(2012 BTB) ROM in 2012

Kaizhen, we are doing it at the Registry itself before gg for high tea...but a bit torn on whether to do it at Hyatt or Mandarin Oriental ...Cos i just signed my pkg at MO last week for my Oct 2013 AD... =X

Kaizhen,

Ic, the power of technology, saves hassle! Ya, taking 1 step a time. Settled my BS today. Read another thread that my BS photographer is not good, i alr paid for the photographer service & can't withdraw. Thinking shld i get a better photographer n forfeit that extra $ i added on for their photographer? A lesson learnt: Impulsive sign-up = Waste $, hai..

Hi æ• (邵æ•郡主),
Ur ROM also coming soon, envy envy.. counting down to mine. What's MO?

ourwedding8082 : if you are worry and you have extra budget for photographer, can consider hiring another photographer.. my sis got 2 different groups of photographer on her wedding day.(one group of photographers is her friends, they are professional)

Hi Kaizhen,

No extra budget for another photographer
Got renovations, furnitures & electrical appliances to foresee which we feel r better well-spend. Down the road if got extra money, maybe take wedding shoots with another BS, hee.

Currently i'll just stick to my BS package, pray it turns out nice

Another 1 week to May le, time flies..

Where is ur ROM venue? Found a JP alr?

KaiZhen: I tried the high tea at 10 Scotts, it's pretty good but I have yet to try the one at MO though

ourwedding8082: MO = Mandarin Oriental

ourwedding8082 : yeah.. just pray hard! =P
super excited about the ROM. mine is at Tung Lok Signatures (The central). yup, found JP- prof yu. pray hard he is good..

what about you? found your JP?

èµµæ• (邵æ•郡主) : icic.. maybe one day i should go and try it too.. i have not try MO's high tea before, so can't give you any comments.. =X

Tan xiao yu (tan_xiao_yu): grats! i have already book my MUA.. anyway, when is your ROM?

èµµæ• (邵æ•郡主)
Ic. U r going to have high-tea ROM in a hotel? Nice!

Xiao yu,
Thanks but i'm using my BS one coz it comes in a package. Luckily i've read good reviews abt her
When is your ROM?

KaiZhen,
Heehee, same here. My ROM will be at Peony Jade Clarke Quay (near yours).

Oh congrats!! I read the Prof Yu is good, i also want to have him as my JP but he is taken on my ROM date
I got Mr Phang Tai Heng instead.
I just bought my wedding bands today, they need 3 months to customize. Have you bought urs?

Maybe we shld do a checklist so that we won't miss out anything on our special day.

Here's mine, u gers can add-in if i've missed out anything.

BS: Jess Haute Couture
Venue: Peony Jade Clarke Quay
MUA: Regine from JHC
Photographer: Cheong from JHC
Wedding Bands: Love & Co
Wedding Heels: I bought a simple pair of silver heels coz i'll be wearing a long dress, so no point to get blingbling heels coz can't see. Cheaper also.

What else??

ourwedding8082: i actually wanted Dr Phua Tan Tee but he is not available. yup got my wedding band long ago.. even before my htb bought the proposal ring.. haha..i wanted peony jade initially, but their private room can only accommodate 2 tables.. mine is all ala-carte..

short gown- bought from sandy.
MUA- Sandy
hand bouquet - Blushing Bouquet
Wedding band - Goldheart
Photographer - Hendra
Heels - have not buy yet, going to take a look on this weekend.
Venue - Tung Lok Signatures
ROM Favor : individual boxed cupcake

i left the venue decoration to my htb.. so i think only left htb suit + shoes..

hopefully, i didn't miss out anything...

Kaizhen,

Not to worry, Prof Yu is well-raved. Ic, so sweet. Yes lor, Max 2 tables for Peony Jade Private Room or gotta solemise on Stage & eat in main hall.

Your Sandy isit from Dres Me Up? I shortlisted her when i was looking for a BS that time but didn't engage her in the end. Love her makeup seen from her website.

Oh ya, u reminded me!! Htb suit & shoes!! I've to remind him. Thanks.

Your Wedding Favour from Tung Lok or ala-carte?

I must remember to do my ROM invitations, a DIY one. Hope not too ugly.

ourwedding8082 : yup yup.. sandy is from dres me up.... bought my gown from her too..

gotta go for trial make-up during may..

tung lok's solemnisation area is like on the balcony facing clarke quay.. so i feel that it is quite special..

my wedding favour is ala-carte.. they do not provide wedding favour for ROM..

probably most of the bride's ROM over liao??

so did i miss anything out on my list??

KaiZhen,

Ic. How much did u pay for gown & makeup?
After u went for trial makeup, do review k.

