(2015/01) January 2015 BTB

alyooop

Nice! Are you meeting the florist for event decoration or for your bouquet & corsages?

I went for gown selection two weeks ago but they never mention anything on the bouquet...
For the decor! It's included in our venue package so bouquet and corsages might be extra. Corsages will diy, but I'm still undecided about whether to diy the bouquet or pay extra to the florist or forego it, because I'll end up just holding it for a few minutes so feel a bit troublesome haha.

Is the bouquet not part of your package, or florist totally not part of it?

alyooop

Is it on a Friday?

Do you all think we can call the guests nearer the date to confirm attendance?
I think the practice now is to call or text a couple of days to a week prior to remind them.

Htb's cousin's wedding was on Fri evening and turnout was near 100% so it should be fine.

May Tan

For the decor! It's included in our venue package so bouquet and corsages might be extra. Corsages will diy, but I'm still undecided about whether to diy the bouquet or pay extra to the florist or forego it, because I'll end up just holding it for a few minutes so feel a bit troublesome haha.

Is the bouquet not part of your package, or florist totally not part of it?

Hi I'm new and trying to do as much research as I can. Flowers is very expensive and looking at other options. Saw a company renting artificial bouquets for photo shoot, maybe they rent for AD too?

alyooop

Hi I'm new and trying to do as much research as I can. Flowers is very expensive and looking at other options. Saw a company renting artificial bouquets for photo shoot, maybe they rent for AD too?
If you don't mind alternatives like paper flowers or yarn balls, can look up diy tutorials on pinterest or just Google around. Should be cheaper too, but u gotta be sure that the time and effort is worth the money saved. Daiso also has artificial flowers if that's what you're set on. Can just bunch a few together.

May Tan

If you don't mind alternatives like paper flowers or yarn balls, can look up diy tutorials on pinterest or just Google around. Should be cheaper too, but u gotta be sure that the time and effort is worth the money saved. Daiso also has artificial flowers if that's what you're set on. Can just bunch a few together.
Yeah, saving $$ is important but I also don't want to fuss over everything on the day.

alyooop

Yeah, saving $$ is important but I also don't want to fuss over everything on the day.
If u start sourcing for materials u still have a lot of time to diy these things, don't worry =) and u can always ask our bridesmaids to help out.

We're diy-ing our invites and printing it ourselves (just settled the designs this afternoon actually, just need to test if card paper can take the ink without bleeding coz we're printing doubleside). Then will be diy-ing and printing escort cards on our own too, should be easy enough to finish in a couple of days once we confirm the final guest list. Gonna upcycle copypaper box for angbao box and binder files from my office for reception. The bad news is I'm actually getting retrenched in a couple of months (hahaha tall about bad timing) but while I search for new job can use the time to settle all these.

May Tan

Yeah DIY is good, so looking at rental companies to add the soft touches. Cos buying them will end up with higher cost and lots of rubbish to clear.

alyooop

Why not just use the hotel invitation cards n angbao box? #Imlazylikethat haha
I've seen samples of the cards and it's quite underwhelming :/ plus Photoshop isn't too difficult for me so we found templates online and customised the rest to suit the "feel" we're after. And the hotel doesn't provide angbao box, so since my office has old boxes lying around, might as well reuse haha.

Siqi Teo

My AD is on 17 Jan 15. Any advice on when I should start calling up the florist to decide on the banquet decor?
So far, I have only settled the banquet venue, bridal package, PG+VG, and wedding bands.

alyooop

My AD is on 17 Jan 15. Any advice on when I should start calling up the florist to decide on the banquet decor?
So far, I have only settled the banquet venue, bridal package, PG+VG, and wedding bands.
Congrats!!

About the florist, does your venue include decor? If not, for now you can source for florists/decor vendors. Early planning is always better than rushing at the end!

The florists included in our venue package said that it's still early to confirm the final decor so I was thinking to meet up next month then confirm by Oct latest. We already know which flowers we can use (our standard package don't have lots of choices anyway) so it's just a matter of how everything is set up.

