(2010) 2010 Brides

Morning~

Jaq, just forwarded to you, check you inbox~

just got hubby's sms... he said our bath towels (on the laundry poles inside kitchen) kenna blown off by wind... he went downstairs to search but couldn't find them
luckily it wasn't our clothes...

sometimes house too windy also no good... haha :P

mooooooooorning !

ellen > my house windows, if never latch properly, will open when there strong winds, and usually it will rain into my house :S but so far dun't have things kenna blown away from INSIDE the house yet

any anime fans around ?

ellen: thanks alot..seems like the quote he give very cheap ah..coz was told that hacking is not cheap..hmmmm the items in ur quotation..half of it I dun need it..hahahaaha..but got other things I need to include tho..
huh..laundry poles inside kitchen blown out thru the window ah??

darrel: got this anime exhibition or smth right...

Darrel > LOL i experienced that for my bedroom's windows too... hubby tried to close the windows but wind forced them open again. gotta lock the panel to close :S

Used to read a lot of comics but now no time liao (and no space for comic books :P)

Jaq > yea i think his quote is quite reasonable, among the cheaper ones though not the cheapest. and my impression on him was quite good. actually, i would have sign with him if not becos he couldn't commit to our timeline :P

no lah not laundry poles... it's the bath towels on it... need to go buy new towels
now i suspect one of my shorts were lost this way...

ellen: ya will keep a lookout for other IDs n reno contractors..anyway my reno can slowly do but there is 1 mth limit from HDB right..

oh but the towels how come will fly away..can't imagine leh hahahaha... =P

Jaq > reno permits are usually issued for a 30 day period though typically reno last more than a month (usually 6 weeks to 2 months). but by the time this 30-day period is over, most of the left-over work would be simple things like painting, installing lights, touching up... which do not require any permit

yea lor lesson learned: use peg to secure clothes on laundry poles. it never occured to me that clothes can fly off cos this has never ever happened in my previous place :1

ellen: erm, I think its always wise to use pegs so that your clothes don't get blown away...even if there's no wind.

my place also got strong winds sometimes, need to latch one side of the window to close otherwise sure get blown open if just close both sides w/o latching.

oh no wonder, u should put pegs always on the clothes..towels should use those bigger n stronger ones so wun fly away especially if u staying 8th floor onwards...

think my service yard really need windows no choice..initially tot of excluding it....nowadays the rain is like pouring thunderstorm...smore top floor no upper floors to 'protect' hahahaa...

LOL previously i stayed on 8th floor but nv fly away mah... in fact, my previous home dun even have pegs zzz........ want to use also cannot.

Jaq, paiseh reno permit is for 28 days, not 30 days as what i stated earlier... :P

wkends inclusive..means left 20 days lor...if 9-5pm they do...1 week do 1 major thingy..should be ok bah I guess? since my house damn small compare to those resale de...

Jaq > gotta give buffer de... mine also planned for 4 weeks but in the end took 7 weeks.... sure have some surprises that come along the way.

and not everyday they work intensively (e.g. need to wait for things to dry ah, workers cannot come ah etc).

but if they stretch for more than 1 mth, can we complain? or is there any black n white saying that if they exceed the given time, they need to compensate or smth?

thomas: orh ok...but u wun know they reliable anot until u engaged them lol...coz I am sure many id/contractor not consistent with their words n actions to everyone

Jaq > that's why you need to get recommendations from friends/relatives on a good ID mah... they will be able to tell you whether the ID is reliable or not

like what Thomas mentioned, no one will put down completion date in black and white. cos sometimes it's also not the ID/contractor's problem if there is delay (e.g. HDB problem, home owners' problem...), they also need to protect themselves.

jaq, just go for the tried and tested ones, u won't go wrong with them. even if minor screwups, they will do their best for u.

ah soon's case is a very clearcut example...cheap doesn't mean its good.

I'm a dec2010 btb.

I've got a question to ask... I couldn't find my answer at the wedding cards section so trying my luck to post it here...

Am having my solemnisation before the wedding dinner... so i wonder if there's any better phrase then to say "wedding solemnisation begins at <time> sharp followed by dinner"?

Also, may I know what's the difference between "宣誓仪å¼x时紧接晚宴" and "宣誓仪å¼x时晋席"? where x=time

Cos I saw alot of couple's insert writes the latter and my hotel printer wrote the former...

TIA!

sinplyme > i think 晋席 means "be seated" i.e. dinner commence. if you asked me, i personally think the latter sounds nicer (better chinese) :P

anyway, most pple read the English version........

i am torn between the 2 cos the former seems to give clearer instructions and the latter is more "elegant" in phrasing...

hmm.. just wanna conduct a poll...
does
1. "wedding solemnisation begins at <time> sharp followed by dinner"
2. "wedding solemnisation begins at <time> sharp dinner to be served after"
3. "wedding solemnisation begins at <time> sharp
dinner to follow"
4. "solemnisation begins at <time> sharp
wedding dinner to follow"

which one sounds nicer/more 'elegant'?

morning all

ellen n thomas : noted..will check out more..

