(2011/05) May 2011 BTB

Meet up with your solemniser if he requests to.

I have a draft guest list already, recently been revising and finetuning it.

Draft guestlist should be out by this time wor.. For my side, almost confirm, only dad's frens he need to depend on HtB invite de frens alot anot, cuz if htb's frens gt alot, den my dad will decrease or remain no of ppl he wanna invite.

No stress guys! Everyone works at their own pace. As long as you have your own timeline and you are indeed following it somewhat, you should be fine.

I have not started my guest list yet. Think i will start doing it this week.

Btw I'm meeting my geomancer this Sat to get the dates for the GDL and AC, and also the ID designer to discuss abt my house reno.

my HTB still dun wan to come up guest list! he say dun need so early ! faint haha...

must FORCE him to come up with it soon man...haha...

kass: did u try BTO?

Are you all planning for honeymoon?
i am looking out for cheap flights to bali...

are you all engaging wedding band? how much is the cost?

Hi gals, i have not started on my wedding preparations and home reno yet. onli took PS and taking keys two weeks later.
Haven choose GDL date, still need to tink of how to decorate new home. will b veri broke. haha..

Dione >> Are your jiemei plus sized? or they are average sized? I'm looking for something with sleeves but + sized for my JM.

w3n >> My HTB =dun want Punggol/SK since we live in the west, so we looking at resale in the area. still house hunting... hunting for 1 year already... This month got Bt Batok BTO so we quite looking forward...

I booked Jetstar tickets for Bali for my mini-moon during their last promo in Dec. Less than $150 per pax. KLM has an offer of $205 per pax right now, which is quite decent for a full-serviced airline.

For wedding band, HTB's friends are performing as they are all in the music circle, so it's "free" lah. (We will give them angpows, as they are also JM/XD as well). I don't have exact cost, but what type of band are u looking for? Genre? Think market rate should start from $1000+?

yeah i am looking at bali for honeymoon too cause on budget haha...are u looking at any villa, any recommendation?

i am looking at a little dream which is about 1500bucks, but my main purpose is to look for emcee...did u all get friends to be emcee?

i checked KLM too but for MAY, there is no 200+ pricing layz, is 305bucks per pax...

Piggy >> I wanna go Boracay!!! But the Bali offer came up, so I grabbed it!

w3n >> There are quite a lot of recommendations on the Bali Honeymoon thread for villa, so can read there.

Piggy, we went phuket before. Maybe will go beach moon ba.. But Donno where.. Gonna check le since it's Jan now! Hehehe

As it happens, my friend is selling a $400 Air Asia voucher for $250. Destination includes Phuket,Bali, Jakarta, Malaysia, Bangkok, Hongkong. Valid till June 2011. Booking must be made at least 2 months before travel.

Interested?

kass is 250 for one ticket including tax etc?
are there other limitations?
i am looking for air tickets!

went phuket before le so i am not considering also...but boracay should be very nice! however flight is not cheap.

thanks kass, will look through the thread.

i am having headache on who to be emcee cause mandarin speaking like not alot comfortable with it!

w3n (w3ngal) >> One of my jiemei - she emcees for corporate functions and she is effectively bilingual. She will be my emcee as well. She don't do weddings, but I can ask her if u are interested? You don't have friends to emcee for you? What do u need our emcee to do?

I will check on the TnC of the voucher with my friend and get back to you.

w3n > I was the mandarin emcee for a few of my friends. when's your AD? but it's better to get friends to be your emcee cos they will know you better. if not, get a pro.

Piggy > i have not started any preparations yet too. I have only done the selection of gowns. Will be having my PS next month.

I have another nitemare now. I can only take over my house in Apr but my AD is in May. Spoken to a ID ytd. Reno will take around min 8 weeks. Now, i don't know where i can live after the wedding.

kittywendwend >> Still looking cuz my 1st choice (Dr. Phua) taken liao, and I dunno who to choose for 2nd choice. Need someone bilingual, but ppl like Mr Phang/Mr Chia like got some bad reviews. Not always consistent!

