A Venue for ROM ?

Hi Jazz,

which price listing do u need?

I hope Chin Leng won't scold me for posting all these information here becos he have yet to give me his approval yet. :P

Thank you!!!!!!!!! u made my search so much easier!!!!

quite interesting ... seems like most hotels dont hv dim sum buffet.... :P

hmmm .... i tot of having the solemnisation by the poolside and dim sum buffet ... cant seems to hv such combination... hmm ... must think carefully liao

doremon,
did u go to all the hotels to checkout their ambience tat time?

doremon,
my rom day is on 31 dec. i hoping to find a hotel with those nice solemnisation setup or rather package somewhat similar to carlton WITH dim sum buffet.

hee .. where is merchant court btw? i cant recall where is it? :P

yes pls ... i would like to hv the rest of the merchant court details! thank q! 10q!

chin leng!!
dont scold doremon pls!!! really need her inputs in all these as we want to decide on the place soon. one thing settle one thing lesser to handle when closer to the day....

hi Covern,

there's 1 at Excelsor Hotel near ROM, quite cheap and food qutie ok lar, but then the place not that posh lar.

hey gers..

i went to my fren rom @ mariott hotel.. at this restaurant... not bad leh.. soleminsation quite excluisve.. and fd yummy. u gers wanna take a look at the photos?? :P

so coven..so have you got all your stuff ready?? my solemnisation was at Amara Hotel and i have my solemnisation by the poolside and i choose to have dinner than to tea..
tot really not bad leh.

doramon.. when is your customary?

hi coven! thanks for ur infor! after looking at all e gals' suggestions, i got a better idea.. n doremon hav so much good suggestion as well! anyway, hav u booked ur date for ur rom yet?

thanks carolyn!
emailed u liao ...

i havent gotten my stuffs yet .. gog to start shopping for my dress liao.. then shoes. hee .. do u tin ur frenz will still hv the mariott hotel quotation?? :P

hi joanne!
hasnt booked our date yet. we planning to hv it on 31 dec. but tin b4 can book the date, must cfm the place and JP first rite?? :p maybe i'm just concussed with all these infor but i couldnt swallow all those details fr the ROM out thread.

hi chomecc,
me still sourcing for ROM venue...interested in Marriot also...any quotations available? btw, yr photos are amara are also very beautiful (as a recall, u sent the link a couple of mths back ;-)
...but ah...it's not within my budget...wonder whether marriot is going to be expensive too...

me also shortlisted another restaurant at Chijmes for ROM...got quotation and photos...it's quite affordable at $18+++. interested, can let me know... ;-)

hi coven,
so now u r starting to source for jp n rest alreadi.. is it too early? cos i haven book my date too n my mum calling me kan jiong for finding rest sooo early?! hehe.. who r u finding as ur jp? hows e procedure like anyway? keep me update yah?

hi ino, can u gime e photos n quote of the rest in chijmes too? thanks a million!my email [email protected]

hi joanne,
hahah .. i never believe its too early to plan. anyway, dec comes pretty fast so its better to get all arrange now... i dont want to be caught in the last min panic.

the process i believe is to confirm a place and jp then efile. jp wise ... tin i'll try mr chan and mr david loh. they seems to be quite popular. if they arent available then i'll hv to try others.

when's ur rom date?

hi coven,
think i heard of david loh's name mention often too! he must b rather popular.. i haven confirm my date yet cos my mum's not satisfied wif al e dates i've chosen..
def wil b in dec but query date stil. btw, e date you've chosen, did u chose it urselves or did ur parents?
wat bout ur make-up artist? oh yah, there's another place u can hold ur solemnization: B Boss at istana park there! i wen there yest, ambience v nice.. but e buffet lunch wil b at $30+++ per pax. u can try threr if ur interested!

hi joanne,
i hv jus comfirm my date with mr chan last week. he is quite nice. my fren oso had him as her jp. he is a retiree, so may be easier to book his time.
i hv blocked my booking with carlton but still looking around for betta deals since i hv not paid any deposit yet. u can check on hotel phoenix, think their price is not so steep.

