(2010) 2010 Brides

Sharlene: thanks

Dear all, after searching the net... these are those tt i have shortlisted to visit.. think my bf will faint... how? the * are the most likely ones to-date... can share ur package with mi for reference?? I am confused... wonder when is the best time to visit them and bargain for more things..

*Bridal Concept
*Di Gio
*The Aisle Bridal Boutique
*Thomson Wedding Design
*My Bridal Room
Bridal Veil
Flamingo
LaBelleCouture
Precious Moment Bridal
Silhouette - The Atelier
Ted Collection

Thanks deerixp and Alicia

deerixp, I think he will def faint, u shortlisted 11 BS??? I went to only 3 and I told my WTB I'm giving up lol.

Best time to visit them and higher chances of getting more 'freebies' would be on weekdays, try not to go on weekends as usually they are very crowded and they won't be able to attend to u fully, and will be more difficult to negotiate due to time constraints.

thomas > oh dear!! I hope your FFIL will be better soon..sorry to hear that

happy > don't think I can join y'all for this month's outing..we are flying back to the US that week and will be back early Jan
I'll see if I can join in the next outing..

deerixp > I am doing mine ala carte, ie renting the gowns from one place, pre-wedding photography with someone else. I may consider getting the MUA and florist from the gown rental place, depending..so I can't really say I have a package to share
If you need rates though I might be able to share some with you..although they may not be accurate seeing how different places offer the same items differently if rented ala carte vs taken in a package..

agon-e: thanks...I hope so too

u break urs up into so many parts, wun it be more expensive? me and my FW contemplated on breaking them up also (renting gowns from one BS and taking up the shoot package with my good friend) but decided against it cos of the higher costs involved.

agone..its okie no prob.. hope to see ya in nxt meet up..

Thomas.. dun be too worry.. hope ur FFIL will get well soon.. r u changin ur AD to nxt yr instead 2010??

deerixp..i guess e above 11 tt u chose have bout same concept.. i heard tt Precious moment review is good.. =)

2010 BTB Dec Outing 15th-19th(kindly choose a date)
1.Booy (17th, 18th)
2.deerixp (17th, 18th)
3.Jaq (15th, 16th, 17th)
4.annisan (19th),(17th,18th tba)
5.Happyfairlady (15th,16th,18th)
6.Thomas & WTB
7.ylng3r (15th, 17th)
8.Sharlene (17th, 18th)
9.Alicia (any day)
10.Eve (any day

thomas > hmm the budget is actually about the same, but I'm definately not getting as many freebies from what I am getting vs what a package will offer..like I will have to rent a car on my own, source for individual components, etc. I suppose the gown rental bit can be considered a partial package if I go with their MUA and florists, cos they will also throw in free usage of accessories (depending on where you go to get your package of course). I will be going with a budget gown rental place to save on costs, since I die die also want to find my own pre-wedding PG..lol!

For me I guess the photography is more impt, I wanted to make sure my photographer for both the pre-wedding shots and the AD is able to bring out emotions when you go through the album..it is pretty pricey, if you want to keep all the images the mid range market rate is about $3k-$4k just on pre-wedding photography alone (including canvas portrait and 12" by 12" album), so I opted to keep 40-50 hi-res touched up soft copies of my shots instead of all 600-800 poses..not like I'm gonna use all 800 poses next time anyway, haha! Some siao ding dong wanted to charge me $6k just for pre-wedding photography! I was like no way man.

Hmm..out of curiosity..so what's the avg everyone paid for their package, including budget for additional photos?

agon-e> I'm renting my own car too... If u haf any recommendations, pls share wif me.
My package for BS is $3388, the additional photos is: 1 photo=$80 each, 10 photos=$70 each, 20 photos=$60 each.

Alicia > sure thing! What I've found so far are weddingcars.sg, if you go for bridal shows they work with a lot of hotels and may include discount vouchers for you in the goodie bag..

A cheaper alternative (because we are ferrying folks who are flying in from the Philippines and the US) is Maxi cabs..a little more class than a shuttle bus but cheaper than renting a car the whole day :P One of my friends booked a London cab as her bridal car on her AD through SMRT taxis, it's unique looking and you get ur own chauffeur for the day =) Something to consider..

agon-e> I've oso heard abt weddingcars.sg, & it was highly recommended by the BS i booked, but i've heard some not so gd comments abt them, so am quite weary abt them. And it seems like they need us to put a refundable deposit of $800 in cash, wich i find is too much.

