(2010) 2010 Brides

annisan> yup, they have, but it's only on wed I think, other days normal rates. their dinner rate now has gone up to abt 80++ (from 68++), too expensive to consider.

Do u have the Shang Rewards card? My dad has, he was the one who asked for me. 80pax is a LOT of ppl really, u need to plan really! Let me ask my BTB and come back to you on the other places we have found ok?

Thomas (thommy)> and ya.. that is god knows when man... already told her earlier this yr and she accepted it den now again...

Alicia> hmm...my parents respect me and did ask me i think thru le that hes gonna be the man for my life... i sae YES... haha... so now they will ask hows my ROM Planing...(: but for angelia mayb she mum worried for her bah...

angelia> Den shldn't b a prob! mayb she 1 2 see ur elder bro's AD settled le den next come urs? Anyway, so far my bf & me oso haven arrange for any meet-ups wif both sides of parents yet. Still tink it's too early, anyway, next yr wen we ROM den will see both sides of parents le.

annisan> Ya, i tink so too tat her mum worried bah... coz previously my mum oso gif bo-chap ans, but now she ok le, now tat i've settled most tings, i oso din tell her much liao, onli tat time wen i sourcing i told her, but she oso nv say much tings lah...

Thomas> my ROM will be on 20092009 (Hot Date) so quite hard to find a venue that's got reasonable price... i had dropped a e-mail to BottleTree Park... Hopefully it fits into my Budget... (:

Jaq> yup, weekends are expensive, I was suggesting to annisan to go for weekdays, much cheaper

angelia> let me share with u a true story abt my lady friend who just got married on 1 Nov...

Her parents in law didn't like her at all, cos their son (her hubby) was a Masters grad and she only had an Advanced Diploma to show, they wanted their DIL to be of the same 'level' as their son. Even told her if their son were to marry her, they will NOT attend their wedding. Imagine how sad to hear that?

But guess what on their AD? I saw both her in-laws there! Guess they finally accepted her, so don't despair ok?

Hi ladies!

Wow! i didn't come in for a day, there r already 2 Archives for the day!

Thomas> Hi! Welcome! real surprise to c u here.

so, what's the topic now?

annisan> your hot date falls on a Sun..oh dear. Nevermind, I see what I can find out from my dear, I'll let u know once I find out

Alicia> yah... as times goes by.. they will accept it de... (:

Angelia> dun be sad... cheer up! ur mum just worried for u bah... (: she will give you her blessing as time goes by de... (:

hi KK! Real surprise to see I'm the only guy here right? haha!

topic is consoling angelia and also helping annisan to get her dream venue for ROM =P

hi ladies and gentleman > thanks!!! this is just a casual dinner and it doesn't mean that meeting to have dinner means talking abt wedding! i mean it;s juz a very causal dinner.. anyway i still hav another elder bro who don even noe when he wants to get married yet.. sign...

de thing tat i cannot accept is when my bf is talking and asking her if the dinner is still on (even though he already noe juz wanna cfm) my mum jzu keep looking at her phone and refuses to reply even after 2-3times.. i mean for goodness sake some one is talking to. .can't u reply? can u imagine that kind of scene?

it's so embarrassing...

Thomas> yalo... thats the prob~ hias... if really cant find any venue i will have to change my ROM date le... really thanks for helping me out... =D

annisan> Ya, so now my mum ok le, sometimes even heard her told close relatives abt my sis & mine AD dates. haha! But my dad seems more worried abt me getting a flat. lol

anyway my mum is also very weird de.. go round telling ppl that de 3 of us are getting married then yet behave like this..

angelia> Dun worry. Or u can try toking to ur mum 1st behind closed doors & see y she is so unhappy abt it. If it fails, den try ur dad to tok to her. If all things fail, tink u can carry on wif ur research & stuffs, den wen the date gets nearer den try to tok to her again. Anyway, parents wants wat's best for their children. So dun take it to heart.

Thomas> Yes, real surprise. =)

angelia> I agree with Alicia. I used to have a lot of problems n arguements with my mum, cos both of us are quite stubborn. Try talking to her behind closed doors, it's useful. it might take more than one time, twice or more. The fact that she goes around telling ppl that u r getting married, shows that she does care. Maybe just putting on a "front". After all, u r still her daughter. Cheer up!

Angelia> I think Alica method is good.. possibility should be either she thinks you are too young to get married and just dun like your bf.. Try to have a heart to heart talk with her with sincerity..

angelia.. dun be too upset about it.. i guess ur mom haven overcome tt all her kids r getting married soon at 1 go..

when i 1st start planning..i told my mum bout it she was like still so early.. i felt sad coz its like spoilt my mood.. but after tt when she accept the idea she quite okie n keen bout the prepartion too.. so i guess time n communication will play an important part..

hi ladies! thanks so much for listening to my grumbling.. i'm ok.. just think that she's being rude and unreasonable.. the most basic thing i expect from her is even if u don give me face, pls at least give some face to other ppl.. don't always focus on own emotions ( even though everyone is ) but it's juz kinda disappointing when u see ur mother behaving in tat manner and the point is who are u to give him tat sort of attitude? his parent treat me as though i'm their own daughter and had never given me any form of attitude..

