(2010) 2010 Brides

Darrel> AHhaha! We jus ate on Mothers' Day last Sunday & alr my dad is planning for another session during the long PH. =P

Jaq> Nope, buy 1 lah.. =P Too troublesome to cook on own. HAhahah! Ya, i've been there b4, but hub hasnt. Wen i mentioned to him abt gg cameron, he said my MIL mentioned wanted to go penang visit relatives. But i told him visiting cannot go during long wkend, coz not enuff time.

alicia: wah visit relatives in penang..long wkend is alright la, depends on how u allocate the time lor, coz the relatives sure bring u all around..

the crab bee hoon and butter crabs are better than most others i've tried. also had a steamed garoupa that was good, and salted egg pork ribs. but only 4 pax eat. total damage $180

Happy Girl> so far I have not hit this annual fee problem. But if you use it to pay wedding expenses, 99% that you won't need to pay for annual fee for at least 1 - 2 years.

Darrel> Melben, I always go to the opp at Uncle Leong, not bad le esp the BeeHoon Crab. Few weeks ago wanted to try Melben but the Q super LOooooNG, end up we head back to Uncle Leong. Haha.

darrel: ya is expensive, high crass kopitiam pricing hahahah

uncle leong not nice leh..I tried last year all thumbs down hahaahah..think ever since me n my gfs eat eng seng crabs, nobody can replace them manz..not even the House of Sfood @yck which claim to be the ex eng seng crabs

Jaq> Aiyo! Cant finish the visiting in just 1 long wkend de, coz if other relatives noe tta we go penang visit, others will sure ask us to go too! And they all are all over m'sia! Hub's uncle even told us to start visiting from penang all the way downwards back to s'pore! =P

deb: old airport road hawker?
white pepper crab ah..hmm ok noted will try when have the chance..white pepper is usually no signboard but their standard drop alot after being 'high crass' aircon restaurant etc..

eng seng..not sure they move or what leh, that time my fren went on a wkend, it was closed...

eng seng moved out a few months ago. dunno where they went though. every week i sure drive past on my way to my MIL place.

now my preferred is the teochew cold crabs. natural crab flavour w/o any sauce.

darrel: ya thats what I heard also...nobody knows where they went..or did they really closed down..hmmm I google it but unable to find..

Jaq> His dad's siblings r staying in m'sia, but am not sure whether dad is m'sian. His mum's relatives r oso in m'sia, but she's a s'porean. 2 wks! We were worried not enuff leave to go visit them! AHhahah! Hub says MIL is hinting tat we shld go visit them. LOL~ But MIL told me quite recently tat she's gg m'sia (cant remb wich part) wif hub's uncle to visit her side of the relatives. HAhahah!

wah all talk on crabs now? me not really a big fan but will eat one or two pieces...uncle leong not that bad lah, melben must book in advance esp weekends. queues are crazy really.

jaq: pardon me for asking, is wes deeply in cc debts now that he can't even afford to give u that $100 extra for the tickets? I'm also quite shocked to read what u posted earlier...and the worse part is, he indulges in expensive hobbies and does not seem to know how to control himself from overspending. maybe u need to give him a wakeup call really...

I have seen many marriages broken down bcos of money issues...when a couple starts quarrelling over finances, there's no end. hope u can find recourse soon...cheer up!

alicia: lol...I just read back the archives and saw ur post on iona...the salesman really smoked u big time, no way it is made in japan...kaoz. I also have 1, not bad for that price lah.

booy/hg: we also practise the same like u, got joint acct and contributions are based on % of our salaries to be fair...me like darrel also, earn lesser than wife haha. so many of us got joint accts I realised!

bel: thanks =)

Thomas> HAhahah! Ya lor! -_-" I guess he said it's a japn brand coz the box is all in japanese. -_-" But my mum has been using for a while liao, so far no comments from her yet.

alicia: wah all relatives migrate to M'sia..hahaha like that then u all split lor..2-3 mths take a wkend off n visit 1 place...the important 1 first..hahaha

thomas:ya he trying to clear as much as possible now as what he say la..but everytime he 'yan er wu xing' say nia but end up no do de...I also dunno, sometimes I say him why he can spend hundreds or thousands on his gadgets including car why not save for our house/wedding/trips etc..yest in the car talking abt the jay chou tics thing, he still can say we arguing or quarrel over $$... I told him im not angry or pissed off with him, juz that why u promise things but end up never live up to it lor..teach me how to give him wake up call can? He dun listen to me, n ignore whenever I nag..if my marriage broken down, I think financial is just partial of it..majority is his thinking sometimes I feel..so now back to square 1 lor

jaq: how abt showing him ur reno quotes? =P 10k for reno is really very tight, somemore u hvnt include furniture, appliances and the likes...

credit card bill if u rollover, the interest is scary...does he know? I make it a point to clear all my cc bills every mth and make sure no rollovers after my wife explained to me...banks are really legal loansharks who can suck u dry...

