(2010) 2010 Brides

agon-e: yah lor..coz my parents takin 20 tables..but thou they say will return all the angbaos to us..but i mean...i juz budget JUST IN CASE!!haha...

booy: i hope to break even eventually..but its better to budget for more loses just in case..hahaha...=p

HappyGirl: hmz..i rem mine wasnt so ex..think he prolly increased his pricing already...

Hi Jaq,

that a tricky question.It really depend on how close u are with your friends. I think if really that close, then u have to lor.

For such case, i rather be v up front n asked my frd direct. cos if 2 of them attend the banquet, they also have to give u more...tt y i will ask them direct if it really close frds...if not, will see if i really have spare table anot...

Shar: ur parents good leh, they still return u ur angpows...my FW's mum wun return to us if those guests 'accidentally' pass to her. This was what happened when her elder sis got married last time, and when her sis asked her mum to return the angpows to her, she kena scolded and replied her that she's got every right to keep them cos she treats that as the costs to bring them up...

Thomas & blue diamond,

Ya i know open AP in front is not gd & rude.. Jus a suggestion but i know i wont do it de la.. Reduce till 20 tables liao.. Cannot reduce anymore.. So dono lo.. Mayb will reduce to 18 tables ba..

sharlene and diana > ya! better to budget..otherwise after the wedding have to go to the back and wash dishes for them liao..lol!

diana > which ballroom/hotel do you have in mind? was it the meritus? sorry i seem to have short term memory loss these days lol

Alicia: topic is wedding dinner at hotels and how to cut down on potential losses eg. cheapos who give $20 angpow and still got the cheek to eat a 10-course meal...

thomas > hahah yeah loh..lack of sleep man, lack of sleep..

eh think of it on the bright side..$20 is better than the poor ppl who received cardboard paper loh..like what diana was saying..lol.. if that's the case id rather get a coffee maker from my banana in laws than a cardboard paper ang pow :P at least can give away as recycled xmas gifts..or housewarming gifts..love booy's suggestion lol

lol...if I ever get cardboard paper (touch wood) in my APs, I sure #$@^&%#*^%*#%*#$#@Q#@!%^$&^%#*@#^@#$^$#&@$&^@$

LOL

Oh! I tink my fren is a potential $20 ang pow giver. haha! Even $30 oso need to "chase" her for payment. -_-" But i tink my bosses shld b giving a decent amt.

hahahaha u all v funny leh talking abt angbao thingy...wanna check..will u all emphasize to the 'receptionists' to state the guests name on their angbao?coz some dun do that...was thinking like that u shld b able to know who give 1..if is fren or colleague, 'severe ties' with them immediately..HAHAHAHA =X

Jaq> Very impt.. I will ask them to do so.. You can not only catch the cheapos... But also to thank the ones who give a lot... =)

agon-e: HAHA..i agree with u!!hahaha..

jaq: yah lor..i will insist they write names..muz record down after tat so that we can li shang wang lai...see how much they give den we give back next time...

Jaq, Booy, Sharlene> But dun 4get tat sumtimes is the giver put the ang pow in the ang pow box themselves, w/o gg thr the recept. Btw, my mum says tat my relatives will gif ang pow directly to my dad, so my dad keeps the money & he told my sis he'll take 5k out of the ang pows & gif the rest (if any) to my sis to settle the bill. Tat's y i expect to lose at least 5k.

ya lor ... if giver put direct into the AP box and nv write then also bo bian ... unless u dun place the AP box on the table for people to directly put in ...

hehehe...what i did for my ROM reception was that i have an extra namelist and ask my receptionist to help me remind them to write their name...so once we are in hotel room, match the ang pao against the namelist...hehehehe

I am shock to see some of them also give misery for it as well...

For my AD, i have planned on certain people which i will make losses as they are some financially tight pple...but they are kind n sincere frds/colleague which i believe they will be more than happy if invited...therefore i dun expect to breakeven from them...

Those i really cant stand is that act v rich,act v high post n atas kind...end up been your $20-$30 ang pao giver...hehehehe. I mean if pple really poor, but just want to give their blessing and happy to witness yr wedding, i am more than happy to cover the losses for them...but not this kind though...hehehehe( am i v bad?

I probably thinking knowing our guest well is impt as u probably will know how much they will give..tt y i did stream line my list just in case those pple who last min play u out or those really just never understand the market rate kind...heheheh

I will ask my recep to ask them to pen down their names behind e APs lo.. There'll be many many pens in case some gif excuse nv bring or wat but the pens are used by others for writing their wishes in e Guestbook.. So I will prefer many many ballpoint pens for them to write their name behind e APs..

Yes!! My hotel 2010 package is out le!!! YEAH, OUT TODAY.. But I cannot book.. LOL.. Cos waiting for their wedding show.. We have tentatively book my date le, so if anyone wanna get my dates needa go thru me 1st. LOL.. As in, I got e priority to e date lo..