Angelia> U have all our support! & most importantly, ur FH's. Try engaging her. Dun give up! Agree with HappyFairLady, perhaps she's feeling the pinch inside that all of u r getting married. The lonelineness thingy. No parent wil hate their own child.
*smilez*

i understand it's still early.. but u gotta give us something for us to wrk on rite? i never like any last min things.. esp u are talking abt a once in a lifetime thing.. we also need time to work on our budget and c how far we can go... it's not possible to start saving or plan when it's 2010 itself ma.. too last min n rush le...

angelia > Tis take time to solve...they r right..have a nice talk wif ur mum..tell her all ur concerns n all the areas tat u n ur bf have consider....

I aso face problems in the past cos my hubby is a foreigner, they dun really like him, scared I will cheated by him..but time n our sincerely prove all these n now is happily prepared our wedding

KK (kat0606)> i noe she don't hate me.. i understand that she may be feeling lonely.. but if u need to show black face to ppl, just show it to me and not him.. nothing to do with him..

Snoopy Dog (kelle)> congrats! =) intially my mum didn't like my bf too... claim that his mouth very "hua" ... i talk to her also.. haiz.. i been talkin so many times to her tat i'm myself is getting tired... can't they just give me a break? =(

Snoopy Dog (kelle) > he have been reali nice n tolerance.. he's not a very gd tempered guy by nature and yet he spent so much time trying to persuade and understand her.. very often we will bring her out for dinner, for a spin, buy food for her..

angelia > continue ur ways of doing..mayb is juz tat ur mum dun show it on her face..try to do things together wif ur mum tat she like..Give each other time..tis is most important

angelia> I can understand u r upset by ur mum's actions. Tyr convincing her in other ways. It's not gonna be easy, for sure. Elders always think that they "eat salt more than us", so we shld follow them, bla bla bla. I know it's stressful. Relax, ok? It takes time... =)

angelia..dun be too dishearten.. i guess wat u can do now is continue wif ur saving plan n as well shortlist ur ideal dinner venue den tok to ur mum again.. after all u have booked ur BS too..

for me i waS lucky abit as in e dates, BS & dinner venue was choosen by me & fh(tings which we both agree on) initially i dint told my mummy tt i have booked my venue coz she was asking to check out pricing from restaurant.. but recently i felt its time so i told her i have booked my venue wif hotel.. i told her tt nxt yr sep to dec wkend all fully booked n i did a comparison on pricing between restaurant & hotel b4 signning up mine.. at 1st she kinda dispprove of me booking hotel n said its ex.. but i explain to her n den she slowly absore n agree wat i have done..

hope u dun feel so sad.. i'm sure ur mummy will support & be happy for you too.. coz every mummy would love to see their children getting married blissfully

KK (kat0606)/Snoopy Dog (kelle)> he's reali very sweet and patience... c how ba.. recently been reali stresses up at wrk..onli today so free.. haha

thank you ladies~!! appreciate!! =D

angelia > dun worry to much...do the things which shld b done..things will turn out well eventually... I m a gd exmple...

HappyFairLady (his_fairlady) > i guess parents are always worried about cost but at least ur mum is understanding... =) i know all parents are happy but i guess there are still afew out there who will b negative.. which i juz experience one which is my best frd wedding.. her mil totally ruined her wedding...

angelia> U r most welcome! Don't worry, I'm sure everything wil turn out well & u'll be a beautiful bride & have a fantastic wedding! Great! Keep on smiling!!! =)

angelia> Yes, agree wif snoopy dog. Most of us will face some probs here & there, but all probs can b solved. Jus plan as per normal & wen the date is nearer or wen u feel tat it's time she felt accepted, den u tell her wat u've planned. No worries.

angelia.. u mean her mil is unhappy throughout the whole wedding pre till her AD??

i understand tt some parents will be negative..however u r ur mum's daughter..so i believe she will give u her blessing in e end

Thanks ladies!!! i'm ok... =D

HappyFairLady (his_fairlady) > her mil keep pickin on her ever since they want to get married.. den on her AD, she didn't turn up for their ROM end up their ROM have to cancel.. (the rom is at 630 but at 630, she is still at jurong even though her son told her tat she have to there by 5) end up de JP left.. we try to persuade the JP. but he say it's too much... =(

her mil anyhow go n change her seating arrangement den we end up with alot of guest coming to us asking where they sit... n how come there's other ppl sitting with them... (b4 hand, my frd already chng the seating arrangement to her wish liao 5-6times) her mil even ask my frd's parents why are they sitting here and ask them to sit elsewhere, (my frd arrange them to sit at the same vip table).. when my frd n husband ques her, she say no lar de server ask them to move de.. my frd went to ask the manager (her frd) and he say they will nv say this kind of things de.. and y would her parents lie to her??? my frd cried b4 her first march in... subsequently.. my frd's parents also cry during the wedding cos they r very upset wif the way the in-laws is treating my frd...

not juz this.. after the dinner, we went up to the room and chat wif her.. her mil called up and make very nasty remarks.. things like i use to dote on u so much but u did so much things that i hate u.. if i noe you are like this, i will nv allow my son to marry you.. she said alot of other things as well.. reprimmanding my frd's parents and auntie.. when my frd ask her mil how did her aunite treat them (her auntie had nv speak to them b4) her mil start shouting at her saying she mei da mei xiao all this bullshit...

her mil is reali b**** ... my frd have been tolerating her but apparently everything is still my frd's fault..