Title: SPH Wedding Fair
Event Date From: 11-Sep-2008 : To : 14-Sep-2008

And if u 1 2 look at palces for honeymoon? Mayb can try tis too ->

Category: Mall Promotions
Title: CTC Travel Fair
Event Date From: 11-Sep-2008 : To : 14-Sep-2008

Hihi everyone,

I'm new to this thread.
I've kinda confirm my wedding on 16 Jan 2010.
I just viewed Merchant Court. Loved it.
Will be checking out Holiday Inn PV.
Anyone has comments about this 2 hotels?

Raine> Hi! Welcome to this thread! There's a post abt Merchant Court in our achives, i've posted it here for ur reference. Mayb u can take note of tis:

"To those going for Merchant Court's Wedding Show:
This is the latest news on the hotel....
"SWISSOTEL Merchant Court, a 476-room hotel near Clarke Quay, has been put up for sale by global tender.
It could fetch about $350 million, given the growth potential in Singapore’s hospitality sector, consultants said. Room rates start from about $250 a night, hotel booking websites show.
‘A hotel in (that) location can fetch around $700,000 to $800,000 per key,?said Mr Mike Batchelor, managing director of Asia investment sales for Jones Lang LaSalle Hotels, which is handling the sale.
...Swissotel Merchant Court recently went through a multimillion-dollar refurbishment, hence its contemporary-style rooms now provide a platform for future revenue growth.."
This was dated 29th Aug 2008... And I got this off http://singaporepropertyfrontiers.com/ so it means that the hotel food standard will prob change because there'll prob be new management and ultimately resignation/new appointments of cooks etc.. Could be very good news OR just the opposite. Do try to find out more first BEFORE signing up with hotel banquet"

Vivi> Haha! Ya lor... today like not a lot of ppl log in leh...

Raine: Holiday Inn PV is in Orchard or Havelock there? I went to the Orchard one.. dun really like the orchard one. I quite like merchant court.

morning gals,

these 2 days very very busy... have been reading the posts but no time to reply. and am going on leave from mon to wed to bintan with bf
time to relax~~~

thanks for ur concerns gals!!sighz..no la..my line of job got deal with external ppl de..so sometimes will be scolded by them lor..haha..

mm&pw: woooohoo!!have a gd trip ya!

mm&pw> Wah... so shiock ah!

Sharlene> Jus 1 ear in, 1 ear out lor... Or else change job lah! Keke!

Kerine> Keke! U ROM wif Prof Yu? Den wat abt ur bf leh? (*Jus joking*)

morning gals..

mm&pw.. enjoy ur trip =) *envy*

Sharlene.. dun feel too unhappy about it coz me oso got scolded yest..hahha..

Alicia.. i guess yest must b a busy day =)

Kerine.. how is prof yu?? good?? how many mths advance did u booked him??

Sharleen, Alicia & Vivi - thanks thanks. budget holiday so chose bintan trip during off peak & weekdays period.

Today's "my paper" has an article about wedding, anyone read that?

Hi Miss Vivi, prof yu is ok la. Average imo. But like M says he very punctual, so quite reliable. I call him abt 4mths before to book him verbally then before I apply online I confirm w him again.

Hi ALicia, opps~ Sentence construction abit wrong, paisay! I've ROM already w Prof Yu as our JP, would be more correct.

vivi - generally it talked about modern couples also have their traditional side. A supplier's address & tel was provided for supply traditional wedding stuff and wedding favours

I am also BTB in 2010 but I have not started any preparation as there is still another 1yr plus to go,,,,Normally how long in advance do pple start booking for banquets? I have been going for wedding show, the last one I went is at Crowne Plaza Changi Airport T3.
I am intending to hold my solmnisation ceremony next yr there..... Did anyone go to this wedding show? Care to share the packages that they offer?

Vivi> Yes, yest was a bz day.

Kerine> ya, sentence constructing is wrong the 1st time, but anyway, all of us shld understand ur meaning, jus meant it as a joke to brighten up the day. :p

mm&pw> No leh. Haf ah? Heard from my colleague new paper haf a 24-pg wedding planner. I bought the wrong paper. I bought The Straits Times instead, coz my colleague sms me tis morning abt the paper, & i tot it's The Straits times. Wen reach office, flip it, see nth, den ask my colleague again, he den say it's newpaper.
So later gg to buy newpaper & see see look look.

princess> Welcome to this thread!

Probably look out for the newpaper today as they should have a special edition for the SPH wedding...

Finally it's friday!! yippee....

hahaha... alicia me not eng.. but still find abit time eat snake come in chat chat =)

now more & more joining tis thread.. tink v soon we can set up 2010 club

Hi gals.. hvent log on for a few days n it's so active!! Kinda lose track liao =P
Welcome to all who hv juz joined!

I hv probs accessing my yahoo email so here's the transport contacts promised earlier:

Million Bus Transport Services (tel: 6454 3972)
Singapore Explorer (tel: 6339 6833)
ACE Transit - Simon (tel: 9455 6401)

Generally the companies offer 19 seaters (mini-bus) and 44 seaters (regular tour bus). Charges around $100-120 (can't rem if it's per way or both ways). But do note that if you have multiple destinations/pick-up points the charges will be different. Some companies also charge differently for diff timings of the day and the time period you require the bus services.

