(2011/05) May 2011 BTB

Michelle >> I FB/email the friends who I don't meet as often to ask them first. Then I will send invites. Those who confirm cannot come I will not send. Those who never reply, I will send anyway. But I dun think I will email them again if they already confirmed they will come. They have the invite and they have RSVPed then I take it as they are coming, unless they tell me otherwise.

Those that never reply first email and never reply after receiving invite, then I will chase.

Does anyone know if you need to return the additional invites?

What I mean is, let's say u decided you have 32 tables and took 32 tables worth (ie. 32*70%) of invites. What happens if let's say you end up only having 28 tables, do u have to return the extra 4 tables of invites that you took???

I am "decorating" my envelopes, scared later not enough to return to hotel if end up have to return...

Kass, my coord suggested us to take extra from printer. And say if gt extra den return printer. But I have already hotstamped on all cards of the 70% of 28 tables. So I also dono how. Lol.. And maybe I will have lesser den 28 tables..

Michelle >> Then if you don't return, will your printer know anyway??? That's why I dun understand! Maybe for you easier, cuz u collect the cards from an external vendor. I collect my cards directly from the hotel itself!

for me, i took up 80% invites cos my hotel provide 80%. we estimate using minimum table required, so even if we have extras, it's still within the 80%. so no need to return...

for our friends, we sent e-invites to get Rsvp first then distribute formal invites. think we will also send mass sms 1 week before our wedding...if we remember.

for relatives, the guest list is almost finalised already, left 10% to be confirmed.

Kass, they said they will call hotel when we tell them we have how many tables.. To confirm. But I Dono how true. See n wait lo.. It's already done so I will keep if gt extra.

kass, my coordinator told me that she will give as many spare invitation cards as possible. sounds like once she gives she won't charge? maybe she charges ($1 a card I was told) only when you want to take extra from what she gave?

hey girls, my dad says to give out invitation cards to relatives on the same day when we distribute GDL cakes. but my GDL is less than 2 weeks before wedding. too late to give out cards then right? so i have to make 2 trips to each of my relatives: one for cards and one for cakes? oh dear...

tangerine, it's ok.. cuz normally relatives long know ur wedding date.. it's juz a formal invite to them with the card...

My GDL also 2 weeks b4. And ya give the cards tgt with cake.

Kass, oh.. so it's not really english word. lol Thanks!

michelle, mine a bit complicated. none of them knows yet! (long story). so i guess i can call them this week and inform them we will give the cards together with the cakes later.

cakes are only for bride's relatives? or for groom's relatives too?

only brides.. but some actually they give both sides.. for Yi si..

For my case i only give bride.. if not, alot of place to go leh... =x

tangerinez, cakes are for bride's relatives only, but if you want to, you can also give to groom relatives, but normally ppl will only give to elders ... for teochew groom, bride side should return the the da lou biah (or nu shu bing)

tangerinez >> Most importantly, check with your parents and in laws on what they want.

If they are not particular, then it is just yi si only. Don't need to do too much!

Usually cakes is for bride side only but bride side will return some boxes of cakes to groom side, so groom side either use it for praying or give to relative if not so much aso cannot finish...

michelle, from what i heard, bride no need to return but as a nice gesture, mb return 2 ba... gin thye tell me that i can return 2 da lou biah to the groom side, if he teochew

mich, my parents will return 2 boxes of cakes and 1 box of hokkien cake. yi shi yi shi. anyway we already added these boxes to our request to htb, so just nice.

if ur parents want to return 2 boxes, then mayb u can increase to 14 boxes?

no prob!

btw, my mum just got her dress from daniel yam, finally managed to find one that she likes. hehe.

what kind of basket u all getting to put the GDL items? i dont want to rent or buy those traditional one, was thinking of buying those hamper kind of basket in red color..

Chloe, it is not a must to use basket. My mother ask HtB use those nice nice recycle or paper bag can

But hamper basket is one good saving way! I have a fren doing that

yes from what i know is cakes also need to return, maybe like return 2 boxes or 4 boxes, anything groom side give we need to return, like hard liquor we return orange juice etc heee....you lai you wang de yi shi....

my mum wanted 28 boxes but we are returning 8 to groom side. now i feel 8 boxes like too many lol but my mum say go ahead since it has been agreed liao.

Chloe >> I am using a normal wicker basket and wrapping it up with hot pink and red ribbons

If u don't mind 2nd hand, I saw some past brides selling their GDL baskets for only $5 which I thought is a damn good deal!

