(2010) 2010 Brides

Thomas> u din even cfm with me whether u r joining our meetup next fri and nw u want me to organize another one??? zzzz…

not sure it’s at cross junction anot… but rem it’s facing the road and there’s a stretch of other restaurants…. think there’s a coffee shop selling braised ducks

jaq> no la… think Thomas turned up for 2 outings (iirc)

Jaq > just read about your situation... i m really worried for you but i hope that you will be able to resolve the situation ASAP
maybe you can seek professional help e.g. financial planner? sometimes guys don't like their wives to tell them what to do, but they might listen to opinions from 3rd party more easily.

just to share... my own family was in a huge cc and bank debt b4 due to some v unfortunate incident. though it's finally over now, it has haunted us for 15 years and the experience was very painful. end result is relationship became sour and everyone in the family became very poor.

actually my wedding and house are on tight budget becos of this family debt. do remember that if one person is in debt, it's not only his own business, it can cause considerable damage to family and love ones around him as well, if the situation is not resolved properly.

credit card is a good tool, but only if one is able to clear every single bill fully.

really hope that your hubby will understand soon... really feel for you and you have my best wishes

Jaq > as to your question on HDB loan, i have done up a very extensive spreadsheet to calculate... it's not so easy to say which one is better becos you have to consider your own income and financial situation.

give an example from my case: if i wipe out CPF and take a shorter loan, i will pay less interest for full loan, but if i keep some amount of CPF and take a longer loan, i will be able to redeem my house fully after 10-12 years and go debt free sooner. This may also translate to less interest paid overall.

depending on your income and house price, scenarios can be worked out differently. but in a general sense, keeping some CPF will be good if you are NOT overstretching financially for your house.

Darrel > for my case, even if just leave the money in CPF and not doing any special investment, can still redeem the house slightly faster.

I also stretch my loan to 30 years as my hubby wants to invest instead.

Jaq> if your hubby has been having bad habits of over-spending, prob can seek a friend whom both of you trust and respect to talk abt this together. Or else seek professional help before it's too late..

Ellen> Ohh thanks for the HDB advice, i also done up the excel sheet on calculating the interest. Always think the shorter loan i take, the better (less interest to pay). But well u have a point, if calculating did wisely can claim the HDB back sooner then the intended loan span. Thanks Thanks. Will try calculating that in too.

I have never done CPF investment. I started working for 2 yrs only, what kind of CPF investment are there n what are the requirement?

memorable > there are some funds that government allows you to use CPF to invest, normally i ask my financial planner to recommend me.

As for requirement.. for now you need at least 20k in your CPF OA, becos the rule now is that if you use CPF money for investment, you must leave at least 20k behind.

memorable chocolate and booy,

when i surfed the SC website, it din state free waiver for 1st year... so basically it is the best card to use cos of the 300 rebate thingy right?

jaq,

for me, i also took a longer HDB loan though we can afford to do so within shorter years. just in case one of us lose our job (choy!) or decide not to work (me fat hope-ing!). anyway like what e others said, we can acculumate and pay lump sum when we are ready. btw, tt meet-up for flower petals only 4 of us (xiaofeizhu, aveline, u and me). dun have the so-called 5th person hor... eeek... so scary, i din know got 5th person. hahahaha........!

thomas,

welcome back! i hope ur japan trip left u with many memorable moments with wifey.
btw, hubby decided we are too scarly cat to go in JB for e curtains. but i've seen guinguin's recommendations in e curtain thread. have reported my findings to hubby. hee hee... our house is half completed. but all carpentary works not done yet. i hope i dun get a shock... wahahaha.....

