A Venue for ROM ?

I just got the shearton tower buffet menu. The food look good and price attractive too. Go to the yahoo briefcase and take a look if any one interested.

Hello ladies,

wanna share smethg about AM...

well...as my ROM is this Fri. Just got a call from AM telling me that the menu has to be changed.

They wanted to change one course to Tuna. However, as i dun take tuna, they are not willing to change it for something else, indicating that the menu has been set for this week and earlier menus discussed will not be in for this week.
So i got no choice but to take the change.

At times, i do feel that AM is not very flexible for certain things..
So its impt that we take note and make sure that all goes well.
I am keeping my fingers crossed for this fri...

Just for sharing...

sorry for the late reply. was bz yesterday. I do not have the equinox stuff in soft copy unfortunately. but u can always call lorraine for a quote. I'll like to add that they are very nice. we didnt want a laksa station as it would be kind of messy and they happily changed it to waffles and icecream for us.
yummy! we have booked the place and now awaiting thier contract to be mailed to us.
so happy! finally one thing settled. *phew*

anyway here is the contact:-

Lorraine Chng
Catering Sales Manager
Equinox Complex
Tel  : (65) 6431 5177
Fax  : (65) 6336 8783

postpet! wow 3 days more! u must be excited and tired!
poorthing.. must drink chicken essence the night before ok? do post ur pixs for us to see! * good luck!*

Thinking of having my ROM in Dec this year...after reading thru the threads..still quite confuse where to go..

Planning it to be outdoor for abt 30pax++..
budget a bit tight...abt $1000-$1200 (for everything..gown..makeup..)
any recommendations?

thanx

Wow ronlin, u mean $1-$2K is tight budget...for me alot of money liao cos my guests will be like more than 50 for just a ROM...headache now

Hi Ronlin,

I got almost all my ROM quotations from different venues uploaded into yahoo briefcase. Maybe u want to go there and check it out. I hope it will help u as i understand the hassle of going after hotels for quotations and follow-up.

The login is wedding_related
Password is happiness

Do u mean u have 50 or 30 guests? Me having ard 40-50. U can try Tunglok's Teahouse, their price is $15nett per person with private function room. As it is under Tunglok's group, the food is good. But it is a ala cate tim sum buffet. Not sure too your liking or not.

As for your gown and make-up, i can recommend two good lobangs for u. For gown, u try to look for this lady, dawn lim at 94595856 and for make-up, look for Lina. For her contact number, u need to go to the yahoo briefcase to check out. There is a full details abt her services. Otherwise, leave down your email and i send to u.

Dawn charges reasonable price for gowns, either MTM or rental. Her price range is from $200 to $250 for MTM and rental, u need to check with her.

Lina charges $35 for ROM make-up and $55 for ROM make-up and hairdo.

I am just trying to share and not promoting their services or advertising. Everything is up to individual preference.

Hi Postpet,

Another 2 more days to go! U must be very excited! Haa...haa....u will see all the postings here after your ROM as i guess u will be too busy to do any posting now.

Nah Ronlin...

I'm trying to reduce my guests list now...the only thing I can save it's cos my ROM package is together wif my bridal package..so save the dress, suit n hand bouquet only..

Hi Ronlin, Doreamon and Evon,

I also got around 40-50pp, but BF say too many. Is 40-50pp too many or is it a norm now?

Ronlin,
Are you ROMing in or out?

Thanks doreamon...I will check it out...
anyway my email is at [email protected]

I am thinking of ROMing out...
but then again..scare alot of pple unable to make it because its going to be a wkday.
so my no of pple attending might be cut down drastically.

just wondering...when we rom out...can we do it on a public holi? like christmas, new yr...etc

Hi greenleft,
I personally think it's ok cos my FH's frds are like 20+ and mine 20+ and relatives, are abt there...
You expecting a lot of ppl too? So your ROM in or out? Whr u going to held it?

I dun mind if my guests didnt turn up as long as they lemme know cos mine also a weekday.

