(2011/05) May 2011 BTB

Sorry gals, will not be going down to Chinatown this wkend. Htb has stomach flu since fri nite so not gg anywhere this wkend. He keeps running to toilet. I will still keep your qns. If I go down next wk, I will help u ask them. In the meantime if u have anymore qns, pls post it here. I will collate and ask them if I go down.

Mich, my hotel provides free beer and 1 bottle of wine per table. I'm buying wines from my mum's wine supplier. He is selling me very cheaply at his staff rate

My wines is already in my hse
I cater about 1.9 bottles per table...

Mich, my hotel charge too much for corkage, so I will be getting my wine from them.

JM gathering I will pay for it also. Juz havent decide if I wan to do steamboat at home or treat them to a meal outside.

Chloe, u might wan to go down Ling Jewellery to have a look at their stuff. Its a small shop in orchard hotel. Very friendly lady boss, and the design is young and not too 'loud'. She do most of the design herself. But they do not have 999 or 916 gold if you are looking for those. They mainly carry 18K gold in ross gold, white gold or yellow gold colour. A lot of Italian design influenece. My mum bought my JZ from her and I also got my wedding bands there.

Mich, if you are looking for yellow gold and must be from established big brand, you can check out On Cheong Jewellery in chinatown or Chow Tai Fook in MBS. On Cheong has been in Singapore for years and Chow Tai Fook is very well known in HK and this is their 1st flagship store in Singapore. But they only carry 999 gold.

Thanks Mo. My mother says 18k gold not so worth. Think I min also will get 22k or 24k ba. Thanks I will drop by there. But the design ok for young ladies? Hehe

I have Juz completed my ap box today tgt with HtB! So happy. It matches our guest pens! :D

Ladies, wanna get your thoughts on this... after the florist done the bridal car decor the day before, the groom/driver will take the car back to his place yeah. Does he leave the car in the MSCP (Multi Storey Car Park). My concern with leaving the car in the MSCP is that what if someone decide to do something funny, like remove the flower decor etc? My HTB also cannot park the car downstairs as it is loading/unloading only lots. What is the common practice with regard to this?

Mich, that's fast! good job..i havent complete my AP box yet, got all the materials liao, but no time to start.

weekend was rather busy for us, we have almost finalised our AD schedule and also confirm the location for our OD PS, also had discussion with my parents on the morning catering, will be ordering from Neo garden, we are catering for 30pax. we also stock up can & packet drinks, chocolate etc from JB giant, hehe can save quite abit from there..

i'm gonna meet up my polymates tonite to pass them my invitation cards. then, we are only left with XDs and JMs' invites. yippie!

kass, yea the groom will drive the bridal car back home after the floral deco, for us, our new house is condo so no issue on ppl playing prank or smt..hmmm understand ur concern, what about putting on car cover (not sure the exact name) so that ppl will not see ur bridal car?

I dunno about car cover, cuz car is not ours. One way is to leave the car at my place which is private property and then have the XD come and drive the car to the groom's place in the morning, but also not feasible, cuz groom's side not many can drive.

Also how much are your mums giving as angpows to the XD/JMs?? My MIL come and ask me, and I told her I don't know, cuz I never been JM before...

Hi Kass, normally the mothers will give ard $20 each to the JMs/XDs. Its just a yishi yishi. at least your MIL got ask u. My FMIL like abit not bothered by everything.

tink my bf will park at the hdb carpark without shelter cos he can see the car from upstairs. but hopefully it will not rain overnite. haha.. we are oso borrowing car from fren, den do we need to put parking coupon ah? Mayb if the LTA pple come n check, they will excuse the car cos of the wedding decor? haha

kass, did not think about this problem as all my friends did not have any issues with pranksters before... :S now u mention, i think better to ask htb about it.... ahahahahah

i will help to wrap the JM/XD angpows for my mil side, plan to give them $20 each cos she was saying she will give about $8 each... but i think that is a bit little...

gers, any suggestion on what to do for ang pow box decor, i having a garden theme and wanted to use birdcages, but everybody is saying it is pretty but not safe :S

my FMIL also never asked anything about XDs/JMs ang pow. i guess i will prepare it for her...think i will prepare $12 each. but isit a must? cos my girlfren's MIL never give us when we were her JMs tat time leh. only the couple gave AP to us.

piggy, i think still need to place coupon ba, haha. LTA doesnt care it's bridal car or not, it's law by law.

pris, i thought of using bird cage too, but gave up the idea cos of safety reason. but we will use birdcage as our ring holder instead.

Piggy... better put coupon, overnight coupon $2 only, better don't save.

Priscilla... how about doing a small house kind of look. My Cousin did a house with like a "garden" on the base, so I think it will fit into your theme.

Thanks for the thoughts on parents angpows for XD/JM. Seems like $20 is the norm. I will let her know. She checked with an auntie who said must pao $28 cuz market rate increase, but to my mum $28 seems like too much. So seems like $20 is a good number. Also cuz we have quite a few helpers, so bao too much also expensive for the parents. Separately we will also bao for our XD/JMs approx $48-$68 each.

chloe, from my exp, mb the couple arranged to give the angpows instead of the parents, so only the couple give and not the parents.. but is really up to you how u want to arrange and what your parents prefer... some want to give and some are happy to leave it to the couple...

I think u can also choose to tie car deco in the morning of ad. Ask xd tie.

For ap, I wont be giving another individual one already.. Only GC ap to them and share. Both side parents will give ap to xd/jm maybe $12 or $18 I think. Haven discuss.