How about your invites and guestlist? Groomsmen and bridesmaids clothes?

Siqi Teo

Congrats!!

About the florist, does your venue include decor? If not, for now you can source for florists/decor vendors. Early planning is always better than rushing at the end!

The florists included in our venue package said that it's still early to confirm the final decor so I was thinking to meet up next month then confirm by Oct latest. We already know which flowers we can use (our standard package don't have lots of choices anyway) so it's just a matter of how everything is set up.

How about your invites and guestlist? Groomsmen and bridesmaids clothes?

Congrats to you too~!

The florist is included in the banquet. I can choose between Woodsville, June Florist and Sing See Soon. I am not sure who to pick because I have not make an appointment to see their works. My HTB and I are not so into topping up for banquet decoration, so we will be sticking to the standard package. I am quite concerned about the set up and color of flowers which I don't want them to clash with my red evening gown and the MBS ballroom color.

I have started sending save the date cards, but guestlist is not finalised yet. Wedding shoes is also a headache because my bridal studio asked me to get a 5inch heels because I am pretty short.
Omg.. Jan is like so near yet so far.. I am getting nervous already...

PS: Both parents have not met yet!!

alyooop

Congrats to you too~!

The florist is included in the banquet. I can choose between Woodsville, June Florist and Sing See Soon. I am not sure who to pick because I have not make an appointment to see their works. My HTB and I are not so into topping up for banquet decoration, so we will be sticking to the standard package. I am quite concerned about the set up and color of flowers which I don't want them to clash with my red evening gown and the MBS ballroom color.

I have started sending save the date cards, but guestlist is not finalised yet. Wedding shoes is also a headache because my bridal studio asked me to get a 5inch heels because I am pretty short.
Omg.. Jan is like so near yet so far.. I am getting nervous already...

PS: Both parents have not met yet!!

SSS is going to be our main florist too! Our package actually listed 2 vendors so we were hoping to test the rules a bit to have 1 decor the ROM area and the other decor the lunch area. If the hotel ends up saying no, we'll just go with SSS and see what's the price diff to top up for lunch area.

Do you have a colour theme? It'll be easier to start from there. If you do end up topping up, can ask them which flowers are in bloom in Jan just in case it's cheaper. SSS has a PDF catalogue/photo album thingy so you can ask from them to take a look first. Safest of course is white flowers, but gotta consider if your ballroom will have coloured lighting because might change the colour a bit.

5in sounds crazy! If you're not particular, New look's heels are usually quite high anyway. Find one with thicker platform at the front so you put less stress on your feet?

And remember to arrange for a meal so both parents can meet!

Siqi Teo

SSS is going to be our main florist too! Our package actually listed 2 vendors so we were hoping to test the rules a bit to have 1 decor the ROM area and the other decor the lunch area. If the hotel ends up saying no, we'll just go with SSS and see what's the price diff to top up for lunch area.

Do you have a colour theme? It'll be easier to start from there. If you do end up topping up, can ask them which flowers are in bloom in Jan just in case it's cheaper. SSS has a PDF catalogue/photo album thingy so you can ask from them to take a look first. Safest of course is white flowers, but gotta consider if your ballroom will have coloured lighting because might change the colour a bit.

5in sounds crazy! If you're not particular, New look's heels are usually quite high anyway. Find one with thicker platform at the front so you put less stress on your feet?

And remember to arrange for a meal so both parents can meet!

Yea, I was worried because the ballroom lighting is very yellow/orange. But since SSS has been decorating MBS ballrooms, so I should seek their advice on the flowers.

For wedding shoes, I heard pazzion and Anna Nucci have nice one? I need to go check it out.

HTB thinks that the parents meeting can be done during the food tasting. He knows nothing abt traditions, so it's giving me a headache to explain what needs to be done. He doesn't even know the stuff for Guo Da Li...

alyooop

Yea, I was worried because the ballroom lighting is very yellow/orange. But since SSS has been decorating MBS ballrooms, so I should seek their advice on the flowers.