Btw, for Dr Phua, it depends on timing too, cuz on some days he does more than one solemnisation if he can make it. For eg, both w3n and Michelle are using Dr Phua on the same day, but their timings are approx 1 hour apart, iirc.

For me it's cuz Dr Phua cannot make my timing and I don't wanna change my timing.

ya i got some friends recommeding their friends for mandarin speaking MC but after consideration we may still get brothers to do it ba...shoud be better hee....i wanted to get pro but decided not to spend money on that...

yah Dr phua agreed to my ROM even though he is helping Michelle which is 1 hr earlier than me. maybe because the location is nearby ba..i was surprised he agreed to mine..but dr phua got no mobile number right? i scare he may be late cause i am having my reception at around 7.10pm...but since i engaged him, i should put my trust in him =)

Hi w3n, u may consider Mr Chiang Heng Liang. He was the solemnizer for Fann Wong and Christopher Lee. My fren engaged him before and said that he is quite good.

Piggy >> Actually I was thinking about him!
He is bilingual right? Was thinking also whether I should have a male or female JP. Not that it makes a difference though!

my first choice was Dr Phua too, but he could not make it for my timing, and wanted to do it at 4pm, which i think it's too early. so i'm looking for other JP as well.

Dr Phua replied my email. He can't make it for my AD. My AD is same as w3n and michelle, 22 may 2011. maybe that's why he is not available.

w3n & mich >> wat time is your solemnization?

Babes, for AD catering at both side, which caterer u all getting? I was thinking of Pin Shi.

Any other good deal other den Neo Garden Group?

After CNY is time to buy GDL stuff for me le.. Will be going with my parents n in laws

Oh yeah, I forgot about AD catering. During my sis' wedding, my mum prepared everything herself, so we didn't have a caterer... But I dun think wanna make her do that again...

Pinshi - is it good? Never hear before leh. Neo Garden got offer?

From my office functions and gatherings, we have used Smiling Orchid, Old Chang Kee and Stamford Catering.

Stamford and Smiling Orchid is not bad! OCK is a surprise, not as good as the old 2, but not shabby too...

I will most likely use neo garden, prefer their food..will be catering at one side only cause too much food can't finish and wasted...

I tink onli cater for the girl's side of the family for lunch onli rite? For example if u got 30 pple coming to your place, tink can cater for 25 will do. Most pple do not eat much, den the food will b wasted.

Tink both my parents side relatives+cousins will b coming to my place for tea ceremony, so gotta cater for more. faintz..

Mr Chiang is bilingual.

I hear from my sis PinShi is gd. And I may cater for 30pax for both side ba.. Or maybe one side 30 another 20. Hehe..

I think i will cater for both sides cos both sides will have relatives for the tea ceremony. I heard that Select Catering is quite cheap. but duno abt the food. More expensive ones will be Purple Sage, Eatz, Four Seasons.

Okay, I will check with my mum. My mum is so laid back! Hhahah, ask her to talk to my MIL confirm the GDL date, confirm her guest list and she is like so laissez faire about it!

I was a jm for my friend n I realised too much food n end up all wasted even thou the relatives quite alot but eat little...brothers n sisters dun eat much :/ thus decide to cater only one side. The other side will buy some sushi party plates, beehoon, snacks etc...Cause hard to find catering for less than 20pax lo...except neo garden dunno which others are good ne..

Kass u check with ur friend already?

Wen, true. I also be JM few times food really wasted. But nochoice, both side also gt ppl. Dun order too much lo. If not I tt of dun order main food. Order those snacks category one.. Also another way ba..

Hey all I went arcade to see the ties le, 5 bucks each n alot of design colors but I dun see bow ties...n ah pei design buy 5 for 10 bucks haha...weekend sun close sat bu Yi ding de...the Indian uncle say alot of wedding couple go there buy...hope this helps!