(2010) 2010 Brides

vivi - yes, will take ur suggestion to source for alternative. Prob is i always wanted to have an outdoor garden wedding so the choices I have become limited also. Worst come to worst no wedding dinner but just a reception instead.

Yixin (xinzderella) > that was what my friend told me.. but if say both side of the parents are ok with it den it's ok ba.. cos one of my frd did wore a black EG..

xiaofeizhu83 (xiaofeizhu83) > mayb u can revise with your frds before gg for the test?? if tat's de case.. just try it out.. you never know till you try.. =)

angel: hee.. he knows i am doing research.. haha.. but i neber really talked to him in specific... heehee. tt's mi. i always like to collate things in excel.. tt time we go overseas with friends free and easy, i am also doing the one doin iti.

xiaofeizhu.. try ur best.. even though u have stopped for 1 yr but i guess u wont forgot all tt u have learn =)

mm&pw..dun feel so disappointed yet.. 1 bad thing for outdoor is bad weather.. if rainy days fall on ur AD day den e outdoor will have to change into indoor.. so u might wan to find out if they charge additional for backup indoor esp for outdoor wedding.. if u r having indoor wedding.. u might wan to have a westernise theme (someting related to natural or outdoor function) which u can have in indoor so tt u can fulfill ur outdoor dream.. guess it will be someting different..

alicia.. since ur fh wanna drive e car to fetch u.. like others said.. borrow frens car.. =) or can get frens to be driver n end of e day give ang bao as token of appreciation

xfz: hee.. i learnt elementary jap after my A levels when i was 19.. haha... now returned all back...In uni, i learnt basis french for fun as an elective.. got an A.. haha... but now forgot totally.. hee
really admire my friends who continued to learn Jap till now.. perserverance really counts..hee...

Jap.. i dun tk beef too =)

gals any suggestion???

2010 BTB meet up NOV
1.Alicia - 10th Nov
2.Xiaofeizhu - 10th Nov
3.Sharlene - 10th nov
4.Miss Vivi - 10th nov
5.Evee - 10th nov
6.Happygirl
7.Jaq - 10th nov
8.deerixp - 10th nov

Thanks ladies for all your encouragement... I will just go and try try ba...

Hi deerixp
During my poly days I also take basic French (compulsory) class... I think i got a B... but now also all return to teacher already...

Hi Vivi
me haven got any 'bright' idea where to meet yet...

Hi Joycelyn..welcome to 2010 thread..
dun worry u r not slow.. some of the btb have not booked theirs as well..

i suggest u start sourcing to get more info b4 u decide to book ur bs, dinner venue & PG n VG
gals.. budget for e dinner??

2010 BTB meet up NOV
1.Alicia - 10th Nov
2.Xiaofeizhu - 10th Nov
3.Sharlene - 10th nov
4.Miss Vivi - 10th nov
5.Evee - 10th nov
6.Happygirl
7.Jaq - 10th nov
8.deerixp - 10th nov

deerixp (deerixp) > u r de same as my bf... he always do up the spreadsheet for our travel.. but donoe y tis time round he nv do... hmm...

Joycelyn Tan (joycelyntan)> hihi, no worries at all.. i also haven't book anything yet... my date also not cfm too... keke when's ur planned big day?

Hi Vivi,

my friend who is going to have her AD in May told me her dinner was 1100 per table at Swissotel The Stamford...

Look like is roughly about 1k per table...
I was thinking to get less than 1k...

Hi Joycelyn,
u might wan to start to call up or email or even attend hotel wedding roadshow to find out more on the prices n their venue n deco.. most hotels pricing r diff.. but quite a few pricing is alreadi like 1k+ per table.. my colleague booked hers at swissotel too.. compare to shangri la & ritz carlton, their price is cheaper n ofc there r hotels wif lower prices.. however prices for 2010 is not out yet.. u will onli knw e prices nxt yr.. so i suggest u source for venue tt u wan n shorlist it n den compare n decide when comes to booking..

angel.. i guess wedding preparation ur bf might wan to let u do.. afterall e spotlight is on u =)

2010 BTB meet up NOV
1.Alicia - 10th Nov
2.Xiaofeizhu - 10th Nov
3.Sharlene - 10th nov
4.Miss Vivi - 10th nov
5.Evee - 10th nov
6.Happygirl
7.Jaq - 10th nov
8.deerixp - 10th nov

joycelyn - welcome
I think hotel rates are abt 1k per table by the time of our wedding days in 2010. Chinese restaurants might still able to offer less than 1k per table.

