(2010) 2010 Brides

what's ur email, thomas? i dunno how to attach files using PM.

ying, yeah lor. heard tt the other hotels din really raise their prices in view of e recession. hmmm

happy girl: think carlton price up, novotel price up.. think other will up a bit ba.. cause no matter what, couples will still get married in view of recession...

All, juz came back frommeeting Mr Neo from overthemoon. He's very gd, showed us his recent works (whether it's edited or raw) Asked him on his AD package! Very cheap n reasonable!! Maybe more or less confirm him le..

Booy, my email is [email protected]

yes michelle, i signed up w him for rom already.

All> Hi all! Went for the Merchant Court wedding dinner yest. Waiter change plates after every dish. No refill of drinks until asked. Also change the whole glass wen refill. Service gd. Now is time for the review...

Overall, the ballroom quite big wif 1 projector at a side. But dun quite like the theme coz it looks very oriental. Aircon is very cold, food wise some so-so, some gd.

1. Swissotel Merchant Court Combination With Suckling Pig -> There's the jelly, suckling pig, deep fried golden pouch, mayo prawn & (i forgot wat), not bad, whole prawn, unlike some hotels they will cut the prawns into half

2. Braised Shark's Fin Soup With Crabmeat & Fish Maw -> Nice, still got a bit "traces" of shark's fin

3. Deep Fried Boneless Chicken With Mango in Thai Chilli Sauce -> It's a bit sweet, sour & spicy. Mango is sweet. dun quite like tis dish coz wen the dish is put on the table, 1 look at it like chicken cutlet.

4. Poached Live Prawns With Ginger & Spring Onions In Rice Wine -> The prawns are fresh. Very nice... *thumbs up*

5. Steamed Live Garoupa In HongKong Style -> Hmm.. The fish is fresh, but the fish is sea bass leh, dunno is it the same as garoupa. But a very strong mud taste.

6. Wok Fried Pearl Scallops & Prawns With Broccoli In Yam Ring -> Hmm.. The scallop was cut into thinner pieces, but fresh, same for prawns. Broccoli & yam ring is cold, meaning it has been cooked in a while alr. Scallops & prawns are a bit warm, not very hot. Yam ring not nice, coz cold liao, so not crispy.

7. Braised Slice Abalone & Flower Mushrooms With Spinach -> Not bad, but spinach not much taste wen eaten on its own. Abalone tender & a bit chewy, nice. Mushroom is big & soft, nice.

8. Stir Fried Udon With Shredded Chicken In Black Pepper -> Udon is nice, not too soggy or uncooked, just nice. Not spicy although wif black pepper, not much black pepper smell. Chicken not a lot, can barely see or eat it, but overall tis dish is nice.

9. Red Bean Paste With Glutinous Rice Ball -> Glutinous rice ball is those off-the-selves type wif peanut filling. Red bean paste is sweet & smooth. Overall not bad, but dun quite like the rice ball.

ylng, dun have hard copy for AD de, but ROM one i can email u if u wan.

For AD package he only have 2 types, one is 688, another is 888. If u need extra photographer addtional charge of 250. For the 688 package, u won't have the photos developed, only return in disc, about 400 pics, den 888 package, he will develop the 400 pics. Timing will be from 7am-12am. If earlier den 7am, must pay addtional.

Find that this is a very gd deal!! Cuz angelia sent me alot of PG packages, all are so ex! This one is really reasonable

congrats... lol

FH asked his mum which r e relatives need to invite for rom... Den MIL asked my FH why rom dun do tgt wif AD on e same day... Den MIL asked why buy so many rings... =.=!

congrats alicia!

care to share the design? is it a bustier, spag, toga, off shoulder, cap sleeve or long sleeve?

im now a bit troubled bout my banquet. booked novotel but now they have special price for their auspicious dates. already emailed them to ask what is considered auspicious. do u think 12.12.2010 is considered auspicious?

my bf replied her for e rom n ad de : den u give me money lor" *faintZ* den his mum quiet he said...

for the ring one... his mum asked hu pay, he say he pay, den e mum say har.. not share one meh... he replied cuz i'm not working...

Kind of stressed after all this..

Happy girl, u how old ah? sounds young.. kke

Happy girl, Ya, bf bought 1 proposal 1 pair wedding bands.. I guess cuz during the older times, e man propose wif a ring den e guy juz buy addtional ring for himself... dun 1 pair of bands like now...

Happy Girl> 12.12.10 mite not b considered as auspicious, but considered a hot date coz of the double digits. My ROM dress is a white colored, no sleeve but half de, & can oso b a halter-neck. It's knee-length & wif "flowers-shaped" at the bottom. Eh, i not so gd at describing, so dunno whether u understand or not. lol...

