(2010) 2010 Brides

thomas> happy birthday

randyce> abt 16" i tink...u bought serta too? My mom bought a beige color bedsheet from robinson for my gdl. But seems like everyone using red for bridal bed and my MIL also prefer red too.

thomas: Happy Birthday!!!

val: i bot serta too!!heee..hahha..my bedsheet is brown colour and my quilt cover is cream colour..haha..den i buy a red runner and put across the bed..haha..

val: i haven buy yet... was thinking when to get one when i shift house leh so when doing the an chuan can buy liao....

what is the standard thickness for the normal bedsheet? cos i remember i ask them they say they gt 13,14,15,16 inches de....

val > nope. cos the aircon, i dun get it thru my ID. using from the company that install the aircon for my brother, my sister, my current house... more reliable and at least we know his work is good.

randyce> standard thickness btw 12-14" i tink. But serta abit thicker, 15-16". Same goes to Simmons. Anyway, bedsheets for thick mattresses easily available at robinson and taka. But not sure if they hv e traditional red kind like wat my MIL wants. Aussino hv but their size dun fit. Guess i hv to go taka/robinson to see see again. heh.

darrel> i see. =) i got my aircon fr gain city and my id arranged the piping and aircon installation for us.

Hi Peeps

Now rarely has time to come in here to chat cos too bogged down by work and has been doing OT everyday since... now 1 person do 3 person jobss si bei sianz... wedding stuff like standstill, lucky hubby is helping with alot of co-ordination work... gg for food-tasting on sunday and viewing of album 1st layout draft on monday... everyday is just lei lei lei...

val: i bot it at chinatown..haha..coz we decided to buy gd quality bedsheet..and robinson dun have it in red..so in the end..decided to use runner if not the bed looks v white..thou no one say anything..haha..the runner have the bride and groom de..v cute..hee..

thomas> I was a tea-lady during a fren's wedding. And i had an assistant to help wash the cups as well. U intending to hv an assistant tea-lady to help wash the cups durin tea ceremony in the hotel? I'm wondering whether the washroom is near now..coz if not, how to wash the cups? hmm...

Sharelene> u bought where in chinatown huh? i'm interested...heh

Jaq> Where u bought the bedsheet? issit the mkt beside OG chinatown?

Alicia> really ar? where u all find the tea-lady de? among frens? coz among my jiemeis, none are married leh.

Erh..how abt the one carry the umbrella for bride? Any other roles need to find marrried women?

alicia: for me I ask my aunt who is not married..actually I think anyone also can bah if not pantang

val:I bought at 1 of the stalls in the chinatown complex ..basement is wet market 1..the sago lane 1 also got sell bedsheet..

the 1 carry red umbrella must be ur dad..

val: i bot it at the chinatown foodmarket there behind the temple..at 1 of the shops on lvl 1..level 2 is all the food stalls..think the shop name called jia jia...

for the person serving the tea, traditionally, it has to be a married lady. you can ask ur aunties to take turns to help out.

carry red umbrella is the dad. and only when the bride leave the house.

ang pow for the auntie serving tea, should be given by your parents. cos normally, jr give senior ang pow is strange. you can pass to the ur parents to give, or let ur parents figure out...

valerie> Eh, in the end, the tea-lady for my SIL is hub's aunt lor.. The wife of tat "da jiu" who "scolded". =P So my MIL says ours will be her oso. Not sure abt the umbrella-carrier tho..

Jaq> I oso dunno leh.. Since elders say like tat, den jus follow lor..

1 thing to note for some, couple kneeling during tea ceremony for parents, grandparents is a must..some is not..depends on ur family also. Both side parents dun wan us to kneel so we juz stand n give tea..a

Alicia> i'm a christian too. Wat i heard is kneeling can coz is out of respect for parents but bow cannot. But i'm not entirely sure too la..tink i better check with my elders first..heh

mmm .. i think my wife gown also cannot kneel :P

bow .... its like funeral leh :S

anyway traditionally, tea is usually serve to the parents first, then grandparents. Cos the parents are the one who bring you up. but sometimes very hard to argue especially when most aunties have always think it goes by seniority

valerie > hmmmm the version i was told is kneel cannot but bow can... hahaha....

for tea-lady.... seems like it's really dependent on whether your families mind or not... I have a lot of friends who use their own sis (younger sis most of the time) as tea-lady. I have been one myself... And yea many pple have an assistant to help washing cups... supposed to give ang pao to both if there are two tea ladies...

ya parents shld be 1st coz immediate seniors. some bow some kneel la..for us both also we dun have..hahahaha..I stand until feel the strain on my shoulders coz of the gown..zzzz..

