(2011/05) May 2011 BTB

Wen, need to go ROM to collect the cert den on AD must bring it along during solemnise.

Regarding CD, I heard from ppl that my hotel must show them original disc. Not sure yet. See wad they say.. Ask them can use burn cd anot. Haha

Thanks for the input! I am still thinking whether to print map or not, cuz most people will know where Goodwood Park is, unlike some hotels such as the 3 "Mandarins" in Singapore (Marina Mandarin, Mandarin Oriental, Mandarin Orchid).

As my theme is purple, I am looking for those gold string but in purple... I went Arab Street today, but cannot find. Purple string would fit into my theme perfectly. I prefer to tie with string rather than Ribbon, cuz ribbon doesn't always turn out nice...

For CDs, usually the hotel will provide you with a list of songs that they already have, so you don't need to prepare those. For any additional songs, think you need to show them original bah.

I won't be printing map on my invite cos i think pan pac shld be quite easy. moreover if i intend to go JB to print the invites, i'm not sure if the JB printer will have the map or not.

for my JP, i have contacted a few. they are either not available or can't speak mandarin. i also emailed Prof Yu but he asked me to contact him after my e-file. not too sure who else can i find.

for my songs, pan pac actually provided me with a list of songs they have. they have quite alot. they are quite nice. in the folder, there is my contract, a emcee script, list of to-do item from 1 yr before AD to AD, list of songs they have etc. i think they are quite thoughtful to provide with these extra items. what i need to do now is to try to find these songs and listen to them to see which ones i like.

@Kass, I'm getting Mr.Chiang as my JP (used by fann&christopher). He replied my email within the same day and called me to explain on the procedures etc, he sounded really friendly over the phone. Mayb u can check his availability?

My hotel is one of the 3 mandarins! Mine is at Mandarin Oriental, I think I will need to include map..and verbally clarify with relatives n friends not to confuse with marina mandarin. Haha..

michelle, go ROM to collect the cert can be anyday after we efile hor? cause i intend to file on weekday but going to collect the cert maybe on weekend. thanks ah!

Chloe Ong >> Ooh, I was considering him as well... maybe will engage him instead then.

JP Confirmed! Mr Chiang replied v quickly!

Piggy >> Same date okay bah, if the JP does multiple solemnisations. As long as different timing should be fine. Have you written to Mr Chiang for confirmation yet?

My HTB v funny, when I told him I confirmed my JP and showed him the article... he asked me,"Oh, does he come with Fann and Christopher too?".

Congrats, Kass! Ur htb so funny, my htb asked if need to pay extra? Haha.

Piggy, I think same day is ok, JP will ensure timing won't clash with one another. =)

Mich, ya!! I'm sure after CNY, we will be MORE busy, let's all Jia you!!

I'm still trying hard to find videographer cos we wan cinematography kind, but so far, either price don't match or style don't match. Argh, headache!

cocotintin >> Thanks for the reassurance! At least Chloe and myself now know that we are in safe hands!
You July BTB, got 2 more months than us for ur preps! Now I am kinda envious of you for the extra time!

I called mr chiang last yr sep. Me veri ks. Haha. He will call me again in feb or mar on wad to do n reconfirm the date n timing.

Mr Chiang called me earlier and we had a short chat on what we needed to do. He mentioned that May seems like a hot month and I mentioned that there are some other people on the Sgbrides forum who have engaged him in May! He was curious and I explained Sgbrides to him! He said he will pop by for a look!
Hahaha.

Piggy >> You can give Mr Chiang a call as well to confirm the date and timing!

Kass, nope.. My hotel provides free wines and beers for the 3 hrs! And I dont think there's a need as mine is a Sunday banquet, people will be working the next day... =) And I dont wanna spent these type of money too.. haha! =p

But will bring some hard liquor from my hse thou.. Dad has alot for display. =x

@Kass, hahaha. cute mr.chiang!

i'm going to get extra wine cos hotel only give free-flow beer and 1 btl of wine per table. but like Mich, mine is on Sunday too, so dont think my guest will drink alot. how many btls u assign to 1 table?

my fren has contact for denise wine, let me check with her and update u again. =p

Chloe > Thanks. Mine is on a Saturday, so need to prepare slightly more bah. When and Where is your wedding, btw?

I had an estimate from another Saturday bride, she had 27 tables and consumed 43 bottles of wine. Approx 1.6 bottles per table. I am preparing about 2 per table to be on the safe side bah. But hopefully can get on consignment basis, since HTB and I dun drink wine, so dun intend to keep for ourselves after the wedding.

I think you can cater 1.5 bottles per table?

