(2011/05) May 2011 BTB

Priscilla - so qiao we both in Bali on the same days!
I agree Bali has better resorts and Bali has more culture which I enjoy... but Phuket still wins in terms of beaches...

I dun want to go to work!

Pris, oh! Woei ling is my bestie!! U know her? She's my jm btw!

Ya I agree the guest list confirm will keep changing until e ad.

Michelle, I was her ex-SS ahahahahah Wat small small world

Kass, I wish I was still on leave... Dunno how to face e barrage of emails... Haven't even on my laptop n I dun want to :s

We really should have a "graduation" gathering after all e may brides have graduated ;)

I also almost have 1 empty table. And the best part is, its right in front, 2table from the stage! They told me the day b4 tat they couldnt attend, hotel doesnt allow us to cut the no of tables already, so we have to rearrange and pull in ppl from other tables to fill that up. We spread out the no, some tables were sitting 8-9pax instead of 10pax.

w3n, if you are expecting 400pax, only confirm 38tables and put 2tables on reserve.

For my case my in-laws, more KS, confirm 70 + 2. So in the end, 2 reserve nv open and also we wasted 1 table with the guest spread out. I feel tat its a a waste of $ loh. But at least, overall we dont have too many empty seats. So still ok lah

Wah, Mo, you had 70 tables??? That's a lot.

I had 33 tables, so I had guaranteed 32 tables + 2 reserve. This way we confirmed 1 reserve table will definitely be used and if end up more ppl than expected, still have 1 more reserve table to utilise. But if 1 table no show, still won't fall below my guaranteed number of tables. But in the end, the changes are 1 or 2 ppl from different tables. So we didn't change our seating arrangement anyway, cuz we want our friends to sit together.

My hotel was very nice to actually let me change my no. of muslim/veg/11-person tables all the way till the day before. :P

Pris, wad is ex-SS? Lol..

Btw, I juz confirmed my table with hotel mgr yesterday. I am going to have 27 tables so we r getting 26+2 reserve. So only 1 table is empty for reserve won't look so ugly compared to 2 empty reserve.

I am again on MC today! Cough till my neck muscle ache! Juz seen e doc. Sadded!!

Mich, u need stronger med! I know a doc in ubi n another at bukit merah. They can treat cough quite effectively. But the
med is realli v strong n the q is always quite long. If u need the info, let me know.

Kass, yes we had 70tables. Table to table shot is a nightmare! I turn until I wan to faint halfway thro man! But our photographer is v chop chop so manage to finish all tables b4 dessert is served. We manage to eat 1st n last dish!

Girls, check with u on ap for couple's chauffeur
He is driving my htb car so is htb's petrol. So how much do u all think we should bao to him? Considering e factors he have to wake up early n drive us ard. Hehe..

And juz a side note, my xd n jm we r giving $58 each. And parents both sides bao $18 each meaning (18 x 2). Plus e clothes we bought is about there le ba..

Mo, I now don't take western cough med le. Taking Chinese one no doubt is bloody bitter but I feel e effect le. Hopefully by sat can get well. My cough always 1 month one. I use to it le. But I have never cough till neck muscle pain only stomach muscle nia..

Going to golden miles to book short trip to Genting later! To blow cold cold wind.. Hahah.. May is really a hot weather man!

We bao $40 to my xiongdi driving their own cars, but for my xiongdi driving our own car, we bao $28 only, cuz like u said, our own petrol and our own car. Since he driving bridal car, you can bao him a bit more lor...

Ladies, our big day is finally over! We had a fabulous night! And the weather was great ytd. Our bridal car is classic white 1966 yrs rolls royce, with the floral deco, it's super nice!

Everything were carried out smoothly as planned, thanks to my brothers & sisters. Our JP, Mr.Chiang was really good too, calm n stable, n he prepared vows for us printed with our names on it.

For hotel side, service is excellent! But jus feel abit unhappy for the AV coordination side , the coordinator was not the same when we went for the AV testing, so gonna start briefing him all over again!

Other than that, food was really good too (feedbacks from our guest), they even said its the best banquet dinner they had. we managed to finished the 2nd dish, double boiled sharks fins abalone soup before we went to change for 2nd march in. I got alot of compliments on my gowns, mu & hairstyle. Hehe so happy!

Overall, my hubby & I really enjoyed the whole day!! U all Jia you k!! Must relax n enjoy ya!

I am Mrs. Lim now! Haha

Oh ya, we have about 5 guests who did not turned up last min, but they r from diff tables, so still ok la, our table numbers remained the same n we did not get reserved table, cos quite confirmed the number of guests won't increase le. Since ours is small weddings so easily to coordinate the confirmation (all close frens & relatives).

