(2012 BTB) ROM in 2012

What i have done:
- Venue confirmed
- BS confirmed
- bought wedding shoes (thinking of getting another pair)
- bought groom's shirt
- bought wedding bands
- 1st & 2nd march-in songs confirmed

Pending items:
- Groom's shoes
- Photoshoot
- parents meet up
- Guo Da Li items(if any)
- completion of photo montage
- wedding favours
- wedding pens (any recommendation?)
- wines
- printing of invitation cards & insert

Mine is a small wedding cos I refused to hold those traditional banquet knowing I will be doing everything myself.

Sarah,
Yeah...got to take note of the fine prints like validity, taxes, sucharges, etc. I too, dislike the hidden costs. Think i better purchase the package from a reputable travel company.

Any chance to do ur mani in early Aug? if yes, we can do together?

KaiZhen,
Where did u go?

novbride2012,
U r so lucky to win the voucher, & it comes in time for ur wedding. So nice...yeah can buy bag or spend more $ on your honeymoon.

I juz bought the Photobook voucher $38 from Groupon, intending to compile all my ROM pics into a Photobook since i won't be having any hard copies from my BS. Sharing this deal for those who intend to do a Photobook too

2012novbride: for wedding pens - do you mean pens for guest to write? if its that i will buy those feather pens.. but if its for signing marriage cert, i bought Swarovski Crystal pens.. what do you intend to give as wedding favour? i intend to give cupcakes..

ourwedding8082: nah, i didn't go anywhere.. just super busy that week.

<font color="0000ff">Hi KaiZhen,
Its really expensive.My colleg bought her ring at Love &amp; co for around $2K.Her hubby ring is only around $300.

ROM ceremony : ROM
High tea venue : Yumchia
Guest list : still finalizing
Shoe : still looking
nails : groupon
gown : bought it
groom attire : leave it to him.
Makeup &amp; hairdo : Di Gio
wedding band : Soo Koo

Not sure if there is anything that i miss out.

Hi 2012novbride,
I will be doing my nails via groupon deal.I let u know after i m done with it.intend to do it July start

Hi ourwedding8082 ,
Looks like our timing cant match.I doing it close to my ROM date.most problem 1st week July.I let u after i use the groupon vouchor</font>

KaiZhen,
Ic, i'm having the idea of getting pens as souveniors for my JP &amp; witnesses. Dunno where to get nice &amp; not expensive ones, mayb $30-40 for each pen?

Sarah,
$300 only for men ring??? If i know got $300 ones, i will get that for my Htb! LOL!

No worries
Looking forward to your feedback &amp; advise...

sarah: your list should be more or less done..

ourwedding8082: hmmm maybe you can look online for wedding favour supplier.. it might me cheaper.

Sarah,
I didn't see any men ring at $300, the cheapest I saw was already $900. Did she mix &amp; match? I need to do my nails in July too. Is pedicure necessary for PS &amp; AD?

KaiZhen,
Ya, for the marriage cert. The pens you bought burst my budget. I only intend to use it for solemnisation. Have entrusted my sister to source for me in Bangkok when she goes in July. I'm doing away with the guest book so no need guest pens. Cupcakes are good idea, but we changed our mind and will be getting small pots of honey as wedding favours.

2012novbride: i bought the pens when i went on a trip (i bought the pens just because i like it, not really for ROM - just coincidence ).. so it is not that ex as i bought it on the plane.. i still have not decide if i should buy a small guest book.. it is expensive for the small pots of honey?

Sarah: we bought my htb ring at 500 plus.. bought seperate rings.. but similar design as he doesn't want any diamond on it..

KaiZhen,
About $2 each, will need to buy those organza separately to pack together. Or u can source for those jams at the supermarket. Can't remember the brand, it's selling about $3 for 3 different flavours.

<font color="0000ff">Hi ourwedding8082,
Its not wedding band series one.. just normal ring.My colleg totally dun care one.. The hubby just get a totally plain ring.then she get the Love&amp;co ring.

Hi KaiZhen,
yes.They never buy together one.She say the hubby buy promo price.

I am lucky that my and my htb both like 1 pair.He also dun want diamond.He say look so girlish.

Hi 2012novbride,
I personally find the ideal wedding flavour is small pot of honey or letter opener

KaiZhen,
I think wedding favour suppliers need a minimium qty. I only need 3 for JP &amp; witnesses. Looking at Swaroski web, it seems that if i were to get 3 pens, my budget is burst, unless i juz get 1 which i like &amp; the pen will be used for ROM signing but they don't get to keep the pen.

What do u all think but it looks nicer if the JP &amp; witnesses get to keep the pens right ?

Sarah,
Ic, as long as both r happy can liao.

ourwedding8082,
Regarding the pens, it's up to you. Since our dads are already retired, I don't see the need. For the JP, we already be giving him red packet so don't think it's necessary either. He will be solemnising so many weddings, don't think he will remember us. But I might want to give him the wedding flavor, perhaps 2 instead of 1 like the rest of the guests.

Speaking of the pens, do we need to prepare for the witnesses too? Or we can actually 'share'?

