(2011/05) May 2011 BTB

Kass, so u mean u will not bao extra ap for the jm? Will be just the gc ap + parents ap? For xd, will bao the same amt as the gc $ and on top of that parents will give from both side. Correct?

Mo >> My angpow plans from an earlier message (sorry lazy to rewrite). I have 7 JM/XD on each side.

"I am thinking if my mum and MIL are giving $20 each, Then the gatecrash money, I will give them a cap of $488 (Works out to approx $68 each). For those with extra duties (eg. photobook layout etc), I will bao them additional $20. For my XD, I will bao them $68 each with $20 for each additional duty they are doing. "

I aso asking my papa to help me write invites for relatives cause Chinese educated he knows how to write better....

I have posted out almost 90% of my invites le....another thing settled!

Mo, the last time when I was the jiemei, I only received AP for the GC and from the parents. My gf nv gave me extra AP except for the emcee AP. Anyway my gfs said normally they will bao back the money to us in the dinner AP so I guess it doesn't matter how much they receive.

Kass, wow ur dad is super power. What's the meaning of � Does this word have to be included after every title such as BIL, SIL etc?

But if I rem correctly, for my invite template I think I only have the line to write the name in the English side. At the Chinese side, I dun tink there is a line for you to write the name. Are u gals the same?

Also, on the topic of bridal car. My wedding is on a Sunday thus dun have to worry abt overbite parking. But got to think of how to store the car deco. Maybe ask htb to park the car at my condo's carpark and then come and collect it on AD morn but it will be v troublesome for him

kitty >> å‡ is just a respect to the person you're presenting the invite to. So it applies for everyone.

Also my dad will write 呈 which means to present the invite.

And he don't write left to write, he write right to left, vertically.

So it's something like (Alignment a bit out... just imagine the XXX is above the 妹夫).
X
X 呈
X
阖 妹
府 夫
统 å‡
请

I think this is a dying culture... by the time our kids are having their wedding, I don't think anyone will write invites like that anymore. Can't help but feel a little sad about it.

For relatives I think most of u here write in mandarin?

For ap right, for those do extra duties eg. Emcee den u give the ap in the noon den night give them the $20? Or noon time will have altogether as a whole le?

I also will try to tally the ap jm get with xd. Play fair. :p

Michelle - I will ask the jiemeis to count and split among themselves. Then for the rest with extra duties I will bao the angpow for extra duties for them separately.

Wanna check - those who bought ties for their XD... how much did you guys pay for the ties? And where did u get them?

my dad also end with 'å‡', but as mentioned, just address them as 'fu(1) fu(4)' or 'quan(2) jia(1)', not as traditional and formal like Kass. cos our relatives not so particular about it.

mich, ya all in mandarin except for cousins, we wrote in english cos same level no need to be so formal.

we will also give same amount to Xds and Jms, but will give extra AP to those who did extra duties like main hotel coor, driver, emcee..

btw, u all know if there is no small kids to open car door, can we ask one of our XDs who is not married to open it instead? for my side, i will ask my cousin, but HTB side cannot find anyone...

Chole, IC.. Mine all in english.. And all normally written.. Not so chim..

My bow tie is from suntec push cart. $10/ea. it's the same pushcart at bugis.

So far, i only heard open door is own brother or younger cousin leh..

Kass, I got my bow tie fro bkk and taobao site. So it's super cheap. For ap, I'm still thinking how to balance. I have xd from my side also. Do you think the girls should split the gc $ with them also? 4gals n 2guys from my side. 6guys from htb side.

Kitty, for invites to my relatives, it will onli be written on the envelope not on the card itself. And will be written in Chinese.

Mich, all invite will be written in Chinese except those for our friends.

Chloe, yr htb side no cousin to help him? Or hw abt any friend's children? I heard b4 someone get their neighbour kid to help open the door. For my side, my bro will open the door n he will also be part of my entourage to go over his place. So consider xd also.