hi joanne,
the date is our choice. his family had asked who was chosing the date and he very firmly said, this is my decision not urs. so they bobian ... :P it helps tat he's not a mummy's boy (heng!!!)

my parents are ok with the date also. bboss is definitely out coz we have to go for chinese food. our parents' preferences are chinese food. betwn ambience (poolside) and food, we decided to go for food so... already decided on the place (long jiang at crown prince) now awaiting details from them.

makeup artist, since the timing is up to us to choose, i'll probably go to hollywood secrets for the makeup. or diy with my gf's help.

hi esther!
just to cfm, since solemnising out of rom, we are not subjected to their dates anymore rite, just like the timing??

hi doremon,
thanks for ur details on the long jiang!! received confirming feedback from frenzs on their food standard too! and its very centralised for our frenzs!

HI Jazzy and coven,

Sorry for the late reply. My ROm is with Oaks on 12th OCt.

For the long Jiang stuff, do call up sammy lee and go down to meet up with him. The pricing details is in the very first file that i have attached.

Anyway, here u are:

There are two type of menu: A la carte or 9-course chinese lunch. Price for a la carte: $29.80 nett and 9-course: $368.00 nett per table of 10 persons (min. 2 tables)

HI Coven,

I would suggest u to try out your gf's DIY first and if u are very happy with it then u get her to DIY. Becos i have friends who does DIY and end up very unhappy becos on that day, u will be very nervous. :P

hi doremon,
actually i'm also considering getting a makeup artist whom can also handle my hairdo (i short hair shld be very easy) to come over to my hse ... how did u handle this part?

Hi Coven,

U can try Lina. I using her for my ROM and Actual day. Her charges is the most reasonable that i ever come across. Actually she is recommended by my best friend so i just get her to do trial and liked what she did for me. If u want, i can send u my trial picture.

Will post her charges now:
PRICE LIST

Make-up (Day) $55
Make-up (Evening) $65

Make-up + Hairstyling (Day) $75
Make-up + Hairstyling (Evening) $85

Studio/ outdoor Photography Make-up $80

Studio/ outdoor Photography Make-up + Hairstyling $100

Eyebrow shaping $10

Manicure $12

Nail-Art Additional $1 per finger

Bridal Styling Package:
A) Without Hairstyling $118
It includes the following:
- Trial Make-up - Manicure
- Day Make-up - Evening make-up

B) With Hairstyling $168
It includes the following:
- Trial Make-up - Manicure
- Day Make-up + Hairstyling - Evening Make-up + Hairstyling

Optional Cost :
- Fake Lashes $12
- Ampoule $15

HEY!!! u're rite!! that's the most reasonable i've come across!

what i'll need is makeup+hairstyling (day) .. maybe eyebrow shaping ... but its still $85!

may i see ur trial picture please? and also ... hehehe .. her contact number too!!

hi esther
congrats to ur coming rom! which day did u booked? me stil in the mist of deciding my date.. so stil pending. i jus got an email from hotel phoenix qouting me the price.. it is definately very affordable but dunno hows e food like.
oh ya, jus to check wif u, if we r booking our own jp or grassroot leader, do we stil need to go to rom or efile to confirm our date? :p me very blur bout all these procedures.. how much did carlton qoute u anyway? cos carlton also one of my choice.

hi coven,
u r so lucky! at least u r half way through ur prep! mine stil pending date so cant do much! my FH's parents r alrite wif e date, is oni my mum
mayb i should b more determine hor?

i agree wif doremon wif regards to make-up artist, cos my frien got her frien to make-up for her on that big day n it ended no diff from her normal make-up! wat a disappointment! have u source out for ur dress?

hi doremon,
can i hav lina'a contact pls? cos her price really seem to b e most reasonable! my email [email protected]

lotsa thanks!

joanne,
can try to psycho ur mum lor .. dont force it with parents ... sometimes hv to be very patient :P

sourcing for dress now .. hopefully can find them from boutiques like daniel yam, yen, celia loe ............ my size is between medium to large so might not be easy. if cant find the dress from those shops, bobian... will hv to go to bridal shops.

hi coven,
thanks for ur advice!
i went yen e other day n tried their dresses, very nice but e cutting not very fitting for me. furthermore, yen seems v popular for rom dresses, afraid might end up wearing same dress as other brides! hehe
i cant find the shop daniel yam, do u know where it is?

joanne,
one outlet of daniel yam is at suntec ... err ... they r under the yellow area (tropics). in the direction of carrefour. 1st flr. another one is at wisma... tin 2nd or 3rd flr. tin i'll probably drop by this evening to orchard to take some quick looks!

