(2011/05) May 2011 BTB

Chloe, traditionally I think cannot bah... haha but then again my HTB and myself plus our families aren't that superstitious or fussy *phew!* We all agreed (after we booked 22nd lunch) that a separate celebration would mean we can have a nice long celebration after solemnisation on 22nd, there will only be about 30-40 guests and we can 'hang out' at the poolside terrace. So that means the available date to host the dinner is now 20th (Fri)...

I actually really look forward to the smaller party on sunday!

Hee hee personally I find the dry ice effect a bit too dramatic or somehow not our style lor. We'll just walk in with live music - gosh, which we haven't choose!

I am trying to type another popular caterer here but its name can't be allowed, strange...

kittywendwend >> The catering arrangement is what we will be doing as well. Only cater 1 side, if not a lot of wastage.

Birde Birde >> Welcome!~ I also told my GWP coordinator don't want dry ice or smoke effect. :P We will provide our own confetti!

I was JM for a close friend and had to arrive at her place early morning. We got really busy preparing the 'obstacles' for the boys and only when we arrived at the groom's place did we have something to eat - they catered a small buffet with basic items personally I think that's enough...

You can remind your JMs to have their breakfast before meeting or just order McDonald's :D

hi birde, that sounds nice. are you holding ur solemnisation at a hotel poolside? Just curious, how much does the live band cost?

Raine, no worries, yup this thread moving real fast. hehe.

kitty & kass, i'm also ordering on one side only, really will have alot leftover if both side is gonna cater.

oh dry ice effect will affect PS ah? i think i check with my PG...kass, did u DIY ur confetti? i saw really nice one at paper market..tempted to get it.

Kass >> thanks thanks :D we've 'met' at the Goodwood Park thread before heehee me another GWP bride. Been actively reading all the posts. You're very productive and organised! Same here, we're getting little nieces/nephews they will be tasked to throw confetti at our march in! Also told the hotel to remove the Champagne pyramid, might do that on Sunday morning instead.

birdie, sorry, but hor if i remember correctly, there is a law under ROM that u cant have banquet before ROM. maybe u would like to further confirm?

i like ur idea of live band and small cosy party, can mingle around with ur guest more, we actually thought of holding a garden wedding at one rochester before too, but gave up the idea cos our group are too big for that venue.

Raine >> Yes, my solemnisation party is at the poolside terrace, mid-morning. Luckily there's partial shade and ceiling fans!

Depending on the ensemble you request for, like 2-pc, 3-pc or certain artists... the price varies. For a standard 45mins x 2 sets the band I contacted is charging around 1k-1.3k estimate.

Wend: can I hv ur email add? I share w u my VG package there..

Birde: u doing poolside solemmisation at Goodwood on 22? Tt means I may get to see u then

Chloe >> really?! We'd check but I would be quite surprised if my hotel coordinator didn't know. We thought wah just nice - check in then dinner then stay two nights, party then check out.. haha the grand plan.

Hey me too! Wanted to have our wedding at a Rochester venue but realised it can't accomodate the number of guests. Also, in the day it's super hot!

The live band would be playing at the dinner only. Sunday will probably have a friend to 'DJ' or do a iPod party

birde, ya one rochester super hot! i attended my fren's solemnisation there, hers is high-tea buffet so 1pm-4pm, can u imagine how hot it was. haha.

missbibi >> Yes! But yours is dinner? My event should end before 3-4pm. But yah if you see a wedding at the poolside on 22nd morning that would be mine

Chloe >> the attire should've been 'shorts only'! omg when my HTB and I went there to meet with the coordinator we were already sweating, cannot imagine the condition if we were all dressed up in that crowd!

Chloe >> I bought my metallic confetti at the Borders Warehouse Sale in Feb. I also did my own paper confetti using the CARL punch and scrapbook paper. My sister has a lot of scrapbook supplies so I just "kop" from her. Btw, Paper Market quite overpriced... I like their items too but very heart pain to spend so much on just paper!

One advice about confetti for all to share - Ask the people who are throwing the confetti to throw it UP into the air when you approach, not at the couple. This way the photos will come out nicer... otherwise your eyes will be closed most of the march in to prevent the confetti from hurting the eyes.

Birde: Yup, mine's dinner. Prob reach there 3-4pm
u staying over at the hotel tt night?

Chloe: fb pm u my package price le. With the amt forked in, it'd better be nice! Lol.. think my htb n I will hv a gd laugh seeing ourselves on screen. Some of our PS shots we already cannot take it cos its not 'us'

missbibi >> oh no, cos I'm checking in on 20th, 22th will be my checkout date.