Mo and Michelle >> Thanks. It's my intention to buy online on Taobao, AliExpress or Ebay. Just want to make sure I don't overpay.
I find Taobao complicated to purchase on my own. Need to go through spree org, so rather use AliExpress or Wholesale-Dress where I know and can purchase on my own.

For the CS money, I am splitting between both guys and girls, as long as they are my "jiemei".

Kass: got my tie at bkk n suppenders fr taobao thru an agent. All cost below $6 each. My suspenders jus arrived at my hse today. Can't wait to go home n see the quality!

Yup, I bought suspenders directly from AliExpress as well. $5 each thereabouts. But a bit short for the guys. Thankfully I bought only 3 pcs, which is for the girls. The guys I will have to find alternative for them.

for me, my htb should provide them one (either white or black) shirt for day and or morning. Cuz morning xd wearing white den nite black shirt..

My jm, day is pink (bought them e dress) den night is black (they buy the own dress and i just provide them sash for nite..

Kass, getting direct from taobao I think u need to hold a china bank acc. Quite mafan. For me I got my china friend to get. U need help let me know.

Htb xd, I gt them cuff link, bow tie n customized a shirt each for them. Will b grey shirt with purple bow. My xd will be purple shirt with grey bow. Jm will b in purple dress with grey hair band to match. They r still waiting for the tailor to finish so that can go dwn to fit. All are free to wear what they want for the nite.

our XDs will get their bow tie & accessories from bugis...last year i bought bow ties for my D&D at 3 for $10. i think it's really cheap already...dont want to waste time looking around...time is running short~

Mo, my HTB has 1 younger cousin but he will only be coming in the evening cos the whole family stays in JB. the rest of his cousins are all older than him...my mum said can ask our bridal car driver to open, so think i will ask either one XD or driver to open..

erm, girls ask u all ah...

For changing of gown for sending guests off before dinner ends hor.. normally is change after yumseng (b4 photo taking table 2 table) or after T2T photo taking?? After right?

erm, what about buffet timing? what time do u all arrange? i was thinking if i arrange near to the time im going to groom hse, later they block the way we cant go in (and video will look ugly) same goes to bride's hse.

I am planning ard bride's hse at 0930 (before i reach home for tea ceremony).

And groom's at 1000 (when i have left the hse for tea ceremony - leaving at 930 so ard 10am will reach my hse, if cataer 930 comes also will block my way if we're heading out?)

But is 1000 too late ah.. and normally these food eat by uncle and auntie there for tea ceremony right? And JM/XD normally eat at groom or bride side ah, i mean which side stays longer and have enough time for them to eat?

pardon me from my "stupid ques" lol

Hmmm, mich, i am planning to wear my EG to send off guest and photo taking too.

For my case, bride side will stay longer cos i got more relatives. and FTB is ard 9am, so the caterer will come ard 10.30 while we go to groom's place, to our new place, then back to the bride's place. so will not clash.

Michelle - For whether your jie mei/xiongdi eat at groom or bride's side depends on timing bah. How long u stay also depend on how many ppl you have to serve tea to.

For me because we only preparing buffet at one side, so the XD/JM will eat there first, because proceeding to my house for tea. Because the XD/JM don't really do much in the groom's or bride's house other than the gatecrashing, I think they will have ample time to eat at either side.

For buffet, I plan the set up time 15 min to half hour before I arrive.

Mich, based on my previous experience as a jiemei, we will eat at the groom's side. the groom will come fetch the bride, do GC and den go back to groom's side. after tea ceremony, there will be a short break. bride will change into her kua and all JMs/XDs will eat buffet. after that then we proceed back to bride's house for tea ceremony

w3n, i intend to use hotel cd. there may be copyright issue if we were to buy our own. anyway background music is not impt cos it's quite soft and the place will be v noisy. as long as the hotel plays love songs, i think it should be alrite. my hotel has a few cds of love songs.

