A place to share ideas for a special & unforgettable banquet

jaspeng

Hi Juve,

Seriously speaking, I have view about 3 peoples, (including Simon) work and also through some websites, and also friend's photographer. I felt that they have similar work lay. Not much different. Don't really has any comments for hi, because I have not really mix around with him yet, except the frist time when meeting to see his portfolio.

Anyway, he is a very busy man and also forgetful.

So how is your wedding preparation going on? Mine is less than 3 months and very stress now.

jaspeng

Juve,

Wow you are talented. Know how to sing and dance as well.

If you want to organise couple up stage to dance, you must really look throught the guest list to see whether you have guests are spoting enough. It will be very embrassed if cannot get anybody up on the stage.

just my 2cent worth.

By the way, for fun wedding, you might want to try stefine service which your guests can send live sms and will be projected on the screen.

http://www.stefine.com/smsgreeting.htm

anoif

hi juve,
wow dance eh..yah u can actually get ur guests prepared for dance..
hmm like wat one of my cousins did for his wedding, coz his wife and him actually participate in dancing competitions like chacha, tango, so they dance during the dinner in the middle of the ballroom, and later in the nite, the invited guests to the dance floor..and those guests really enjoyed themselves..

juve

Jas: Hahah.. no la, just basic slow dance only la... by swaying from left to right and right to left only ma....

I was thinking of The Pond photography or Simon's but my FH find no point spending so much on these, so we went Simon's studio to have a look at his portfolio and signed up a package liao, though I don't really like cos I find quite typical.

Wah jas, thanks for the sms service thingie. Very unique leh! Will ask my FH if he wants to do or not. Well for me, not much of preparation now. Waiting for photoshoot this 27th, very excited though.

Nana: I also came across having a dance floor in the middle of the ballroom but my FH sure find not practical. Grr....
thus have to drop the idea. Perhaps after banquet, we'll go nite spots with some close frens??? Only hoping by then we're still sober.

jaspeng

hi juve,

you FH and and my hubby same same. I want this and that and he said no point.

After you found out about the sms, can tell me what is the package and price like?

Hahaha..... enjoy your PS.

juve

Hahah... just done my PS last Thurs. Quite fun. I prefer indoor though. Tot it's gona be hell for outdoor, lucky not much of perspiration and the whole process was very fast.

I chose 2 places to go. 1st was Blair Road where the conserved shophouses were. Very nice, cos they were all painted with modern new paint. The next venue was Sentosa. My photographer was very experienced to bring us to nice places. We were even made to run on a beach full of seaweeds. Yucks! My gown was wet and feet wrapped by seaweeds, so uncomfortable!

Actually before the PS started, I showed my photographer wat I want, from my 'homework file'. Yes.. I prepared a file for this wedding of mine. From gowns to hairstyles, make-up to accessories, venues to poses, video to camera.... etc, all from magazines... and this is a MUST cos it's a one-time Big event of my life! So I'd suggest you guys also do some homework and compile them together for easy reference when you need them ya?? Enjoy your wedding....

jaspeng

Juve..... Wow, next time you can become a wedding planner liao.

don't forget to show show your photos once it done

galevo

Anyone had the couples' parents enter the ballroom room just b4 the couple during the 1st march-in? As they are also the host for the night's dinner.

will it look weird?

cyprusblade

Hi Gaievo, personally, I like that idea I think it's very western. If I had a choice I would have a western style wedding but.......

petalsofflowers

You can try engaging an animator to create a cartoon animation for your wedding, which can show how you and your spouse met, how he proposed etc.

Should be very entertaining to the guests~

Can PM me for contacts.

greengal

anyone tried dancing?
i oso very bored of "normal" wedding
but i dunno how to spice up?! any advise?
we're already having the sms thing
but dunno... anything else?

ssybaby

Hey

Wonder anyone will come back to this thread again??