Tunglok's solemnisation is like outdoor. I like too but Htb like Peony Jade's ambience more. After solemnisation, do u eat in their private room or main restuarant?

Hmmm, shld be more or less in order as far as i can think now..

i will be getting married in aug 2012 n ROM on same day too Dr Phua Tan Tee will be my JP. my bridal package includes almost everything fm twn outdoor, spore indoor shoot, ROM dress and AD gowns plus AD PG etc.

KaiZhen,
Ic, dining is private room is better i feel, won't feel so awkard to share the main restuarant with other diners. Read good reviews on Peony Jade, thanks

U get to keep your gown. Nice! My ROM package is $388 consists of OTR gown rental, accessories rental, makeup & hairdo at doorstep, hand bouquet. I top-up $200 for the photographer on ROM. Cheap.

Welcome kitty,
I'm getting married in Aug too, no banquet thou. When's ur date?

ourwedding8082:
Yep, having high tea at the hotel after our solemnization at ROM itself.

Stuff outstanding so far:
1. Shoes
2. Bouquet
3. Sending the final invites to the guests
4. Making the final reservation for high tea ( I am not inviting too many people so shld be ok)

Can i join in? Recommended by my friend to join the forum.

I also planning ROM in these few months.
Waiting to select a date from the master.
After that proceed with looking for JP,makeup...

Didnt know that there are some many things to settle for ROM.

Does anyone know where i can hold a simple ROM for 1 table?

ourwedding8082: i spend more as it doesn't include hand bouquet.. i must find it myself.. and my photographer also another cost.. bought my shoes and htb's today.. so one more item down!

kitty_pretty angel : Welcome! Dr Phua is good.. my sis got him as her JP.. so you will be having AD on the same day?

èµµæ• (邵æ•郡主): you sign for bridal package? if yes, hand bouquet should be included...

sarah quek (happycookies): Welcome! when is your ROM? for JP who are you intending to get? Alot of things to plan.. but if you are signing bridal package, you will have MUA, gown and hand bouquet settled..

Dear all, i am a new comer too and would like to join in this thread. planning to have my ROM at the later half of this year. I followed your thread and would like to ask for some recommendations.

Kaizhen: seems like you prefer to do ala carte, can you share with me what's the pro and cons? did you go about shopping for very long before you finally choose and decide eg dress, photographer and flowers etc? how did you decide? mind sharing? because I thought usually is go to a boutique and they will do everything for you. Thanks!

dianaphua (dianaphua): hihi welcome! i chose ala-carte is because my AD will be few years down the road and i do not want to "tie" myself to a certain bridal shop (just in case i change my mind - fickle minded =X )..

ala-carte will be more costly for me as i have to find gown, MUA, bridal bouquet and photographer. and all these doesn't come in package..

i like ala-carte because i can choose what i want from different places (if from bridal shop, they will have limited gown to choose from).. but you will have to do alot of research and shopping (go to the shop personally to choose what you like)..

if you do not have alot of time to spend on researching and shopping.. it will be best to sign bridal package as it will be a one-stop service...

photographer i will read the reviews online and see their portfolio.. and discuss with my htb which style of photography he prefer.. than i will ask for quotations and see if it can fit into my budget and lastly you will have to meet up with your photographer to discuss about your preferences..

another important point - you must plan your budget first before you start searching.. and follow to it.. if not forever not enough...

Hi kaizhen yes my rom n ad will b the same n we can use the hotel private room or if we want outdoor within the hotel premises also can. Can u help me to check wif ur cousin hongbao for dr phua is how much? Coz I scare I give too little n he will b unhappy n get bk to me for more

Suddenly so many new btbs, good sign!

Kitty,
i read another thread, so many 4th Aug brides. must b a good date from tong shu? or any reason? Mine is on 8th Aug. This year, Aug don't fall into Chinese 7th month. Hee.

èµµæ• (邵æ•郡主)
Cool!
Ur wedding is in Jun right? Gotta start doing le else drag mayb too rush. U must hv more rest few days prior to ur wedding so will look fresh & beautiful.

Welcome Sarah.
1 table venue quite difficult, most restuarants require min 2 tables. Hotels min 30pax. First thing is to book venue & JP first coz good ones usually got booked earlier. And like what KaiZhen advised if u don't wanna do many things, take up a ROM package.

KaiZhen,
That's why i said my package is cheap lor, Kekekek. Thou cheap but am not confident with the photographer. Haiz.

Welcome diana.

hi our wedding 8082,
i think so ba..for me is quite last min decision n by the time we looked for hotel venue in dec 2011 my other dates had been taken n many hotels left 4 aug...hmm but aug mid till end is chinese 7mth n my mum v funny one she said some ghosts r already out b4 the 7 mth starts as the gate will slowly release them.