Kass, Pai seh.. See wrongly. I think old notes also can ba.. Juz that don't take those really looking old de.. Lol..
But people always feel better to have new notes

@Kass, mine is on 15 May at Mandarin Oriental. I'm taking Atrium suites, so maximum 18 tables. i'm thinking of 2 bottles per table too..

i will just use normal notes for ang bao, but like what Mich mentioned, will select those 'newer' de. haha.

can anyone of u please give me the contacts for Mr Chiang? I have not gotten my JP yet. Dr Phua not available on my date and Prof Yu only accepts invitation 3 mths from AD. Since many of u mentioned that Mr Chiang is very good, maybe I can try him. and if he is the JP for fann, i will assume he can conduct the solemnisation in mandarin.

btw i heard that there is quotas for efiling. Is that true? My friend told me that for example if my date 22 May 2011 is a hot date, I may not be able to apply for efile if the quota is met.

kittywendwend >> Yes I've also heard from my friend that there is a quota, so if it's a hot date, must chiong!
Not sure how true though, but my friend basically chionged for her date!

Placed here for everyone's reference

peekaboo0939 1 May 2011 (Sun) @ Marina Mandarin
Lin H 1 May 2011 (Sun)@ Sheraton Towers
happy 2 May 2011 (Sun)
kass 7 May 2011 (Sat) @ Goodwood Park
KK 7 May 2011 (Sat)
prisci11a 7 May 2011 (Sat) @ Novotel CQ
disneyland 7 May 2011 (Sat)
Hazey 7 May 2011 (Sat) @ Mandarin Oriental
Shining 7 May 2011 (Sat)
tangerinez 12 May 2011 (Thurs)@ Goodwood Park
ethereal 14 May 2011 (Sat) @ Goodwood Park
Blackangel1512 15 May 2011 (Sun)
Chloe 15 May 2011 (Sun) @ Mandarin Oriental
Shareen 15 May 2011 (Sun) @ Orchard Hotel
Purplemoon85 15 May 2011(Sun) Sheraton Towers Hotel
Janie 21 May 2011 (Sat) @ Peony Jade Keppel Club
kittywendwend - 22 May 2011 (Sun) Pan Pacific S'pore
w3ngal 22 May 2011 (Sun)@ Grand Park City Hall
Michelle Chia - 22 May 2011 (Sun) Orchard Hotel
happyprincess - 22 May 2011 (Sun) @ Marina Mandarin
udee - 22 May 2011 (Sun) @ Marriot Hotel
ysl77 - 22 May 2011 (Sun) @ Mandarin Oriental
PrinCess 27 May 2011 (Fri)
Phoebe 28 May 2011 (Sat) @ Swiss Merchant Court
Piggy 28 May 2011 (Sat) @ Grand Mecure Roxy Hotel (Poolside)
streamstarz 29 May 2011 (Sun) @ Meritus Mandarin

I have changed notes with bank haha prefer new notes lo nicer I feel although it does not matter...

Ermmm michelle, actually orchard hotel is the hotel I wanted but was taken by u le...actually I abit sad at first cause I ask the Cordinator n she say the date still have but when we rush down the very day n sat down wanting to sign, she told me it was taken Liao so we were like pissed! Anyway I din quite like the deco but hubby like...but I like the idea tat they offer no limit wine
lucky I found my current choice, no regrets! Haha juz to share with u, seeing that we r discussing on wines...

Anyone got consignment wine to intro? Hehe

there is quota to get marry? Din know about this wor...

Wen, is it??! Haha!! Cuz we went down during workshop den tried the food n everything goes well. Both of us love the ballroom it's so cozy! So we wait till the road show at Vivo den sign de..

Btw, talking about ap, we will be giving ap to junior cousins n senior cousins? Or only junior? And our own sibling?
I know grandparents need to give. JM, XD, those helpers, And hu else?

Need to estimate den see how much money needed for only ap side

w3n - remember you asked about collection of marriage cert after the e-filing? I saw this on ROM website.

"The grant of a marriage licence to you is subject to legal time-frame. Therefore, please do not change the VD/SD appointment."

So cannot change timing. Also my JP mentioned that once u e-filed and paid the fees, the appointment date will auto pop up. It's usually 3-5 days before the AD itself.

Kass: means once I efile (3mths b4 AD) then the system gives me a date (which is a few days before AD to collect the cert) like that ah? N once we set the date n time we can't change it?

By the way, how many days of leave r u all intending to take before AD? I considering to take fri, n sat is the eve Liao, dunno enough or not...

Michelle, yah very qiao! Haha but now I know a new friend (u) thru this forum hehe!

We need to give ap to grandparents? U mean during tea ceremony? For ap I can only rem to give: helpers like sis n bro, younger cousins, own younger siblings, little boy open car door, jump on bed, an chuang couple, banquet Cordinator, emcee, lunch caterer, vg, pg, makeup artist... Miss out any?

By the way when the bride goes to groom hse, I usually see the bride has a red umbrella, is this for any particular dialect grp?

wen, for teochew or canto? haha.. cant rem..

Kass, few days b4 AD den collect ah.. so rush one. ZzzZZ.. and date n time given by ROM? like that sure need to take leave to go collect ba..