For wines, we brought in additional 20 bottles, we r left with 8. hard liquor we brought 8 n left with 2. Most of my guests love to drink !

hi gals, haven't bee here for a few days. alot of things happening during these few days. had two breakdowns which I cried badly.

first was my Htb. i did almost all of the work. very stressed. every nite before i sleep, i have to run through in my head what are the things i have not done etc. but after my breakdown, he tried to offer help the next day.

second breakdown happened just last nite. kept asking my parents to confirm their tables, and also give me their relatives' and friends' names so that i can enter into my spreadsheet. i also asked them to provide the names in groups of 10 cos i do not know how to arrange their relatives and friends. they keep telling me don't need, just give them 13 tables will do. they do not know if the relatives will bring their kids or not. i keep telling them that they should call them to confirm but they refused to do so. they feel that it's not nice to ask. they feel that it will make them look very stingy.

also, they do not know how to do the table arrangement cos they are not sure who to sit with who. they kept asking me to give them 13 tables and on the day itself, they will lead the their friends to the table, or their friends will look for other friends and they will know where to sit. it is really ridiculous. no matter how many times i tried to explain to them (1)there will be alot of people, their friends may not be able to find them (2) even if they lead their friends to the tables, there is only 2 of them, dad & mum, but they have 130 friends, how to cover all (3) it will be embarrassing when the friends ask the reception where they are sitting and the reception is unable to answer them etc.

anyway in the end, i was so pissed off. i just tell them off. i told them "fine, if this is what you want. i will give you 13 tables. on that day itself, if you have lesser people, that's fine. if you have more people, don't come and tell me. i have no extra tables for you. and if your friends come to the reception table, i will ask my JMs to tell them "we are sorry, your name is not on the list. however we have table 1 - 13 reserved for you. you can sit anywhere you want".

Kittywend, dun cry, dun cry.. everything will turn out fine. Count sheep if u cannot sleep at nite

Old folks are a little bit stubborn, hav to tell them alot alot of times before the info sinks in..

Kitty - Parents are like that... did your parents try to help you after you broke down? If they do, then at least there is progress. Parents are always a bit tricky to handle.

Can I suggest the following? Instead of asking them to give their relatives and friends names. Ask them to tell you how many are coming from each group of friend (eg. Dad's friends - XX persons, Mum's friends - YY persons etc), then in your spreadsheet, you just allocate them table according to the number of persons they told you they invited.

I had 3 tables of dad's classmates. On my spreadsheet, they are all called "Classmate". I told my jiemeis who are at the reception, if you cannot find the name, just ask if they are my dad's classmates. Once confirmed, just tell them the general table number (oh, the classmates are all sitting in tables 28, 29, 30) and direct them to your parents so that they can congratulate your parents etc. This way you kinda have some control on your seating arrangement and your parents also feel a little happy.

I think this worked pretty well for my dad, cuz my dad feels in charge of his guest list, he knows who is coming who isn't. He can update me readily on the people who has arrived and he can even tell me down to each exact guest who gave which angpow and how much.

For relatives, I think in general, you roughly know who among the relatives is coming? If they cannot give you who is coming, then you just ask them down the list "Oh, is 三姨 coming? She's coming ah, then is (somebody related to 三姨) coming as well etc." If they unwilling to tell you then you have to ask/probe lor.

In my guest list, for all my parents' guests, I didn't put names at all. I just wrote on the guest list based on how I address them, whether by their title (eg. 舅妈,外婆 etc) or by names if they are the same generation as me. Chances are, with relatives, they are likely to look for your parents or other relatives first before going to the reception table.

If your parents are not helping you, can you ask your hubby to help you ask them? Maybe they may feel a little more inclined to be more polite with your hubby than to brush him aside like what they did with you. Similarly, you should ask your hubby to check with his parents or your in laws for the guest list, if you haven't done so. THis will take a load off you too.

Don't stress kay? Everything can be sorted.

Piggy - highlight better than colour. Cuz colour only a single colour, but highlight will show off the hairstyle better through the different colours, esp if you do a textured hairdo.
I highlighted a dark reddish brown.

Kitty - one more thing, which I think is quite important as well, in case you haven't thought of it, but you need to ask your parents to check, is if any of the guests are vegetarian. Even though your parents may brush you aside, remind them that it is even more embarrassing for them if they invite someone with a special diet but provide food that is not suitable for them. Even more "lose face"! It appears to me that your parents may be concerned about "losing face", so this technique might work for you.