Ronlin, you can check with your JP. Sometimes if they dun mind you can do it on a public hols

Hi Evon

I still thinking should I ROM in or out. Considering between Carlton and Oriential. Just read from another thread that Parkroyal is good. Anyone knows where is parkroyal?

Hi Greenleaf,

When is ur rom? My FH n myself chose chalet bcos we wanna be alone after the ROM, can go fishing, sunbathing the next morning...hotel is more like just a room so just hv to know what you want.

Hi Ronlin & greenleaf,
You gals can consider The Oaks at Tanglin Mall. I just visited them today. Nice place and very popular for ROM. They are charging $22+++ per pax.

Hi postpet,
Adv congrats to your BIG day ya!

Hi Postpet,

Congrats on your ROM! Yours was yesterday, yeah?
Enjoyed yrself at AM?

Thanks evon.
Chalet? you mean u holding it in a chalet? ...or staying there after the event?
It sounds gd to me..

Silver..i went down to take a look at the oaks today...cosy...but a bit dark...waiting for the person in charge to call me back.

doreamon ..u had ur makeup and hairdo by lina?

congrats postpet

have a nice wkend!!

Hi greenleaf,

Parkroyal is Grand Plaza parkroyal right? It is just beside Funan Centre.

Hi Ronlin,
Yes, i had my make-up and hairdo done by Lina. She charges transportation cost for a trial. Why? U interested?

Hi Evon,

U mean u booked a chalet for ROM? Where did u book? I was thinking along this line too but like no place to book lei.

Hi Postpet,

COngrats! Congrats! How is everything at AM? Any beautiful pictures to share?

Hi doreamon,
How do you find lina's make up? Natural? Find her charges very reasonable.

Hi Ronlin,
Hey I ve attended one at chalet itself. It's at Safra chalet so very spacious. She did some simple decor n had her solemnization in the chalet itself n buffet outside the chalet.

Ya Oaks is more dim in lightings. Did you get to speak to Carol yest? Alternatively you can also consider Blue Ginger. You can speak to Letty. I just went down yest. You can either holds ur solemnization at either 2nd or 3rd flr.

I am thinking of having my soleminisation by the pool side but have no idea which hotel has swimming pool with nice view. Was thinking of ushering my guest to the cafe/restaurant for hi-tea or lunch after the soleminisation ceremony. any suggestions on ideal venue? tx.

Hi Cara,

You can try Carlton Hotel. It's quite popular for solemnization but I ve not been there personally. Personally quite like Amara's poolside. The other place you can consider is Conrads and they ve 2 areas available - one is next to the pool sheltered and the other is a small function room wif glasses whereby you can see the pool.

hi cara...

I will like to share.. me just got rom at Amara Poolside and its simply purrfect and lovely. if you like .. i cna send you some picts.

Yeah silver, me like amara one too.. went to carlton hotel but dun really like their service and its not exclusive enough and i didn't quite like that their receptionis at the cafe..

Hi Chomecc,

I am interested in Amara hotel pool side solemnisation too. Do u mind to share more information regarding it? My ROM is on 12th OCt and now sourcing for venue. Thanks a lot!

We can always discuss offline if you are uncomfortable to reveal too much here. My email is [email protected]

Hi Chomecc,
Great! So you had ur solemnization + reception by the poolside? Do you mind to email me their ROM package n share wif me ur photos?

Hi doreamon,
Sure, you can email me ur photos at [email protected]

Hi Chomecc,
How was your ROM, good? you think Amara is good? Is is possible to email me their ROM package and if you don't mind your photos too?

You can also email me at [email protected]

Hi Doreamon,

I think we are looking for the same things..... Did you go down to Carlton to have a look before? Thinking of going down to Carlton and Parkroyal to have a look this weekend.....

Hi greenleaf,

Yup. We are looking for the same things
No, i did not go down to Carlton becos' FH rejected their sample menu. He was quite taken with Parkroyal though. Tomorrow go and see Oaks then decide.