Michelle> Wah! Sounds like ur FMIL seems difficult eh...

alicia

what do you mean no sleeve but half de? haha i also quite stressed bout my rom dress for this june. i heard tt bridal shops dun have much rom dress de. is it true? cos most of their dresses for ad?

wah double digits considered hot dates... then 02.02, 03.03, 4.04 and etc also considered lor. i just read regent's pricelist. they have special auspicious dates calculated by a certain geomancer, like say 15 days in every month. then those auspicious dates all have to pay more. really know how to make money. wah if novotel force me to take the exp package, i really gonna change my date or something.... i honestly din think that was considered hot...

alicia, this i'm not sure... cuz so far, they treat me really gd... but after married gt diff story liao... (most of e time is like tt one)

Maybe my bf their only son so they are more protective towards him ba... lolz.. overall they are gd.. They dun mind if we nv go nask for gd dates or wad.. cuz they free thinker... it's my mum hu wants mi to get gd dates.. Think they are quite open minded for traditional things oso... still not sure... haven discuss oso..

Happy Girl> From wat i see from my BS, ya, they dun haf much ROM dress, but although the ROM dress quite limited, but they got different designs for it, & most of their dresses can alter to ur size de. U noe i fat mah, so 2day wen i went down to try tat dress, although doesnt fit me, but they measured my size & will alter for me to my size, so wen i go down again on 15 March, the dress shld b according to my size le, jus haf to make the rest of the alteration (if any). Coz of my big size, we request for a shawl to go wif the dress (to cover up my upper part so as not to expose too much). lol... Half de meaning there's no sleeve, no spaghetti, etc.

Happy Girl> Mayb some of their auspicious dates mite include lunar 8th mth, lunar 9th mth, some 15th day of the mth?

Michelle> Haha! I oso hope my FMIL wld b a nice person to live wif... But from my "stories" to my colleague, she felt tat my FMIL mite b a difficult person.

oh i see... i also scared dun have anyone tt suits me. u mean they can alter any dress mah? that means need to have extra cloth at the two sides for them to alter hor... other than shawl, u can also use those fur fur jacket. i bought one at far east for about 60 bucks. (just in case, haha) then last week, i went parkway parade i saw e same jacket selling for 30+ at isten. looks a bit like wearing furry wings. can hide arms too. it is sleeveless/capsleeve like tt. just a suggestion lor.

Happy girl/ Alicia, from what i feel for ROM dress it's better tobuy from outside.. den next time can wear for functions oso... dun cost that much too... But groom one rent is better.. unless in future u need to use it, den go n tailor one coat..

i hope my date wont be one of their hot dates lor. can only wait for the coordinator to reply. sigh.... i tot say 10.10.2010 or 20.10.2010 shld be considered hot. well anyway just my own fears, maybe it is not....

Happy Girl> haha! Ya, tot of the furry jacket, but my sis says the BS shld haf, so no need to buy ourselves yet.
Coz my ROM dress oso can be worn as a halter-neck, so my sis & the co-ordinator says wen i go down for final fitting, den we're gg to try out the halter-neck design, den see whether we 1 the halter-neck or not. if dun 1 halter-neck, den need the shawl, if 1 halter-neck, den no shawl, coz they say if halter-neck & shawl, like too much le, not so nice. So gotta wait till 15 March den will finalise lor... Ya, most of the BS dresses/gowns will haf extra cloth at both sides for alteration de.

Michelle> Ya, actually my back-up plan is to buy lor, if i cant find 1 in the BS.
coz i told my sis if i buy, den i can wear again for her AD cum ROM.
But i tink wen her AD cum ROM, i shld b able to get 1 ROM dress from the BS to wear oso, coz 2day the boss ask my sis whether 1 2 find 1 ROM dress to wear for my ROM wif me oso.
keke!

hi michelle

i know nowadays dresses are quite affordable. but i tot the ones provided by e BS are nicer w more details, look more like bride type? im not sure cos i haven been to see. heehee. moreover im worried if i buy a dress fr e mall and bump into someone wearing same thing as me...nowadays girls always wear so nice even when shopping!

alicia,

that dress is nice. looks bubbly. haha. btw i read fr e recent her world magazine tt girls who are bigger sized suits bustier, spag better. to think tt i initially tot off shoulders will be suitable for me! but the mag says off shoulders suitable for girls w long necks and not for ppl w fleshy arms....

ah quiet meh, I was out for past 6hours...I rec 46 email alerts for this thread..LOL

wkdays will be v chatty coz all in office, alt-tab multi tasking hahahahaha..think we be discussing more on BOWS2009 this coming wk bah..

booy:that's great..for me I think carlton can't liaoz..nw pinned hopes for miracle..HAHA

ya normally double dates will be more ex for banquet n popular..so have to book early.

Happy Girl> B4 i tried on the dress 2day, i've tried on different designs de, i've tried the 1 tat u saw (i classify as half), halter-neck & spaghetti. Tink halter-neck suits me more, so i shld b looking more at halters instead of half, so the dress tat i've confirmed as ROM dress can act as both a half or a halter, but i haven try on the halter for tis dress yet.

Happy Girl> Oh ya! I tink the design of the dress/gown itself oso plays an impt part to make us look thinner. 1 particular halter gown tat i've tried on, my mum says i dun look as fat, coz the design at the abdonmen area is less complicated (not too many embrodery) & it's the flow of the cut tat makes me look not as fat.