(2011/05) May 2011 BTB

Chloe, i think i will go CT to buy also.. brandless shop or brand shop like PH and TP is fine.. Consider the design n price most impt for me.

The prob is.. i asked my htb when is his mother buying or wanna go buy with me so i can choose, he keep dono.. but ofcuz nv press him untill jia lat la, wait he thinks i wan gold (money)

And PIL like nth one leh.. as in nv really ask or discuss wedding stuff with us. Even my VIP table also dono their side hu will be sitting and wad type of VIP table to use! *faint*

thanks girls for the info!

for SDJ, i will check with my future MIL tmr and see what she says..cos my htb told me she already prepared liao, but he not sure whether it's SDJ or not.

The march in song issue I aso very confuse, when meetup with hotel Cordinator then ask again...

Yesterday went to homestyle buy bedsheets, usual price 699 but now selling at 133 including quilt...very worth it and thread count is 400+. If u all like can go see see...

Aso mum bought pillows etc for me le...

Went to Chinatown to buy long feng zhu...8.80 each pair n I buy from the wedding shop (two rows behind Amanda dreamweaver)

I think need license. Does your hotel got the song you want? Cos I read from a VG website that even the song that you chose for your montage will need to have license too. So usually the VG will already got the license. So I think you better choose the song that the hotel has (although I duno how will we be caught even if we bring our own songs)

i got ask, she say clear the stock finish then no more cause new designs coming out. they have a set which is red and i bought that even though is not for my AC.

Babes, went in JB with my family to my BS as daddy need to try his coat, and I bought all JZ n GDL stuffs from Coupe De Marriage today!! Great savings! I went to see some bedsheets too. But not nice. I'm waiting for Robinsons sales on bedsheets! Hehe..

btw, i have bought my GDL, AC and JZ items from Coupe de marriage. it's really cheaper than SG. got everything for S$200+ only...

take for example the long feng candle, Chinatown is selling about $9 a pair, but in JB, it's only RM10. exactly the same! another item is the lacey umbrella, i bought at RM16 only! the AP packet is also cheap, RM1-RM3, the 'XI' stickers can mix and match 4 for RM10.

they had a wide range of products, initially we dont intend to buy alot, but ended up we got almost everything, haha. the lady owner is very helpful and friendly too, she was alone there today, and there were quite alot of customers but she still serve us with a smile and explain in details. thumbs up service! she gave us some big poppers as free gift too. hehe. highly recommended!

mich, u were there today too?? i was there also leh. hehe. i'm with my htb and his mum, we bought many many items!

u're with ur family? r u the one q-ing behind us? =p

Ur fringe short short n hair long n straight one?? Lol!!! I know got a mum with couple behind me one. U bought all so cheap? Oh, I also bought AC stuff.

Ya buy in jb really cheaper but I realise some stuff don't have...maybe sg sell more detailed n traditional. Tml I aso going in to get groom hair combing items...

The angpows and stickers are a good buy at Coupe de Marriage and I wished I bought more angpows when I was in JB. But agree with w3n that somethings I cannot get what I want, like the traditional sewing kit.

Chloe >> If you are near Novena, you might want to wait till April when The Warehouse People (some company that does warehouse sales) have their bedding and bedlinen sale. They sell mostly old stocks, but at v good prices. I got my bed set (fitted sheets and quilt cover) for less than $80 late last year. The sale is usually 1 every 2 months at the atrium area, according to the sales ppl. I was just passing by when I saw it last time and decided to get it... Thread count not as high as what w3n got, but still decent. 300 TC, if I recall correctly.

Also to share (because I am such a big Isetan fan),

Bedlinen and Bedding Sale/Fair at both Isetan Scotts and Isetan Serangoon Central (Nex) between 25 to 30 March. Up to 70% off.

mich, yaya that's me! so 'qiao'. nice to meet u, hehe, ya save quite alot cos she gave us further discount for each item.

For GDL, we are left with the pig trotters can, oranges and basket. the rest all settled liao.

oh, thanks kass for sharing the sales info with me..i will drop by Novena in april then. u mean at the atrium in front of charles & keith mah?

Chole, ya! Lol.. Ya the sales lady give further disc. It really worth! My buys for JZ total is RM$338. AC & GDL stuff RM$144. No more to buy le other den food.

Wen, groom hair combing only comb n new pajamas. No more le.

groom set is got candle, scissor, comb, mirror, red packet etc (the set sold in coupe marriage) if wan simple de is minimum comb n mirror...

Eh.. Is it? Lol e lady nv tell me. Den bride also need mirror? I didn't get mirror.. I think use comb can le ba cuz e package so far I think only e comb is for Shang Tou. Nvm ba.. We left with slippers, cuz didn't get from CDM as theirs super red..

I went 3 shops, all 3 say need comb n mirror (basic) coz people nowadays more simple way of doing le...but I bought the full set at Chinatown for bride side le, so groom side I will get those candles, scissor etc too ba...if not 1 side have full set n the other don't have abit weird...jb sell cheaper...

Is anyone of you going to do a dance during your wedding? I'm thinking of doing it. Anyone of you has any recommendation for a dance teacher or a dance school?

Kitty I Tot of it b4, but not gonna do it.

Wen, the candle is wad type? Normal red candle?
Maybe next round I go back may buy 2 mirrors ba.. no wonder my mum asked me wan mirror anot.. But she also nv say anything. Lol. I'm going back maybe next weekend cuz I have to collect my bedside table lamps. No stock.

Btw, the GDL is to be paid by groom himself or PIL?

I shall take some photos for u all to see see look look wad I bought with the money paid.. The long feng candle really cheap! He bought those thick thick standings one not those only with a thin wood to slot in type (hope u all understands me) 2 pairs only RM$20!! Omg!

The one with the thin wood slot in kind is actually Cantonese style candles, according to the Fa Yuen ppl.

My MIL not there, so I didn't buy the candles, but MYR20 is damn worth it!

Good buy!

Ya those thin de candle is for Cantonese then thicker ones is for hokkien...

maybe you can go back buy just the mirror ba
yup the candle is small n thin ones like we use it for praying...

oooh no dance for us on AD! We simply cannot dance at all
haha

we have settled the GDL cakes liao. just went to order traditional hokkien cake set from Gin Thye cake shop, it's a traditional cake shop at sembawang rd. 1 box consist of 6 types of candies, ruan tang, gong tang, mi fang, dou sha bing etc. my mum asked for a few boxes of these kind of traditional hokkien set.

then we also ordered cakes & fruits tarts set from our favourite neighbourhood cake shop..

last night, we have prepared the invites to be given to our relatives, my dad help us to write. haha. he & my mum will distribute the invites to our relatives together with the cakes on the day of our GDL.

Chloe >> forgot to answer you earlier, the atrium sale at novena is at the side near haagen dazs.

My MIL also ordered my GDL cakes today at Gin Thye. Bought 2 boxes of Teochew piah and 8 boxes of traditional butter cream cakes.

Collected invites...next weekend will mass send SMS to friends le...looking forward to food tasting n gown selection in early April

Hi ladies, can your advise me what I shd put inside the portable toilet? My MIL says she dunno n I ask the shop Aunty she say charcoal, dried fruits pack, angbao n orange will do.

Anything else?

TIA

girl, u mean "tam pui"?

The lady asked us to put 2 oranges and a ang bao, and the opening must be cover by a red paper den a boy must poke the paper and take the Ang bao. If not inside just put 2 oranges will do.

Wen, ur invites are fast! U gonna fold n tie soon? I went in on sat n collected from TNT den awaiting for TDragon's one for my hotstamp.

Yesterday my mother n MIL spoke on the fone regards to VIP table.. Cuz not much people sitting so, my side think 1 table for 10pax is enough, but dono y MIL like wan 2 tables.. cuz say 1 table looks weird.. but no people sit so many for wad.. end up my mother explained to her.. so our VIP got 11pax.. need to add a extra sitting.. dono can anot..

Michelle >> If you want to add an additional person to the VIP table, shouldn't be a problem just need to pay for an additional pax. My VIP table, ytd I also discussed with my MIL, she said that her side don't have many people sit, only the inlaws and us and granny. Cuz all the uncles and aunties don't want to sit.I dun understand. Why they dun want to sit at VIP table?? So now dunno gonna have 1 or 2 VIP table. Cuz my side we counted 9 ppl.

I started doing and sending out my invites yesterday... whenever I meet groups of friends, I just pass them their invites.

Oh ytd, HTB attended a wedding dinner of a colleague. The colleague hired an emcee and he said it was quite bad because there is totally no chemistry between the couple and the emcee and also the emcee tried to "promote" her services on stage, which was quite unpro! I still think ultimately best to get friends you know.

piggy, my parents only give GDL cakes to close relatives (as in only their siblings and my grandmother).

i'm also having just 1 VIP table, cos my VIP table is bigger than normal table, can sit 12 pax. so just nice.

piggy, GDL cakes are for bride's relatives.. and paid by groom. yeap, these 2 are near.. keke..

Kass, thanks i will check with hotel mgr when i meet her on 31st for food tasting.. hehe.. so excited!! =p Will be having some discussion on theme, etc too..

hi gals, also was asking my mum about how many cakes she want for GDL... she said 30...OMG... den i ask who she giving to, she say all her friends and relatives that she didn't invite to my wedding...so coma... i also getting from gin thye cos they can prepare everything, make my life easier... hee....

i got 3 VIP tables... btw, 1 more Mil, 1 for my dad and 1 for my mum....

oh ya, i got a confirmation from my hotel, they have licence to play music and all we got to do is provide the original CDs and we can pre-record our music in another CD as long as we tell them which songs are specific for the 2 march ins only.

prisci11a >> Is your going to deliver all the 30 boxes on the same day? Because if not all delivered on the same day, then might become stale, esp since Gin Thye uses butter cream, easier to spoil.

If not delivering all on the same day, then really suggest getting cake voucher instead. I think Gin Thye has cake voucher, but only for their traditional Wu Se Tang and Da Lao Bing. The other common one would be Bangawan Solo. Think Prima Deli might also have cake voucher.

kass, i'm getting the hokkien sets that are packed in the red angpows... not the cream cakes cos yup, like you said, these will spoil quite fast.

still cannot understand why need 30 boxes.... actaully she wanted 50, till i told her that they were at $10 a box and she said that is so exp cos the candies are actually really cheap stuff.... wth

prisci11a >> Oh, if it is the candies then easier lah... but it's $10 each! So expensive. I totally agree with you. The traditional stuff are more expensive than the cream cakes think because they are the rare few that actually sells it. My Teochew pastries are $16 per box and that's already the cheapest available one.

kass, yup... its really expensive.. wat to do...
ppl only get married once, all the suppliers need to make sure they earn a nice profit from it... in my mum's time, it was like $5 a box.. and she said the boxes were better packed... zzzz

michelle, i pasted the inserts on the card cause i think my card tie the string not nice. pasted some liao and when i free i will sms friends to inform them and then send invites around april =)