My pantry auntie gave me a three tiered red box. recycled from "ma biao yan wo". our big boss dun wan den wanted to throw, but auntie find pretty n good so left it for me

I aso got a nice hamper basket for the goodies (is from someone in this forum, kind of her to give free so I juz gave a red packet instead

Ooo yea, hamper basket is really useful. just do some simple deco on it and it will turns out really nice.

kass, we dont really like 2nd hand. actually Gin Thye provide FOC usage of traditional basket, but we dont like that kind and also prefer to use 'new' basket. hehe.

Chloe >>
My parents are the same, cuz they say cannot buy 2nd hand that's why I never buy. Anyway, gg to DIY from existing items at home. No point buying already then end up collect dust at home after 1 use.

Girls, for those whom wondering where to do nails, maybe can consider one shop call nails & massage addition at suntec. I Juz did gelish pedi n medi with them. And hand mask. Quiet gd. And they say can last 3-4 weeks.

The last time I did gel extension den nails v weak. After I remove this gelish, I shall see the nails condition.. Keke

Chloe, I did plain gelish pedi $70, and 2 tone mani $81 total $151. Den additional I did a hand mask price excluded. but the person keep pushing to take package which I don't like.

when we want to remove gel extension, is how to remove ah? i have never done all these before haha.

michelle, when will ou be posting out your invites ah? is early April too early?

w3n >> Need to go and soak off in order to remove. My nails grow v fast, I did my nails for my PS slightly more than 2 weeks ago and my nails already grew by 1/3... now cuticle part not nice....

I was gg to ask about invites. Are u guys meeting up with your friends to pass them the invite or will you be mailing? Actually for some friends, as and when I see them, I will prepare and pass to them already. Less than 45 days to my wedding le.

kass, until now i have almost confirmed most of my friends and will send to them by post. except for those whom i am meeting up soon.

by the way, before we do gel nails, do we need to let our nails grow or keep it short?

wen, I did my Gel Ext when I did ID PS last Jul.
I went back to the shop to remove. But she did not use any chemical to soak off or remove. She firstly cut away the extended nails, den use a metal stick to take off the layer of gel. Not pain at all, just in case u think it will. =D

But my nails dry n brittle after that. That type is hard gel. My nails grow quite fast also.. That last me 3 weeks. (Actually ok la) U can see the nails on my wedding blog. Lols..

Then yesterday I did Gelish. It was mentioned as a new product in the nail industry. It's like a normal nail polish but it is gel and super gloosy, high shine. Quite good to do Gelish if u dont wan do ext (ur natural nails long enough). It can also last u 3-4 weeks. Which i think really worth the price if can last long long. =p

If u wanna do gel nails on ur natural nails, yes! must let it grow alittle.. like that nicer ma. If u wanna do extension, however they will trim till the nails till about the same height as the "nail tip flesh" I dono u understand me anot. =x

For invites I planned to mail out by 16 Apr. But if I got meet any group of frens, I will bring along if cards are ready. But mostly I already have their address, if nv meet, I will mail it out. hehe..

Okie!

Thanks for the info on nails

Usually when we go back to remove the gel
nails, is fee involved?

Okie I will post the invite out sometime in Early april ba...faster post Liao worry free!

haha! worry free.. good word!

remove nails normally about $20-30.

My hotstamp from TD have got it back.. hopefully by monday or tuesday i can collect..

w3n, normally the removal is FOC if u do another new set. if not, then like what mich mentioned, it's about $20-$30.

for soft gel, sometimes i remove myself cos it's quite easy, jus soak ur nails in the gel remover solution and wrap it using aluminium foil for like 15 mins, everything will be peeled off automatically. hehe.

btw, i did my soft gel at FEP, Iputa. quite a popular nail bar if u search online..price is reasonable too. my gel nails can last about 1 month each time.

i'm planning to send the invites to my friends in mid april, will try to distribute to them personally cos mostly are close friends and we do meet up frequently, else, will do it by post. for colleagues, i will just give it to them in late apr..

ermmmmm ya lor i think if give out in early april like too fast? scare they forget. if we send a reminder sms to them in May, do u think we will seem kaisu?

i managed to confirmed all my guests (friends) for my side. groom side not even 1 yet hahaha.

hi w3n gal> i tink better inform them early, den in may remind them again. in case they cannot make it, u still got some time to ask the guests on yur backup list. heehee..

Hao de hee

btw those who likes to K, kbox is offering Khappy at per pax 6bucks nett including 1 drink n tibits....weekend aso available I think is between 2 to 7pm (3hrs)

share with u all