 years ago - she's a size 12, quite busty.

Lavender chiffon empire cut sleeveless gown
Neckline trimmed with crystals
Designed by Bridal Veil
Long gown with train
Very elegant!

If you are interested, please email me at [email protected]

I can provide more photos and details.

dunno if you gals are still checkin in on this thread.. but i promised to share my photos when its out... so here it is...
jacqueline31.multiply.com

got all... just that the photographer did digital enhancement ma...
so it doesn't look that bad... hehe... I'm easily size 14...

i think the flar flar sleeves are pretty good... cos i'm really not used to wearing sleeveless now.. cos its really ugly on me...

the photos were nice...... but for me, my size is bigger then u.... last time was 18, think now come down to 16 liao....... i am still working hard to lose weight.....

I am also a plus size bride..at size 16...sob..my AD is next year Nov..am still trying hard to lose weight..feel very stress over my size and worry that i will look real bad on my AD...cos people around me are pushing me to lose weight..but my weight is just not coming down... i feel so ugly... =(

Herbsgarden, wonder if u r still following this thread but i am interested in the corset and juice thingy too...mind emailing me the info at [email protected]

thanks a lot!

aiyoyo,

jac, u r so pretty ... where got so big size.... me is between size 16 to 18.. miss_bean i understand how u feel coz i also like u n to slim down ... try to eat lesser n control the diet..exerise ... right now i am doing that but so far like no weight loss sianz.....

lim, I'm tryin to lose weight too... i was at size 16 too... or mayb even bigger... didn't even want to step into any clothes store... actually now also... cos can't fit into any of those pretty tops.... n even if i can fit... it looks horrible... sigh... all my gfs are all v v slim... or thin....

Blurblur, thanx for the compliment, my cousin did a good job with the makeup n the gowns... all credit to him... n the photographer... i think exercising 3 times a week, and watchin wat u eat makes a lot of difference... i go to a gym at my workplace... n it helps... my fren played badminton daily..., cut out sugary stuff from her diet... n drank tea(without sugar and milk).. n she lost 4-5kg in 2-3 months... so i think its really feasible.. of course, we'll need lots of encouragement from ppl ard us....
Know your weakness... like snackin... n if you want to break your diet for a craving, go for it... but cut out somethin later... like if u opt for cream soup... then dun take dessert... it helps for me...

Dun despair ok? I'm not exactly slim... but I'm definitely overweight... so let's all work hard together!

looking thru ur mesgs, brought back so much memories of me wedding last nov. haha. now bigger than a fatxfat cow after one year of feeding by hubby

last year i managed to lose about 8 kilos in one month cuz was stressed and also i took this medicine prescribed by docs. Pambesy. it's not as messy as Xenical. Btw, i was a size 20 bride... can ask doc if u really wan to lose...

but looking back, no need to feel ugly!!! cuz if u keep stressing over that, at the end, u will feel ugly.. I was so worried about tripping over my gown and how fat i felt, as i walked down the church aisle that ALL my pic looked horrific. So sad! ! !

most important thing is, u have to be comfortable and also ur MUA is very impt!!!! I regretted not being specific and direct enough to say "EEEW, so ugly not my style" when he did my makeup for the church ceremony. He's goood! It's just that I think after so many years of being self-conscious that I lost the ability to say NO to things/others and often not able to stand up for what I really wanted or felt. Hope u girls have all the confidence and courage!

ya lor jac,
u where got plus?
if u plus then i plus plus plus liao..
hahahaha!
me now also trying very hard to slim down..
cutting on mac's n sugar drinks but most impt cannot stress..
jac, add me in multiply leh
my id: jengcc

Hi ladies.. i m also a plus size bride with AD on next yr Nov. trying to lose weight now. kena stress by mum and alot of other people. keep telling me where got bride so big size one? sian leh.. been trying to cut down on soft drinks, carbo but seems like no help at all. No determination to keep on diet. I NEED DETERMINATION! ;p

hi there! i am a big size bride too ... just be a happy bride okie?
jo, u got go exercise?? i planning to start my 'stringent' exercise in November..hope to lose at least 5kg off

i am plannign to sign up with amore fitness (wdl) if i am statisfied with them..from there, i hope to shake my fats off ..u want to join me? heee

yaya: go thought of, did some, joined kick boxericse some time back, din lose any weight at all leh.. hai.. i tink most impt is to keep my diet..

Hi jo,

I'm a plus size bride and AD in Nov next yr too. I'm very lazy to do exercise alone and having problems controlling my diet
. I need to lose 10kg too. Don't dare to visit BS cos of my size.

hi ladies, i am also a plus size, in jan i was size 18, then now is around size 16, i have lost around 10kg for this year, and my AD is next year too.... and i also need to shed off another 10-15kg more.....

i heard from my friends that after dinner go for a 30mins walk everyday... it helps also. Cut down on dinner, just eat fruits. Breakfast can have heavy meals, lunch time take just right....

I am still losing weight b4 i go to any BS to search for my gown....

ionic: mm.. i visited 2 BS so far and signed up with ther latter. Very nice service for the first one i went, partly i tink one of the boss is also a plus size lady so she understand us very well. but their package is abit on the ex side, exceed my budget so cant get them. The 2nd one is on the avg side, ensure me tat I will be taken care of. was recommended there by plus size bride too. saw her pics, its nice! Maybe u can give is a try there? What is ur budget on BS?

wow lim,
u lost so much weight.... good for u . i need to lost at least 20kg before i will go to ted haha

same here ... my AD is somewhere in oct 2008 if the dates allow ....

let us work harder to slim down ....

dear ladies, i dun want to lose too much ... at least 5kg for me will do. if i can lose until 10kg will be a bonus point for me lor!

heee..toking about losing weight..do u all keep a diary to keep track on what u ate???? i am planning to do that too. i intend to sign up with amore as i see the need to tone the body which make us look slimmer despite there isnt much weight loss. i have been having aerobics for a fewa years.. i havent even lost a few kilos but i look slimmer and fitter. my instructor commenting that is because my fats are burned and gain muscle at the same time. i am now trying to be actively in aerobics for toning up and at the same time, do adjustment to my meals intake. i plan to take meal replacement at the same time as i experienced weight loss for a period of time..

lets jia you!