Oh ya èµµæ• (邵æ•郡主)

R u DIY-ing for ur invites? I'm diy-ing mine but i got no ideas yet. Hope tonight's sleep can gv me some inspirations..

Hi , my ROM is this coming Sunday . Want to ask does any of the BTB intend to personalize their Wedding Vows? I am doing mine but not sure how to go about doing it

èµµæ• (邵æ•郡主): icic.. so do you have anything in mind?

ourwedding8082 : yeah.. you got a good deal!

kitty_pretty angel : my sis gave 58 i think..

Gisele: wow thats fast! nah, initially i tot of doing the personalise vows but i find it too troublesome.. so i decided to just follow the standard vows..=X

Hi Kaizhen,
My rom date is 16 July... Ya ya, a lot of things to plan.we decide to simplify things by going over to the ROM.But its only weekday

Read through the advise by future brides.
I need to look for high tea venue,makeup & hairdo,shoes...

I am glad that i found this thread whereby i can have lots of advise

I still have not sign up for a bridal package yet.
Looking for one now...seems like so little time.
July ROM, Aug hold wedding dinner at my hubby side (Malaysia).His parents wants it before the chinese 7th month... Argh....

-sarah

Hi ourwedding8082,
we settle the part on ROM.Will have it there.
Now arranging for the part on high tea buffet as we still cant confirm the guest attending.ROM side only allows max 20 guest.

As my hubby hometown is malysia,he might have relative coming.quite hard to fix the headcount if we having those sit down 10 person per table.Looking for venue with high tea buffet as they go by headcount
-sarah

Kitty,
Thought this year hungry ghost month start in Sep due to leap year? Pls correct me. Your mom is indeed very funny, so cute.

Gisele,
Congrats on your coming ROM. I'm doing the standard one, i don't hv creative brain cells to personalise, i wish i could..

KaiZhen,
Yeah! Actually my package can only choose short gown but i've chosen a long gown & need to top-up $100 but Htb nego to waive off the $100. Save again, LOL.

Read that your things more or less done already, remember to finalise your ROM decor.

Sarah,
Ic. Must reserve the tables fast esp if you r having buffet at reputable restuarants/hotels on weekends.

sarah: i agree with ourwedding8082, you need to make reservation for hotels/ restaurant fast.. if not you might not be able booked the one that you want.

ourwedding8082: yeah.. mine is almost done.. waiting for the day now.. as for venue decorations, i will leave it to my htb and brother-in-law.. cos thats the only thing he have to do for the whole ROM... you are almost done too right?

Kaizhen & ourwedding8082,

my ROM is on a monday so i guess still not too late to look for rest

Any recommendation for high tea venues? so far i only know of Tung lok & Poney jade.

1. Shoes : Still looking
2. Bouquet : Tink i just get flower from thomson florist then DIY.mine falls on monday so weekend can do it.
3. Dress : Going JB to look for BS cos its cheaper

4.High Tea venue : Still looking
5.Makeup & hairdo : Still looking

Seems lik i am still lost... getting kan cheong although still have a few month time.
4. Making the final reservation for high tea ( I am not inviting too many people so shld be ok)

KaiZhen,

Ic. Ya,mine almost all done except to efile & diy my invitations. My ROM is 3 months away, seems i'm super Kiasu :p

After your ROM, pls keep coming back to chat with us ya

My Checklist:
Venue: Peony Jade Clarke Quay
JP: Mr Phang Tai Heng
BS: Jess Haute Couture
MUA: Regine from JHC
Photographer: Cheong from JHC
Hand Bouquet: JHC
Wedding Bands: Love & Co
Wedding Heels: Bought!
Wedding Favours: Pending
Hubby's Suit: Pending

Sarah,
I think Peony Jade don't have high-tea, maybe u want to call them to confirm? Mine is dinner. Let me know how is JB package after u hv signed with them, maybe wanna take JB package for wedding PS.

Kitty,
U r right, i juz confirmed with the calendar. Heehee.

ourwedding8082 : i am even more kiasu.. i efile on the 24/03/2012 , which is the day my date opens.. haha..

sure, will come back and update you all!

where you buy your heels from? (got alot of bling bling?)

what types of wedding favours are you looking for?

Sarah: hmmm.. maybe you can try hotels? i am having lunch at tung lok, not very sure if it has high tea..

Hi ourwedding8082,
I emailed peony jade.They only have lunch & dinner.No high tea...
Sure,i will update when i got the JB BS.

I saw that there is this BS that is very popular in the forum.Di Gio.Interested also.. i so fickled minded...