Wen, u see ah.. there's a vesak day on 17 May..
My An chuang is on 19. So i take 18(PM) and 19(FULL) and 20 (PM)

LOL!!! I plan hao hao le.. =x

wen, actually if i rem correctly the day i went OH to sign, i saw a couple b4 us and talking to the coord.. dono is it u..

Ooo mich, I can't rem which day I went down to OH le...only rem is a female staff whom I tok to...

I intend to go dye hair on 17 public holiday. 15 is AC, 16 on leave go take gowns in jb ( u think sufficient time?) 18-19 work n take off on 20 may ba...Usually how early in advance do we collect gown from jb bridal shop? I dunno wat we need to do afew days before AD so dunno want to take leave or not...

Oh I m a hokkien, no wonder mum say there is no red umbrella that she recall.

wen, I saw the couple went to the lobby de cafe after that.. haha

btw, i will collect gowns from bs 2 days b4.. hopefully 3 days b4 if can.. i dont wan last few days le still so ma fan.. but normally ppl collect 1-2 days b4 de.. I also wanna dye hair.. maybe 1 week b4..

Hi w3n and Michelle, my MUA advise me to dye hair at least 2 weeks before AD. Den if i wan to rebond hair, hav to start nw. They dun like rebonded hair. haha..

Normally how much do we need to give for AP for the helpers??

Getting so excited liao!! Still got to renovate home and prepare for wedding!

piggy.. 2 weeks b4 ah? i tot 1 week cuz within that 1 week, i wash hair den become brighter (more obvious) =x

i know they dont like rebond hair.. haha too hard to style le.. too straight..

Piggy, for helpers as in MUA n VG category or JM n XD?

For MUA n VG/PG, hotel coord, etc i am giving yi si yi si.. maybe $6 or $8 only.. (cuz we got pay them service charge leh!) lol

Den JM & XD.. JM I am giving them for gatecrash ($188 - share among 5 of them) den i bought them a dress also..so maybe the individual AP to them is $12, for XD should be giving $68 and bow tie for them

Grandparents perharps $68 each (mummy say no need too much)

Those cousins n kids also yi si yi si $6-$8.

Open door boy $18, Driver $28 (if we dont drive ourself)

I would say, yes.. I am trying to save the AP side.. =x

@Chloe thank you for the contact. I have emailed Mr Chiang already. I hope i'm not too late to book him.

@Kass 22 May is a hot date. From the list, i can see that there are at least 7 - 8 BTBs lor. OMG!!! I'm scared that i can't get married on 22 May. I will be travelling from 21 - 23 Feb, and the efile date is 22 Feb. How??? maybe i will ask a friend to register for me??

my bridal shop provided me with a list of to-dos for the PS and AD. I'm advised not to rebond my hair and also not to put conditioner on my hair the night before. I think they don't like the hair to be too soft. harder to style if too soft.

btw i have colored my hair 2 weeks ago, in time for CNY and PS which is on 11 Feb.

ermmmm yah i wonder if 1 week before AD collect gown can or not haha i dont want few days in advance just in case man...

piggy, my intention is to give 28 each for brothers and sisters (their shirt and dress is i buy for them de), then MUA, PG, VG is about $12 each, younger siblings is $10 each, hotel cordinator $38, open car $38, jump bed $28...BUT i dunno if this is too little or more than average....i also on budget! haha...emcee hor about how much is alright?

Kitty I intend to efile on 23 feb. Lol.. Funny lor got a cap for getting efile. -.-

I wanna colour my hair before CNY de. But hor later AD hair grow out sure not nice. Lol.. So dye 1 weeks before ad ba.

Conditional also cannot put ah!!

Wen, I think the ap rate roughly there ba.. Emcee maybe 68 or 88? I not sure.. Gatecrash u giving Ur jm how much? N how many of them ah?

kittywendwend >> You know the friend who told me about the quota of e-filing. Coincidentally, her wedding was on 22 May (a few years back) as well! I think you can ask someone reliable to help you e-file. But make sure u have all the necessary info on hand.

I intend to split the amount they received from the groom among them... That time, during my sis wedding, they got 488, then top up another 12 bucks to 500, each JM got $50 each.

You guys all doing something to your hair? Wah. I haven't even thought about it. Don't intend to dye as well. In fact, my hair is "virgin hair", only cut and wash and treatment, never perm/dye/rebond before.

Oh, btw, for bridal nails, u guys intend to do normal mani/pedi or?? My manicurist recommended gel nails, cuz last 2-3 weeks, so can do a week before as well, then dun need to worry so much about chipping etc. So prob I will do french gel approx 1 week before.

i am doing gel nails.. gel nails are now v common le.. very easy to maintain.. i done for my ID ps. That time i did last me 3 weeks. And v ex! But for AD, I got a $20 vourchur for gel colour den top up for other accessories.. Should be doing few days b4 ba..

Kass, u didnt did anything to ur hair b4? ur hair must be healthy? keke

i think 22may really super hot leh lol.. actually i got this date cuz it's near to my anniversary.. so we've got this date (but ofcuz this date is one of the date given by master)