(2011/05) May 2011 BTB

w3n, the AMK shop told me to light at the same time. the exact sentence in in the instruction manual is "after groom leaves the house to fetch his bride, both families will light the candles at the same time".

mo: ur pics are gorgeous!! ur green dress is so unique..looks good on u!

i like the retro feel group of pics taken at sg food trail.

Hi Mich, urs and mine so near ah. I tot u having lunch, dats why u asking who else having lunch.

Mo, thanks! I oso hope I will be able to find a nice gown on Fri.

kitty, thanks for sharing the AC guide.

btw, when do u all intend to do ur AC? follow the date which ur master gave u or can be as stated in the guide, on the night before AD?

Missbibi & Kitty, yes, we r using Yixin for our ad also. I cant remember the exact price but its slight below 5K for both with albums.

Hey gals, have not logged in for 2 days. was in KL for training! haiz, so tiring and fattening! hav been eating nonstop with colleagues! I hav not even collected my invites, everyday work till past 8. STRESS!!

Kittywend, where are u staying? My place formally was Tanjong Pagar GRC, now split out to Radin Mas GRC, so tink gotta vote! if yes, it will b my first time!! My GDL is oso on 7th May!!

Sorry girls, I just hv to let this out again cos its like a major bump in me - my current comp is only willing to give me 3 days of leave n pay back via extending my stay, but I need 4. My new company cannot wait for me for another 3-4days n wants me to pay back the days. Not sure 1. I can take 4 days leave 2. I can dun extend n pay back my current comp.

My GM is out of office until Mon which means I won't know the outcome until Mon. This long wait is killing me as I can't settle this once n for all. I feel so helpless n frustrated
can't help but think I'm asking for all these troubles by quitting so early..

On a slightly happier note, mo: u also got the è´¥æƒå¥³çŽ‹ for the shoot. My MUA also did this hairstyle for one of my outfits. Is it more ex to take ala carte gowns n PG?

Missbibi, Your company very 'cat' with their leave loh. Not understanding at all! Wedding is once in a life time. What abt if u play punk, and take mc for the 4th day? Since u r leaving the old com and joining a new com already, it doesnt really matter? sorry, I v bad influence hor...
My package is ard 4K for 2 mtm gowns and 1 mtm suit also include 2shirts and 1 waistcoat. And we get to keep the EG and the suit. Then for PG we have 1, 30pages album and a coffee table book for ad. Slight higher then the usual ba. So to cut cost, we do it locally and didnt add any extras and VG also get budget one. Nt sure if it help much but my BF v strees lo!

Kitty, me also teochew

Me oso Teochew and My GDL is on 7 May
but luckily my area is walkover but my mum's place will have to vote. Then on same day need go in JB distribute cards .. dun know timing how to arrange.

Missbibi, if u take mc on last day, likely ur co will just take it as NPL bah. U okay with that? Or do u need return stuff like staff pass on ur last day. Hopefully u dun have to resort to that as wont look too good for u...
Else can try toking to your new company again? Cannot be they so rigid, not as if 1 day will make a great difference

kitty: my last day is on 17 May. but because i will be taking 3 days leave during my notice, i will need to stay for another 3 days, ie last day on 23 jun, start work on 24 jun.

mo: yes, indeed they are very 'cat' with leaves. normally even when i'm a staff with them, they will say this day cannot that day cannot cos I need to be around to do media monitoring/cover someone etc when i'm the lowest ranked staff in the dept.

mo & felix: the tot of taking MC also crossed my mind, but i have already told them the days that i would like to take leave on and so they will know when i play punk, lol. yea and like wad felix says, it won't be gd cos like burning the bridges..

felix: my new comp is already waiting for 2 months for me to serve notice. so naturally they will want me to start work as soon as possible. and if i pay back another 3 days of wedding leave to my old comp, my comp will have to wait close to 1 week more, after taking into consideration the weekend.

back to mo: sorry if it's very confusing, so u took on another PG with pics can fly? from the way i interpret, ur BS package includes PG, then u hire pics for another session of PG?

Hi, my place is at Bukit Purmei, nw under Radin Mas. Looks like alot of us are first-timers!!

I just spoke to my HR, we will have an extra day off for polling day.

Hi All, regards to e postage... i have went to post office to check.. if it's within 20g it will be local stamp. If slightly over it's 32C. If over by alot, 50C.