Alicia > Ahh - yeah I agree that's kinda dumb..I may go with the London cab idea myself, but am still sourcing..will let you know if I come by any other places that rent out cars for AD..

deerixp: think My Bridal Room and Di Gio has the best reviews out of the list u have, but is really individual preference..u should go down to the BS n take a look...talk with the pple n have a feel of their gowns too...

thomas:wish ur FFIL well~~

fairlady: Juz rem 17th I got facial..so I left with 15/16th Dec..if can't make it..join u all next round ya ;) - maybe CNY lou hei..haha

Thomas> Hope your FFIL will be well soon...

deerixp> My bridal room is pretty good.. the staff there are very friendly...

deerixp > oh I just remembered. I was casually talking to the designer from Di Gio at the Regent wedding show last month - their speciality is in gowns with long trains, ie their emphasis is on the trains. (you know how some bridal shops specialise in lace or embroidery or beadwork, etc).You might like to check their trains out while you are there for your recee =)

deerixp: depends on wad kind of gowns u like eh..i chose bridal concept coz i din really liked the rest...was really choosing btw My Bridal Room and Bridal Concept as i din wan a bridal shop at tanjong pagar..haha..but i was won over by the warm service i received at Bridal Concept..tats y i finally signed up with Bridal Concept..the price and service that they gave us was within our budget..heh..but i feel most imptly..u muz feel comfy with the BS..coz eventually..the process of choosing gowns and taking pre wedding shoot is v impt..and also u muz feel happy..so choose something u are comfy with..esp with ur coordinator..heh...jus my 1 cent worth of comments..

Morning gals! Thanks for all the comforting words, will convey them to my FFIL

agon-e: yup, u'll def get lesser freebies than when u sign up for the whole complete package with a BS. From my chat with my wedding planner, I understand that BS make very little from rental of gowns cos the price to make one is more or less fixed, the only area where they get to earn is thru photos. That's why a lot of BS are not willing to let u break up their package, if u choose not to take up their photography package, they will def charge u more just for rental of gowns only. You will also notice that many BS will wanna entice u to top up a certain $$$ to get more photos, this is the norm as they can only make from this area. After careful consideration, my FW and I decided not to break up the package and instead get the whole thing from the BS. Our BS's additional charges for extra photos is something similar to Alicia's.

Anyway last night we went to see our wedding planner, and my FW also tried on a few gowns there to get a feel. Never knew she looked so good in red lol...design of her wedding gown also finalised on the spot already after going thru with the planner (she's the in-house designer as well), payment made also so at least one more thing settled. Just dun wanna be caught out by any last min unforeseen matters (such as my FFIL's condition) so decided to get her gown done up first as she told us they need 2.5 months to make. Thereafter, most likely going for our indoor/outdoor shoots first as both of us dun like to rush things, prefer to do it at our own pace.

Morning everyone!

thomas > ooh is her gown MTM? will she get to keep the gown? Sounds so exciting! If I had the budget I'll get my gowns from Ted Collection (MTM)..but I think I'll need to strike Toto before I can consider them..hahaha

All> Morning! My boss is back in office yest...
No more freedom for me liao...

ylng3r> My BS is wif MBR, but i've got a Bridal De Couture package to let go.

Thomas> So wen's ur AD shifting to?

All: Morning!!!

Alicia: haha..yah lor..my bosses back in office today also..sianz..heng one of them not back till after lunch..wahahahaha....

Sharelene> haha! but still there r other bosses ard, so gotta be careful! My boss tat time told us he'll b back today, but yest afternoon came in liao...
My other colleague says my boss 1 2 spot-check us.

alicia: wah..ok..ur boss v ebil..lolz...i am surrounded by 3 bosses..hahahaha...front back and side..lolz..but luckily my 2 direct bosses dun bother abt wad i do de..lolz..

Eve: As mentioned in this thread earlier, my BS is New Image Collections.

agon-e: yes, her wedding gown is MTM with the option of her evening gown MTM also (in the event she can't find anything nice OTR). Nope, she won't get to keep the gown. You will know the feeling when u try them on next time hahaha...can be quite fun yet tiring (for both the wearer and the onlooker lol)

Alicia: no idea, will have to see how's my FFIL's condition first before deciding on our next course of action. He's deteriorating at this juncture, so to speak...have to console my FW every now and then, I feel so helpless sometimes...

Dear all, thanks for your concern, really appreciate it but there's nothing much we can do now really, just hope for the best.

Thomas> U gotta b strong for ur FW & her family. Wen my bf's dad suddenly passed away earlier tis yr (july), i took urgent leave & rush over to his hse, saw him hiding in his room. Felt so heart-pain to see him like tat, esp he's a guy, & usually guys dun cry in front of others, but i noe he's hurting lah.