TGIF!!!! wooohoooooooooooooooo!

ds: hahaaaaa....next fri I think a lot here cmi right? org one which most of us here can make it lah...can go for crab feast lol. yup I went for 2 meetups so far...u got a good memory

HG/qwerty: thanks
ya we left wonderful memories behind...hope we can go again in the near future.

all: finally finished captioning all my HM pics liao, feel free to view

thomas> found the name card of the crabby restaurant at macpherson... it's Ming Kee Live Seafood, 556 Macpherson rd. Tel: 6747 4075

i'm ok to organise de... but might not be prompt in replying in here... sometimes the thread here juz move too fast...
we can tentatively set in June lor... a fri will be better la.. at least eat too full liao also wun think next day gotta work =P
those interested ones can post here, then any1 can help to console names & post updates here....
see the response hw first lor

gd the morning everyone, finally see thomas posting 1st in the morning..ahahah smore is a Monday...

thomas: ah haben go thru ur photos 1 by 1 yet..just seen the pics at a glance..got time tonight then browse coz I also juz uploaded Port Dickson photos...my hainan island in old lappie, yet to finish lol.

ellen: thanks for the advise on HDB loan n abt my hubby..we just had a small talk over the wkend abt it, he told me he trying to clear the debts as much as possible n aim to debt free by end of this year..will see how lor..n told me whatever activities that need money, dun include him..sigh..means he on his own, I find others to company me for activities liaoz...

booy/happygirl: how they calculate the HDB interest? Yearly or monthly?

HG: Ya I think is 4 pax...but I rem suppose to be 5 then end up she can't make it coz of OT or what LOL..

jaq: hahahaha...sian mah so came in here first to lclc lo

tonite see ur photos too...my every photo also got put caption lol. do until 3am zzzzzzzzzzzz

good that u had a heart-to-heart talk with him...maybe u can remind him to scale down on his expensive hobbies too if he really wanna be debt-free.

Jaq, Thats nice to hear that he is doing all his best to pay n get out of other activities that need more $. I have been hunting for cheap activities ever since we start planning for wedding. Example on cheap activities you can look out for.

There are some campaigns having free event. Recently, Marriage Central has a Picnic at Fort Canning, free with picnic basket too. Go to museum over the weekends, most museum entrance ticket is cheap and they having a lot of promotion going on, can spend a entire day there too. Have a visit to “I Love Children†bus or MaybeBaby.com.sg to get a view on how much commitment needed to prepare you for a child. Go for free seminars and talks to improve your marriage.

Hunt for good lobang on the newspaper/online. In Feb, got the 1-for-1 lobster meal at only $19+ from Manhattan Fish Market. $1 Fish n Chips at Fish & Co on April. S’pore Flyers at $10 each per ticket promo etc etc… …

Just open your eyes big big, can find a lot of LoBang, can really save a lot and have fun too. Proud of myself too. Keke

moooooooooooooorning ! so sad. its monday again

thomas > took a glance at the photos... i saw a hero in just polo tee... not cold meh ?

jaq > to my knowledge, its calculated monthly.

went to the pixar exhibition at science center. Well, my wife liked it, and its quite informative but go only if you are a animation fan. Of course the 2nd purpose was to test out my new toy.

Camera Review:
--------------
What I like about it (Compared to my DSLR)
- Smaller and lighter than a DSLR
- Image output better than a low-medium range P&S
- Got flash. Yup. my DSLR got no built in flash :S
- Look at the composition from the LCD before pressing the button.
- Face detection =P
- easy to sneak into places which have "No Photography" signs and take a few shots. :P
- Not difficult to get people to take photo for you =)

What I don't like about it (compared to my DSLR)
================================================
- Noise control. Anything low light comes out quite noisy.
- Not used to the controls. Shooting in manual modes, hard to adjust the aperture and shutter speed. I prefer the dial based controls on a DSLR (as opposed to pressing the buttons on this.
- Too many controls/functions packed into the menu, so if you want the same control as a DSLR,the functions are not quite at your fingertips.
- 2x crop factor. My 14-42 lens is in reality a 28-84mm. not quite wide enough for me.

How its better than a P&S
=========================
- Bigger sensor, so better noise control, better DOF.
- less shutter lag (Faster capture speed)
- More control over the camera (White Balance, exposure compensation, flash compensation etc)
- Can change lens.

Overall
-------
The camera is good for
- Outdoor, bright daylight photos. I can see the difference between this and my P&S. Images are quite close to the output from a DSLR.

Beginners who want to try out a DSLR-like system before diving into the expensive photography hobby. I would put the costs as about 50% of what you would pay if you invest into a full DSLR system.

