(2011/05) May 2011 BTB

Hi gals, i am back! alot of catching up needs to be done. There is so much info to absorb. Also, it is good to catch up with the thread to know that i am so far behind. Still planning my AD program siah. Oh my god! I need to 快马加鞭.

Btw, I also just collected my wedding cards from T-dragon 2 days ago. Haven had time to write the names on the cards. Thankful that you guys have shared how to address the uncles and aunties in chinese. It is very helpful to me. Thanks gals.

For those who engaged Mr Chiang for JP, he normally provide votes for the couples. And you get to choose the language you want, either english or chinese.
but of course no need to follow him if you dun wish to. I am too lazy to do that, so i used his vote. Din get to practise beforehand though. too nervous to notice how i speak that day too.

Anyway just to check, does hotel allow us a month before to do the AV testing? Never heard from my hotel coordinator that I can do so. Also since if the testing is possible, can i also do the rehearsal at the same time?

Btw Kass, those ppl with licenses that dun dare to drive probably have not drive on the road for many years. they are not confident. maybe encouraging them to go for refresher course will make them gain back the confidence?

btw, for the hotel AV testing, just wanna check that other hotels do provide such services. it will be alot easier for me to talk to my hotel coordinator to ask for that too. Lemme know yah. thks thks.

Kass, how come your JMs need to drive? usually it's the XDs who drive and chauffer the JMs. maybe ask your htb to find more friends who have car???

btw i met up with a PG/VG today. don't quite like his works. will be meeting another one tomorrow. hopefully can finalise soon. wana meet a few more but i'm quite tight on the timeline. moreover me and htb also v busy with work.

Raine... I dunno how much it costs... but it is more of fear of the roads, rather than the actual driving. In any case, I am looking at alternatives. One of the JM can drive but not Sg license. So this is simply an application for an interenational license so that she can drive in Sg. But again, it depends on whether she is comfortable with driving in Singapore. Like I said I have nothing against ppl who choose not to drive. It's just fustrating in my case, because my alternatives are limited.

Re Av testing - my hotel also encourage us to test our various videos first before the actual day.
Just have to check with ur coordintor.

kittywendwend >> XD equally limited. :P Of the 7 XDs, only 2 can drive. 1 refuse to, cuz he says Sg drivers are terrors (he's australian), the other is too small and too pampered to actually drive (always ferried around). So we got the other halves of the "XDs" (actually girls hence the "") to drive them instead.

See my options are so limited! I dunno how come all my friends cannot drive!

But my HTB and myself are always driving everywhere, esp on weekends.

hahaha... in my case, all our XDs drive and have cars. hahah. will be getting one of them to be our driver for the bridal car. all my JMs no car so i can actually pair them up.

Kass, last time i heard was abt $36 for an hour half. not sure if the price went up. perhaps you can call Daniel Ng at 96368063 to check?

Also, it doesn't make sense for those who learned driving, finally gotten a license to be fearful of the road. Hmm.. weird..

kass: u r right. cos they all not married/not planning for their wedding yet, so most of them dun feel the urgency to help u out. in a way, they are also not obliged to, cos we are askin them for favours to spend their time and efforts helping us out.. but guess u jus have to close one eye a bit and pray that they dun MIA/give u trouble on tt day..

but i must say ur XD/JM very international..

Hi Michelle, i bought my bowties at Isrida at arcade at $3.90 each. If u wan to buy, hav to faster buy cos if u wan to buy all same colours, several pieces, may not have stocks. i wanted the bright red ones, but reserved by a school. haha.. The material is good, but not silk kind. I tink the ties range from $3.90 to $... (not sure). Mayb u can drop ba. Theirs is the only shop left, last time they used to have outlets in Orchard too but all closed down le.

raine, u can check with ur coordinator, cos my coor took the initiative to check our availability so that she can book the ballroom for our AV testing 2 weeks before our AD...i think most hotel should be able to allow u for the AV testing..as for ur rehearsal, this depends on how long is the time allocated to u..

kass, cool. my 4 JMs can drive, but i'm just asking 1 to drive the car since the other 3 seldom drive and they are not confident to drive as well...

hmmm, u r now short of 1 driver? what about your cousins/ur htb's cousins? ur Jms bf?

mich, have u got an update from LJ nu bra seller on the stock arrival? usually need to wait how long ah? i think it's been 2 weeks already...hehe sorry i'm kan cheong..

talking about car arrangement, will u all arrange PG and VG in same or different cars? my parent requested me to arrange one of the XDs to pick them up from my house to hotel in the evening...although dad can drive but he said he dont wish to drive that day. argh..need to trouble my XDs to do it..