Wen, I'm using hotel piano music piece as background music.
But like 1st march & 2nd, we are using own songs.

Kitty, actually my experience also lunch at groom's side.. Hmm.. Thx!!

Kass, may I know wad makes u order buffet for only one side?

My personal jiemei experience I ate at both side lol n felt very full so I only order for their share at one side...which is mine side around 12pm...

Ok I guess because of copy right issue I have to use their songs too...we wanted some Chinese love songs but the hotel song list dun include...

Another thing settled...wedding favours and themes...

w3n >> My HTB are ripping the songs we are playing into a single CD, but we have the original CDs of everything so will bring everything along.

Michelle >> My parents generally don't like catered food. And we are of the opinion that most ppl will not eat much, so to cater both sides would be a waste. We will be buying pau, pies, small cakes, sandwiches, sushi instead. So we will have a high tea session instead.
It's also easier to eat, cuz finger food, can easily pack into the fridge if we don't finish and can heat up the next day. With some catered food, you can't actually do that, eg. vegetables, fried stuff.

Just reached home from work. Super tired. I'm involved in a big project. Have been so busy at work, OT-ing everyday till I have no time for other things. And this saturday will be burnt too cos I'm involved in ndp. For the next consecutive 18 Saturdays, I will be practicing and rehearsing. Very worried that I will get very tan.

Anyway I'm reading your posts now while blow-drying my hair. Kass, I think it's a great idea to buy finger food rather than catered food. If cannot finish, the relatives can even tabao back.

I will be also only having buffet at one side. My parents told me we wun have much relatives coming to our side and since my family runs a restaurant business, they dun see a point in ordering food. My dad will either cook the food himself or get a staff to do it. Hahahah...

Me intending to place order for the wines from crystal wines tomorrow. If anyone of you gals have not ordered or bought any wines and wish to tap on me, pls let me know tomorrow. I can get at a cheaper rate.

Kitty, we've wrote our own vows.

How I wish I also cater one side!!

Erm, actually my hotel also says rip to disc den show them original. So think I gonna head down to CD shop n buy.

One que again.. When the hotel says they bought a bulk license, does it only mean only include in the songs in their list? Or also cover the couple's song that they brought in?

w3n >> My HTB is a musician himself, so he also a little anti-piracy lah. He has a huge collection of CDs so he said he has originals of everything lah. I don't know what he is playing though. Cuz I think I am music illiterate, so I leave all the music decisions up to him.

Kittywendwend >> Out of curiosity, what kind of restaurant does your family own? Because Crystal Wines are known for supplying to big players leh.

I haven't decided if we are writing out own vows though... :P

For my case, we will only be catering on bride’s side, will ask for delivery to be at I am planning ard bride's hse at 0930 (after GC and tea-ceremony). So relatives can have their meals after that and mingle around, while my XDs and JMs can fill in their stomach too before heading to groom’s house for tea ceremony…

For groom’s side, we will just buy some finger foods too, just like kass, cos fewer ppl over there and they kind of have the idea to have lunch somewhere else since his siblings all came from Vancouver and they want to have ‘local’ food..

Kitty, we want to write our own vows, if there is time. My htb is preparing the thank you speech now, and it took him super long to finalise his speech, so not sure if we will have enough time to do up our own vows.

We will be using our own CDs as well, cant find any songs we like from hotel song lists. Our AV testing at hotel is on 1st may, so have to complete everything like childhood montage, pre-wed montage, 1st march in song, 2nd march in song etc by this month end.

gals, wad songs do u all use for 1st and 2nd march in? i simply got no ideas. For the background music, mayb will let hotel play their cds and mine is at poolside, will b noiser cos got fans somemore. haha

kitty, can let me know the brand & price for the wines u r getting from crystal wines? i need 20 bottles, but planning to go wine tasting with my HTB next fri...

Ohhh musician! Hee icic!