Darrel> Bo bian.. But this Sia Huat sale is really good. I got a lot of stuff from it last year.

Mem> Really a lot of tua lobang.. hahah...

mc: wow manhattan...yummy! u sound like a good lobang hunter keke

darrel: hahahahahhaa...that's what my tour guide said also...I'm more scared of hot than cold...I seemed to be the only one in our group who didn't wear any windbreaker/wintercoat for most of the places we went to. Still ok overall, only those places like snow mountain were really cold, no choice gotta wear haha.

booy: thanks for sharing the lobang...what did u get from there last yr? pots n pans? think I oredi got most of my stuff liao...this sale came too late sigh.

darrel: harvey norman warehouse sale also in tuas haha

Haha. Thanks all. Cus i pay more attention on newspaer/online on SALES den news... haha... my friend always say "u r not reading news right? u r just looking at all the promo n sales right..." haha. Ever sicne wedding, really born in it liao. lolx. My newlywed room furniture is from The Green, promo too. Haha

lucky i dun have anything to buy from harvey norman / sia huat liao.

Was doing a manual inventory of what i need in my house. and its mostly "Stuff to stick on the room walls"

morning all….

Thomas> yup yup… saw it…

u shld hv taken a pic with the Hello Kitty only mah… then I can save it on my desktop =P

ds: orr hor hor...u saying I cannot take pic of my wife or she spoils the picture is it? haha

honestly the kitty is HUGE! so bling somemore

all: was going thru our expenses for house/wedding last night together with wife, shocked to see the final figure...close to 110k!

Thomas > based on my budget spreadsheet now, the expected expenditure for house + wedding is already 120k. I hope I can keep to the forecast :S

Jaq > good to hear that~ hope that he can settle the money issues by the target date... jia you

oh those lobangs I also know of, like from newspapers or online blogs...but actually we dun spend much going out, everytime is movies n dinner else is going to some places which is FOC - window shopping n some parks lor..

ahhh house + wedding over 100k is normal wor especially for resale flat..

loan interest is calculated monthly..tat means I still think better to wipe out more cpf n pay minimal better, at least if we lose job, we don't need to pay so much...else transfer from cpf investment acct..I wanna max out my loan also up till 20 years..coz maybe in times to come, when we retire, can't even get a single cent out from cpf..

jaq: everytime movie is min $20 also...if u add that up it can be quite a substantial amt esp if u are a movie buff.

if really wanna save $, buy stuff and cook at home...really can save a lot and at the same time, hone ur cooking skills =P

Well, think my total damage is about 130K... Zzzz

Thomas, deb> it sells those pots, pans, utencils, cutlery etc.. Last year I bought some plates, bowls, cutlery, flask, wine glass etc.. The quality is good and after discount is very worth it.. Think this sale only happens once a year.. So can go for it if you have time..

thomas: I use the cc that actually has the cheapests $$ on movies..haha..buy stuff n cook @ home difficult, coz dun have own house yet..if own house I sure to cook on wkends. We usually go town area since everyday already going home facing the 4 walls lol..

thomas> dun "yuan wang" me hor... i din say that lor..
i'm juz thinking u shld take 1 pic with only the Hello Kitty mah... thn can gv it me mah...

yes, i do love Blings.... wahaha...

i guess everyone's spending should be around 100-150K (before subsidies) ...

so expensive to get married and start a family.

and the government keep saying that our cost of living is not high.

ds: hahahahahaha...u can do photoshop lor :P

saw a studded kitty there on sale...guess how much the price? a whopping 48,000 yen!

darrel: now u know why our birth rate is damn pathetic right? salary also can barely keep us afloat, how to support a baby?

48,000 yen is alright mahz..during the 30th anniversary of HK, they do up a HK wedding gown that cost almost US1million ah..mypaper today mention abt the popularity of HK going down.l.mid life crisis..hahaha not as popular as in the late 90s..

talking abt birth rate, I really wonder how our ancestors survive, giving birth to so many in the late 50s n 60s..our parents' era..

jaq: but its a puny figurine only leh...I def wun buy hahahahaa....

last time costs of living not high...I can have delicious wanton mee for S1.20 only. Now? foodcourt minimum also $3.00 lor....