HI Chloe

My suggestion is u put either 1 VG Or 1 PG to sit infront (same car as urs) so tat he can film/ take pic of wats in the car.. tat wat i done for my AD

Well.. your XD sure willing to help.. no worry,, speak to them :D

Ermmm I aso feel that is really not easy to cordinate all of them...But press on! Big day coming soon

I aso have license but very seldom drive so I guess if ppl ask
me to drive I may not agree too...maybe their confidence level not there...scare later anything happen jiu bu hao le...

What do we need to discuss with jie mei?
Ad plan....gate crash games...anything else? I m meeting them one last time next week before AD....

For morning thru n fro my pg n vg I arrange them in different cars but not in bridal car...for evening I guess they will go to the hotel themselves ba...

What do we need to arrange with pg n vg? Till now they did not contact me yet...

Kass, cool down. No pt 'forcing' them to drive if they really can't. They might b too nervous on the day n lost their way Or have panic attack! Worst case u might wan to consider chartering a mini bus or booking cabs? 1 of my friend, chartered a bus to ferry us ard becoz she have a huge jm team!

Ask u all something, the form tat we got our jp to sign, when do we submit to rom? Is it on the same day when we collect our cert, according to the allocated time slot or do we need to submit beforehand?

Chloe, my dad also told me that. He said traditional the guy side hav to arrange for the wedding car to go pick up my parents after sending the couple to the hotel. So as to show respect to the girl side. I requested for them to travel with us to the hotel together instead. Save 1 trip for the xd n my dad agreeed!

mo, the consent form signed by ur JP is to be submitted to ROM on your appointment day (the day u collect ur cert)..

ooo cos for us, we will go for outdoor PS with XDs and JMs then we will all go check in hotel together. so my XD have to go back to my house to pick my parent lo. haha.

w3n, i think u have to give ur AD schedule to PG & VG...they also havent contact me yet...should i wait for them to call? or i sms them ?

Chloe - You HTB driving Sirocco right? So don't think can put your PG/VG in the same car as they will sit behind. Cannot take much from the back also. I suggest putting them in a XD/JM car, then they can film from outside.

Re AD schedules to PG/VG, it is good to submit to them early, because based on their experience, they will advise where u have catered too much time, where u need to put more time etc. It's very useful since they have done many weddings. I have gone through my AD schedule with my PG 3 times already and he was v helpful in suggesting and letting me know where I am incurring extra cost, and whether I want to incur that cost.

Tonight meeting my JMs, hopefully can sort out this car thing! We are going to House of Robert Timms at Borders. I am looking forward more to the food actually. :P I have a few last minute resort, which I hope I don't have to use lah. Right now the plan is to have the JM who does not have a Singapore license to get an international one so that she can drive in Sg during that period.

w3n - we will be discussing the games again, then pass them their dresses, go through the duties, see what are their plans for transport, etc.

My mum also asked that my brother in law drive us to the hotel in the wedding car and then he drive the car back home to fetch them to the hotel in the evening. I told my mum I have to check with my HTB, but I didn't know it is a tradition thing! Oops. Guess my mum wasn't happy with my answer!

is a tradtional thingy? i din know also. but i think my dad is driving down himself or maybe ask my brother to drive. my brothers will be driving sisters over to hotel only. all other relatives etc all go down themselves....dun later headache! till now my bridal car have not confirm. another headache but i cant do much cause hubby is arranging. i wonder when can confirm man...stress!

my parents and htb parents are coming on their own leh! I think it's super troublesome to drive to and fro. I believed my parents won't be so calculative one ba..

We are using htb's car for AD.

Chole, normally longest a month. =) but the previous i bought from her quite fast i receive le.

I haven tot of the pg and vg sit where leh.. i think on the day itself they go and do wad they think it's most ideal ba.

Wen, i am meeting my jm this end apr to finalise everything. We've discuss more on the games during the 1st meetup. and the next and last meetup i am going to confirm the games we want to play, and inform them of the AP money and stuff... And finally all of us will go and buy the props for GC.

We wanted to self drive, but MIL say later will be tiring.. so HTB's cousin will be our driver. =p For car deco, i'm not so sure when we are tying it.

All my XD drives too.. and so i have lots of drivers.. lols..

Kass, i think u got the wrong person, my htb not driving Sirocco.

w3n, dont worry, think ur HTB can settle the bridal car de. i also haven confirm mine, leave it to my HTB as well. if not then use our own car..
as for our car floral deco, my BS will tie on the night before our AD...at the same time, my HTB will collect my hand bouquet, following cars ribbons and corsages.

i'm meeting my JMs next weekend to brief them on my AD schedule..they will also let me know about the GC games etc...then taking this chance, i will let them know the AP $ and open door amount. i have a JM leader, so she will coordinate to buy the props etc prob 1-2 wks before my AD.

Kass, my bf will b the one driving Sirocco. All the XDs can drive. And when they reach my place n baack to groom's place, one of my JM will drive another JM in my bf car, and my other sister's (JM) bf will ferry her and my little cousin boy n flower girl.