For my case, i invite those very close relative.. Even if mom & dad wanna invite their frenz, I make sure I got c them b4 de.. Like my dad close frenz, we meet every cny for dinner tgt.. Is like a gathering every once a yr.. This type my dad can invite.. Can invite his boss cos I gt c b4.. But those my mom's friend I nv c b4 de, I tell her don invite. But i ask her Invite her best fren 'Auntie XXX' last time young v gd to me, always bring me go play de..

My side all very closely related except father's side cos only meet them once a yr.. But no worries only 1 table for his family side nia..

But I very very scare my htb's side.. His relative many.. Den I ask how many chilren younger than primary school, he reply 2 tables!! XIAO!! Nowaday children also don like to follow parents to wedding, I dono why he keep insist to invite them lo..

He say what if we don count the children, but they bring e children den how?

But my mindset is what if he count e children, e children don come den how?

I think my e probability of my secenario occurrance is higher lo..

Even my mom said don needa invite children de..
I read from wedding card forum that Normally just invite 'Mr XXX & spouse' only what..

But his mindset is 'Mr xxx & family'..

How??

Diane> My parents oso say children no need invite, but i'm close to my cousins, & even if onli invite my aunts & uncles, but invitation card still write "Mr XXX & family", but anyway, i'll leave these to my parents, afterall they onli got 10 tables, so they gotta choose carefully. But according to my mum, she say although invitation card put "& family", wen nearer to AD den they will call again to check the exact no. of person gg den my mum say if really exceeds the 10 tables, den they'll jus add more tables (last min) & they will pay for the extra tables lor. But my AD is after my sis's, so i still can gauge the total no. of ppl turning up during my sis's AD & rough est. tat amt for mine.

Hi alicia,

I will be e 1st to get marry in my family..

I am 21yo (already very young) when wedding, eldest grandchilren in e family le..

I nv gif anyone tables, my mom & dad can invite their frenz (must be I've seen b4 de) but we pay, we take APs lo..

E ting now is e ballroom I like is max 20 tables only.. I must count properly, I know ur plan is good, but we cant do it last min..

Imagine nv count children, we got 20 tables, then last min call them they say they bringing children den I die? Really cannot add tables le..

I just love e ballroom & I don want my guest list to be more than 20 tables (more ppl = higher risk of loss).. Beside, invite only the really close de will do..

I will invite my cousin, those same grandmother as mine de.. We r also very close..

Our relative is like 17 tables, den friends like 3 tables only.. I really tink probability of loss is very very high..

Diane> Ya, i guess every1 has diff expectations, but usually the hotel need spare tables? Like if tat venue is max 20 tables, means ur guess 18 tables spare 2? But i'm not sure whether do they count tis way or like wat u said, max 20 tables, no spare.

Max is 20 tables, no spare.. & my hotel only allows one spare table, meaning if I want spare table, den I needa reduce guest list to 19 tables, spare 1 table lo..

hmz..i will love to invite my cousins and all lehz..my cousins all still v young..but i quite close to them..for most of my dad's side relatives..i think my parents only inviting 2 frm each family only..and it already came up to 20 tables..sighz...oh..i did ask my parents to invite their frenz too..coz i noe they will like to..even if we lose..i dun mind..coz its like once in a lifetime only..main thing is tat they are there...=)my parents really v nice..they say they dun mind paying for 10 tables..and giving us the ang baos..but i told them no la..if they paying..den they will take all the ang baos..i wld rather i pay for the tables..take the ang baos..and give them more pin jin..but my dad say..he is marrying off his daughter..and all he wans is my hubby to take gd care of me..so..i am actually quite touched..haha..

Sharlene ur parent really nice!! My parents willing to pay for the tables they want & they take APs.. But I told them just we pay, we take lo.. Don so troublesome split here & there.

diane: yah..i hate the splitting here and there..confusing de lor..hahah...yeah..i quite touched by my dad..coz i never expect him to say these kinda things..coz he is the stern kind..he juz say tat he bring us up but he never expect us to return anything....so when he say things like tat..i quite shocked also..haha..

i actually helping a fren who's a property agent (of cos if deal close i get abit of comm). So if anyone of u looking for resale if wan can give me ur criteria i ask him to search loh ... hee

EM
-High Floor
-Serangoon North (Best Blk 537 if possible)
-Less than $400k (I believe property'll drop even further next yr)

But wont buy so early cos haven ROM.. Can keep a look out for me?

i haven get an agent yet. if e deal is closed, ur friend will get commission fr his seller right?

anyway im looking for hougang area, near mrt. 4-5 room, the best is blk 500+ or 800+ there

diane > just to share with you..i have personally witnessed that with some hotels, even if you made a tentative booking, if someone wants your date and wants to put a deposit down on the spot, some coordinators will just confirm their reservation on the spot without asking you first..some coordinators are a bit lan..or could be the hotel policy, not sure..I suppose as they say, money talks..of course this is not the standard for all hotels, some ppl will still check with you prior to confirming someone else's booking on your day even if they wanna place the deposit on the spot..but just to let you know loh..cos it happened to my gf last year..wah she really blew up man..had to search for another hotel from scratch..