Kass >> that tip about throwing confetti is so valuable, thks!

kitty, ching yan is piggy.

Wah.. i come out from meeting only so many posts liao.. haha!

mine is smoke effect they mgr says no dry ice.. but is it same? still smoke leh..

mich, i tot piggy is jasmine and ching yan is missbibi...correct me if i'm wrong hehe.

thanks kass for the confetti tips. and thanks missbibi for sharing the vg package with me. i'm sure it will turn out nice!

I just keep my window open and hit refresh button as and when i'm free. hehe.

btw, we havent get our solemnisation pen lo, what kind of pen will u all be using? ink, ballpoint ? my ring pillow also not ready yet, might use bird cage instead..

Michelle - Same as Chloe, I also thought Chingyan = Miss bibi. Piggy = Jasmine.
Remember you also asked who is Jasmine Choo??

Chloe - Does your hotel provide? My hotel provide feather pen. I have not seen it yet though, not sure what kind of pen... Ballpoint not as "Classy", but I scared ink pen will smudge.

Did u customise a ring pillow? I'm gg to use the one provided by the hotel, or as an alternative, the one provided by e-Clarity. Not too fussy about ring pillow.

mich, missbibi is ching yan, cos she jus fb msg me her vg package...

kass, my hotel dont provide leh...that's y

for my ring pillow, i got one on hand, but dont really like it. so might use bird cage instead. can be part of our solemnisation table deco as well.

Kass, i asked hu is ching yan last time. lol..

I bought my own signature pen.. but diy guest pens. =D Signature pen MUST be in black ink.

Chole, oh! really ah? weird.. lol.. i rem last time missbibi not so active den i ask one. haha -x pai seh pai seh.. =p

For ring pillow, i am using what soo kee gave, but i diy and modify alittle! hehe

Michelle - You always ask who is who... cuz last time you also say you don't know who is the Jasmine Choo on your FB. :P

So now when I add ppl on FB, just put in a msg my nick here so ppl know. :P

Chloe >> Cuz wedding pen not used often... Why don't you look through the sales list here and see what ppl are selling. Sometimes can pick up some gems. I bought my guest pens all from a previous BTB here and decorating it myself.

Birde Birde >> I saw ur wedding dress! OMG! It's beautiful! Agree that the taffeta sash doesn't really seem to fit the look of the dress.
How did u know about the sample sale at Selfridges?

Yes, I'm ching yan..lol

More active nw cos the date is so near!! Need to get tips, advice etc to make sure tt I'm on track..lol..

Kass: GW pen is those typical long feather signing pen.. quite classy looking, so will b using theirs..

Kass >> Thanks! Love the dress to bits. I travel to London very often and once when I was there I chanced upon this sale at Selfridges
Went down to have a look, no expectation. And just like that, I got myself a WG! :D That was few months' back.

mich, ya i also deco my guest pens, i diy-ed 3 pens liao. but for own signature pen, i want to buy too. hehe.

kass, thanks for ur suggestion. prob i will buy the signature pen from stationery shop..

missbibi >> Yeah... but have not seen it in person yet, have you? Paranoid me thinks - What if the pen dirty? What if I don't like the ink? what if the ink doesn't write smoothly?

If my HTB hears this, he will think I am overly paranoid!

All >> Fyi, I saw Birde Birde's dress on the sales list, not on FB... if your wedding after hers, can buy from her!

Birde Birde >> Are u a cabin crew? Or do u just travel there for work or leisure? If it's work, I also want a job like that! I used to live in London, so I miss it quite a bit. No money to go there too often!

Hi all, let's add one another in FB. i get so confused liao. suddenly the thread becomes veri looong...
I wan to c your AD WG too. Was tinking whether to change my WG, cos the designer told me that if my EG got can can, den dun take a WG with can can, got contrast. In a dilemna now..

1) Nick: Piggy
Name: Jasmine Chu
FB: [email protected]

Kass, i tend to get paronoid over little things too. i guess this is how woman behave. haha. sometimes we are giving ourselves unnecessary headache..

Kass: yep saw the pens when some other couple were doing their solemnisation. Dun think it wun hv ink or b too dirty. GW also hv image to maintain..

Piggy - I agree... get two different kind of dresses then can have different looks! I have 2 mermaid gowns essentially, 1 tulle WG without can can, and 1 shanghai silk EG with built-in can can. One look is v sweet and one more glam.

Yup yup Kass, it looks nice this way, though the WG will not hav pong pong effect and long train. But i really love the tiffany blue EG. heehee..

Argh!! i m still in office. submission today!! Veri stress (: