(2011/05) May 2011 BTB

w3n > There is no selection for date and time. It will just appear in the acknowledgement page, with a statement that you cannot change your appointment date.

"6 May 2011, Between 8.30am and 9.30am

Both parties to the intended marriage must be present.

Please do not change this appointment. Thank you."

Helllo...

Juz an update,

My coord called me yesterday. Saying that it's time I roughly confirm my no of guests and i'm able to collect cards from T-Dragon already. I shall go down to collect next 2 weekend ba..

Gonna finalise guestlist at this moment first.. Btw, she mentioned we're able to choose 2 diff designs. But best is the same shapy (both landscape or both portrait) if not T-dragon will charge diff price.. However, I'm printing in JB, so I don't mind.. =) Excited to see those pretty cards... <3

eneriyeo >> Oh yeah, remember to inform your JP as well, if you haven't and are ROM-ing on the date itself.

I think it is important to at least confirm your minimum no. of tables. At least if you have a rough idea, you can let your hotel know and get the required number of invites. If you increase later, should not be an issue bah.

Erm, I actually operate with an assumption of X% of guests not turning up and have planned that if they cannot come, someone else invited will take their space, so I will meet the min. required no. of tables. If all turn up, then just have more tables then!

I only need to confirm final seating plan 1 week before... and GWP will set up 2 additional tables for me, should I need to use them.

Michelle Chia >> But even if printing in JP, if your cards are different orientation, you will need different inserts and hence may also be charged separately leh... something for you to consider.

For example, 300 inserts, 150 inserts each orientation, they will charge it as 2 orders of 150 inserts rather than 1 order of 300 inserts. May be more expensive though.

hi gals, i was too upset over the weekend so i did nothing but slack. hahaha..

thanks everyone for the consolation. i felt better now already. at least it's another 1 thing settled.

next on the list is to find a JP and efile. can anyone provide me the contact details of Mr Chiang? Who is he? Is he good?

Hi Kitty, glad that u are feeling happier!!
. give me yur email and i will email Mr. Chiang's hp no to u. he is veri friendly. u can consider him.

My food tasting confirmed on April 2nd...hopefully things goes smoothly....

For u all whom is having weekend banquet, how much red wines do u all prepare? I intend to buy at ntuc or carrefour...

Have informed friends on my wedding date. A bit sian that some of them asked who is going before they decide not to go. sigh..

Was quite upset with the hotel too. Promised perks during wedding show but cos we did not make sure they write down in the contract, the perks are not given.

The 3rd JP that I contacted is having his license renew. Though he said he will reserve the date for me, he can only let me know if his license managed to be renewed at the end of March.

Ok enough of ranting.

Are you all in the stage of GDL and AC? My GDL date is in Mar, quite early imo.

eneriyeo > I think you GDL early to aviod Qing Ming month bah... my GDL will be 2 weeks before... a lot of the BTBs here are doing their GDL on the 7th May, which is my wedding date

w3n >> i have not decided on the amount of red wines yet. the hotel is giving me a bottle per tables. i'm thinking of getting 10 - 12 more bottles.

eneriyeo >> i think your friends are worried that they duno anyone there, esp if these friends are your old friends. we tend to invite our old friends whom we dun meet up often.

my GDL is 1 week before my AD but i think since alot of u are doing on 7 may, i guess it should be a good date. maybe i will change to 7 may too cos i think 1 week before AD to do GDL is abit too rush.

Girls, I'm now trying to search around for mothers' dress.. Anyone has ideas where to go to??

eneriyeo: cheer up.. things will get better.. =)

Sorry for not being active all this while.. Have been silent reader and procrastinating for quite some time.. hurhur~~

Hi girls, my hotel does not provide red wine for me, though they waive the corkage. onli free flow of beer.

I m oso trying to find mothers' dress. My FMIL is skinny in size and fussy and kept saying those dresses onli suitable for big sized woman. Faint. Dun know wad she going to get.
Den my mother is on the plump size, ask me wad is my FMIL is wearing, wan to complement her. haha..

I m not even married yet, and i m already ranting at my FMIL. oops!

w3n >> I am preparing 2 bottles per table. Since hotel already provided 1 bottle, so will need to get additional 1 bottle each table.

LinH >> Your mum and MIL want something more traditional or more modern? If modern, can go to Daniel Yam. If traditional, can try OG. My mum usually get her CNY/Formal clothes at OG. Alternatively, you can tailor make as well.

For dress u all may want to visit Daniel yam (not sure if I spelled correctly haha) my mum plus size is able to get nice gown here n not very ex....

My hotel is giving 1 bottle per table of red wine...plus additional six bottles... So I maybe budget around 2 bottles per table ba...u all taking consignment or buy frm supermarkets?