Vivi and mm&pw,

wow... but i realise some people still giving $80 as hangbaos... only good friends give $100...
thats means we must be able to afford the "lost"

I will tell my hubby that we should start sourcing... else we wont know what to expect...

Joycelyn - I think every wedding dinner will "lost", is the matter how much. Ang pow collection for the night will never tie with the total cost.

I have a frd who had his dinner at Amara, he told me his collection can ranged from $20 to $500. can u imagine u have a $20 ang pow for a 1k table (which is 100 per person)?

just wondering the pricing will lower due to the financial crisis or not... it has been annouced next year will be a bad year for all and need at least 2 to 5 years to recover back

Hi Joycelyn
Welcome to the 2010 btb thread!!

Hi mm&pw
You will really get to see the faces of 'all kind of peeps' during the wedding ang pow collection keke... I am not surprise when you emntioned $20... I ever had a gf who receive below $20 during her wedding (some more is from relative lor)... she fainted... For myself, usually when I attend a wedding, I will see where's the venue and the 'relationship' btw me and the wedding couple...

Yixin - ya.. unbelievable right? then my frd also told me a man brought his wife n kid along and his ang pow only $50 haha

thats y is the matter of how much the "lost" the couple has to bear only.

xiaofeizhu - I think down the road, dinner @ hotel have to prepare $100 n if closer frd/relative then have to be above $120

hahah..ya lo.. so more or less we must be prepare to have lost in e wedding dinner..

i heard from my colleague for dinner at m'sia.. relative 1 family of 7members conquer 1 table, refuse to share table wif others even though there is 3 empty seat.. n gave onli RM20 ang bao..

2010 BTB meet up NOV
1.Alicia - 10th Nov
2.Xiaofeizhu - 10th Nov
3.Sharlene - 10th nov
4.Miss Vivi - 10th nov
5.Evee - 10th nov
6.Happygirl
7.Jaq - 10th nov
8.deerixp - 10th nov

ya... I even heard from relative that got photocopy of $50 notes...

I wonder what is these ppl thinking... Might as well dont give...

I guess some ppl still thinking that $80 is the market rate... and nice number to give for a wedding...

Imagine a friend who is not so close to you and which who you think you might NOT want to invite to your wedding invited you to their dinner, and yet the dinner may cost them 1k. So will you give a $80 or $100??
I may want to choose to give $80... hahaha...

hahaha..joycelyn.. i more straight forward.. if i dun intend to invite them to my wedding.. even if they invite me i might not turn up.. reason is: not close.. if u go den who r u gg to sit wif?? if u sit wif those who u not close at all, will sure feel awakard n left out.. n u will feel paiseh if u dun invite them to ur wedding if u go to their wedding... lastly e couple will give u e amt of $$ tt u gave to them on their wedding.. in chinese "li shang wan lai" return same amt means no owe 'ren qing'

2010 BTB meet up NOV
1.Alicia - 10th Nov
2.Xiaofeizhu - 10th Nov
3.Sharlene - 10th nov
4.Miss Vivi - 10th nov
5.Evee - 10th nov
6.Happygirl
7.Jaq - 10th nov
8.deerixp - 10th nov

ya... my mum also tell me my eldest uncle only will give ang pow of $500 for a table for his whole family and on top of that he n his wife required to sit on VIP table... *roll eyes*

i think mine except close relative otherwise all i invite only husband n wife. thats what people normally do nowadays

mm&pw> i also tinking will drop or not...but i tink the lower price also have a more average menu i guess...fair to all...hopefully stay within 900? hahaha

vivi - same here. i usually reject the invite if not closed and just give a $30 ang pow for that invitation card. I have a colleague better still... give invitation card without consult u 1st so he gained my that $30 lor haha

Miss Vivi (his_fairlady) > mayb ba...

Joycelyn Tan (joycelyntan)> not sure if it helps.. i juz called goodwood recently the coordinator ask me to add $100 to the 2009 price and that will be the 2010 prices.

-_-" hahha.. wah.. mm&pw.. u realli kind enough to give tt 30bucks..

hahah.. me more bad.. i wont give since i dun intend to attend e wedding..

fh n i onli intend to invite families, relatives, close frens n colleagues tts all..
so we actualli cast out quite a no of ppl... coz to avoid inviting them but they do not turn up.. n its sound funny to invite ppl tt u not v close just to fill e no of tables tt we booked..