Ellen> really? tink i better check again. =P For tea ladies, many of my friens also use their own fren or sisters. But my tea ceremony venue is at hotel. Not sure if the washroom is near. If not, the poor assistant hv to run to and fro to wash the cups..

if u all dun mind, check with relatives whether u all can use a pail to briefly wash the cups beside..save the time running ard..for mine is my uncle runner - help to wash 2 cups while the other 2 cups serve

Jaq> HAhahaha! Tink nowadays most ppl dun kneel le bah...

valerie> My church elders still reminded us cannot kneel wen serving tea. wahahha! My tea ceremony oso will be at hotel. For my SIL's de, her tea ceremony is in their bridal suite, so they jus bring a pail of water from the toilet & put on the floor/beside the tea set den each couple drink liao den use tat pail of water to wash the cups.

Ellen> HAhahaha! Tat time my SIL's wedding, she initially ask her bridesmaid to be tea-pourer, but b4 the bridesmaid start to do anything, hub's da jiu saw the bridesmaid wif the tea set & "scolded" lor.. So no1 dare to say anyting or even move! Such tense feeling tat time! lol~

michelle > personally, i dunno any :P

but from my observations as a photographer, when you call and ask, check the experience of the MUA. unless you are on a budget, then get those fresh out from makeup school.

usually the more experienced will know more styles, and are faster. if not you have to wake up super early cos the makeup take very long...

hello all ... am on leave today ... had my anchuang early this morning at 6am ... yawnz den went back to my place to sleep ... met up with co-ordinator to finalize banquet details too ...

me n hubby having our hen's n stag nite today together ...

thomas> happy birthday!!!!

if we pay to download songs can??
cos am thinking of using 1 song from a movie soundtrack for the 1st dish but i've lost the CD... tried searching at a few cd shops but to no avail.... htb managed to find a website to d/l but need to pay $$$

val> during my bro's wedding, we hv 3 ppl helping.... 1 tea lady (1 of their JM, single), my aunt (single) and myself (also single)... my aunt and myself helped to pour away the unfinished tea and rinse the cups in a pail... in fact, my mum also helped abit by running in and out of the kitchen to change the pail of water....
so actually, u will need the following:
-a flask to keep the tea warm and to refill the tea pot
-a bowl big enough to pour away unfinished tea
-a pail containing clean water for rinsing the tea cups

as for the red umbrella thingy, it shld be for certain dialects only rite??
my bro's wedding and htb's sis wedding dun hv leh...

kneeling or not kneeling really depends on individual families... and provided that those 3gu6po dun make such a big fuss over it....
but anyway i cant kneel too... cos gown is big & heavy.... think need alot of ppl help me get up if i really need to kneel down... but bro & SIL dun need and so can I!!! hahahahaa....

ave, eve> enjoy urselves tonite!!

all: thanks for all your birthday wishes, appreciate it
had a very enjoyable time yest though sort of unconventional birthday celebration hahahaa...

val: normal fitted sheet thickness u can find easily at most stores is 9" to 12", beyond that u have to go to places like robinsons, taka liao. Those red bedsheets for wedding we went to check liao, a lot come until 12" only which means def cannot fit ur serta. That's why I dropped it from my list in the end hahaha. Your serta is so thick? 16"? oh my...

regarding the tea lady, we haven't decided yet, prob either get one of my wife's aunties or her jiemeis (married one) to help. As for the washing, like what the rest said, u can get a pail to wash instead of running to and fro toilet. As for the tea sets, my hotel has arranged two sets for me so it helps too, no need to wash so many times.

mich: xiaomei, my wife's MUA is very good, she's very happy with her so far. If u want her contacts I try asking my wife for it cos I dun have.

ave: all the best tml! be a pretty bride!

DS: me not v sure on that...maybe its better for u to call compass or ur hotel and ask?

as for the red brolly, so far I know all dialect groups also practise it, just that carried by who got quite a few versions. Some say dad, some mum, some jiemei...