Kitty it isn't any better here. It's 3am and I'm still not sleeping. It's 5 days to my wedding n i'll b the most haggard and hideous lookin bride ever. It doesn't matter hw much fancl I drink or hw much essence water n serum I put cos its all gg to waste when I sleep so late everyday!

And the reason: of all days my htb chooses to join his frens for late night ktv. I just reached home at 2. N I can't sleep till late in the morn cos we've got one whole day of plans lined up - massage, meet VG, av test n do hair. N I can't sleep immediately once I come back too cos we haven't prepared the videos n songs to burn them in cd n save in laptop. My htb volunteered to compile the songs n it isn't ready at all for tmr's testing! He said jus play fr any cd can already!!

Then wads the pt of av test when u aren't testing the real thing? Y waste everyone's time? End up I hv to gp download the key songs and prepare all the vids into the cd. He prob thinks the vid will miraculously appear tmr for testing.

That's y its not tt I dunwan to not assign tasks to him. Cos end up I hv to do it last min for him n it affects my sleep n temper. If I hv done it myself, it would hv been long ago n I wun b staying up till late night cleaning his shit. I'M FREAKING FRUSTRATED!!!!!!

Really not easy but press on gals! Just do our best n be a happy n relax bride on actual day....

I aso dyed red highlight cause gold don suit me...

Kitty n missbibi, try to calm down. I understand it can get very frustrating with the htb not doing much. My hubby was like tat too. He was damn calm n cool abt things. Assuming tat things can be done in time. After loads of naggin N many sleepless nite. I decide to juz trust him with the tasks. (of coz still with loads of reminders lah *wink*) I let everything go 1 day before, juz enjoy the mani padi sessions with my mummy n Sis. Then go hm to prep my body with scrub, moisturier n do my mask. Was in bed by 11 but can't get to zzz la. Kept worrying abt things he might forget then start msging him till don't knw wat time then I manage to doze off.

On THE day I still hav a huge pimple, now at the side of my nose( at least not in the centre of my face lo!) but the MUA did a great job! Can hardly see it after the full coverage. I hope It will turn out alrite in the pix too.

Anyway, good luck ladies! Try not too get too stress up ya.... Rest more so that u would not hav pimples like me. Have loads of fun on that day!

Kitty and missbibi: I can feel for both of u as well. My htb also like this keep saying this should be plan by us ladies but after we plan they nv do anything keep complaining things like that.

Kitty: parents are quite stubborn maybe u wanna consider seating down and explain to them if u dun do it this way that day will be rather chaotic. Relax yrself dun be stress. Get Yr sister or silblings to tok them round.

gals, relax....just do what you can and on the AD, ignore everything and leave the problems to your hubby and his lot to go settle...

the 2 days before my wedding i only got about 4 hours of sleep in all, rushing to get the my poster for the reception and the backdrop for the photo booth confirmed, the song for my 2nd march in confirmed and burn the songs to CD, highlight my hair only the day before the wedding... ahahahahah... confirming the seating for our friends and his relatives.. i cut off everything only on the morning before my AD... so it was all also very last minute...

... for your parents, if they choose not to tell u anything then let them be, no point to fight with them about it, for me, i left it to my mum cause she cannot give me her list... my sis had to help her out on the AD, but it still worked out in the end, dun split hairs about it... for your reception team, just tell the guests to refer to them.

for your non-productive hubbies, you just do what you can and brief him on the programme of the day and tell him that he needs to take care of everything for the banquet. On the night of your wedding dinner, enjoy yourself, take photos with everybody and tell him that he is not to bug you with problems... its his turn to stress...ahahahahahah

dun stress too much, cos really, after the whole thing is over.. if the bride has a sour face, everybody will think it was a lousy wedding, if the bride is smiling and happy, everybody will think it was a great wedding and they enjoyed it too... :D

promise you, its only going to be 1 day so you must must not forget to enjoy it!! cos.. i dun really remember much of what happened... ahahahahahahahah

anyway, is good for you all to let off steam here :D jiayou jiayou !!

jo, i wore a bra :D dun care what the bridal shops say about their dresses coming with padding and have enough support, i think my dress held up better with a bra :D it looked better then during my PS... when i listened to the bridal shop and only wore a nubra with the dress paddings :S

Gals, don't feel so stressed up over all e things. If parents nit listening then slowly explain to them. If they don't listen I think it's good to ask htb to speak to them. Or else just bo bian n don't bother.

For my case my dad us abit stubborn he told me confirmed but I think plus minus confirm not 100%. so I also don't bother le.. I am quite prepared le.. I think only thing is guests list now minor changes is for sure when e day comes nearer.. Relax abit kitty n missbibi! We all jia you tgt!