I intend to use whatever the hotel provides but somehow it becomes not like my dream wedding...arggh! Don't wish to spend extra money on CDs

count down as the date is getting nearer!

With rgds to the candles, any updated advise?

By the way the tang yuan do we eat at both side or only groom or bride side?

w3n, for us, we will have it at groom side only but my fmil will prepare tang shui instead of tang yuan...

then my mum will prepare mee sua for us...cos we r hokkiens.

oooh i am hokkien so i think my mum prepare tang yuan and my mil prepare mee sua ok right? dont need to eat both at both side?

hihi, i'm finalised my project today. i will be less busy once it goes out in the market but will still have to be quite busy until next week when the transaction is closed. in the meantime, i will have to sneak in a few breaks here and there to read this forum.

thanks kass. ya the wine the supplier is selling is Pierre Jean Merlot. i din go for any wine tasting. anyway i think it shouldn't taste too bad as many of u are also considering this particular wine. my family runs a small restaurant business. not v big. the supplier sells wines to our restaurant. my mum is on very good terms with him. he told me that my mum is his god-mother.. hahahah.. so he is selling to me quite cheap.

Wedding Items for sales~

1. Wedding shoes - size 7, 3.5".

In excellent condition and come with the shoes comforter (never wear b4) and shoes box.

Detachable ribbons with several ways to tie (to give you new looks with different gown/dress)

1693052.jpg

2. Elegant Wedding Pillow Ring with box

1693053.jpg

3. Nice Wedding Deco Ballons (Ivory and Blue: 1pkt = 60pcs each colour)

1693054.jpg

4. Chomel Elegant Feather Hair Accessories (come with Chomel's bag)

1693055.jpg

Buy in bulk got further discount...If you are keen pls email me: [email protected] or text me at 8432 0855

I very pek chek with my jiemeis. I am already short of drivers, suddenly one of my JM's hubby has to travel, and won't be able to drive them around. And those who actually have license say they are not comfortable with driving the rest around, because they not used to driving etc. WTH!

Then they don't reply to my messages when I message them. It is bloody difficult to coordinate 7 persons' timing already and some just cannot be bothered to reply. I feel as if I owe them the world to get them to be my JM.

Kass, calm down. I think for the first paragraph, it is understandable.. SomE people they have license but don't really drive..

But for the SMS one.. I agree. My jm also but they will still reply la but takes awhile. For my case is that they abit fussy with the night attire.. With the colour theme I want them to wear..

Hi Kass, cool down. I help u find pple to drive

I just bought red bow ties for the XDs and a red patterned bow tie for my little cousin boy who will open the car door at arcade!

Jasmine, u went to that Indian shop? Keke.. Is it less den $10 per tie?
quality gd anot ah? Am thinking whether tonprobide xd tie for night. but HtB say no need. Cuz some we r providing them shirt..

Ask u all ah.. As we planned that xd to wear white in e day and black 4 evening, some they have none of e colour some they have either one. (however, theres one xd he both colour also have) is it ok ah? He "Lu ki" abit la.. Cuz he said we no need buy cuz he have both. We will only buy either 1 for them, another another one on their own exp.

In this case, how to settle better?

My mother have asked me to choose Neo Garden for our side. I think both side we'll be using them le.

Thanks Michelle and Piggy... I just need to rant cuz I am one of the first few to get married and it seems like most of them don't understand where I come from and how fustrating it can be to plan these logistics. My married JM married an Indian in Goa, so no wedding in Singapore at all, so she doesn't understand either.

As for driving, it's just me lah. I personally dun understand how people claim they have a license but don't drive. But that is really just me. Nothing to do with them. Nothing against them as well, because sometimes ppl just don't dare to drive on public roads. It's something internal that I need to overcome.

Michelle... I don't think you need to buy extra for the person that you are not getting any shirt for... cuz if they are your XD, then they really wouldn't 计较 over small things like that. Esp since he already told you all don't need to buy.