(2011/05) May 2011 BTB

wen, thanks! haha.. too bad nobow tie! i checked too at the bugis pushcart bow tie 1 for 12, 3 for30 and 5 for 50...

i went to my geomancer during the wkend. i have gotten my GDL date. it's one week before my AD. he also gave me a list of items to buy for GDL, AC and JZ.

and i also went to meet a ID on fri. we discussed abt the layout and my requirements. initial quote is around $45k. is that considered reasonable for a resale 4-room HDB? he will give me the initial drawing in 2wks' time.

kitty: GDL 1 week before AD is it very rush?
Cause need to give the invites to relatives.

finally i confirmed my honeymoon trip. previously din wanted to go honeymoon so soon. Just a minimoon ba! yeah!

w3n >> you booked Bali tickets?

kittywendwend >> 45k is full overhaul? Very hard to say whether it is reasonable or not cuz we dunno what works you are doing to the flat... where is ur resale, btw?

I just signed an OTP for a resale flat in Bt Batok!
No longer homeless after the wedding!

Chloe Ong >> At the moment I am not engaging MUA for Mum or MIL. For morning, i will do the makeup for my mum. For evening, I have not decided yet.

But any recommendations on which MUA to get for mums?

Kass, i'm thinking to engage MUA for the 2 mummys, with hairstyling as well. but i'm not sure of the market rate and i have no contacts.

anyone here has recommendations?

w3n > i think 1 wk is abit too tight too but this is what the geomancer gave me. maybe i will ask him for alternative dates.

Kass > my resale is at tiong bahru. i'm buying over from my dad. i'm almost renovating the whole house, including the flooring, the carpentary, toilets etc. my friends tell me that it's quite reasonable.

Chloe & Kass > i may be engaging MUA for my 2 mummys and sister. should be for nite only. anyway they wun appear much in the morn, only the tea ceremony. hahaha. i have a contact for MUA. I used her before during my company's D&D. her name is Tin (HP: 96497588). that time i paid $80. me thinking of engagin her again for my AD but i have nt contacted her yet. I may be looking fr 2 MUAs to save time on AD.

i engaged MUA for both mum. Booked Ivy Chen for my in law for night as she will be making up at her house first and my MUA will be helping my mum (or bring assistance) to make up for my mum in the hotel for night. i did not engage for morning makeup. Both includes hair styling.

market rate is $100 if only 1 pax and $80 for each pax (for two). more may be cheaper.

not having separate invitation too.

kittywendwend >> thanks for the MUA contact.

Any reviews on Jovie from thelittlebrush?

btw when u all goin to do manicure? i'm thinking of the day before, but not sure if will be too rush. hehe.

piggy, ivy is a taiwanese and i see her makeup like not bad. charge is reasonable. you can consider!

hubby doing mani ah! thats cool. doubt my hubby will ever do haha....

have u all start searching for songs and doing of childhood montage? i am at a lost on this part.

Hehe he just do normal manicure without putting on nail colors. He's quite vain la. Haha.

For montage, we are still in initial stage, have consolidated both of our photos, but haven start doing..

HtB did a childhood montage already, but might not be using it. As VG got this service. But still looking for songs for montage also.. I wanna get those English pop songs! Lol..

i only took out the pics but....never start doing the montage haha...i think can use photostory i heard but unsure how to use....have yet to explore...

we will be using imovie..my htb is a designer so i leave it all to him for the montage.

we have not selected the songs though..hehe

I'm thinking of doing a pre-wedding video so will include our childhood pics in the video.

as for the solemnisation, i'm thinking of adding the details of the solemnisation in the invitation card so that those who wish to come fr the solemnisation can do so. else they can jus come for the dinner.

think he used normal prog in the com ba...? lol not sure wor. have to check with him.

I plan to meet up with my JM on Mar den discuss.. Me so excited on this, will leave the games to them to decide...

Babes, since this is a May brides thread.. I would like to suggest each one of us write down a "to do list" this to do list does NOT includes everything. Just the things left over u haven finish doing or haven even start. So all of us can roughly know like hu miss out wad n so on.. Cuz I have this list of thigs which some do half half, some haven do. Then not sure got miss out anything anot.

Wedding

Emcee script
20 x 50 photo
Guestlist
E file
Invites
Bouquet
Songs selection
Helpers duties
AC & GDL stuffs
Thank U Video

for me...

emcee script
haven take back my albums from bridal
guest list
efiling
AC n GDL stuff
Songs selection
thank u speech (maybe not having)
gate crashing meetup
invites
montage childhood

Kass, Yeap. If not u wait for a week max? Cuz my jp replied n confirmed me within a day only. Alot ppl also contact a few at the same time if bot wait for few days den give up?

I feel is ok to contact two or three at a time..see who reply first then u confirm with who lo nth wrong with it
but can politely reply to the others when u already found 1 jp le...

Do u all have thank u speech on AD?

i thought it's ok to contact 2-3 JPs at the same time too, cos i did that. all 3 JPs replied me within the same day, so i confirmed with one of them immediately too.

w3n, i will have thank u speech. =)

Yeap. I think there no right or wrong to contact more den 1 at the same time. Wen, I won't be having thank u speech on stage. But a simple video to thank everyone. Keke Pai seh later speak wrongly.. :x

Thanks ladies... I just trying my luck... maybe will invite someone else then.

Quick question on the invites
- Would you use plain coloured inserts or translucent inserts?
- What would you use to tie the inserts (gold string or ribbon?) or would u just stick the insert onto the invite?
- Would you include a map for directions to your wedding venue? Do u think it is necessary?

For the invite I will use which ever is cheaper cause we juz throw away at the end of the day, thinking of including map though...

Yah I m consider thank u speech using video but how to do it? Use vg to film for us ah? Haha...

Kass, I will tie gold string I think glue if didn't do well scare got ugly glue mark?
And I will include a map. I'm afraid guest go to the wrong hotel. Cuz mine is Orchard Hotel, and some ppl were asking me is it Orchard Parade Hotel!!! -.-

Wen, nope, not the "film the couple, do the talking" type video. Haha!

Hi all, i tink the invitaion cards dun need to print till so good and nice cos after tat pple will throw it away. my bf oso tinking dun include map cos how many pple will actually go study the map? haha..
i was the reception girl for my friend's wedding last sat during lunch. we encountered pple getting mixed up for lunch and dinner cos when the groom called some of the frens up, they tot it was dinner instead of lunch. some pple neva read invitation cards at all!
Den there was another wedding lunch going on beside the ballroom, and pple were confused which wedding they shld go to especially old pple since they onli know the couple's parents. There was one guy who even dropped the red packet at our side when he was supposed to go to the next wedding as he tot one side is groom, the other side is bride.
Just sharing some of the things tat i encountered and so we will not be confused on our AD.

Michelle, ya lor. cos most pple hold it during dinner, den these pple assume will b dinner lor. tink we must highlight and bold whether ours is lunch or dinner. heehee..

Agree. I aso read once n on the actual day before I go down the hotel I throw away the invite le...so I dun intend to do so nicely too, but like for Michelle is good to include map I feel...since people get mixed up the venue...later go wrong venue very mafan.

The songs for the AD u all burn into cd or buy? Ermmm I duno how to go about with it...

Mich, after we efile online, is there anything we need to do for rom?