(2010) 2010 Brides

Sharlene> Not necessarily to be IT grad.. But you need to be quite technical if you are doing IT projects.. There are PM for non-IT projects that you might fit in better if you are not those techy kind.. If you are really interested in PM, can consider PMP certification... Will put you in a better positin for such PM jobs..

Darrel> My standard meetings are 4 hours long.. And I had 2 yest... Can really be so draggy that I will end up surfing net while the users stray off to other topics..

PM is impt if it is a big project... For small projects, PM is not that impt bah... Endure with the customers while your PM and Dev Manager are missing.. haha..

one question... those who's ROM is different date from the AD, did your parents meet up formally with the other side ? or 1st formal meeting at the ROM ?

i still dunno if I'm supposed to arrange for a lunch or dinner for them.

hmmmmmmmmm.... think i dun intend to let my parents and in-law meet before ROM because i scare they may not have common topic. also i scare one party may not be happy with the way they talk as both family come from very different background.

Somemore all these years my family isn't very pleased with my future sister-in-law.......

i was worried about the no common topic too... but eventually will have to meet

it also feels wierd knowing that u are marrying their daughter (or son) when they haven't even met the other sides parents ...

but then again, a couple of my friends also... first time the parents meet was at their ROM...

booy: haha..i have gotten my PMP cert late last year..juz took up the course together with hubby..heh...so juz asking if i can put this cert to use..

think it's ok to meet during rom.... because they will give u face on the big day...... then will have a topic like.... buy house... give birth...blah blah... as usual

then girl side will proceed to what pin li they want..... what 4 dian jin..... =)

Sharlene> Oh.. that's good.. Then you will stand a better chance...

Darrel> Our parents met before the ROM... I would think this is a common practice.. Afterall, they will have to meet eventually...

Aveline> Yah.. No choice.. this is part of our job scope...

hmmm talking about meet the parents session..

Darrel/Thomas: u all got or will go ur wifey's house to ask for her hand?

BTBs: u all got or will have ur bf going to ur house or parents asking for ur hand?

in layman terms: ti qing..

booy: tats gd..haha..hopefully lo...

darrel: eh..our parents met officially at the ROM..before tat they met before liaoz..at the airport..coz hubby and me went overseas together..

ah..like that eh...coz my colleague's bf juz went to her house to ti qing..this never came across my mind coz I thought nowadays is just meetup for dinner on both sides then talk about wedding stuff nia n that's it..then they meet again before the banquet for food tasting.

jaq > ask for her hand ... ermmm we kindoff took the short cut. The day after I proposed, we went to her house and told her parents "We are going to get married", then went to tell her grandparents "Grandpa, I am going to marry your grand-daughter" (its a statement, not a question ...). after that then told my parents.

My wife's colleague did it the traditional way, which was he + parents went to the wife's side to formally ask.

darrel: OMG..we din..what my bf do is actually straight tell my mum about the wedding stuff, her opinion..n juz verbally tell my parents when we getting married...coz they kind of know we gonna settle down after getting the flat.

maybe shld ask my bf abt this..he cfm wun wanna do it..LOL.

Darrel: our family met 3months before our rom.. still okie..but eventually over the lunch, they merely talking about their children (us)...

Jaq: but haven ti qing.. cos ti qing is more for customary.. this is the time when they talk on terms...

jaq > actually when the go ti qin, supposed to bring gifts also ...

so mine considered in between liao. If ask me to tell my parents to go with me, I dunno how to open mouth and ask my parents to do... :P

visha > the pin li negotiation part can get quite messy. its not going to be nice if end up both side parents unhappy. Sometimes the situation will become ... the brides family think the groom's family too insincere and stingy, and the groom family think the bride's family out to ketok them. so its a bit tricky.

My wife and I decided to negotiate with her mum directly first, then confirm liao, I'll go tell my parents that whatever they ask for, just say ok. (except the part where they sell me to africa).

Anyone here can advise me that for example on AD itself... Bride's Side was given 5 tables means that the 5 tables of AP will be given to my parents and not to us right ?? Abit Blur cos ydae my BF mentioned to me that his mama said not lidat is we keep the money ourselves not my parents wor...

aveline:coz my colleague is getting ROM this Oct so her bf did that few days back..ROM means legal married mahz..
darrel: ya need to have some gifts..my colleague just ask the bf to buy some fruits..damn funny lor.
Ya I also worried abt the meetup of discussing the guodali n pinjin etc coz we intend to do it in May09 after my bf back fr TW. Wonder will cause both sides not happy bo..

all > oh my mum was saying nearer to the wedding my hubby with his parents muz come my house to ti qing de ..

annisan >> ya i wan to transfer but can only transfer deposit n not package .. if not very worth it sia cos my pkg signed last july mah .. sighz ..

annisan > give table means the grooms family pay for the table, the ang pow will be kept by your parents. Whether ur parents give it back to you is a different issue.

Thats was also the first shock i had when we were planning for the banquet, cos I was paying for it. In this aspect, the groom got no say in it. If he say its like that, then tell him to negotiate with your mum.

jaq > i went empty handed... hee hee. I agree that the pin jin part is a bit tricky ...

all > drats .. now i have to figure out where to arrange dinner for 2 big families.

darrel: smore I'm the only child n my bf is only son LOL..more tricky I think..
2 big families? u n ur wife got alot of siblings?

For us, we just meet up with both parents nia..
me off work liaoz..talk to u all tonight..bb

annisan > now waiting for my banquet mgr to advise me how much discount and perks he can offer me at my own club ... hehe .. i ask him to try to match price, menu and perks of OPH ... haha

jaq > not very big family .. but brother and sis married and got kids... so if ask everyone, then its 7 adults, 3 children. plus my wife side 5 + grandparents... need 2 tables.

The kids are supposed to be the conversation topic.

we will probably tell them cannot discuss pin li on that day :P

after that bring the kids shopping for the flower girl dresses and page boy stuff.

me at home haha...

Darrel: for me, our parents met each other only on our ROM day at the Registry lol

annisan: give tables means the APs for those tables will be given to the bride's parents (eg. ur parents). Whether ur parents give them back to u or not is another story.

Jaq: I went to my wife's house that time and formally asked my late FIL for her hand

darrel: that's really quite big a family...my bf's father got 9 siblings...only 1 not married, the rest married n got 2-3 kids...tats y my question on the tea ceremony..haha

jaq > if extended family, then i'll faint.. my dad is #4 in the family ... got 5 brothers and 2 sisters... my gf side also huge family... which is why my banquet... 1/2 is family.

storing up energy to party on the weekend ...or venue hunting... or house shopping ... or gown shopping ... or photographer shopping ....

arrgghh .. so many things to do

darrel: okay..tat sounds like super alot of things to do!!!i goin to party this weekend!!heee...

thomas: haha..congrats!!wahaahahah...tats v fast hor..1 mth liaoz..v soon..i will be celebrating 1 year anni with my hubby le..