Jaq> HAhahaha! Tat will take at least half a yr to finish all the visiting! Mayb u ask him to gif u the money meant to pay off the cc debts den u pay for him?

Thomas> Ya lor.. Next time i'm gonna buy the brand La Gourmet. =) MIL says it's gd!

thomas: show him reno quotes? how wor..I haben give to IDs yet for design n quotation..I say 10k is coz thats somehow the basic reno..coz I plan not to have reno loan or minimal reno loan of up to 5k then furniture/electronics stuff pay instalments else buy those mandatory one 1st lor..coz I not a person into must make house nice nice kind, I wanna make it as simple as plain possible so not much housework to do n since we be out most of the time so make how nice also nobody see..wahahahahah..foresee future when got kids ah, lagi dun have time to keep the house real spick n span

ya the interest is horrible..thats why he is paying like mad now after receiving a horrible letter from the bank. I also clearing my debts as much as I can now..since I gotten higher salary now at new coy..

considering that banks charge 2% interest per month for CC bills, thats a whopping 25% a year. best part is they give less than 1% interest to our savings accounts.
think i need to start putting my money into long term investments.

I never quite liked using CC, and interest free installments are worst. I tried it once, but i didn't like the feeling that i have some debt hanging over me. Best is pay cash. at least I'm spending money i already have in the bank.

alicia: hahaha at least u finish the visiitng mahz..right? My hubby got this high ego thing which I dun wanna touch...if he give me all his $ n say help him pay debts etc..I doubt he be happy lor..actually my parents r like that last time till my mum went to spend my dad $$ without him knowing n got a huge brawl over it..n my dad v unhappy ,say he wan to control his own $ n spend what he like since is his hard earn $ other than supporting the family also...so upon seeing this when im young, I dun wan to happen to me also..

jaq: ya, try not to take reno loan...not good feeling also staying in yr hse when u know that even the reno has not been fully paid up for...I nvr practise buying things on installments, I'd rather pay all at one shot if I can afford. If can't, then save up till I can buy. Can't imagine living in my hse when everything is on installments.

banks love to do that...dun ever ever fall into their traps...I got many calls from them asking me to take their loans...I told them sorry not interested and hung up...

darrel we have the same thinking...debt-free feeling is good.

jaq: my CCs are hardly used hahahhaa...dunno why I applied for them also lol. only use citibank's at times when I need to, otherwise I try to refrain from swiping unless I want the points.

anyway thanks all for hearing my rant n giving me advise..is still up to him whether he wanna do smth abt it anot..so I just pray everyday lol

darrel: that's using cpf which we can't see and wun strip off our daily expenses..smore when we retire..we can't even really spend the $ fully..

eh talking abt HDB loan, check with u all, have u all compare the different scenarios of giving more 'wipe out' cpf then pay shorter years n minimal amount, and vice versa?
Coz I dun really know how to calculate and 1 of my ex colleagues told me, actually is the same amount add up..just that whether HDB loan interest will go up in years down the road..

jaq > that one is a long story... my wife's bestie explained to us before, which is why we maxed out our loan period.

This only works for HDB loans. Consider this:
1) HDB loan can only shorten the loan period voluntarily. can never extend the loan
2) There is no penalty if you shorten the loan period.
3) You can do lump sum payment to clear (e.g. pump in 20K) on top of the regular installment payments.
4)HDB interest is always pegged to 0.1% above the interest they give you.