Hi girls, thanks so much for your support earlier!! The horrible saga is finally over. I will work with the 3 days leave I'm given - tight as it is, I don't want to fret over this anymore. Then I will pay back by working for 3 extra days in this place and I will start work immediately at my new workplace the next day. My new employer is much more understanding! Thank god I'm leaving!!

Gosh I feel so much lighter now that one thing has been put off my back!

This forum is such a great place for support, whether its for wedding advice or otherwise. We should arrange to meet up one day after our weddings to share our joy and celebrate our next phase of life!

Hi Missbibi, ur case abit complicated...
How abt u dun pay back the 3 days and let the 3 days of leave u have taken earlier be considered as No-Pay Leave, possible??

Ur new company quite 'generous' to wait so long ... in that case better to nego with ur ex co rather than your new co so as not to strain the new relationships bah....

Mo, do you need the teochew GDL instruction manual? i have a copy, i can email you (file too big to post here).

Piggy, i think my GRC will be a walkover so need nt vote. i think my first time will only happen if the father is no longer in the GRC.

Mich, thanks for the info. i'm not sure hw heavy is my invite. my card is 2 folds, so i guess it will be heavier than the usual 1 fold card.

missbibi, glad that everything is solved. now just concentrate on the things you need to do and most imptly, enjoy the process.

i also think that this forum is really great. i think we should continue posting in this thread even though after our weddings. we can share abt what happened during our weddings, we can even share info on housing, reno and furniture etc (which i believe will be our next phrase after wedding), and who knows, maybe we will get pregnant at the same time.. haahah.. by then we can either continue this thread, if not join the same thread in motherhood forum..

hahaha.. am i thinking too far??

Missbibi, glad its all over for u

I am having problem at my workplace too. I have applied for and got accepted for a transfer to another div and my current boss is refusing to let me go till Sep (which is 6 mths later) .... and the thing is that I am currently preggie, and due in Nov so the new div is wanting me to go over latest by mid-june else not fair to them. The other div is already very kind, waiting to accept my transfer despite knowing that I am preggie (which i knew only after the transfer interw)... Haizzz.. Its the feeling of knowing u can have an option to leave a place u dun like working and yet there are numerous roadblocks ...

Haha, i try but u know hubby will always dily dali on the stuff, very frustrating.. right now just hoping wont put on weight in the next 4 weeks. As it is, now already got a small bump. Going for my gown selection this fri, hope will be able to fit into one without showing my bump.

Felix, CONGRATS! N dont worry abt the gown. They can alter it to fit and will suggest style that will 'hide'. No worries ya n dont diet now!

Kitty, yes pls! Can send it to [email protected]. Do you know, the ladies from May 2010 are still chatting in their thread. N a lot of them r talking abt preg now. I happened to read it accidentally when I click into their thread. I can imagine us doing that 1 yr later... kekkekke

Bibi, glad that u got yr work stuff sort out! My BS did not provide any PG. Everything is ala carte. I got the PG separately.

Chloe, we may meet each other there but may be not in the same thread since our ETD may be different. ahaaha.. i think we can concurrently keep this thread alive so that we can still update each other on things that are happening ard us..

haha, michelle, yes yes, enjoy ur "er ren shi jie" first

For me and my hubby, we already rom-ed in 2009 and live together since then, dats why we started trying in advance of our wedding...

Congrats Felix! Dun worry ur BS will help u choose a flattering gown.

Ya my case is a bit complicated cos my current comp refuses to budge - 3 days leave and extend to pay back or 1 dat n no pay. Of cos I will need 3 days - still need to collect my cert fr Rom, somemore need to go back msia for wedding n my AD on Sun.

But dun worry too much abt ur hubby. Just leave most of the things to him. Guys being guys will dilly dally, but at the end of the day, they will hv it done de. U jus dun stress urself too much.

As for ur job, can talk to both side n give way? Like end Jul transfer so it works for both?

pigy, YOU'VE GOT MAIL TOO!!!

felix, dun worry abt the gown. just dun choose those tight fit ones will do. althou me nt preggy but i got a huge tummy. hahaha. so i chose either high waist gown, or those with stiff corset so that it wun be too obvious.

Thanks for all the well wishes! Piggy, I am not really pantang. hehes.

