(2010) 2010 Brides

toilet totally never do. only change the the toilet bowl and the fittings. no budget liao....

kitchen tiles is overlay. never hack. the costs of overlay is $5.80 psf incl tile costs of $3.30 psf

Darrel, thanks for the very detailed explanation
hmmmm not as ex as I expected... How many sqm is your 5-room? and how's the quality of china tiles?

darrel: oic...for me I only did overlay in my common toilet, mbr toilet nvr do cos no $$$ liao

then better pray hard ur tiler does a good job...

jaq: why u see my hse no up?

thomas:see ur house no up? I dislike timber flooring leh...must wax n take really gd care..abit of stuff spill to it, must faster wipe n clean liao else stain...

deb > laminate need more effort to maintain, but nicer to step on, cos it feels warm (instead of the cold feel of tiles). drawback is its harder to maintain, cos it will absorb moisture and warp. me = lazy person, so use tiles. just mop can liao. never look at laminates, so i can't give comments on that :P but i know laminate got different thickness as well. usually after a few years, you can get someone to come in and sand off the top layer, kinda like polishing works for tiles. but the laminate will become thinner. also if the laminate you use is not good, may have small holes cos the wood not solid enough. My wife's room got a few laminate boards, got little holes cos after 'polishing' a few of the boards got holes... like air bubble like that...

holes make it sound like very big ... but actually its ok if you're not too picky. if not, then dun re-polish/sand/buff ...

wah...nowadays everything also need to pay and pay.

neither did i know homo tiles can be so expensive. wat about laminates? do we have to excercise more care? if leave a puddle of water (accidentally la) then the laminate will pop a bubble right in the middle of the floor?

thomas > i also praying hard :S ... but so far so good. cos i go check everyday :P

my 5 room is 113 sq meter.

I can't comment on china tile... cos i dunno whether mine is from china or indonesia or malaysia, and I haven't used it long enough to know if it started warping.

but generally (cos i used 3 types of tiles)
homo tiles, you need to ask the shop for a problem called "running tones" certain types of design will have this problem, as its almost impossible to get the tiles to the exact same colour because of the manufacturing process. especially for those that have designs on them. but there are some designs that do not have this problem.

mine had this problem. my tiles came in 3 different shades and after laying, look really ugly.. My contractor stopped the work called me to go and check, end up we hacked away all the tiles again, and picked a different tile. during the re-selection, the staff explicitly tell us which are the tiles which have a reported running tone. End up my reno overrun around 2 weeks.

randyce> i want the valuation to be as high as possible to reduce my COV, cos i already agreed on the selling price haha...

darrel> cos my entire floor tiles is quite ugly plus i wanna do hacking so its hard to keep the current tiles. so instead of hacking and redoing, tout that overlaying would be cheaper..

generally, wood flooring is harder to maintain, regardless of laminate, timber, bamboo ... but has its own set of advantages.

so depend on what you like personally.

Morning all.. I'm super stoned today.. Yawn..

Mic> I'm also using own songs rather than hotels. Hotel's one is the usual oldies..

booy> y so stoned?? haha im actually in class but has absolutely no idea what the tutor is talking about.. so happily chatting away here

jaq: mine timber flooring mah

if its solid timber flooring, it will not have bubbles unless its laminated flooring...

val: try not to use laminated flooring cos over time bubbles will come out also...

deb: nowadays with the crazy prices of resale, very seldom owners will wanna sell without even waiting for valuation report to be out unless they in debt or sth else...how did u manage to convince owner to sell u first?

do take note that overlaying is cheaper of cos like what I mentioned above, but possibility of tiles popping out over time is there, esp if work done is slipshod. When that happens it can really be a nightmare. My suggestion is to spend more and hack, safer and peace of mind.

thomas> its the owner who dun wanna do value.. he just gave us a price so we decided to take a gamble w it
thats wat im worried about also.. esp my place is high humidity. So worried that it will pop out

then better to hack and retile everything deb.

unless u really no $$$ then no choice lah...

if report comes out, valuation higher than what u paid = u kio tio lobang

if lower than what u paid = u lugi

hmmmm in HK (and other temperate places), wood flooring is more common, maybe becos it's warm. my home's tiles have been around for close to 30 years, just do waxing once every few years (actually last time we did was more than 10 yrs ago :P), now still looks good.

won't be so serious until a bubble in the middle of the floor la...