My AD 27/12/07..came here to source for ideas

hope to hv some tips for my AD dinner

eml_

well there's someone here as well just visiting this thread. I'm also sourcing ideas for my AD dinner.. thinking of how to move away from the norms... yet doesnt need to risk guests not participating.... and most importantly not to burn the pocket

ice_cosy

glad to see 2007 brides here

me too..wedding round the corner and wanted to think of something to engage the guests.
most of my friends already married and thus all of us had attended alot of weddings.
Getting boring with the same stuff. its more like becoming a reunion dinner for us hahaha.

hope to think of something special to do. ! Can't sing well and can't dance either. Seems rather limited leh.
If play games, what kind of games will be good? that means need to prepare prizes right?

banska

It has been quite a while since I last logged in! My wedding planner suggested a very creative idea! I gave her a challenge, haha, told her I dont quite like the idea of having champagne toasting due to the yum seng. I did attend a wedding before (without Yum Seng), it seems not right which i cant explain!

My solemnization is right before the reception. After I re-enter AFTER the recessional, I will do the "toasting" straight away. What i would do is, we each take a carafe of wine and pour it into a SINGLE glass, which we will both drink from. Hubby will lift up that glass, toast to everyone, make a little speech, also explaining the symbolism (like unity and our life together as one), and we toast to all our guests with that ONE glass.

Hope it gives you some idea!!

By the way, my wedding planner is from Sedan of Love. Initially find her a bit expensive, but later on, I find them value for money. Do expect them to be very responsive!! Till you have to be on your toes!! hahaha.

midori

I like those westernised wedding celebration.. but spore crowd like quite hard to move them rite?

they just have the mentality of eating and going off..

i am also thinking of dancing.. but it's kinda hard unless u hire a live band or DJ...

any more unique ideas? pls do share..

bunnyhop

U all r really a creative lot of BTBs...
Kudos 2 all ur creative ideas...
I'm not sure if mine is original, but if ani1 into retro/ nostalgia, u may wan 2...
IDEA 1 - 4 e retro lovers
1. Dim e light
2. Hire 2 rickshaw/ trishaw? Pulled by who else?
HTB...
3. Then e BTB can hav e luxury of being e
passenger...
4. Provide neon sticks 4 each table...as e music
starts (both ur signature tune), e guests can
wave using e neon sticks or shake using
bottles (containing dried rice grains/ beads)
4 tat special effect
5. HTB slowly pulls e vehicle till both of u
reach e stage
6. Then he...oh my! cradles u in his arms n
drops u nicely on a plush chair on stage with
wild kisses (",)
(ok lah step 6 a bit far fetched...but definitely an eye opener 4 e guests)
IDEA 2 - 4 e music lovers
If u n htb musically inclined, u may wan 2 hire a violinist/ pianist 2 start a memorable tune 4 both of u as e march in w petals, dry ice or bubbles.
IDEA 3 - 4 e sporty buffs
If u n htb r e active n energetic type, perhaps u can try 'run/skate/skip-in' instead of e usual march-in? (forgive me if this sounds ridiculous, but it sure looks cool seeing e couple striding towards e stage w some other shoes beside heels and platforms)
IDEA 4 - 4 e something-in-common-ers
Last but not least, if u all hav anithing in common, e.g. both of u went 2 same uni/sch/kindergarten, wear something distinctive tat u 2 hav in common!!! (e.g. school uniform?) E onli - is e guests don get e chance 2 see ur lovely WG...well... if u a super fast changer...u can still let them see ur WG in e later part of e evening.

Hope these ideas give u a fresh burst of creativity 4 ur march in... ya having a unique march-in does give a delightful impression, but on hindsight...do consider e comfortability of ur VIPs (veri impt partner - HTB and guests)Some of them may not b beri game 4 wild ideas...

Will share more of e romantic ones next time...
Happy preparing!
Bunnyhop
(oh ya, im a May 2008 BTB...cheers!)

Bunnyhop,
I have fun reading your suggestions. Wonder if our Hbs will agree to pull the trishaw, some guys are very vain about their self-image! haha