For wedding shoes, I heard pazzion and Anna Nucci have nice one? I need to go check it out.

HTB thinks that the parents meeting can be done during the food tasting. He knows nothing abt traditions, so it's giving me a headache to explain what needs to be done. He doesn't even know the stuff for Guo Da Li...
Have u already decided on a date for food tasting? It might end up a little too late for them to at least see one another though. Regardless of tradition, it doesn't feel nice to put off the parents' meeting too much. And if anything happens in the mean time (touch wood!) everyone has more time to talk things through before the big day.

mehhh1501

Cool! :)
Where is your banquet? And how's your preparation going?

Mine will be at Roland restaurant. Only there can accommodate up to 100 tables. But we Book only 60 tables. Went to bs and take a look at their gown but hvn try and choose the one i want cos they say they will habe newer gowns coming in ard oct. Pre wedding shoot done, left with shipping over to sg. Sdj from mil oso settled. Mom n mil gown & brothers attire oso settle. Left w sisters dress and car and guo da li & food tasting date to be settle. Oh ya.. and booking of the rom date.. cos mine will be different from AD. How abput Yours? All settle?

mehhh1501

Have u already decided on a date for food tasting? It might end up a little too late for them to at least see one another though. Regardless of tradition, it doesn't feel nice to put off the parents' meeting too much. And if anything happens in the mean time (touch wood!) everyone has more time to talk things through before the big day.

I got my shoes from pazzion, though abit overprice to wear for a day.. but have to take note, pazzion shoe will bite ur leg. So have to wear ard at hm b4 AD. I will reuse the shoe from my ps..
Oops. Realise comment at the wrong conver. Sorry girls..

Siqi Teo

That's true. I shall discuss with HTB and see how it goes. My parents are quite easy going, so I only worry about the MIL. She seems quite hands off but I can never know until things happen.
The banquet coordinator told to book food tasting like 1 month before the wedding. But I think I will arrange it in Nov, so it wouldn't be too busy for us in Dec.
What about you? Your food tasting booked?

Siqi Teo

Mine will be at Roland restaurant. Only there can accommodate up to 100 tables. But we Book only 60 tables. Went to bs and take a look at their gown but hvn try and choose the one i want cos they say they will habe newer gowns coming in ard oct. Pre wedding shoot done, left with shipping over to sg. Sdj from mil oso settled. Mom n mil gown & brothers attire oso settle. Left w sisters dress and car and guo da li & food tasting date to be settle. Oh ya.. and booking of the rom date.. cos mine will be different from AD. How abput Yours? All settle?

Wow~ You have so many guests! It's must be tough to do the seating arrangement and stuff! I only have 20 tables and the relatives already started telling me who they don't want to sit with... =___="

Looks like I still have quite a bit undone. Haven't settle brothers and sisters attire, although I have decided on the color theme. Mom's dress also not done. For my wedding heels, I am in dilemma. Don't know to buy those bridal heels and wear it only once (a bit waste money), or just get a pair of decent heels which I can still wear after the wedding.
For your white gown, what kind are you going to get? I got a ball gown for morning and the evening gown is body hugging with train.
Any idea if the hotel can pack the banquet food for the groom and bride? I want to eat the banquet food leh, but mostly bride and groom don't get to eat during the banquet..

My ROM is on the same day as AD. It will done before the banquet in the hotel function room. I emailed a JP earlier, but he asked me to contact him only in Oct because now is still too early to confirm.

alyooop

That's true. I shall discuss with HTB and see how it goes. My parents are quite easy going, so I only worry about the MIL. She seems quite hands off but I can never know until things happen.
The banquet coordinator told to book food tasting like 1 month before the wedding. But I think I will arrange it in Nov, so it wouldn't be too busy for us in Dec.
What about you? Your food tasting booked?
That's good that both sides are ok so far. My htb's mum is pretty easygoing and said ok to things my parents asked for. It's not a demanding list actually, just a couple of small traditions (no one has heard of but that's another irritating story) since we're not doing guo da li all that, but I'm worried that my parents do stunt closer to the date and take advantage of her. They already asked her to give angbao to my mum, which she say will pass to us (LOL??), when I explicitly told them not to do it because I don't like the idea of having a monetary value tied to our wedding. Sigh oh well.