Ronlin: I'm holding my ROM in the chalet n will be staying 3 nites there :P:P hv to relax a lil' rite?

Doreaman: Yap yap I'm booking the chalet for my ROM. My FH got his friend to book the chalet for us cos NSRCC chalet is rather big and affordable as well.

Hi Doreamon,

I think I will be going down to parkroyal to have a look....But probably not going to Amara yet.... so waiting for your "report" on Amara.......

Hi Chomecc,

I'm currently looking around for a poolside ROM. Considering Amara and Carlton. Do you mind sending me some of your ROM pics at Amara and also the package details?

Hi Chomecc,

I'm also looking at a poolside ROM venue. Is it possible to send some pix at AMARA as well as the package details to me?
My email addy is [email protected]

hi sweeties...

been quite bz at work.. sorry for the delay in replying..
actually went down to both carlton n amara.. love carlton poolside but didn't quite like the idea that they will be having the reception at cafe.. find it not exclusive and when i wanted them to quote me for reception by the pool or in a function room, they were quite ridgid and the requirement was like 30 paxs.. which was initially over my number of invited guests.. well no offense.. but maybe its individual preference.. in the end, was really pleased with amara hotel.. the ambience and all.. n it left a great memory for my guests too..

i am now trying to create a webpage to dwnload my photos and if possible my video clip...

u gers can let me know if you need anything.. n i be sending u gers the photos and package deals by this weekend.. :P

Hi Chomecc

Can you please email me the photos and package deals for AMARA. My ROM is on the 6th sept till not haven got a place.

Hello Ladies...

I am finally back in action....

Went to Bali for a short trip the next day so did not check in here lah...

How's everyone getting on with prep??

AM's not too bad...
the venue is very very pretty...
That day, it had drizzle a little in the morning, mine's at lunch and rain has stopped.

So the weather's very very cool and everyone's in a good mood..so photos all pretty pretty leh...

The only comment i had for AM is the food. Neh...no good lah...i had fish, chicken and beef...

Pics still in the midst of putting onto website...let you girls know when ready ok...

Anyway, AM is closed alr...
but i think they are still going on with all the confirmed bookings..read it from another thread...

Anyway, me sure glad that the day is over...terribly stress over the few days prior to it...had to take a day's leave before the day to do final prep and to relax...

so now back to work to earn more money for my customary and house next year lah...

Doreamon : you got your makeup artist alr??

hi sweeties,

i realised that its only by email, then can you all view the link. SO i have email to all of you who gave me your email address. If you need any more stuff, just let me know okie?

kat: please give me ur email so that i can email u the link?

postpet: Congratulations! So how does it feel to be a Mrs?

Hi Postpet,

Glad that u are back! Yes....i booked with Lina becos' i am fine with her trial. The pictures she shown u are very dramatic make-up. Initially, she did a blue eye shadow for me too but later changed after all of us suggested to her. She is easy going so i comfortable with her then sign up lor. Plus she shaped eye brown very nice

Must let me see your pretty pretty pictures, okie?

So what is next on your list?

Hi Chomecc,
I got it already! Thanks!

Hi chomecc,

Some questions to ask you, how much the the package at amara? Any difference in lunch or hi-tea.

Is the night stay free?

Is the ambience nice?

Where will the ROM take place (poolside or garden)?
Where will the buffet be (cafe or private function room)?

Sorry a lot of questions... Thanks for your help...

hi Silver,

I already email u the link.. did u manage to view it?

Greenleaf: no problem.. i will be glad to help..I did my soleminsation by the poolside and afraid that my guests will "perspire" to death.. i had my dinner at the function room..very exclusive.. its really lovely the ambience both the pool and the funstion room. We did not ask amara to do the set up (they just lay the table and the seats with seat covers) for the soleminsation table. But i got petals to line the pathway and the table is decorated with my ring pillow and flowers complimentary from amara. Did u receive my photos link? Prob not able to get a clear pict.. hope to find a way to dwnload a vcd so that you can c the whole place better..if there is anything.. u let me know again. :P