For Singapore... tiles are good cos weather is so hot! warm floor is not a priority hahahaha

I'm glad that mine is marble. Can't bear to hack..

Deb> work till early this morning. So my eyes are closing now.. Classes must be very boring.. Haha..

Randyce> Yes.. Overseeing othe people doing their work is boring and tiring.. Yawn..

thomas> wah if value higher then i can pop champagne liao haha... just reno is v extensive for the hse so thinking of possible savings.

booy> class is really boring .. 3hrs and I have absolutely no idea what she is talking about

jaq: for me split half half with my wife...got think of employing maid? lol

deb: yalor if really val higher than u must buy us dinner liao lol. is the condition bad? how old is the unit? mine was 6yrs old, owner sold immediately once he can sell (must stay 5yrs at least) so practically move-in condition...

when you compare

1) making a mess + get scolding+nagging
2) clean up + get praised

(1) is obviously a more thankless job. also it helps to create more jobs (2) and opportunities to get praised. Now government keep emphasizing on recovering economy and job creation.

so actually my task more difficult.

thomas > i still think i lugi... cos my work clothes dun need to iron. i wear polos + jeans. so actually when my wife do ironing, 90% of the clothes is hers.

Darrel > "sme make the mess, my wife clean up" > sounds like my case except that my HTB can't even cook hahahahaha

Thomas > yours is Jalan Membina side?

Also know some friends that agreed on a selling price when OTP... then valuation report came out lower than expected... either save on COV or no COV... very lucky indeed.

Ironing is my greatest nightmare...

Thomas> hahaha.. I'm just being arrowed to make sure things dun screw up. Once screwed up, it becomes my responsibility. Lousy job..

Deb> no choice, major project. Need to make sure things go well..

Studying is always boring.. Until now, I'm still procrastinating if I should continute to study.. 

hihi all...

valerene: hihi.. sorry but my childhood montage i did it myself leh.. not by PG...

anni: okie... do some research b4 confirming... Good luck!! =)

thomas> haha mine is super old flat. 35 yrs liao. original condition so alot of reno needed..

haha hire part time maid.. tt's my idea. so she can come in to wash the toilet, iron the clothes and mop the floor. lol...

Jacq, ya, I received the booklet u mentioned. Actually I heard of a fren she uses hotel's Songs den jam!! Think keep playing till e disc spoil! Hahaha I'm using my own too... Searched fir some songs le, btw, so we need to get song to play for 3 hrs? Sounds sooooooo many songs will be needed.. Lazy.. Haha

mich: u dun need to get songs to play 3 hrs la..at most is 1.5hrs nia coz got ur montage,2 march in, yam seng, express highlights...juz select maybe 15-20 songs then repeat lor...I doubt pple will notice the songs much also..hahahah

yes..better back up at least 3 copies - 1 in CD, 1 in thumbdrive, 1 in laptop.

Haha, ic. Thanks! Think sooner or later will need u guys to intro me id le.. Keke.. See u all talk about Reno I also excited on mine. :x

Hi, I just checked with my hotel. They don't allowed copied music / burnt CDs, can't even embed music in the montage... all must be played from original CD.
All of you don't have this problem?

my hotel never say anything about it... yet

but then, i just bot a CD and will just ask the hotel to loop it. 90% of the people won't know whats being played anyway.

irene: should be since is not playing from their side...PA system is to broadcast the music n emcee mahz...this I not sure leh..I got no problems with my hotel..they only ask whether need to use their player or not nia

darrel: u can wear so casual to work? so gd

ellen: mine is Kim Tian Road. Membina is nearby also hee.

irene: my hotel told me to try to bring original CD even though I'm using burned copy just in case...montage she didn't say anything so I guess shld be ok.

deb: no wonder need complete overhaul...

mich: when u are ready for reno PM me, I'll give u my ID's contact. Reno ahead of schedule so quite happy with him lah.