:P actually hor .. all those boutiques r popular so really might end up same dress. hv to be prepared for this wor since we not getting from bridal shops

:P no problem!

better to start sourcing now coz just in case really cant find, still has some time to go bridal shops!!

we jia you!!

doremon! hehehe .. :p pictures and tel number of lina k??

have sent u the email. let u know if u dun receive it.
;-)

hi joanne,
have u tried shops along amoy street? there's one that sells OTR gowns starting from $199...wanted to write the name but it seems that the name of the shop is blocked from this discussion board...dun noe why...

hi joanne,

mine is on 15/12, picked by my future MIL. after u hv booked ur time with ur jp, u will need to meet up with him to sign the consent form. after which u will hv to efile at least 21 days b4 the actual date. there's no hurry in this case as u dun need to vie for ur desired day & time. think abt 2 to 3 days b4 ur big day, u hv to collect the scroll from rom n return a copy within a few days after the event.

it will be gd to decide on a date n quickly book coz many ppl go for holidays during dec, so the jps may oso be travelling.

i personally tried the food in both hotel since some of my frens held theirs there. think carlton's food is betta than phoenix (personal pref.) the price diff is not really big. in addition, carlton provides a complimentary stay. my package is $800+++. u can arrange for early check-in where u can rest n hv ur make-up done there. can get ur make-up artist to go there by paying a bit more. whitelink quote me additional $50, which i think is reasonable. carlton oso offer late check-out at 4pm.

btw, they only provide buffet lunch on weekdays (12-2pm) n hi-tea (3-5pm) on weekends. if u want hi-tea on weekdays, u will hafta arrange it in the private function room where they will provide less variety. its best u check on the details b4 u place ur booking.

last week i was at the rom attending my fren's solemnisation n i saw a couple of brides wearing dresses from daniel yam. u can practically see the range there, like a showroom ;-) luckily there wasnt any duplicate then. betta be prepared.

i got my bridal package from whitelink n i bargained for a complimentary gown, hand bouquet for my rom. they let me use the trial makeup for my rom. they r quite flexible but u hv to bargain n tell them when u need n wat u dun. they will try to work it out for u. always ask for things u need tat is not in the package. u will never know if u dun ask. whitelink has nice gowns.... u can contact doris at marina sq. she is very nice n friendly. my fren oso book from there n she looked great tat day! their service is quite gd. but one weakness is u hv to go down to kaki bt place to choose gowns, take photos, etc.

another qn for doremon, :P

err ... sammy lee is with the hotel or the restaurant? did he leave u his contact number?

oooh .. hee ... guess its abt time i go pay a visit to amoy street!!

hi twinklestar,
erm ... hee ... where's whitelink?? tanjong pagar area? orchard?

how's ur package like? i abit dreadful tat i wont be able to get nice dress (tat fit my build!) from those boutiques .... so must be prepared to approach bridal shops.... :|

whitelink is at marina sq, its near kfc. my fh likes the photography n i like the gowns. besides, we went w another couple so we got quite a gd deal together. i dun think i will wear my rom dress ever again, not to mt d&d too. so can save a bit here.

my package is $3988 nett n MTM but my fh likes the latest magazine kinda album. instead of forking out another $600 for tat design, we swop it with the MTM gowns. u can tell them wat u need, they will try to fit in. i got everything i want except tat the photography for the actual day is not included. u can try to ask for more stylish magazine portraits that included design instead of those traditional cha cha one.