Missbibi, my case not as bad as yours bah cos if my boss dun approve my transfer, i will just stay and enjoy my ML and throw letter after that if i find another job.
But at least ur case now settled and u can happily plan for your big day.

Kitty, hehes.. thanks. Will tell my BS to find me gowns that I can still breathe when I am in them. For my PS, find wedding gowns very suffocating!!

Hi Kass, i read in yur earlier posts that u made your own confetti. may i know how u made?? my auntie bought some poppers for me. den she told me to get some rose petals for the flower girl aka her daughter to throw the petals while we do 1st march in. will confetti or rose petals be better? where to buy fake rose petals ah?

Btw, Chloe, I am AC on 12 May cos that the date given by a nun at the balestier temple as a good date. And we are gg to sleep on the bed after that as normal leh. My AC is very simple, luckily my MIL not fussy; just need change new bedsheet... then night before AD, change to wedding bedsheets...

Anyone's starting AD very early? My GC is at 5.30am cos hubby must FTB by 6am .... Luckily mine is lunch, else dun know how to tahan till night...

Hi Piggy, not sure abt the confetti but dun use fake rose petals, real petals nicer?

For my Flower Girls, will not be asking them to throw anything but made flower balls for them to hold cos there are 4 of them and all of them aged 7 or below, i am scared they will get stage-fright and frozed there when the main ballroom doors open with all the guest staring at them! Think making them walk at a coordinated manner already quite an handful.

Piggy, ya fake petals like "shiny shiny" plastic look... not nice...

Erm.. for my first march the hotel provide rose petals & smoke effect... none for the 2nd.. so our 2nd march in i dont intend to have anything... but during on stage champange pouring got bubble effect on stage...

Check with ur hotel to see if they provide rose petal for ur march in! Usually they do

I m using my own confetti though..

me wana have flower girl and page boy too.. but bcos i'm already having sword bearers.. so i reckon i dun really need flower girl and page boy. also bcos i think they may get stage fright.

"12 of 15 GRCs set for battles in widest contest"

oh no, i think most of us will have to vote on 7 may 2011. i wonder who are the 3 lucky GRCs. need to read more..

I will be getting flower girl n page boy walk in during the Rom only cos I wan the focus to b on me only during the first march-in. haha. plus think they will b scared with so many people and the room will be dark.

Thanks ladies for the support.
I am in Holland-Bt Timah GRC, HTB in Jurong GRC - think both are being contested! I wanna vote for change (more so now because of their decision on the polling day
) but the opposition is SDP and Dr Chee Soon Juan, whom I think is a damn dubious guy. Which leaves me with no choice. :X

The GRCs not likely to be contested are Sembawang, AMK and Tanjong Pagar.

Polling starts at 8am, ends 8pm! Maybe should ask HTB to go poll first before fetching me :P

Piggy - if it's for kids, I dun suggest using confetti, cuz confetti very small... they are going to grab a big handful and dunno how to throw properly... Suggest rose petals better for them. Check with your hotel if they provide, otherwise, u can buy from Cold Storage, the florist at Cold Storage usually sells loose petals at $1 per pack in their fridge.

There is a Cold Storage in Parkway, so quite convenient.

Mo >> Your EG looks like something Michelle Huimin will do... you signed up with her?

I am also doing everything ala carte. Thought I was the only 1 at first. Sourcing for the various vendors was tiring, but I totally did not regret it, cuz the end result is wonderful. I am collecting my photos tomorrow! Last gown fitting next Tuesday! So fast!

missbibi >> Just to answer ur question on alacarte since I went the same route... I spent around 4k on my gowns (1 MTM and 1 OTR), MUA and florist, incl top up. Then I spend another 4k on my PG for both AD and PS. Took different PG for both AD and PS as we wanted 2 different styles and both PGs were friends of friends and we like both equally.

Initially the outlay may seem more expensive, however, (1) I felt the quality is top-notch (2) photos wise we get everything back in soft copy and in high res (3) no hidden costs and minimal top up. My PG told me he had customers who have forked out close to 7-8k for their photos at BS after choosing extra poses etc.

Felix >> Congrats on the happy news!
So exciting for you!

Are u guys planning for kids soon?? I want to enjoy er ren shi jie first for 2-3 years before getting preggie. My next big project is house renovation! Just got my keys 2 weeks back, now sourcing for contractors...