Kaizhen,
Thanks for the advise.Let me update when i get a high tea venue

Yo yo Kaizhen and ourwedding:

I am lazy - just going to email/call/whataspp..Not inviting that many people anyway, only very close friends and relatives.

Bouquet: Not sure if we wanna make a pearl bouquet or buy artificial flowers for the bouquet cos i saw some on lightinthebox dot com that are quite nice and cheap, < S$50 whereas if i were to get fresh flowers, it is easily $80 ..

I hope I can disappear from work on the dot for the week or so leading up to the solemnization cos June is considered a busy period for me..

I am damn happy i settled my rom gown yesterday in < 1 hr, now is to settle my shoes and flowers....mebbe wanna buy my shoes tmr cos it is a holiday..... then go gai gai with htb

KaiZhen,
I intend to efile on the day when my date opens too. Ha..

I bought it from Giovana. No blings coz i'll be wearing under a long gown, Can't really see my heels so feel no point get bling ones.. $27.90 only.
1881990.jpg

What abt urs? Urs sure got blings ;)

My wedding favours provided by Peony Jade, got 3 varieties: Shot-glass...i can't remember the rest. Can choose when nearer to ROM date.

Sarah,
Ic. Or u can try Yum Cha, My humble house? I think they hv high-tea, i ever read b4.

Thank you. Sometimes i can be fickled-minded too :p

èµµæ• (邵æ•郡主)
Ic. For artificial flowers u can get keep them forever (haha) after your ROM
Real flowers hv to go to the bin

Talk to your superior, if he/she is understanding, he/she will understand preparing for The Big Day needs to do alot of work &amp; means alot to all brides.

Wow! i think i took less than an hour too coz the person only took 2 gowns to let me try, &amp; i like the design of the 2nd piece she took, it also looks nice on me so i confirmed it right away, thinking back, i think i shld look at more gowns..

U chose a short gown or a long one?

Hi Girls, how was your labour day holi??

ourwedding8082: =) you are right, mine got lots of bling bling..cos i wear short gown.. no worries.. i have already booked my mani &amp; pedi.. haha.. i intend to just do gelish.. maybe with some lace.. do you have any budget for mani/pedi in mind?

1882094.jpg

èµµæ• (邵æ•郡主) : talk to your superior.. i take quite some time choosing my gown.. cos my htb keep saying this not nice, that not nice.. Q.Q

Mine will be a long gown, but I want to buy bling bling shoes!! I havent bought my shoes though...

Bought the artificial champagne rose bouquet online, only about 20 plus dollars...Cheaper than fresh flowers !!

I have applied for my marriage leave a while ago (June 28 and 29-our little staycation). Most likely will take whole day off on Jun 27 also to do our statutory declaration and my manicure...I just wanna do a simple gelish, with some glitter on top. Dun really like 3D nail art..
1882163.jpg

hmmm.. marriage leave no need show ROM cert?

i have not apply yet..

you have got a good deal for bouquet...

i chose orchid mix with rose instead of all roses..

Hi Kaizhen, havent log in for a few days but thank you for your sharing! really helpful indeed

I think i will start from those that some of the brides have engage or mention in this forum to help me start my search.. my htb ask me to choose first and I am quite lost.. so yours i see is Hendra,can send me their contact? thanks!!

ourwedding8082: can share with me your contacts too for photographer? thanks!!

èµµæ• (邵æ•郡主)
the champange rose bouquet is really nice! can you share with me the link that you get your flowers from? my htb complained that i didnt take care of the flowers he bought me previously so i think for my wedding, better to get artificial ones.. lol

thanks everyone for sharing!

KaiZhen,
We went out for brunch and then stayed at home to relax then went for dinner. Everywhere so crowded on Labours' Day.
Can see many blings blings on your heel's strap. In front got blings?
Ic. My budget ard $150. Talking abt manicure, suddenly i recall the removing part of acrylic nails is painful, sometimes will bleed. I scare of pain.. maybe i do gelish also. Pedicure juz do the classic one with normal polish.

èµµæ• (邵æ•郡主)
Ic. Happy shopping!
Wow, good deal you got for your flowers. After ROM can display at home or office
U need to buy the ribbons separately right?
I didn't choose roses, i chose something like Sunflower (dunno what's the actual name) Pink in colour.
I will be taking 1 day leave only which is my ROM day then the next day is PH (National Day).

Diana,
My photographer is tied to my ROM package. I don't advise you to use the photographer coz i read negative comments on his PS skill after signing him. If i've read the thread earlier, i would engage somebody else.

ourwedding8082: same here.. probably pedi will just do normal french.. about the removing part.. i am not too sure if it is painful cos that time when i did my acrylic nails, i just clip it away with nail clipper.. took quite some time..

This is the front of my shoes

1882275.jpg