(2010) 2010 Brides

angelia: dun get influence by us, if you thinks is ok for them to take the aps..

elsie> I tink no use tellingthem de lor, coz they will say they had a hard time bring u up & all nonsense. haha!

angelia> Haiz... I oso dun 1 2 gif de leh, but sumtimes see him like very sad leh, coz sumtimes mayb really cant earn much, so he's onli looking forward to every mth end wen we'll gif him $$.

elsie > that doesn't work lorr ... =P my wife tried. People only listen to reason when it benefits them.

try this instead ... "mummy, so you take X tables AP, what are you giving me for dowry ? my friend's mum gave her a diamond bracelet"

Elsie, He did propose with a diamond ring. Is the experience.

Darrel, How u know abt the smokin incident? Ya.. I basically bwg.. My bf don catch hint entirely.. Really...

Randyce, ya I should b glad he proposed? I cried like 5 times after he propose alone tinkin why my fate is like this!! Gosh.. I don1 tt proposal...

Booy, I treasure him that I plan so much for his last yr bday. Ends up mine? Haix.. I bwg...

Angelia, miss ya so mucch too!!! V v long nv c liao~~... Haix.. He is not thick-skin, but should a proposal be so hastily done too? Is jus very so damn insincere.

elsie > like i said, take with a pinch of salt lorr.. this astrology, geomancy, only fun to know. I still believe that the future is up to us to create.

anyway the website is generic larr, there are about 10,000,000,000,000 other rules/calculations that you need to use.

darrel> Ha! My parents dun work on tat part on dowry, coz if gif dowry, it's my mum pays for it, but take ap $$ is my dad take. haha! My mum got ask my sis b4, see wen free we go choose jewellry for her dowry, but my sis says no need.

elsie> I tink even if u dun fully accept, oso no use lor, eventually will still need to accept de lah. Mayb later on got more "san gu liu po" tell ur mum tings, den mayb she'll gif in?

alicia > wah u so good give so much to ur mum .. for me i give a sum to my mum only cos she manage my dad's money as well .. but i only give abt $250/mth .. same as my sis ..

alicia: YES!! i got no choice! & stupid san gu liu po! hahahaa! my father still tell me take it easy.. wah the lost i made hoh i can do renovation for my new hse liao loh!

All,

I c u all.. Especially e guys here, is like a relief that there's still some guys in e world in a corner that is meticulous to their girls..
Who comes to forum understand the problems of marriage and wedding etc.

My bf? He is earning v v lit, and he wanna carry a big hat.. For eg if he earn $2k, he said he gonna gif his mom $500.. Gosh!! U all say he know hw to think nt lo? I tot aft marriage, guys should prioritise its own family (his wife, future children etc)?

I feel no security..

elsie> don't worry abt me.. i'm ok.. =)

alicia> sometimes i also feel tat way, but after i tink abt it, i feel that he have more den enuff $ to spend as he don't contribute at all.. cos the compnay give him a vehicle to drive, petrol/parkin claim frm company, onli need to pay for own meals and hp bills...

diane> ya.. it's been a long while.. where u disappear to? i don;t tink he did it hastily, i would rather say he still sincere abt it, but nervousness get over him...

eve> haiz... Not i 1 2 gif so much, is my mum request de lor. U noe every yr wen i got my bonus, she'll come cham siong wif me how much more i shld gif her for tat mth. Like if i got 1 mth bonus, den she'll ask "how much u giving me tis mth?" Den i'll calculate b4 hand like eg, if my salary is $1k per mth, den yr end got 1 mth bonus (13th mth), den i'll take like if every mth i gif her $200, den tat "bonus" mth i'll gif her max $400 (calculate based on "bonus" for her oso), so if i got 2 mths bonus, den i'll gif her max $600 & so on. But usually if max $400, i'll jus say i'm giving her $300, coz she sure will neg for more, so as long as it's within the $400, wateva we neg, den i'll gif her lor. My dad will take watever amt i gif him, he dun neg wif me. So i'll add another mth of "bonus" for him oso lor. If i got 2 mths bonus, den i'll add 2 mths bonus for him.

elsie> Haiz.. it's like tat de lah! Wat to do?! Dun like oso gotta accept lor. Jus haf to treat it as if u throw the sum of money away or lost it.

