(2011/05) May 2011 BTB

chloe, wah! den ur nails weak lo? =x

Piggy, to me gel nicer cuz very shiny.. haha..
acrylic is using powder.. also nice but i prefer gel de shiny look

Mich, luckily still ok, not very weak cos usually I will let my nails rest for at least 3 wks before doing another set. I prefer gel nails too, the damage level is lower compared to acrylic. And gel nails are cheaper.

I thought gel nails are very damaging to the nails? Cos the solution they use will thin your nails. But it can last super long.

Btw now there is a new type called gelish. It is less damaging than gel nails but it's equally nice. I think i should be doing that.

I think up to individual ba, and how u maintain ur nails. So far so good for me.

Gelish? Nv heard of it before, will check with my manicurist next fri when I go for my appointment.

kittywendwend >> I do it at a home manicurist at TPY. Been going to her place for the past few years to do my nails for various occasions.
I usually just do normal manicure though. Not sure how much gel will cost. This is her webpage. http://officegalz.wetpaint.com/

Otherwise, NailsTalk at Redhill usually get v good reviews as well.

i will most likely be doing with my jiemei de friend whom is home base manicurist. she can come to my house to do for us on eve of AD. save trouble to think of where to go ba.

Spent a lot of money over the weekend!

- Bought a facial package (love it so much that I fell asleep!)
- Went to check out the party supplies shop
- Bought craft materials for my hair fascinator, veil and solemnisation invites.

And someone took my phone!

Yesterday also went for a wedding dinner at Amara Sanctuary. Nice ballroom, but food was so so only. The couple had 30 tables in a 50-table ballroom so look a little sparse. Now attending wedding dinners is like research for me! LOL.

Nowadays every week also spend money! If not on the wedding, then on the house!

Hi Kass, me too!! have been spending money for wedding and for furniture for house!! Just top up few hundreds for my photo album ytd. heart pain nw.. (:
Somebody stole yur phone??

Piggy >> I keep seeing my bank account deplete

And yeah, I had to get a new phone today, cuz my phone was taken while in the party supplies shop. I was looking at stuff. Dunno whether I left it on the shelf or it slipped out of my pocket, but when I went back to see, no more... and when I asked the lady boss to help me call, went straight to voice mail liao.

Another to-do item checked. I have signed the reno contract with the ID firm. Another big ticket item for my poor pocket. This reno will cost me a bomb.

Thanks all for the concern. I dunno how come that person want to take my phone anyway. The trade in value is probably only $10? I had the phone for more than 3.5 years already. Oh well. It gave me an opportunity to get a new phone! LOL. Though it pains seeing my bank account deplete again!

Are you guys still looking for ties for your xiongdis? I found a lot on the Taobao website!

Might buy from there instead and ship to HTB's sister based in Shanghai.

There are sprees for Taobao too at smoochiezz.livejournal.com

w3n, i went to BOWS last week and got the GDL packages from Pine Garden's.

i'll send you the list, cos dont think i can upload it here in case mods mistaken me for advertising. haha.

but i'm still considering if i want to order from them, cos we find their cakes so-so only.

w3n >> Originally I wanted the Teochew kind of pastries and cakes, but since my granny and grandaunt passed away, my mum say dun need to get the Teochew ones already...

So actually we have a wider choice now. LOL.

I'm looking at
Pat's Pastry - cakes taste really good! I had them almost every month for 2 years! http://www.pnfpastry.com/CatWiseProductList.aspx?CatID=8
Love Confectionary at Alexander Village - old school bakery with those v retro looking cakes
Balmoral Bakery at Sunset Way - also a v old school bakery!

Don't intend to go for the well known names...

Chloe, can send me the GDL package from Pine Garden for comparison? Thanks! strikingreality[at]hotmail.com

i was considering getting from KYO cake shop or Pine Garden.

Cause i used to eat alot of those traditional cakes from Pine Garden when i was young and staying in AMK.

thanks for sharing Chloe!

do we need to order the cakes in advance, about 1 mth in advance ok?

Phew, I wrote to ROM regarding the efile quota and I got a reply from them.

"Please be informed that there is no limit of e-filing for registration of marriage if it is to be taken place at an external venue such as hotel ballroom etc. We hope this clarifies."

thanks kitty for clarifying!

i also no idea where to get shoes but seriously considering flats! i wear size 9-10 hard to buy!

kittywendwend / w3n >> What are your budgets for shoes?

If around $60-75 can get at Anna Nucci.