Kitty u may wan to check if 7 may is suitable for u to GDL cause even if the date is good in generally, it mush not crashes with the zodiac sign of the couple

eneryeo, my gdl is on 7 may n AC is 13 may...

thanks for the advise girls! I will make some time and scout at the suggested places..
I also dunno what actually they prefer leh.. i thought it might be a good idea for me to look around see which place is more suitable then oni bring them there and see.. rather than bring them to scout.. think i'll be dead tired if like tat lor... aiyoooo..
kinda tired of all these stuff ready lehh... =(

w3n, hmm.... i think hotel will charge corkage so its not worth buying your own unless these are really special wine or you manage to bargain for waiver of the costs.

btw... anybody know a good solmenizer to reccomend for 7may, 630pm? the ones i wanted are booked or out of town... stress!!

hey linh, now all the dept stores are having sale.... sure you can get something nice ba...if u want off the rack cheong sam, can try OG - for day time tea cereomny or people's park, i got my mil's dress from - susan batik house in ... is made in china but material is comfortable and alteration free...ahahahahh

Priscilla >> Do you need a bilingual JP? Or just english only? If english only, I can recommend my Touch Marriage Preparation Course instructor. I didn't get him cuz his mandarin is not so good. Actually i saw u attended the Touch MPC. Many of the Touch MPC instructors are JPs as well. Have you asked them?

Kass, looking at bilingual cos mil is not really good at English.
I din think of asking my instructor!! Think I shall do that
thanks for the great idea
also at least someone I know

my hotel also giving 1 bottle of wine per table + free flow of tiger beer until 11pm. So we intend to get about 18-20 more bottles of wine, and some hard liquor as well since there isnt any corkage charges.

I've got a question for those who have gone for photoshoot and also to think about for actual day...

- Do you think fake eyelashes is a must? I know MUAs do charge for fake eyelashes... if I get my own what brands/type do you recommend?

- Besides nubra which some of you got... do u think we need to invest in a good undergarment... are you guys going to wear what you wear everyday or will you be investing in those control undies which gives you a defined waist, perk up the butt or whatever they do?

Kass, I think the gown it self is already alter n tight enough to show ur curves le, if u wanna wear those stuff to tighten Ur tummy it will be very very hot and the things is quite thick of cuz. Juz a little note. I am wearing the adhesive bra only. Not nubra brand.

For eyelash, the adell(not sure correct spelling anot) brand from sasa is gd!

I got MIL n mother dress from daniel yam. Pretty, grand n reasonable price. They sell those formal cardigan n shawl if Ur mother needs to cover their arm! If not u gals can try audrey at NEx! My mummy bought a shawl to match her Daniel yam gown their! Lol.. Cheaper den DY n they have the correct colour to match the gown.

Michelle >> Thanks for sharing... what kind of adhesive bra did you get??? I don't need nubra/silicon bra and extra assets... but was thinking maybe to get something to stick over???

Ardell lashes are nice! Do you have a specific model number or anything like that? I very noob about false eyelashes cuz I dun wear them although I am crazy about makeup.

Kass I think eyelashes would b good can brighten up eyes plus now even guest alot aso put on fake lashes so I think bride can put too
i m using what the mua is preparing for me coz is inclusive price le...

Only wearing nubra not buying special bra, corset etc

Check with u all...I should get the total number of guest - list ready before i go down t dragon or I should arrange the guest into tables ready...then go down to t dragon? Coz I realise that if we don't inform them n RSVP we can't confirm if they r attending n may not b able to put them into tables...m I on right track?

@kass, i think fake eyelashes is a MUST have, i'm buying from my MUA. Ardell brand is good, i always buy type 110, very natural. u might want to check that out.

@w3n, u just need the total number of guests that you will be giving the invites to, dont need to have table arrangement.

for me, i just have an estimated numbers, cos the first time when u go down to t-dragon, it's more to choose the designs/colors of the invites and the format. After selecting, t-dragon will do the art-work and email to you before you confirm the printing. so, u can actually confirm your number of guests by then. =)

w3n >> What I did is that I have grouped my friends up into tables, so that I roughly know how many tables I have. I will communicate this to my coordinator to get the cards directly from them, since they will give the cards based on the number of guests comfirmed, which are more or less in tables on 10s....

Chloe/w3n >> Thanks for sharing on lashes. I will check it out! Will also find out from my MUA if lashes and ampoule is included in her package. I have not done my trial makeup yet!

wen, i sent SMS to my guests last week already some reply, some dont before i go t- dragon i will sms again to confirm.

I personlly think dont do do table arrangement first... after u send ur cards den do so..

Hhowever, for me my corrd mentioned encourage me to get more den wad i need. Den if really too many juz return them the extras.

I dont rem which model i bought thou.. But it is very lasting! =)

I bought my adhesive bra online for 18 bucks! =)

kass,i tried my gown with corset and without corset. seriously, a good corset is going to give you a more defined figure, but dunno how it works on a skinny girl. But yes, it is also very hot... wore it under my gown for my PS... not very comfortable but i think i looked better...

Michelle, u so fast send sms to guests le ah? is it too early to do so?

i was thinking of going to T dragon choose cards in early March (so by then need to know the total number of guests as hotel only provide 70% cards) then bring in 1 sample card to print in JB then collect the cards 1 week later. Early april then send sms to them then arrange according to the tables, do u all think is okie?

wen, no it's not early.. cuz i sms purpose is to know hu will be coming so i can print their invites. Another round of sms is 1-2 days before the AD to remind them. =)

U will need to ask them their response b4 u print or dont print their card ma... hehe..