2012novbride,
Sorry didn't clarify in detail. Our witnesses r our long-time good friends so thought of giving them something as token of appreciation &amp; friendship. The JP just give as a "yi-shi yi-shi" only.

I'm actually thinking abt this pen issue too, do we need to prepare individual pens (Jp, 2 for witnesses, 1 for me &amp; htb) or just need 1 pen to pass ard?

ourwedding8082,
I see. It really sounds like a nice gesture.

I believe JP will his/her own pen. I just thinking about whether need to prepare for the witness. But kinda look weird on the table set up.

2012novbride: same here, i will be giving JP my wedding favour..

ourwedding8082 : i didn't think of this question on preparing pens.. i only prepare 2 for us.. =X hmmm.. what type of pens are you looking for?

2012novbride,
Ya hor, JP shld have his own pen.

KaiZhen,
Flower pens? Feather pens? I have no idea leh. If giving away as souveniors after signing the cert, thought of getting those classic ones. But if budget restricts, i think i get flower pens mah..think it also make the solemnisation table looks nicer..

SIGH...
Didn't know that my ROM is not an ideal date, until i had dinner with my friends yesterday, they said normally pantang chinese don't hold weddings on 6th lunar month coz it represents "half bride". Haiz... y got so many rules one??? dunno want to be safe than sorry to pantang anot &amp; delay my ROM? Haven spoke to Htb yet.

ourwedding8082 : hmmm i am not sure about the dates but for me i feel that it should be alright for ROM unless your chinese customary is also on that day..

flower pens look nice, but if give to guys abit weird unless your witness both females..what about those stationary stores, they got sell those stainless steel pens? maybe take a look at daiso?

I don't believe those 'half bride' thing. My youngest sister got married during that time too and both of them are still very loving after 5 years. Another gf of mine got married end of the year and now on the verge of divorce. Good or bad dates do not guarantee anything lah.

KaiZhen,
I don't intend to have banquet so ROM is like my Actual Day. Not intending to go thru the chinese customary too.

2012novbride,
Yeah i don't believe either. True, no matter how good the date is, doesn't gurantee a lasting marriage, i have a friend who spent $ on a well-known fengshui master for a wedding date, end up divorced.

Spoken to Htb abt the half bride thingy, he's not pantang so do i &amp; we are going ahead with our date.

Thanks KaiZhen &amp; 2012novbride for sharing your views

i think èµµæ• (邵æ•郡主) is busy preparing her ROM stuffs.. she also june right?

now i have headaches on the venue decorations.. thinking if i should DIY or ask pple to do it for me..

KaiZhen,
Think so.. not sure leh, i only remember urs in Jun :P

If u have spare cash, ask people to do for u, saves hassle &amp; time, look professional too. DIY is very headache, unless got friends/family members to help.

haha coz i always focus on aug btb 2012 tread tat i miss out here sorry...:P
my AD n ROM will b in 6th lunar mth..my FSM n other master also mentioned that wedding for ROM n customary seldom be in odd mths like 3rd, 5th etc..6th lunar mth also sound like luck luck in hokkien:P

ourwedding8082: solemnization table and chair.. and maybe the surrounding in the solemnization area..

kitty_pretty angel: you can prepare one pen and just pass around..

èµµæ• (邵æ•郡主): same here.. having exams in around 3 weeks time.. and i haven start any revision.. die!

èµµæ• (邵æ•郡主),
I hate exams. Understand what u're gg thru..

Kitty,
Must also come in more often to chat with us also la.
That's consoling! I must think positively, 6=luck! Haa!

KaiZhen,
I thought usually resturants or hotels will provide the decor? I gotta confirm with PJ liao in case they don't too. If u know hw to do &amp; hv ideas u can DIY, think solemnisation table &amp; chairs not too difficult?
Oh u r also having exams, may u pass with flying colors.

ourwedding8082 : nah.. they only provide chairs cover and tables cover.. they dun provide centre piece and other deco..

thanks.. hope i can pass!

lol ok i will come in more often:P
i still left 3 packets of gold and romantic white strings for tieing of inserts to the card for selling..those who need them can look for me

for me i will use deco n centrepiece from my wedding dinner ballroom

ourwedding8082 : yeap, coming very soon....exactly 4 more weeks~ starting to get nervous... my htb finally found one that suits his taste... and the price that the florist quote can fit into my budget.. will be meeting her this sat to finalize the details.

kitty_pretty angel : haha.. its for own family and close friends, that why eat better de.. and i dun expect ang baos from them for ROM..

Hi Girls!

Why suddenly all brides disappear??

Anyway, i have booked my short trip to phuket after my ROM.. Is there any place to recommend?

I don't know what nail colors I should use on my PS and AD. Intend to do gelish french manicure (not sure if pedicure is necessary though). My EG is pink, any recommendation pls?

Hi 2012novbride,
For PS gelish french manicure is nice but add some diamonds or thin silver coat in between the white coat and base coat so it won't look too plain, for pedicure it depends on what shoe you'll wear.. if it will show your toes, I'll suggest any light metallic (silver/gold) polish with glitters on the tip of nail will do.
Hope this helps.. good luck

Hi 2012novbride,
You can choose silver to be safe because it can go with any color, you can also ask your coordinator in the bridal shop