We don't have food tasting since it's gonna be a buffet, but we're allowed to exchange some items on the menu coz there will be a number of vegetarians. Probably will confirm this in Nov coz we need to confirm our favours at the same time. Are you doing the usual Chinese course?

Adelqian

I love the food from roland resturarant!

BTW will u girls be providing dresses for the sisters or just give them a color n ask them to get their own?

Siqi Teo

That's good that both sides are ok so far. My htb's mum is pretty easygoing and said ok to things my parents asked for. It's not a demanding list actually, just a couple of small traditions (no one has heard of but that's another irritating story) since we're not doing guo da li all that, but I'm worried that my parents do stunt closer to the date and take advantage of her. They already asked her to give angbao to my mum, which she say will pass to us (LOL??), when I explicitly told them not to do it because I don't like the idea of having a monetary value tied to our wedding. Sigh oh well.

We don't have food tasting since it's gonna be a buffet, but we're allowed to exchange some items on the menu coz there will be a number of vegetarians. Probably will confirm this in Nov coz we need to confirm our favours at the same time. Are you doing the usual Chinese course?

It's great news that the MIL side is easygoing. Makes life so much easier. Hope things go smoothly for you!
Yep, mine is the normal Chinese dinner , but have to include a table for vegetarians as well.

Your wedding favours is included or you source it separately? Mine is included by the banquet, so I was thinking of choosing the key/lock and luggage tag.

Siqi Teo

BTW will u girls be providing dresses for the sisters or just give them a color n ask them to get their own?

Hiya, I will be providing the dresses for my bridesmaids. I have searched a few places but have not decided which to buy from. Need to cater to different heights and sizes.
What about you? Do you have many bridesmaids? I only 4-5.

alyooop

I told them to wear a dress they already have that's mostly navy, no other instructions since it's going to be a simple event. Do bs here rent out bridesmaid dresses? Can consider if you want a more consistent look and don't want them to deal with keeping the dresses unless they intend to wear for future events.

alyooop

It's great news that the MIL side is easygoing. Makes life so much easier. Hope things go smoothly for you!
Yep, mine is the normal Chinese dinner , but have to include a table for vegetarians as well.

Your wedding favours is included or you source it separately? Mine is included by the banquet, so I was thinking of choosing the key/lock and luggage tag.
They did say they are not asking for anything else other than the obscure ritual/tradition thingy and surprise!angbao so crossing fingers that's the end of it!

I feel like veg dishes can get quite oily and salty so when u do tasting maybe can highlight about this?

Favours are included but looking at the current list they all look tacky with childish colours (pastel blue and pink everywhere!) and are honestly rather impractical. I'd go with luggage tags too but what we saw looks toooo cutesy. Our contact with the hotel did say there will be an updated list in Nov so hopefully there are nicer options, if not I'll just diy something.

Adelqian

Hiya, I will be providing the dresses for my bridesmaids. I have searched a few places but have not decided which to buy from. Need to cater to different heights and sizes.
What about you? Do you have many bridesmaids? I only 4-5.

I have about 8 - 10 bridesmaids. The groom side have more then 10 brothers!

Ya It's a headache having to cater to different sizes and I'm afraid some may not like to wear certain designs so am not sure if It's better to to just give them a color theme n the dresses themselves.

My bs does provide bridesmaid dresses, those convertible kind but It's not enough to cover my no of sisters so Im exchanging it for something else

Siqi Teo

I have about 8 - 10 bridesmaids. The groom side have more then 10 brothers!

Ya It's a headache having to cater to different sizes and I'm afraid some may not like to wear certain designs so am not sure if It's better to to just give them a color theme n the dresses themselves.