Jaq> No lah! Coz it's my mum request de lor, so i got no choice, & upon seeing my mum paying for everyting & my dad pays for nth, so i dun mind gif mum more lah.

last time my mum was always looking to take all my ap for the dinner but i manage to talk her rd saying maybe my bf can give u more pin jin. den if the dinner we did not lose too much than maybe give her abit more lor

alicia >> my mum is ok de la .. so everything if i got increment she also gets 'increment' loh .. haha .. so far i only had 13th month bonus before but i also nv give her de ... keke ... as for the number of tables, she say confirm muz give her de n she'll take the aps but she did say she wun ask for alot of tables cos she know my hubby not very well to do .. den if need more tables she will pay .. so far i've told her i'll give her 6 tables loh so roughly worth abt $5k liao ..

Angelia,

Rmb that time quarrel so frequently that I don think of marriage anymore? So i don allow myself up to Sg Brides aft that since he is nonchalent bt it..

I can tell u, he is totally nt nervous. He has done it the ez way and the hastily way.

Jaq, what!! Hw u know? Damn small world.. So hu is ur bestie?

eve> Ya lor, at least ur mum ok. My dad wants 10 tables, ap for 10 tables all go 2 him 1st, den out of wich, he said he'll take $5k & the rest return us, but my sis says she wont let him do it. So i oso dunno wat my sis will do or tell my dad. =(

alicia> to a extent, i feel tat he's not doing anything and i hate it.. the worse thing is he even ask my mum for $.. ridiculous!

eve> same same.. if i get increment, i will increase the $ also...

angelia> Haha! My dad oso like tat! But my mum makes sure he returns her the money. Like if my dad comes home play mahjong, if he got win, den my mum will ask from him a small amt.

angelia > haha .. my mum is chin chai one la cos she lives with the mindset that she does not want to live off children .. so from poly onwards, me n my sis paid our own poly fees le .. den when we came out to work, she expects us to give allowance but within our limits so she nv expect specific amt or ask for more de ... which is why i came to term with the fact tat thou me n hubby paying for the banquet/wedding ourselves, she wants the aps for the tables given to her den be it loh ..

alicai> at least ur dad returns a bit.. mine... haiz.. don't even return.... sad...

diane> i guess fights are unavoidable in a r/s.. just that unhappiness muz be resolve.. y not see a marriage counselor? i bet he muz have pluck up all his courage to propose to u.. even though he may not have done the most romantic way, but he did it..

Why don u all turn the situation ard? Like rather ask them hw many tables they want or need, jus tell them hw many tables u gifin them.

For eg my case: I want the minimum of 15 tables, max 20 tables.. Aft discussing w my htb hw many tables he need and I need den we jus tell our parents 'dad u are entitled one table of frens, mom u are entitled one tables of frens'. As we are making our wedding a very small one. So no problems. Den i also gt tell my mom 'we pay for e banquet, we tell e APs'... My mom initialy tot that she will pay for her no of tables, then e tables APs she take (cos she know sure lose de, den she wanna help me decrease my losses.. But i tell her don need. We pay, we take.. Simple..)

My mindset is yes though wedding and marriage involves 2 family but it still boils dw to the both of us. Hw we want it to be, we have e biggest say. We cannot suit everyone.

diane > actually i think going for marriage counselling/preparation course is good.

My colleague went for one before he got married. the course touched on issues like money, how to handle in-laws. There was one section where they asked the participants to write down (seperately) 5 sweet things that their partner did for them in the past week, to teach them not to take things for granted.