they hv simple n elegant designs. since my fren n i r quite petite we cant carry too fanciful design. we love their simplicity.

dun jus go for those rom packages, not v worth it. shd get a bridal package, they can hold up to 5 yrs at the same price n then negotiate for freebies like the rom dress n bouquet. u will still need tat package down the road. by then, the price may prob go up again.

maybe u can arrange to go w joanne. then u all can bargain together. best not to bring fh along unless if they r v particular like mine who emphasize a lot on photograhpy. tat will give u an excuse not to commit first, jus tell them u need to discuss w ur fh.

hi doremon,
dont hv to get back to mi on the sammy lee liao ... just now tried my luck ...he no longer works in long jiang. another gal took over - shirley. but she only comes in after 6.30pm.

at the moment, there is no rom packages till october ... well! still hv ample time!

twinklestar,
ooh... hmm... i'll probably dont need a very comprehensive bridal package ahh coz not holding dinner banquet. tot of sourcing for a bridal package now but dont want to commit to tat amt now leh ... hmmmmmmm ... but will consider if hv to get rom dress from a bridal shop then might as well ...

hi coven n twinkle star!

me jus back from class.. r u gals stil here?
me jus went to try all e dresses in yen.. not bad lah, but a bit tight at e waiste when i wear S, n too loose all over when i wear M... think i mus go on diet liao! hehe...same like coven, i don wanna commit to e bridal package... jus wanna buy rom gown first.. wat bout e dresses at IS? did u gals c any? i wil try daniel yam tis weekend.

twinklestar, so we mus confirm the jp first b4 we can book our date izit? n we stil must efile ah? so ma fan.. :p anyway, how much did they qoute u for carlton n wats e package like? i hav about 40 guest leh.. so scared wil b more ex then $800+++

oh yah gals, hav u source for wedding bands yet? lee hwa having discount so can try there..

hi again ino,
sorry i rec ur mail, but im unable to open up e buffet section..can jus roughly tell me how much per px n wat they wil supply? n also is e place complimentary or another charge? me very loh so..

HI coven,

Oh what a waste! Sammy lee was very nice. Meaning no ROM package till oct that means they already taken out the current package??

Btw, i will send u the trial pictures tomorrow. In office PC.

hi joanne,
the details in my office. will let u noe 2mr via email.
btw, carlton's package is for 30 pax. if u increase, it's about $25(if i din remember wrongly). meanwhile, u can prob forgo things like a hotel stay to increase the no. of pax.
;-)

hi coven,
if u are not holding yr customary so soon, i really dun encourage u to sign up with a bridal shop to tie yr bridal package with yr ROM. i think the most ideal time is to book yr bridal package 9 mths before yr customary. As the package px is quite substantial, it's better to shop ard before making that commitment...and ohhh...try not to succumb to those bridal shops at wedding exhibitions! (it's zi4 tou2 luo2 wang3).A lot of hidden costs involved!!! ;-P The package px may look cheap, u will end up spending more thru extra costs...in the end...it will come up to the same px as those reputable shops like silhoutte, le galleria, etc.

hi joanne,

carlton quote me $800+++ for 30 paxs. any extra pax will be an additional $23.80+++.

if u r having ur customary abt a yr later, u may want to book a package now coz from phototaking, choosing gown, choosing the photos n getting the album done etc it takes quite a long process. they cant do magic. u will prob still need the gown for ur customary ceremony even though u wont be having a dinner. but if u r toking abt having the customary 2 to 3 yrs later..... then betta not commit now. dunno whether the bridal shops still ard or not ;-) but no harm checking the bridal shops out, jus dun bring ur fh along. get some frens to go with u to check out the mkt, then decide wat u need. compare a few, u will know which r the hidden costs. gonna cost u thousands, not cheap. betta think hard first. mine will be a yr later or so. we decide to jus commit now. i agree tat u dun go to bridal exhibitions, they go v agressive. do drop by a few during ur leisure time.

i got my wedding bands at soo kee during the previous 30% discount. u can take a look there. i would recommend reyonna at the soo kee suntec branch. she is v patient n will try her best to find some within ur budget.