CATS's bridal show is happening this weekend at the square in front of Carrefour (my office juz upstairs heehee). They are still building now so I cant see who is participating. They take up whole area so should be quite a few BSes participating. Will update you all again when i go down for lunch.. sneak around to see if i can find out more =)

The last time I applied for HLE it took 3 weeks to come back.. not sure if they have a standard issue time.. but applied at the wrong time cos the three months it was valid for, nothing interesting came up.. if you are keen to apply for HLE, mayb can start applying now in anticipation for the Oct release.

There was a short discussion re. ang bao box... i am a little confuse over how it works.. typically i see only one box at the recep but then the ang baos comes from both the guy's side and the gal's side.. so how to split? My mum say it's better to separate especially if the guy side is going to give tables to the girl side.. anyone got suggestions?

Hmmm... seems like I am the only June BTB now...

Hi cymk welcome back =)

i tink e ang bao is better to spilt into 2 boxes as u might wan to do a record on the amt of ang bao given by who & who. n spilt into 2 boxes will help u do e recoding between u n ur hubby much more easier =)

u consult shifu for ur dates as well or just by calendar?

Vivi> Haha! Ok!

cymk> Thanks for the info on the bus charter. Regarding the bridal show, according to the newpaper today, the participating merchants are: Bridal de Couture; Fame Bridal Boutique; Sattine Bridal Couture; L* Belle Couture; Grand Mercure Roxy Hotel; Victorious Gems; i Wedding Collection; Romantic Life Wedding & Photography; My Dream Wedding; White Link; Rapellez-Relax, Rivive, Rejoice; Yvonne Creative Bridal & Photo Studio; Bliss Bridal Creations; X-Zen Studio; NorthWest Interior Design; ISS-CDCS Catering and Bridal Concept.
As for the ang pow box, my dad told my sis tat those ang pows given/collected from our side of relatives will all gif my dad, out of wich he'll take abt $5k, den the rest gif the couple to settle bilss & stuffs. My dad say he ask for 10 tables and the pin jin any amt oso can, so the ang pows for the 10 tables shld go to him/mum instead of the couple (asked my 2 colleagues who were oso married, & they said the same ting as my dad).

Eh... How come the words *(52-using numbers to substitute wif alphabets) Belle* cannot b posted up? Got error wen i tried to post it.

Vivi> By splitting into 2 ang pow boxes, how will it b done? Coz so far i see other ppl's wedding, there's only 1 ang pow box at the reception?

so happy to c more and more BTBs for year 2010 gather here! *tumbs upz*

been quite busy recently so din have the time to log in here...

Sharlene>> working is lidat de... one ear in and the other out lo... haha... reali unhappy tender and find a new job (:

cymk>> thanks for the transport contacts... (:
like wat Alicia said... Normally we gerls side de Ang Bao will be given to our mum de... den its depend on ur mum on hw much she wanna take... if she wanna take all the Ang Bao $$$ we cant said anything oso as she has the rights...(:

Princess>> welcome oh, u went to T3 to check out le... as i still shortlisting my ROM venue.. *headache* mind sharing the package with me?? hehes

Hey! Haf any1 of u heard of other than giving pin jin to parents, there's also another ang pow jus for bride's mum? Tink ppl say it's for mothers wen we small change diapers de, sumting like for nappy?

alicia i heard of it.. tink from other thread wher they post about tis. as for e ang pow box rite, its either prepare 2 boxes (which might not look very nice) Or just 1 box n compile all ang bao den spilt (depending how u wan to divide) =)

Vivi> Oh! Wo bao oso got abt wedding de ting? The newspaper tat i bought tat haf a 24-pg planner is newpaper (the one wif a lot of sports de?)

princess>> email address : [email protected]
Thanks thanks (:

Alicia>> issit i never heard before wor... is a must to give our mama?? i din noe wor.. i tot they will take the pin jin and our side's de table ang bao??

DnA> I oso not very sure on tis, jus saw it on the forum too. They say it's a separate ang pow jus for bride's mum, to thank her for changing our nappies & stuffs.

I checked with my married colleague, there are 2 scenario:

1. our parents ask for a certain amount of pin jin & numbers of tables, but the ang pow collection from relatives will pass to the couple to cover the cost of the dinner.

2. our parents don't ask or very minimal sum (e.g. less than $500?) of pin jin & tables (our parents fork out the cost of our side tables) but keep whatever their collection of ang pow from our side of relatives.

hmm.. this is the first time i hear of a nappy ang pao... but i m sure our mums wun mind... extra ka-ching ($) to doll up themselves for our big night haha.

I din manage to see all the booths but I think Alicia's list should b the full one. I saw Satine, Bliss, White Link, Mercure Roxy Hotel, L* Belle, My Dream Wedding and Rapellez (think it's a spa).. still setting up so i din wan to roam around

i was thinking split ang pao box easier in case got relatives throw in wrongly when they shld pass to our parents.. can be fish out easily and return to our parents discreetly. I feel it's not very nice to take out from central pool after the dinner when you are counting the money in front of so many ppl =/

Alicia > split two boxes means girl side invitees throw into girl side ang pao box and vice versa for the boy side.. so there will be clear accountability the ang paos come from which side, esp if relatives/frenz dun hv the habit of writing names on the ang pao. Also good if relatives throw into the box accidentally (see my remark above)

DnA > I think not all girl side ang pao goes to us right? Cos i thot its dependent on wat the nego is like between girl side and boy side parents. E.g. boy side only give 5 tables but girl side relatives got 7 tables, then girl side can only take ang paos for the 5 tables.. the rest of the 2 tables goes back into paying for the dinner. At least tt's wat i thot.