I have bought satin fabric to make sash for jm for nite to tie. To match their black dress. My mummy will help me to do using sewing machine. Hehe.. Cheaper to buy cloth to do ownself den buy a ready made one. :p

Michelle, I think $57 each is okay.
Is this in addition to what your mums are giving??

I am thinking if my mum and MIL are giving $20 each, Then the gatecrash money, I will give them a cap of $488 (Works out to approx $68 each). For those with extra duties (eg. photobook layout etc), I will bao them additional $20. For my XD, I will bao them $68 each with $20 for each additional duty they are doing.

This works out to $108 per person. Should be enough right?

Pris I also intend to use birdcage as ap box. My bridal suite v near to the recep, n asking two xd to escort it so shd b safe. My jm will also b in charge of dropping the ap in, so guests can see but cannot reach. This is to also ensure tt all ap are accounted for.

Piggy: need to put coupon. I've heard of ppl getting summon even on the morning of fetching the bride cos they park downstairs at the open area cos the place only hv multi-storey carpark which is a distance away.

Wen, lol..

I wanna ask u all ah.. For the addressing on invites because my card is the wedding couple Tgt with both side parents invite the person. So how do I write to my ah gor? (my mother's dad's elder sis)

For my mother's side I wrote uncle abc, aunt def and family.

last time when i was a jiemei, i also receive approx $68 for GC and additional AP of $20 for emcee. when we were at the groom's house, groom's mum gave us APs too. i think it's $20.

for the addressing, i think it will just write the names.

eg, if it's a couple, then it will be the name of the husband + fu1 fu4 (for mandarin) or Mr & Mrs Husband's name (for eng).

so glad tat i'm participating in this forum. can really get alot of info on stuff. something i can even get reminders on things that i duno / forget. eg the car decor. so glad that kass brought this up. i never thought of this issue before.

Kitty, but wouldn't it sound rude if I invite my elder addressing by their names? That y actually I wrote uncle & aunt abc...

Only now my grandpa's sister they all I Dono how to address.

Btw, u girls will be collecting Ur how s how much in advance? I Tot of a week. So I no need to go in JB few ads before ad, likes rush..

mich, my dad help us to write all our relatives' and my HTB relatives' invites, title first(the way me & my HTB address them) follow by their name and finally 'fu(1) fu(4)' or 'quan(2) jia(1)'. hope this helps.

Chole. Ya. I wrote this way.. Hmm but for my grandpa side I forgot address them wad.. Lol.. Cuz normally see them also address uncle n auntie. Haha.. My cards to my parents side I wrote uncle Jimmy, aunt alieen & family. So call the same as mr& mrs Jimmy..

ooooic, check with ur parents ? i never invite far relatives, so cant help u. hehe.

shan, i haven buy wine yet, still have no time to compare the prices between the few major wine shop.

my mum's wine supplier is crystal wines. i'm not sure which brand of wine my hotel is providing me but i don't think it matters. anyway the guests wun get to see the name of the brand. maybe if they drink, they can drink the diff but i dun think it matters too.

For elders, my dad will write in v tradtional way... He will use he(2) fu(3) tong(2) qin(3) for the entire family but if he is inviting only the couple he will write kang(4) li(4).

Kass & Piggy, the night coupon price has increased from $2 to $4 nowadays. Must buy the green colour one ah. Perhaps can we get the XDs to do the car decor in the morning?

Kass, Wah! Very chim. Nv heard before.

but thanks all for answering my que. Hehe..

Sat I'm going to JB, my BS to select gowns le. And also to collect my table lamps bought at CDM.

They don't sell grass root one leh.. Maybe I won't do the grass root thingy ba.. I think small issue.

Btw, my fren asked me to put salt in ap den put inside wordrobe. Meaning is to have more ren yuan. Heard before? She did that.

kass, your dad v pro leh.. i heard of he(2) fu(3) tong(2) qin(3) but not the 2nd one for couple. here can type chinese? can show us the chinese words?

My dad Chinese educated. Tonight I type on computer for you. Now on iPhone, more difficult.

If you guys looking for wine can consider golden hung ho in Toh guan road. Not expensive, easy to drink. Juz google.

Raine, i forgot the meaning for grass root.. My master told me one... Chole should rem. hehe..

But if u nv heard b4, den no need follow. =)

Chole, i think i wont wanna buy it ba.. lesser thing to do better.. actually my mum also nv practice this last time when she married.

The salt in any ap. Put during AC. More people relation yes..

My invitations will also b address similar to kass's. Our folks are more particular so will get my great uncle to help pen it.

For actual day ap, is it a must for us to give JM n XD also? Coz my mum said tat she will give and that will b good enough. But JM will have the GC ap to share but XD don't have. I'm confused.

Mich, 24k gold will b more traditional. 22k will hav more design element. Slight younger ba....

For those who asked... how my dad addressed his invites to relatives and friends...

eg. Cousin on dad's side - inviting couple only
"XXX (Name of Cousin) å ‚å¼Ÿå‡ ä¼‰ä¿ªç»Ÿè¯·"

eg. Sister - inviting whole family (addressed to sister's hubby, as sister has married out)
"XXX (Name of sister's hubby) å¦¹å¤«å‡ é˜–åºœç»Ÿè¯·"

eg. School Classmate - inviting individual only.
"XXX (Name of Classmate) åŒå­¦å‡"

Mo >> My mum also say she give good enough... but don't think it is enough, unless you mum giving them a big angpow. For my JM, they will split the gatecrash money. For the XD, we will bao for them the same amount that the JM received.