What we did was to pay only the minimum sum required for the house payment. In our CPF, the excess amount put to investments. Shares, Unit trusts, whatever. What you need is something that generates more then 2.6%. Long term investments usually have no problems hitting that. In the worst case, after the loan kicks in, put the money back into CPF. Where else can you find a bank that give you 2.5% interest to your bank account, and charge you 2.6% to borrow money from them.

melben has another branch at toa payoh lor 8... queue is not as long as amk... hv not been there for quite some time liao...

nv try eng seng crabs b4... heard lots of rave abt it

there's another place that serve very nice crab bee hoon (is dry one) but cant rem the restaurant name le... only kw is along macpherson rd and near to windsor hotel... think is a teochew restaurant

Jaq, There is always a thing call “blessing in disguiseâ€. For me since married, u can’t wake him up by leaving him. That is totally out. So another thing is to wait for the perfect moment when he fails. Just like your mum, she over spend, that’s y your dad took the authority to do the controlling. Most man will love that day to come after years of wife controlling. So now, you just stand by him, until that day comes, (financial crisis-not cursing your hubby) but hope that day will make him grow and will even respect your judgment in future. Nobody knows how long it will be but thats the life of a married person.

Nagging may just be an opposite effect, just accept it since u already know him b4 u married him. But somehow do let him realize that you are “Wei Chu†but not till the extend he get irritated. Let him “Xin Tong†(heart pain u) instead of telling him straight. I’m sure there is a lot of insecurity going on, living such a life is not good for the marriage/family, is scary to even think of having kids with a hubby that can’t really contribute.

This is marriage, we all do, we married an imperfect someone so we can try to be perfect.

darrel: oh..coz I was thinking to get 20 years loan n wipe out combined 100k to HDB when we get our keys..then leave the rest investments, coz after calculation, we able to pay monthly HDB loan if both still working..

u drive pass on wkdays issit..wkday nights quiet de..wkend is horrible..especially 6-6.30pm..

ds-gerl: I know which 1 u talking abt..but there not convenient parking also like eng seng..haha...

memorable: ya but I dun think he will xing tong me coz I basically trying to buy cheap stuff n spend thoughtfully but he is opposite lol. I told him before, after 2-3 years paying the loans for house then can have kids..I rather have it late then to have it now coz the kids have to suffer with us at this kind of situation..rather spend whatever impt stuff 1st then save up for giving birth, at least wun struggle like mad coz kids will be the 3rd commitment other than house expenses n parents'.

jaq > actually it sounds like one of my friends too. As a friend, i can't really criticize him on how he spends his money, but ever since his 1st child was born, at least he think before he spend. Even now, they got a EM, which is rented out. The rental money supposed to be for their reno, but the current situation is that they can hardly save much esp with the car and the baby. Anyway, just don't get the expectation that things will take and abrupt change, so if you want things to improve, probably have to guide him into it so it becomes a habit.

Also, actually i'm a bit skeptical on how the loan thing works as well.. but her bestie is one of the high flyers in the bank's loans department, so i just take her professional advice.

since so many here loves crabs, why not DS organise a crab outing?

I'm sure many here wld give u face again like the last time hahaha...

darrel: sometimes I really feel like telling him how to control his spending, plan etc but at the same time not to let him have impression that I teaching him how to spend n letting me know what he spend on etc..is the ego I hurting if I do tat..so maybe 1 fine day when he is free, sit down with him n do the sums bah..maybe ask him do up his mthly expenses list n give me see then ask him fork out 200-300 pass to me, but only worried he will ask me for this $ when he overspend again lol

thomas: since u mention, u organise la..hahaha..ds_gerl gonna have her AD soon wor

I dun want to vomit blood hahahahaha....ds still got a lot of time to her AD lah...she even organised meetup in her oct thread leh.

btw jaq, so far u nvr come for any meetups leh...dun give face si bo? hahaha..

thomas: eh who say I never come for meetups..I go for all gals meeting..u only went 1 meetup right..think I go for 2-3 gatherings...1st was with sharlene,HFL,eve..that was suppose to have 10 over pple end up only 4 of us hahahaa..then 2nd 1 was collecting silk rose petals from xfz at causeway point, avelyn, HG n another gal..I forgot her name liao lol..then 3rd was nubra shop, randyce,deerixp,angelia,ds_gerl I met..after that I no time coz prep for AD le

Thomas> ever since we started planning for wedding, we opened a joint acct.. But luckily my hubby has a bigger savings than me.. So he paid much more than me for wedding and house.. Now I'm slowly influenced by him to save more.. I used to be quite a big spender.