(2011/05) May 2011 BTB

oooohhh so many things need to be done? chloe, do u need to book appt to go down t dragon? i will only collect invites from them and print in JB. can choose 2 diff colors of the invites, is it at additional cost?

Hello, would like to check, are all of you having tea dress for tea ceremony? I don't have tea dress from my AD package. I am wondering is it really a need to have...

Nicole >> I think it need not be a tea dress from the bridal shop bah... it can just be a normal dress from any other shop?? I think with tea dress you can be more creative in terms of what u wanna wear.

This bride bought her dress from Blum -
http://mrslimvoyage.blogspot.com/2010/05/wedding-ad-fashion-part-ii.html

My tea dress is a cheongsam custom made in Shanghai.

W3n, no additional cost for having 2 diff colors of invites, according to roseline, we can mix and match the colors as we like. No need to make appointment, but quite crowded on weekends, I went down around 2pm, still ok, but after I finished, there are 3-4 couples q-ing already.

Jus spent 4 hrs at my BS trying my AD gowns, so tired! Managed to shortlist 1 WG n EG, but I will go down to try the new arrivals next month before confirming..

@Kass, I wanted to wear cheongsum too! But my bs's cheongsum is those traditional kind, knee length which is not what I'm looking for. I have tried kua and my htb said it's nicer than short tea dresses but I dont really like it. Haha so still considering.

How much is ur custom made cheongsum?

I got a free tea dress from bridal shop but I rented a Kia in Chinatown instead, still prefer kua cause once in a lifetime

thinking whether tea dress can change into other things or not haha...

Okie thanks I will visit t dragon in march

Chloe Ong >> My cheongsam is made by one of the more well-known cheongsam makers in Shanghai. It's a gift from my mum, so I don't know the exact cost, but from what I gather it's not cheaper than making in Singapore. What kind of cheongsam are u looking for if you're not looking for the traditional knee length ones?? Full length?? I dun dare to make full length, cuz I not very tall and I dun wanna end up looking like Chinese restaurant hostesses!! My mum did a 3/4 length, mid-calf one for herself.

I know Ted Collection and Dang Bridal are some of the more well known cheongsam makers... if you don't mind paying more for a full length cheongsam, can consider them. Otherwise, there is also Max Couture and Kim's in Tampines.

w3n >> Change for more shots/poses for your album!

w3n 》》 actually I meant PS album... but any album also can?? I'm not sure what package you're on, but most ppl have to top up for additional shots for album right, so might as well exchange the tea dress for this??

my BS package includes a kua fr tea ceremony so i will be wearing that one. however me thinking of wearing a tea dress for my rom. haha. so that i can capture more pics of me wearing diff outfits for AD.

@Kass, i meant those above knee length, high split kind of cheongsum. i also dont dare to wear long cheongsum, yesterday i tried knee length one, looks like those dimsum lady. =/

Chloe - My CS is above knee length, but it doesn't have a split. In fact, one side is all chinese knots, so when you wear it, it is almost like wearing a knee length jacket and then buttoning at the side all the way to the end above the knee. There is a small slit at the back, rather than on the side.

Actually if you want to wear cheongsam, I strongly suggest that you custom make one, cuz Cheongsam is meant to be snug and fitting to show off your curves. If you don't want traditional design, can also consider the Cheongsam shoppe and Fuchsia Lane. Google for their websites.

Ooohhh but my album aso done hao le, haha they have kua but size too small n not nice that's y I rent outside...

Happy Chinese new yr in advance!
Collect more ang bao!! Last yr to collect le!

@Kass, thanks for ur suggestion, will look around. =p

Happy Chinese New Year ! yea, it's our last year to collect ang bao haha.

Chloe - actually I was just back at the LoveBonito website again and thought the cheongsams can look quite nice as tea dresses! Esp the COVET one in the latest release!

Happy CNY to all too! Yeah, last year collecting angpow!
Next year will be outflow from us already... this year still considered inflow!

First CNY dont need to give angpao? haha i din know about this....but my family de kids not alot so still ok heee...

hi kitty, i bought my ampoules from http://beautyaurora.com/eCommerce/index.php.
most of their ampoules are selling at $2.80, some at $3.80. If u email the person, she will reply u veri fast. i use the beauty lifting ampoule for PS and its quite lasting. though my bf bought ampoule from her cos mua say his face more oily. it cost $30!! I m planning to buy few more beauty lifting for AD. we have to apply ourselves before they put on makeup for us.

For nubra, i tink dun need to get nubra unless the gown u choose requires u to wear a bra or u are uncomfortable with not wearing a bra. cos for my PS, i did not wear any bra at all. i even have a peacock dress. haha..

Piggy >> What is a peacock dress? How do u apply ampoule?

But yeah, unless ur designer suggest u get Nubra, otherwise don't need, cuz the built in corset will have sufficient support.

Hi Kass, my dress is made of peacock feathers(fake). its a tube dress which i chose for my ps..

U apply ampoule like how u apply toner. break the vial, den pour some on your palms and dab at your face. my mua oso ask me to dab some at neck if there is spare. better to buy your own den buy from them.

i have just bought my nubra. went for my bridal fitting last sat. felt that there isn't much support from the gown. anyway if any of you gals interested, can check out this website.

www.nubra.sg

they have a store at sunshine plaza. that sales auntie is very helpful. she even taught me how to wear it. she will first look at your B before deciding which is more suitable for you.

not too sure if i wana buy ampoule online cos i have rather sensitive skin. i think i will try to contact facial salon. they are closed for CNY. hopefully they reopen before my PS (my PS is next fri 11 feb). i think it's safer to buy from them than buy online.