2010 BTB meet up NOV
1.Alicia - 10th Nov
2.Xiaofeizhu - 10th Nov
3.Sharlene - 10th nov
4.Miss Vivi - 10th nov
5.Evee - 10th nov
6.Happygirl
7.Jaq - 10th nov
8.deerixp - 10th n

mm&pw (mmpw)> wah... lytat also can har?

i have a frd who got married in fullerton.. it's about 1.3k per table then there tis whole family turn up, occupy the whole table and give a 20buck angbao.. reali can faint..

some even never write their names...

even though we don mind them giving how much but at least a reasonable amount lor...

mm&pw (mmpw) > ya.. cannot imagine these ppl so stingy....

tat's y lor.. i'm thinking by the time we want to get married all the hotel prices is about 1k plus le.. =(

All> Wah! U gals r very fast leh! And it took me abt 15 mins to read all posts! -_-"

Anyway, for our upcoming gathering, i dun haf any specific venues. Shld b ok wif anyting. hehe!

My dad says for relatives, onli to invite husband & wife, children not included, but i was tinking, how can?! So weird rite?! Anyway, up to them to decide, coz i'll see how many of them will turn up for my sis, so roughly mine will b abt the same no. of ppl.

oh ya! Btw, abt the rental of cars, coz my bf 1 a 2-seater convertible & he 1 2 self-drive, so dun 1 2 borrow from fren (anyway, his frens oso dun haf convertible). hehe!

Alicia - I have the same idea as ur dad, just invite uncles & aunties, closer cousins (husband & wife) without their young kids. But, my mum not very happy about it and ask me if they go who is taking care of their kids. Cant imagine the whole family including their young kids & babies and also their maids... *roll eyes* need alot of tables liao. seemed that there never a simple traditional wedding dinner here haha

i guess wines can nego wif hotels =)

for me i guess mostly will invite aunties n uncles

2010 BTB meet up NOV
1.Alicia - 10th Nov
2.Xiaofeizhu - 10th Nov
3.Sharlene - 10th nov
4.Miss Vivi - 10th nov
5.Evee - 10th nov
6.Happygirl
7.Jaq - 10th nov
8.deerixp - 10th nov

mm&pw (mmpw) > yup... it's one of my choice...

actualli even if you specify jsut the couple. they will also bring their kids along... cannot aviod tis kind of scene...

angel u r rite.. so we will wan to re-confirm wif them 1mth b4 hand.. coz my venue can onli allow max 140pax.. so i will need them to confirm e seats so i can arrage seating arragement 2wks b4..

2010 BTB meet up NOV
1.Alicia - 10th Nov
2.Xiaofeizhu - 10th Nov
3.Sharlene - 10th nov
4.Miss Vivi - 10th nov
5.Evee - 10th nov
6.Happygirl
7.Jaq - 10th nov
8.deerixp - 10th nov

wah u all reply v fast..LOL can't keep up.

I also heard of such horror stories from my frens' wedding..sigh..hopefully mine is not like that..will only try to invite those I know them personally.

yixin, mm&pw, vivi> Ya, my mum has got 2 mothers, 1 who gave birth to her, the other adoptive, & both sides of my grandparents r related. So for my AD, there'll b 3 big grps of family (2 from my mum's, 1 from my dad's). So according to my dad, all relatives onli invite uncles & aunts. But my mum's real mum side, most of my cousins r older than me, married & some wif kids, & during their wedding, they invited our whole family, so if now our wedding, we dun invite them (onli their parents) den seem like quite weird leh. Den my mum's adoptive side, i'm more closer to them & most of my cousins there r still young, i'm 1 of the older cousins ard. So i tink i will 1 2 invite them coz they closer to me. So dunno how my parents will arrange tat lor...

mm&pw> My dad told my sis he wants 10 tables & my bf's mum told his sis tat she wants 10 tables (my sis AD 10oct09, bf's sis AD 20sept09). So i told my bf we'll take their figures lor. I got ask my dad oso, he say ya, same as my sis, 10 tables.

Alicia - i see. if to include own frds & colleagues and parents' frds, another 3 to 5 tables?

I have estimate my side 5 for relatives, 3 for mum's frds and 1 for my bro's in law and 1 for colleagues... like that alely 10 tables liao

mm&pw> For our own frens, my bf say his frens & colleagues will need abt 5 tables, & i calculated mine, oso 5 tables, so if total up will b total 30 tables (relatives, frens & colleagues).