Same as Chloe, the BS will do car decor the nite before. I have the Mac wedding hello kitty, can i tie to the car? Will it b too big??

piggy, i think that would be too big ba!?!? haha. maybe u can find smaller version one..

mich, i will tell them a range...haha, difficult to tell them exact amount leh. i will just tell them roughly how much each of them will be getting at the end of the day and also inform to my leader about the open door amount...so that once she see that amount, she can stop the game.

Chole, haha.. good leh! as in the
"inform to my leader about the open door amount...so that once she see that amount, she can stop the game."

haha.. i can try that too.. =p

Ad bridal car decor if we tie the morning do u all think got time? My bf says tie the AD morning but I scare too rush...

Oh no toking about the nubra I forgot to go the webby to buy!
Have u all buy Nubra from g market before?

Ok looks like most of us will be gathering with our helpers sometime in end April...I will meet them again during coming PH....

Do u all tell them the gate crashing amount that hubby would be giving?

mich, haha. yea u can try to use this method. cos i think just tell 1 person will do, since my leader is the closest to me and my HTB, so she will be the most understanding one among all JMs. (understanding as in the amount of our AP)hahaha.

w3n, if ur bf practice beforehand and know how to tie, should be ok to tie in the morning. my fren's hubby also tie by himself in the morning, but of cos, he did practice before their AD.

and yes, i will tell them the GC amount. as mentioned above, will just inform my leader.

Then do we need to PLAN as in...after first game we give how much for the ang bao n after second game the red packet is how much ah...do we tell the jie mei all these or just me n groom knows?

w3n, i wont be telling them the ang bao for games, will only tell them 'open door' AP $...cos the games AP is for my htb to play around with them. if i tell them then there wont be any surprise elements.

By the way u all don't mind can give me some suggestions...is there any songs good to let the groom n brother sing n dance to it? Maybe it looks entertaining enough on video...But I dun wan those overly common songs like nobody by wonder girls...toooo many ppl use le...any ideas?

wen, i am gonna haf this part too.. also dono wad song.. lol.. My sisters suggested nobody.. but i dont really wan also too common...

btw, I will divide GC ap into 4 times of a total $288...

i think i learnt alot from u, chole.. lol...

go home must do my helpers to do list liao.. wahahaha.. so i know wad to tell them on the coming meetup. =p

jia you, mich!

w3n, yup, u r right. just tell them the open door AP amount...cos during the GC games, my HTB will prepare his own 'special' APs (to make fun of the JMs) so this part i cant reveal to my JMs first.

by the way, my JMs will be asking my HTB and XDs to dance as well. but they requested them to practice beforehand. i'm not sure what kind of song, JM's leader and XD's leader have on-going discussions these few weeks, think they r practising some funny dances.

Wen, u mean gong gong?

Btw, we discussed games during the first meet up. Listed below:
Dance with a song (actually I Tot of doing yoga pose or lap dancing instead and juz today I Tot of them dancing Jay's Nui zai hen mang)
Get the key in ice (this is common actually, Tot of changing)
As my unit is the corner one, I Tot of hiding the main door key outside for them to search for.. (any recommendation),
From ground floor shout out some pledge or Juz "I love u" before they come up,
Hair remover stripes (the most power one),
Sian tian ku la (makan & drink)

I don't know how all Ur jm help u in this, butaybey case n Wen same, they don't really have idea or also to say, their idea I think some too common or not gd enough to make the video look nice leh..

Mind to share what will u all be doing or playing for GC? Thanks.. I simply have no idea..

Ya I mean gong gong n song dao bu xing type lol...

Until now we only decide with the suan tian ku la game which is the norm n also a dance but haven cfm the song yet...

If groom is majong lover can use feet put into cold ice water to form the tiles...

Or ice up the door key n brother have to eat like ice cream n melt the ice to obtain key...

I saw one which I feel is quite romantic is groom cook a simple breakfast for bride like egg in heart shape, sausage etc...guy seldom cook for gals so I find this not bad!

Write out 10 things he like or loves about u...

Others like makeup, eat banana all these I don't quite like though...

If groom or brothers can sing well, can sing song n brothers be arcipala team lol....

Michelle if u wan them to dance niu zai hen mang, I suggest u can buy those bottled milk bottles to act as prop! I saw on someone's blog before, find it quite cute!

Use small beans like green bean to form words but I find it quite time consuming...

Puzzle lovers Can form puzzle photo...

That's all I can randomly think of...

tat time when i was bridesmaid, we made milo and crack a raw egg for each brothers to drink. for the groom is coffee with raw egg. without stirring at all!! my fren's maid blended some sauces and made into jelly for the brothers, got sour (lemon), sweet (gula melaka), bitter (bittergourd) and spicy (macdonald chilli sauce). haha