If around $100-$200 you can get at Tangs... Tangs usually stock large sizes. Taka also has a good selection (under the brand Luciano)

If you have a larger budget of around $200+, can go and tailor make at Leapin Lizards. Do note that Leapin Lazards need at least one month for making the shoes.

If you have a budget of more than $300, you can consider Paradox at Mandarin Gallery (there have a small corner at Taka as well).

Other specialty wedding shoe shops include Loe and Behold (overpriced imo) and Sinderella (have not been there).

Actually if you just walk into a normal shoe shop and saw something you like, then just get it!

However do note that when choosing wedding shoes much consider the material of your gown. If your gown is tulle/chiffon, make sure that the crystals on the shoe are the non catch kind (ie. no claws on the crystal).

Raine > It really varies from family to family. It's best to check with ur parents or someone elderly in the family on what it should be for your family. Otherwise, U can go to the wedding supplies shop in Chinatown and ask the shopowners.

L lizards about 200+ ah ooohh I tot 100+ can get le haha then is out of my budget. Because of broad feet I prefer covered shoes but anni de shoes more of strap bling heels if not I find them affordable! Tks will drop by tangs to see see...

w3n >> You want covered shoes? Tangs Studio, the house brand has the bling strapy kind ones.

If you want covered shoes, I recommend this brand called Caparros. It is not in the normal shoe section... you have to walk further into the women's section under Tang + Co. The shoes there are v nice... only sad thing is what I want is no longer available in my size.
The shoes range from $159 to $179 thereabouts. You can also check out Paragon 3rd floor, there is another Tang + Co which stocks Caparros.

Wen, I an getting cake from KYO recommended by my fren. Nice n reasonable price. I should be getting marble cake. N not going for other pastries le.

Thanks for checking on the efile. So weird if really got quotas lo.

Thanks kass for the info! I shall go check it out, do u all have white heels n evening gown heels or only one pair?

Okie kyo more reasonable pricing ba but I would be getting the traditonal 10 pieces cream cakes I love that haha...

w3n >> Currently I only have 1 silver pair from Tangs Studio. Intend to use it for my gown, cheongsam and EG. But if the price is right, I dun mind getting another pair!

I also want traditional butter cakes! How far in advance do we have to order? How do we decide what box design do we want? Have to go directly to the shop right? Marine Parade v far...

My mum and MIL have not decided on GDL date! They taking their own sweet time! LOL.

Have you guys started working on the invites yet? Like wording etc?

i bought my wedding shoes from loe & behold, it's $149. love it to the max, very comfy and nice. Belinda design all the wedding shoes and thus it's very unqiue, u cant find it elsewhere. she will also give her advice on which type of shoes is suitable for u according to the designs / materials of ur gown. viewing is strictly by appointment only, so have to call her to make an appointment. btw, she displayed all her shoes at her house, so ony serves 1 customer at 1 time.

one of my fren went last month and belinda told her that she is going to open a shop, so i'm not sure of the latest update. u can give her a call if u r interested. =)

more details on her website:
http://www.loeandbehold.com.sg

@Kass, i'm consolidating all the wedding cards i have received from my friends and relatives. then will have a discussion with family to decide on the right wordings during CNY eve (since this is the only time, everyone is available). haha.

so have u girls decide on which day to distribute the invites? need to give it to each guest personally mah?

Kass, I have not been doing the invites.. erm.. is it the time to start? lol..

i think i may copy n paste from the few invites i kept.. =x Write n read mandarin i headache ah! =x

wen, im thinking of going KYO to order like 1 month b4 my GDL.

is it too early?

Chloe, gd idea CNY can get their Chinese Names n everything hor.. =p

mich, i think 1 month before is good enough hehe.

and yup!! CNY is a good time to gather all the relatives' chinese names, address etc. hehehe.
cos my bf is m'sian so also hardly see his relative, only during CNY or special occasion. =)

it's also a good time to annouce our wedding date to them.

Chloe, me as case as u. my dad's side all malaysian too! only CNY we go back visiting. haha So also to announce our wedding.

To get attendance, address n names.

@kass, she got different range, i guess she shown u premium range? hehe, my friend bought hers at $129.

i bought this one, love the pearls around the ankle and bow at the back. =)
1631554.jpg

I will try to ask my hotel to see if they can provide me with the standard wordings (in eng and chinese) for the invites. If they can provide, i will share it here.

Chloe - Though I dun generally like ankle straps, this is NICE!.

kittywendwend - The hotel should be able to provide you with a sample. I have 1 from GWP. If you guys need, let me know and I'll send to you.

Hello Kass! -fellow GWP bride
Can you please PM me the English+Chinese invite or wording samples from GWP? Thanks a million!