My plan is..

- SMS to ask if they come.. (done)
- Collect cards frm T-dragon on 27Feb
- on 12 Mar print invites at JB (this might be alitlle too early but i need to go to my bridal shop, so I sun bian)
- From the date I collect printed invites, I can fill up the guests name
- By Early Apr I mail them out

All, actually i am thinking nowadays got people RSVP one meh.. lol.. Cuz normally ppl receive card also nv inform couples if they are attending anot.. normally also the couples contact the guests one leh..

piggy >> thanks for the contact. will contact mr chiang.

i bought my eyelashes from my MUA. my package does not include ampoule and eyelashes so in the end i topped up $48 for both. i think it's a must to wear eyelashes as it really makes a diff to ur eyes. my MUA advised me to buy more exp eyelashes if i'm buying from outside as those cheap ones look v fake.

i use nubra cos some of my gowns are bare-back. i don't think i can wear corset cos it will show.

i have not done my guest list yet. haha. too lazy to do it. i think i will start this wkend maybe.

i intend to send emails to all my colleague. will include in the email tat i dun intend to send them invitation cards so as to save the trees. hahaha. for friends, i will send them a save-the-date email / FB msg first and will ask them if they need invitation cards. i hope to reduce the no. of cards.

Michelle Chia >> My HTB even more kancheong than you... he wanted to go this weekend to get our invites done! He keep asking when are we going to JB... LOL. Do u know if TnT is open on Sundays too?

Ya got open on sun if I recalled...
Ok most likely i go print invite on 5 march...
Any idea how long t n t takes to print invites?
but I will SMS to inform my friends around mid march ba...
Thanks all for ur advises

besides daiso anyone knows where got sell mini craft punches?

do u all go facial? Any recommedations?
I tried taking fancl tense up but got breakout instead

ok.. so now i just head down to departmental stores, DY and nex to scout scout.. thanks for the suggestions!

and i agree with pricillia, corset definitely makes the figure more defined! my gown comes with the corset one (as in no zip one), but as far as i know, not many ppl like this style one le.. but i still wear the undies to 'flatten' the tummy just in case.. kekeke..

and kass, fake eyelashes is a must too! i also haven't go for the trial makeup.. quite worried if i dun like their style.. aiyoooo... ganjiong hubby is good mahh.. my hubby only wait for me to plan when to go and do this and that.. ownself lazy to plan.. =S

wen: i go to facial at upper thompson.. it's recommended by my MIL.. think the place not bad laa.. the consultant will see the condition of ur face everytime u go there then decide which treatment to go for.. but dunno how much is it coz MIL sponsor de.. if you wan the name of the place i can pm you.. coz i dunno can state it here or not..

wen, i only do my facial 2-3 months a time! haha.. U can try artfrind for the punchers.. i saw before... the invites heard from my fren a week later done!

Linh, I haven do my trial too! will do so on apr after i choose my gowns for AD.

w3n, t-dragon takes around 10 days for the printing.

for facial, i go to Leonard drake, have signed up facial packages with them. i have used them for like 2 years.

Chloe >> Leonard Drake is not cheap right? Roughly how much issit per session? I go to a neighbourhood beauty salon in Bukit Batok. I just signed up a facial package with them, but I was going to them for more than 3 years for eyebrow shaping, so the facialists are like friends to me.

w3n and Michelle >> Yup, apparently T-Dragon takes a week for the printing...

LinH >> Which is your bridal studio. If your MUA from the BS or someone u get yourself. My MUA is Jyue Huey from TheMakeupRoom. Seen many pictures of her works, so kinda looking forward.
My designer told me should be within these few weeks before my AD.

Thanks for the info on the control undies. Which brand did u get? Might wanna do some research on it. Don't think I wanna wear a corset...but considering some tummy and thigh control undies.

w3n >> i have been doing my facial with a facial salon at international plaza (tanjong pagar area). it's not bad. i just signed my 2nd package with them last dec as i have finished my 1st package. i usually do my facial every 5-6 weeks.

btw what is a craft punch?m pardon me for my ignorance.

LinH >> my HTB also super nua. everything i do and i plan. cannot trust him to do stuff. eg i assign him to rem to bring his No. 1 for the PS. i trust him to make sure that everything related to his uniform will be there. in the end, he forgot to bring his sword, white gloves and his hat (he brought his hat but forgot to wear during PS). in the end, his uniform is basically the shirt and the pants nia. no wonder i felt that his uniform looks incomplete. me not enough a army person lor. in the end it was me who realised the missing items halfway thru the PS. SIANZ....

Kass, for tigh one u need to search for a gd one! If not the cutting not gd will make u look like having fats popping up.
is this for short gown?

Michelle Chia >> Thanks for the advice. My gowns are not short... all full length, but I wanna get it for my mermaid gown. Cuz my mermaid gown is body hugging kind! I love my gown, but it makes me v conscious of my body!

Thks all but sadly popular don't hv that punch anymore....daiso out of stock for the design I want...made with love sells only super big size de punch lol... Headache !

Ok I think I may not go for facial