For ampoules I buy online from skindelights, nice owner n no problem when use on my skin. But for AD makeup my ampoule is inclusive in the package le...

For nubra ibuy from sunshine plaza before n agree the aunt very good but I realised I develop rashes after using, dunno is my skin allergy or wat though. But the nbra is comfy. I bought another set when I go Taiwan for preshooting n skin is not as itchy as the 1 I buy in sg. I find nubra is good for the lifting effect. For Taiwanese, they wrapped paper tape around the nubra to make the lifting effect very nice! Haha but very extreme method :/

Gals, I bought my nubra before I have my ps last jul too! It's better to wear nubra so that can see Ur shape. I have 2 frens didn't wear any bra and they Juz count on the gown's pad not nice at all. I feel that cannot see the B and if u wear gown the B area no curve not nice... I didn't buy the original nubra thou. Bought it online at LJ.

I hear of Aurora in this forum too. Sounds really gd. My sis bought with them. But I'm lazy to apply daily routine. Too ma fan. Last time I use before, as 1 vial can use 2-3 times a day, I gonna find place or container to keep the balance.. Me lazy! Haha! After CNY I'm gonna go back to my BS to collect the softcopies n montage!

ya my relatives all say is last yr to collect red packets too haha. tiring these few days. tomorrow back to work sian!! haha....

btw u all an chuang urself or find a couple to help? must it be a couple to do it?

we will an chuang ourselves (modern times) or u can find a good fortune woman to help u (olden times). u can ask david tong in the forum. he was the person who helped me to calculate my AD dates, timings, advise on GDL and An Chuang dates.

Btw gals, anybody know if we need to give the groom's relatives GDL cakes to0?

As far as I know, only bride's relatives get the GDL cakes... grooms don't need.

And I am not doing an chuang because we don't have our bed yet! We will be renovating then and shuttling between staying at my parents and my in laws. So the actual an chuang may be after AD... but think after AD, don't need to do an chuang lah...

w3n > my consultant told me we can get the groom's aunt to AC for us. don't really need to find a good fortune woman. these are the olden times. he also said that nowadays, young couples forgo alot of customs and traditions.

btw, i accomplished a few things over the CNY period. I have gotten most of my relatives' names and addresses when i went bai nian.

also, we bought our wedding bands ytd. but cos they don't have my ring size (mine is size 6), i will need to send my ring for alteration. Lee Hwa gave me free ring pillow and guest book so i don't have to buy them. yeah.

then this friday i'm going for my PS. yeah. really looking fwd to it. i'm slowly ticking off my checklist. felt so accomplished. hahaha.

Can the an chuang be done by me only? Coz the date that master tong gives me is chiong to my hubby de shen Xiao...so I wondering if I can do it myself or must be couple haha...

Groom side dun need to give out the cakes? Is this for all like hokkien, heng Hua, Cantonese etc? I heard about it before but not confirm.

Happy New Year! hope u girls have a huat huat new year. hehe.

back to work today, yawn!

during these few days bai nian, we have annouced and informed our relatives of our wedding date and gathered all their necessary info. going to update my guest list with the info...my future MIL is having holiday in China now, so when she's back, we will have meet-the-parents session to discuss on GDL matters.

btw, my GDL is 1 week before my wedding, 7 May (Sat). AC will be on the same day too, since Master Long gave us the auspicious timing from 7am to 1pm. so my htb will AC first in the morning and come to my house for the GDL.

counting down 3 months...

@w3n, we are both Hokkien, and only distribute cakes to bride side. =)

for the AC, master long told us that my htb can AC by himself. then after that, he will come to my house for GDL.

An chuan be by the couple or the groom's aunt whom have a blissful marriage.

Wen, I think by bride only also can but to me don't sound rite thou.

The cakes are for bride's side only. But must be paid by groom himself.

Chloe I think alot of us here GDL same date. Mine on 7may. Hehe..

Mich, u mean AC by a 'hao ming po' ? i think master long did mentioned that can be done too, kind of forget what he said cos it was like half year ago when we met him. hmm..i better give him a call to confirm if HTB alone can do the AC or must be accompanied by hao ming po.

wow..... hi gers, long time haven been in... so fast pick AC date already... i think i better go write to Master tong too... for my GDL and AC dates...

how is everybody, excited!?! hope your preparations are more or less done... so that you can have a relaxing day :D i'm just dragging my feet... too lazy to do alot of stuff :S

Mich, oooh k, ya got your point, both better. hehe. maybe i can AC with my htb then we go back to my house for the GDL. =)

haha so many of us gdl on 7 may hor...is really a good date!

yah actually master tong says we do ourselves for the AC no problem as long as the zodiac sign dont crashes....so in order to simplify things and dont trouble his auntie/ relatives, we decided to do on a weekday (take leave) and settle it ourselves ba...coz weekend given dates crashes with our zodiac...

my guest list haven confirm, hope to get it done by this weekend haha...

by the way, for dinner do u all count in PG and VG?

michelle, ur ROM time is 6pm sharp start ah?

wen, i dont count or to say give them seat for dinner. Cuz they will be v busy one.. but ofcuz will give them a space to seat n rest.

Ya, my ROM 6pm sharp. Told Dr Phua liao..
My MIL say maybe ask my htb's boy cousin to help during GDL to carry thing... Is it ok ah.. cuz it's a single boy cousin.. lols

My guest i haven get address from them!!! *faint* CNY say wanna get address and attendance also nv really do that.. only manage to get 2 address from malaysia relatives.. lol