Angelia,

Is not the courage. Pls trust me. He done it in a 'anyhw' way. Like normally ppl ask 'Chi Bao le ma?'.. Is v v normal.. Couldnt be any more normal.. Is kinda anyhw whack... Aiya, i am so frustrated when tokin bt my proposal. Let's jus leave it alone. I am so nt happy and jus nt happy. I really have e tots is jus forgo e lavish wedding I had prepared. Jus sign the damn papers with 2 witness and tt's it.

elsie > aiyah .. how u know my colleague is malay =P

but seriously though, the course he went for sounded really interesting. Anyway newlyweds can claim $80 off wedding prep courses from MYCS or something, so it may be something to look into.

ying: u then no.1 supporter of sgbrides forum lor...reached home immediately must report to forum wahahhahaha

darrel: me can take hints quite well hor so not true lah what u said...

all: thanks for the consoling words...me just came back from workshop, today on urgent leave...later gg back to collect car...

Darrel,

both of us nt interested in that. But thx so much for ur advice.. Really appreciate it.. I gt to admit we are very sweet this few days.. Everything is so perfect. Jus that when it comes to impt dates, events, memories. He always jus anyhw do.. My bday is like so impt to me.. My 20th bday!!! He can don celebrate with me.. Haix i bwg really.. Since my bday also nv celebrate le, i don c e need to celebrate his bday, vday, anniversary, xmas also. Also proposal? Hastily, anyhw done. Gosh.

Elsie,
U mean ur mom silent objection? Jus let her go and silent lo.. They must know the point lei. Wedding in Singapore is alrdy so hard to make liao, they still want this and tat? Gosh no way lo. If I were u, I will jus tell her, "I will still support u after marriage, u want so much nw for what? U choose urself lo, take nw once and alot alot like ancient. Or take abit at a time like modern.." If my mom and dad like that, I really feel don need a wedding ardy. Why make myself so jialat? Or make a wedding w/o them, jus frens, no relatives.. For my case is different, I want a lavish wedding with this and that. My parents are the ones who say jus make a simple one, don spend so much on wedding, jus a one day event blah blah blah.. I really hope u all de parents can c e pictures and don make thing difficult for u all..

darrel: cos my malay colleague told me the same thing. complain its a two days course, & need to write 5 good & bad things.. then she said whenever her bf write bad thing abt her, he will add on "Sorry babe!" 5 bad things, there are 5 "Sorry babe!"... hahaha! kinda cute!

I am currently taking the marriage preparation workshop..4 sessions..only attended the 1st 1, 165 questions for u to answer on life, marriage etc..tough manz but really can actually know what's ur perspectives n rule abt life is..then the counsellor will meet up with us when she gotten our results n analysis then discuss with us.
thomas: u pray already?

darrel> i also thot of gg but donoe y my bf say no need... '~'

thomas> so did they manage to find out how come ur windscreen break suddenly?

diane> i belive there are other things that he done tat brighten up ur day.. =) mayb he's juz not tat type of guys who place much emphasis on any occasions..

diane: i understand what u saying & i have the urge to say tat too! but i dun wanna make it so bad.. afterall we are one family..

thomas: welcome back!! better pray leh!

Angelia,
Haha.. He didnt.. I am glad enough when day by day passes w/o quarrel.. Last yr 19th bday is so much better lo.. Haiz.. Nth to say. Btw, wanna add me in facebk: Nne Ane

U can c e tiny proposal ring there. Lol..

jaq: not yet, no time, went to buy things for Qing Ming. Will be going with my fren to pray

angelia: they said kena stone chip, but honestly i cant see anything. they can tell from one look at my windscreen..power sia. Been in this line for over 10yrs, they are windscreen replacement specialists according to my insurer...

jaq > me first started my mpc in nov last yr .. so far go twice only ... still got 2 more sessions drag till now hvn go ... haha ..