Alicia >
GDL or Guo Da Li i think means betrothal. Chinese way of saying engagement. Not sure though. But it's pretty interesting and it has nothing to do with any religion. It's a Chinese custom which free thinkers, Christians, Buddhists etc all follow.
The girl's side spends more for GDL in material stuff.. The guy's side spends more for GDL in terms of monetary stuff (Pin Jin and also on Number of Tables).
Prior to GDL day,
I already bought 2 tea sets, 2 pairs of Dragon Phoenix candles, 2 stand-alone mirrors which can see from hair to chin (& 2 red combs) amongst other stuff to be discussed below. Mirrors and combs are to be used for hair combing ceremony. I married out so i needed a mirror to be placed on the table which faces a door ... My hubby marries a wife into his household so he needed a mirror to place on a table which, when he sits down facing the mirror, his back faces the door. Our hair combing session was 11:05pm the nite b4 AD (must be after 11pm since Chinese calendar and time is ALWAYS 1 hr ahead of English clock!) whereas mine was only after his was completed (ie 11:30pm). Some people have the hair combing thing done on AD morning.
On GDL day:
Hubby (and matchmaker if any) brought to my parents place:
2 bottles hard liquor (no wine hor)
which we gave back 2 bottles of F&N rose syrup
18 oranges in a basket (must be even number)
which we returned 9 oranges
Stacks of cakes (looks more festive than cake vouchers; and cakes are cheaper too at less than $10/box)
which we returned some boxes for him to give out to his relatives
1 red packet for the Number of Tables
1 red packet for Pin Jin
We didn't want jewellery but some Mother-In-Laws do give DragonPhoenix bangles or SiDianJin to the bride.
We didn't have pig trotters (canned or fresh ones) since we just wanted basics.
Then my family (from my pocket lah) on GDL day, gave my hubby 2 sets toothbrush/paste in 1 mug, sewing kit, baby bath tub, tub for washing face, spittoon (haven't figured what to do with that yet), 2 packets of red dates/dried longans etc, and 1 tea set (for tea ceremony on his side). My parents dowry to us included bedlinen, electrical appliances which were given earlier and left at new bridal bedroom.
Most of the items are to symbolise that i'll be able to take care of my hubby, have children, take gd care of them too.. In olden days, without certain items, a groom going back to his home without such stuff, would result in friends & relatives thinking he's marrying a bride who's not 'capable'. These are only hearsay. But since my hubby and I just wanted to follow tradition and have a gd start, we just did the basics. I certainly didn't buy everything available!
I bought my GDL stuff from
Cheok Keuw Bridal Co
Blk 506 Jurong West St 52
#01-180 Spore 640506
Tel: 65660311
Clara Pay (usually in after 1pm)
If u tell her your dialect group and your hubby's dialect group, she'll advise you what to buy but she's very friendly, not pushy at all. So no obligations.
Impt: when the GDL gifts exchange takes place (we checked for auspicious date AND timing also.. but not nec), the bride-to-be is not supposed to see the fiance or even come out to see what's going on (eavesdrop can). If not, it seems to your hubby that you're a greedy bride

You can only come out of your room AFTER he leaves. So i never saw my hubby on GDL morning.
In the afternoon, I met him at our rented place to put XI stickers all over our bedroom. Then we put the headboard and bed frame together and put bedsheets etc.. and arrange 2 of the oranges he took back on the bridal bed with the dried longans etc..
Then we went back to our respective homes where we distribute our cakes and invites.
IMPT:
Do remember that once you have your GDL and done up your bridal bed, only you and your hubby can enter that room, eg to put things in closets etc. Do not touch the bed. And NO ONE ELSE is supposed to enter the room. If your hubby has slept in that bed before (simply push the bed to one side instead of original position).
So So sorry if i'm long-winded but i didn't know how to summarise GDL events.