My bs does provide bridesmaid dresses, those convertible kind but It's not enough to cover my no of sisters so Im exchanging it for something else

I am getting those convertible dresses for my bridesmaids as well. My friend knows a supplier who quote me $28 if I buy more.
Going for convertible dress because it can cater different body shapes and sizes. And my bridesmaid can tie the design which they like and comfortable with.
Let me know if you want to buy that too.

alyooop

How's everyone's progress? Getting quiet here haha.

We've just set the save the date fb event tonight and already 3 of his friends couldn't come. 1 is getting married on the same day (what are the odds right), one is flying overseas and 1 is getting married 3 months after and superstition says we can't attend each other's weddings. Boo.

Also, bought fake flowers today, so maybe can start to diy my helpers' corsages soon.

evontan

Actually frm now we have 3mth left to prepare. I jus did my pre wedding photo shoot jus few days ago. Now waiting for choosing of photo.
Nxt step perhaps is printing of wedding postcard.

winleobee

We are only taking our photoshoot early next month and at this time I am thinking to get an outdoor dress because I don't quite like the one by bridal shop :(

Can we start to 'sound' the invites?

evontan

U can buy ur own.. or rent at other places. U may start the ' sound' invites. I haven 'sound' yet. Propoerly nov sound den dec start to give official invitation.

winleobee

U can buy ur own.. or rent at other places. U may start the ' sound' invites. I haven 'sound' yet. Propoerly nov sound den dec start to give official invitation.

Will it be too late then? or oct sound invites, nov send official, dec wait for rsvp? lol i dunno..

alyooop

Will it be too late then? or oct sound invites, nov send official, dec wait for rsvp? lol i dunno..
Will you have guests that are frequent travellers though? at least those without kids, so they may take a long year-end-new-year vacation. We checked with our relatives by end of aug, then let friends have until start of Oct to confirm. Gonna send out formal invites in nov/dec, can't remember my schedule w/o looking at the planner :/

Sounding out about 3-4 months ahead should be ok coz it's not too early that they can't chope your date and not too late that they already have other plans they can't get out of. Remember there may be relatives who are difficult to contact and that you'll need time to sort out final guest list and send the formal invites too!

jyyan

Hi ladies, I'm Jan bride too and just started really thinking about actual day stuff. I'm doing ala carte without package with bs. Anyone doing the same?

Any suggestions where I can rent kua and evening dresses for mums?

alyooop

Hi ladies, I'm Jan bride too and just started really thinking about actual day stuff. I'm doing ala carte without package with bs. Anyone doing the same?

I'm doing ala carte but won't be renting those, so can't help you there :/

evontan

One question.. when you all take the pre-wedding photoshoot, do u all wear your wedding bands before solemnisation?
Yes i do.. i think it meaningful to wear ur wedding band to take photos together. As by den ur actual wedding day u b wearing on it.

evontan

Hi jyyan

I also doing ala carte. Not tie up with any bridal shop. I bought my gowns n kua on taobao about $400. Photographer i outsource a freelancer which quote me $688 for 8 hours. Additional hr is $100.
Planning to hold a buffet lunch along my parents in law corridor.

U might wanna consider buy online or those homebase rental gowns.

jyyan

Thanks Evon,

I checked out taobao with my mum and surprisingly we found something she likes. Hopefully it'll fit when it arrives. As for the kua, I will continue to search for rental as I don't want to keep it.

Anyone uses JustGowns before? I found them through Google search. Reasonable rental price.

evontan

Hi jyyan

That great! Taobao got alot of things to buy. Many wedding selection n design.

I bought my gowns frm taobao. Is thru agent so got extra fees using their storage n service.
When ur AD wedding. May b can borrow u after mine big day. Mine is 24 jan size XS.

Jus gowns nv rent before. But i hear www.cupidogowns.com is good. U can try browsing more before decide.

jyyan

Ok, I'll check out the link! Thank you for the generous offer but I'm so not XS! :p Besides, mine is before yours. Thanks babe, appreciate your tips!