Alicia: yes I know, sometimes girls think that we guys are stronger than u all but we do have emotions too, just that it's not nice to let others see u crying. My FFIL all along very healthy until this illness struck him, it's like a sudden bolt out of the blue. When reality hit home, I then realised that life was so fragile...
u nvr know what may happen to u next, so cherish ur loved ones ard u and spend more time with them before u regret it next time.

me and my FW are not the pantang type, but just wanna know whether the olden belief of 'getting married within a 100 days or wait for 3yrs if someone in ur family passes on' is true. I really hope for the best...

Shar, thanks

Thomas> Yes, usually guys seems stronger, but wen tings happen to ur immediate family, there's no "who is stronger". My FFIL although was not a healthy man, he's got hypertension & gout, did a heart bypass surgery. But he seems well enuff. Only they were worried more of the mum, coz she got blood cancer, wich is a "time bomb" within her, so we tot the worst for the mum, but who noes, the dad had a heart-attack (tat's wat they put in the death cert), so we were all very shocked!

Sharlene> Wah! Den u 2day quite free liao lor... so shiock!

hey thomas, take care & be strong. Perhaps you and your wtb can take heart in making him comfy and happy.

as for your qn, usually it's 3yrs, but i know there's like a "interm period", when you can marry, if not after that you have to wait for like 3 yrs. so best is check with your shifu and also discuss with your wtb. might be tough for her emotionally to go thru such big "white" & "red" events within a short period of time.

deerixp> wow tt's a lot of BS you shortlisted. initially i was ambitious like you, but after 4 or 5 BS, i was so tired from the bargaining n listenin to them hard/soft sell me. gotta say i was impressed with my bf,cos he went with me. (but then again, we females are the one who are busy trying, while they just sit there n see -_-")

i think sometime word of mouth is a very effective way of filtering. i almost wanted to visit French & Sattine & Golden Horse, but aft my frens' comments, i gave up on those 3. i know ppl always say gowns n photogs are impt, but i think the most impt is comfort level. if you are ok with the BS and trust the coordinator, then go for it. gowns will change, especially since our ADs are qt some time away (almost 3-4 wedding fashion cycles). BS with nice gowns now might have gowns which are not your cup of tea, could be due to trend, change of gown designer etc. (heh... tt's why kiasu me has sort book a couple of gowns for my PS)

btw i went to MBR. my bf was so enthu abt it cos we saw them at a wedding show early this yr or last yr. but aft we went in, 3hrs of hard/soft sell later, he changed his mind.

vv:wah u really go into their BS to look n see n try their gowns ah..for me I dun dare to go individually coz I scare they hard sell alot n cannot come out..LOL...
only went to bridal shows so far..n MBR is the only studio I visited coz they dun really do bridal shows... end up din choose them...

Hi gals /guy,

OTT, you all buying any xmas gifts for your future in-laws & his/her sibilings? I really very headache on what to buy within my budget (bf's sisters are "high class" type haha they r into imac lah, nintendo lah... all these are expensive even their accessories. even share with bf also not really within my budget n he don't seemed like understand haiz...

VV: thanks, we are doing what we can at the moment. I know she will not be able to take it shld anything happen to him, much less talk abt getting married.

mmpw: thanks

on the topic of xmas gift buying, yes I will be buying for my mum and my FW only (as per normal every yr)

those stuff are indeed expensive...what's ur budget like per head?

Thomas - whats the most expensive gift u bought for your FW? how much was that?

budget range from $25 to $50 per head :p

Alicia - ya, thinking of that but bf said can get it fm other source.

mm&pw.. how bout getting wii?? its a very fun games..

thomas.. dun worry.. ur ffil will recover..
regarding e 100 days & 3yrs, fh n me is gg to hold our wedding 1 yr 5mths later..which is nxt yr as fh's daddy passed away tis june..

alicia.. ur boss come back to spot check u all??

thomas: just another thought. i'm not sure how advanced your FFIL's stage is. (hope i'm not too blunt here). but maybe you can consider bringing ur AD fwd? "chong chong xi", tt's what the old folks like to say. and i think both ur ffil and ur wtb would want to attend the AD.
*hope i'm not too kaypo here. previously i've a fren n a cousin who faced the same situation. can understand the turmoil n dilemma u are in*

anyway all of us here will be crossing our fingers, eyes, legs for you (for max effect

mm&pw> i think u shld gt them eyecare vouchers hehe at the rate they r using their eyes, the vouchers will come in handy hehe

ever considered buyin laptop case etc for them? those are cheaper n u have a lot of choices. funan has a couple of shops that sells unique shaped-ones

HappyFairLady - I wish I earned more than them so can get them a wii (they already have it). Recently the eldest got herself a imac and 2nd one got a nintendo & iphone!

buy cheap stuff will worry they think i cheapstake haha then share with bf, he also think buying quite expensive gift (like $100 over gift)... aiyo very stress on this (bf started to say I so serious abt it, shld relax etc etc)