simplyme: I prefer no. 1, simple n get the msg across..pple dun go every word to read de hahaha.. =x

ellen >
sorrie for the confusion, i meant to ask about the chinese and english version phrasing in my 1st question but somehow the focus got on the chinese phrase.

so am asking one more time for the english and i wonder if there's any better phrases around...

bluerosie >
hm, i understand people won't actually focus on the words and these words are fine on their own but i don't want it to sound 'clumsy'...

okie so 1 vote for #1.
Anyone else?

alamak, i prefer No.4.... all choose different ones :S

btw sinplyme, just to share... my fren also did solemnisation b4 dinner, he smsed us like at least twice before his wedding to remind us to come on time. becos the sad truth is, nobody bothers to read the info on the invitation card!

end result - when his solemnisation starts at 6:45pm, almost all the guests have arrived, and dinner could actually start at 7:45pm (if they didn't wait for ONE particular relative, they probably could start b4 7:30pm).

usually solemnization only attended by immediate family n close relatives..or jiemeis/xiongdis n some very very close frens nia...so usually pple present at the dinner only..

ya is true pple dun really read the invite...I send sms 1 mth before, 2 wks before n 2 days before =x

yah, that's a sad truth... pple probably reads it but don't bother to be on time.

ellen >
what did ur friend write on his invites insert to inform about the solemnisation before dinner...

i'm trying to get samples of what others are writing but i seem to not be able to find anything leh...

i'm even contemplating to go down to other printers to "see" what/how they wld write... but i simply have no time for it...

bluerosie>
nope, it's not Tdragon, in fact, i'm contemplating to go to them to 'see' but no sure if they will entertain me.
the hotel printer did give me an insert and used phrase#1 but like I said, the words are fine but i'm trying to find another phrase to make it sound more 'elegant'.

i mean i could just go ahead with the printing but somehow it just seem so 'plain'. On the other hand, i tried googling for samples but i can't find it anywhere. those i found doesn't do solemnisation before dinner.

anyone knows and can share with me the 'standard' wordings they would put on the inserts for solemnisation before dinner?

If I still can't find the alternative, i probably wld go ahead with the proposed one...

a little demoralised. :x

simplyme: actually you can go to the printer... they have samples for you to choose de.. not necessary you have to follow your hotel style.. =) Good luck!!!

simplyme: r u inviting everyone to the solemnization? if not, just insert a piece of maybe photopaper - print on ur own for those u invited for the ROM..thats wat my hubby did for ours.

Jaq > that time my fren's intention is to get everyone to come for solemnisation... hence he put that down in the invitation and reminded everyone repeatedly... LOL

sinplyme > lemme ask him, see if he still has the template.. cos i just threw the card recently while moving house :/

Thomas > yea lor. my fren told me: why i need to read the invite? all "standard time" one mah - come at 8pm zzzzzzz.....

ellen: ahahahahahah usually pple wun attend the ROM...duno y.. tho I din expect but glad that my guests come at 7pm coz we put in the invite that we will start 7.30pm sharp n sms them remind come early..end up the bride is late lol..730pm then come down when everyone seated n get ready liao...but I think is also coz PH la..tats y pple can come early..no jam..just tat late afternoon it rain heavily..

Jaq > yours was on x'mas day, rite? i supposed the guests came early cos they dun want to be caught in traffic jam later at nite. jam in Orchard during x'mas is always terrible! but lucky for you... they come on time hahahaha

mine was q early too cos most of the guests went for church wedding in afternoon... they have nothing to do in between so just come to hotel earlier loh :P and i was at the ballroom around 6:45pm! my frens were shocked cos i was earlier than all of them LOL

simplyme: i had my ROM before my dinner also... If i still can remember correctly... the wordings are like:

Soleminzation commences at 6.30pm
Cocktail function commences at 7.00pm
Dinner commences at 7.30pm

then below the invites got 1 cartoon of bride and groom kissing with fonts below, 'Please be punctual, you do not want to miss the kissing..'

Hope it helps.

ellen:yup..I heard from my friends that orchard was very very quiet on the streets on xmas day..I also told my guests that if u come early, u can leave early also coz mine is 5 course western dinner n I target to finish everything latest 10pm...

yaaay.. now that got some time to pop in and post a quick message....

"wedding solemnisation" sounds gramatically wrong. It should be "marriage solemnization" or just "Solemnization".

you'll be surprises how many wedding invites samples given by hotels and printers have grammatical errors ... When I was doing mine, I got my family of teachers to scrutinize it.

darrel&amp;Geri >
yeah... now that you mention, i thought wedding solemnisation sounds weird too (though i can't pinpoint the 'mistake' &amp; also explains why I wrote option#4). So now i am looking for better phrasing.

Eelynn >
I would like to... but I have no idea how long the solemnisation ceremony wld take.
so we'll have the cocktail, then solemnisation and straight away to serve dinner after the solemnisation ceremony.

That's why i need a phrase...

i quote u "then below the invites got 1 cartoon of bride and groom kissing with fonts below, 'Please be punctual, you do not want to miss the kissing..'"
I like this idea! but too bad, space constraint.

simplyme: soleminzation takes about 5~10mins only.. then after that my guests proceed up for cocktail function.. then we used the time to take photos lor.. my dinner starts at 8pm...