Agon-e, thx you for ur info... Really!!? Will this happens?? Gosh, ur gf cfm cry & pek cek lo.. Very bad lo, can share the hotel name so that we avoid e hotel (blacklist)? Is very bad lo, a person 'once in a lifetime' perhaps that person dream wedding is to host there also lo.. How can like that de?

Diane >> when u intend to ROM?

Happygirl >> i sent u a PM .. dun wan post here coss later administrator think i trying to do biz ... haha ...

diane > yeap, happy to share. It was with Regent. Super bad service!! My gf suspected it was actually a coordinator problem and not the hotel's policy, cos she said there were quite a few coordinators that left liao (super high turn over rate), including the one who dealt with my friend. My gf suspected it was the coordinator side that screwed up, ie her coordinator's colleague was the one who confirmed the other couple but didn't do her proper background check to see if there were other tentative bookings in the system before confirming..cos when she complained all the way to director level she was told that it was a miscommunication issue but since the other couple has already paid the deposit there is nothing the management can do to get the ballroom back for her.

Anyway when I went for their recent wedding show to check it out their coordinators' attitude still v shitty and the food sucks..which was why I strongly recommended not going there..although if my gf's suspicions are correct, if its a coordinator issue it should not happen again, which was why at first I didn't wanna mention this part in my earlier post when I commented about the food and the shitty service..although you never know la..better be safe than sorry..

Agon-e, Woah, ur gf superb sia; complain all e way to mgmt lvl.. I will do e same if I were her but i'll seek for compensation.. No way can they do this to her lo.. Den did e Regent compensate her? MISCOMMUNICATION to shut ur gf up lo.. YUCK!! Stupid hotel.. I feel so unjustice for ur gf.. Very kelian..

You r rite bt the food & service shitty part.. I read frm Regent forum also.. Many bad rant la.. But how is ur gf? Can she make it in time for hotels for her wedding?

diane > no la no compensation..they didn't say why but we suspect its cos she is considered only a potential customer and not an actual paying customer mah. somemore they already 'sold' the ballroom for that day liao, no motivation to keep my friend happy. so really is a case of LL loh. really really bad service.

Yah in the end she confirmed Mandarin Oriental. She liked Regent cos of location la, MO is a bit out of the way for ppl who are taking public transport. But it turned out to be a blessing in disguise loh, MO is so much better in terms of service.

Agon-e, icic.. Luckily ur gf settled le lo.. Whr will u be holding ne??

Shock when I heard your news, but i guess any hotels will choose actual paying cust over potential customer.. Summore Regent svc always considered one of e worst de.. So they not afraid of their reputation also..

I tink if ur gf with those 'better reputation' hotels like Shangri-la, Ritz Carlton, Fullerton, Four Season, I guess this wont happen ba.. As these hotel wont sacrifice their reputation de lo..

But gd to hear that ur gf has solve le.. Oriental good lei.. She should choose it in e 1st place lo.. So much better then Regent in terms of location, food, svc wise..

Ooh mine will be at the Hilton
same as you, also along the Orchard stretch. I just placed deposit with them last week or 2 weeks ago..sigh super broke now, just confirmed a string of services so had to place deposits with them (hotel, PG, planner, etc)..lol..

Yeah I agree, personally I prefer MO also la, I feel the place looks nicer and has better ambience, but even after we told her our thoughts she was insistent on Regent at first, so as friends we just support her loh..at least it worked out in the end la..otherwise jialak liao..

Agon-E, hw much is Hilton ar?

I actually don mind hilton bcos gt LV but by e time I wed, LV has ardy shift to ION le.. but I don like their Hilton pillars.. Ur ballroom gt pillars..

diane > hmm I left the file at my fiance's..there are 2 prices for early 2010, $968 I think or $1018. we chose the $1018 one cos that menu serves cakes for dessert..my fiance is american chinese so all his guests will be flying in from the states..even though they are asian they have all become banana liao, his parents included..they won't be able to appreciate dumplings or the sweet soups that we have as desserts at our normal wedding dinner, so we thought nvm loh just upgrade..otherwise they fly all the way here and won't enjoy themselves also..

ours is a smaller wedding, min 18 max 20 tables, so we took the panorama room. In reality we are expecting only 17 or 18 tables to be filled though, cos im channelling most of my other friends and colleagues/ex colleagues to the church wedding instead. It's a little longish but no pillars, also you have the whole top floor to yourself cos that's the only room on that floor aside from the pool, so we will be having our pre-dinner cocktails by the pool
Good option for those who are holding a smaller dinner and are considering banquet locations still..