It's sure a must to wear bra even thou if they say the padding is thick. However my bs wants me to wear. My other frens from fables all also wear. Thou there's padding, still not enough! Need to "push" ma.. Unless u don't like those "drain" show. (some ppl like it "laying flat") not so obvious look. Haha.. So it's again up to u.

thanks gals. it's good to vent our frustration here cos u gals will understand. although i have friends whom i can confide in, but they may not comprehend as much as you do.

missbibi, let's work hard together. at least you still got massage and haircut etc. i'm not doing my hair or massage. on fri i will just do mani and pedi. dun think i will have enough time to do other stuff.

Jo, I'm one of those that prefer not to push my 'that' area too much thus didn't wear bra n juz work with the dress build in padding. Good thing I didn't coz even not wearing, my security strap in my evening gown is showing sometime. Especially when my mil n hubby kept stepping on my gown during the table to table shoot. My hubby then gt to discreetly. tuck in the strap in my back as we move ard. Can't imagine if I had worn a bra, it will b showing most of the time man.

sorry arh.. u all wear nu bra or normal bra?

Because i scared if dun wear will zhao geng if someone accidentally step on my gown =(

Where u all get the bra u all wear from? cos one of my eg is actually transparent in the middle..

kitty and missbibi: Jia you and be a happy bride this weekend =)

Jo, i wore a nubra during my PS. will be wearing it for my AD too. mine is quite comfortable and really stick. i have no problem with it. i even wore it right from the morning when i first woke up, till the nite when we went for dinner after the shoot. it stayed all day.

Jo, bought mine online. I recommended to chole n jasmine here. Not bad if u wearing once or twice. It's cheap, not the real brand "nubra" but still wearable. The adhesive still can survive. I received e 2nd adhesive bra just last week. And wash an am prepared to wear on my big day le! Hehe..

Kitty and missbibi - don't worry, the married ones here will tell you that it's normal to feel stessed and on edge the few days before. Whatever it is, make sure you let go and enjoy because you will only marry once.

Joanna, I didn't wear a bra too cuz my WG Is naturally very tight fitting and v hard to zao geng! For EG I also didn't wear cuz I have a toga gown. For me the padding is more than sufficient and I prefer to show my natural assets.

kitty: which brand u bought?
Michelle: can i have the link again? Might not be following the track when u mention it. Thank u very much in advance.
Kass: I am totally flat. Bec i heard comments from my friends to wear it is better after they told me the incident. abit worried.. You got really assets =X. Yeah i saw yr wedding gown and evening gown for the purple toga gown.

Jo, mine is the genuine nubra brand. i wanted to buy a good one cos it's really useful. besides the wedding, i can also use it for other occasions. you can try this website.
http://www.nubra.sg/eshop/
they have a shop here in s'pore. i went to the shop to buy my nubra. the auntie very helpful. she helped me choose the right one and also taught me how to wear it.

Yes kitty, let's jiayou! Damn tired. Luckily got spa session this morn so I dun feel so mad. Bought the voucher at Streetdeal.com for $30 for massage and top up $28 for scrub. Total took 1.5hrs, happy tt I got a gd deal.

Then went to discuss AD prog w VG, and do AV check at hotel. Found out that we didn't burn the songs n vid in the correct format. Heng we did the check today. So I'm doing my hair nw. Need to do if nt can c the black roots very chou. Kitty, u can't take more leave to do ur hair?

Today has been an eventful day. After I did my hair I managed to squeeze in time to wax my hand and thread my face. I also purchased in soles for my heels so I will feel comfortable standing ard in them, and a sexy lingerie as a surprise to my htb. I also dropped by the nubra shop and learnt that the same piece can be used the entire day as long as we use fan to dry. Yays! Gg home to hopefully finish my DIY n prepare songs (see wad I mean. He volunteered to do it n procrastinated on all his tasks, end up i hv to do it for him)

missbibi, what should be the correct format for the songs and video? i'm actually thinking of this qns when i was doing my montage. if i burn into a dvd, what format should i use? i wana that format so that the dvd can be played straight from the dvd player.

Post Wedding Sales:
1) La Cabane De Vignes Bordeaux Red Wine
Product of France
- 10 bottles
- $19.99 per bottle

2) Hardy Shiraz
- 1 bottle
- $17.99 per bottle

3) Hardy Melot
- 1 bottle
- $17.99 per bottle

4) Prosecco Veneto Itarian Champagne
- 9 bottles
- $12.99 per bottle

If you buy all, further discount is available.

Interested, please kindly email to [email protected].

Anyone knows the tax amount we need to prepare when we return from Bali?

And is money changer easily found in Bali?

Tomolo I m going to ROM there and collect gowns from JB