(2010) 2010 Brides

Hi Darrel & Geri,

My hse is still under renovation. We leave everything to our designer to lias with his contractor... Basically, we only see the progress on weekend. Below is the quotation for my hse hacking & removing. Hope my info can help u
Let me know if u need any help.

1) To hack off & remove living room, 3 bedrooms & store existing floor finish - 1,650.00
2) To hack off & remove kitchen & 2 bathrooms existing wall & floor finish - 2,200.00
3) To hack off & remove kitchen & bedroom entrance concrete arch,sink/hob support, 3 nos. door frame, new master bedroom entrance including 2 bathroom sanitary ware - 450.00
4) To demolish & remove existing kitchen cabinet- 300.00

Total for hacking & removing: $4,600.00

Cheerz,
AGNESGAL

booy: how many poses do u have? ur ren gong very impressive sia...

alicia: just came back from mattress hunting again, now more inclined to dunlopillo =P tml last round of mattress hunting before we decide, told my wife not to see anymore cos the more we see, the more confused we will be.

Thomas, Alicia> My package has 50 photos.. So that's it.. It was a very painful process manz.. My ren gong is not as good as my hubby's stop gong.. Hahaha..

Booy> hahahaha! Wah! But at least ur package alr has 50 fotos. =) How much time did u spend over der to select the pics?

I jus ordered my "budgeted" bed from those neighbourhood shops. The bed frame costs $230, the mattress costs $320 & 2 pillows costs $36. Boss gave a bit of discount of $16, den plus gst total costs $609.90.

Alicia> I spent around 4 hours there.. Not easy to be filtering all these photos..

Quilt cover is those cover to cover your quilt which resembles a thicker blanket.. If you fold your blanket like hotel style, then it will cover almost entire bed except your pillows..

me back...finally bought my mattress as mentioned yest but I did not get Dunlopillo in the end hahahahahaha...

booy: 50 poses no need to top up liao lah, very good liao. Mine 30 only so very little really...which mattress and model did u buy? I think I got the same as u

alicia: what size? price sounds ok

deerixp: duchess series? what brand?

Alicia> It's used like a blanket...

Thomas> I asked for more photos right from the start.. But in the end, 50 is still not enough.. Wanted very much to top up, but must control... haha..

Mine is a slumberland, not dunlopillo..

Deerixp> When's your 2nd PS? So good to have two PS..

mooorning all.

agnes> thanks for the info =) I'm still comparing qoutes to spot those super marked up items. I guess mine looks ok.

Friday i met up with one contractor to review the quote. Sat went to expo to get another one, and meeting another one tonight.. Hopefully I should get enough info. Almost all the contractors I spoke on the phone warned me that trying to meet the CNY deadline was a bit difficult cos this is the construction peak period. *sigh*

booy > photos is never enough one =P . At least ur package has 50 photos...

Morning all...

Darrel> Yah.. That's why I purposely top up for more photos right from the start...

Contractor are even slower than ID.. They are not as organised.. If you want to meet tight deadline, try ID instead... But CNY usually tough because a lot of people renovates their existing house for CNY as well..

booy > the problem is some of the so called "ID" firms are nothing more than glorified contractors.

I do have contact for a pure ID, which is ... they specialise in doing design only but it sounds expensive that I dun dare to ask.

One contractor i spoke to said the problem is getting tilers. Carpentry work they can still handle, but with the IR, and being the peak season, seems like there is a shortage.

Now i look at is as ... if done before CNY, then its a bonus =S

Darrel> I rather they tell me honestly that they cannot do it than to give empty promises.. You want to try ideal hse? They are pretty good from what I see.. Price wise is reasonable for a ID.. Of course they also sub-contract to contractors, but they will manage them.. Not you..

booy > i asked them to quote before. Their tiling work is ok, but the carpentry is quite expensive.

The other quote i got is the other way around. Carpentry is cheap but tiling is expensive. :S

Between the 2 qoutes, they both listed different floor area for tiling, although its the same floor plan. So I dunno who's trying to scam me.

So i'm getting 2 more quotes to compare before this week then decide.

Actually the one i meet will monitor the reno for me too. Cos all payment go thru them, then they sub-con out.

urrghh. Reno is such a headache.

Darrel> Carpentry is usually expensive.. Carpentry is impt, if they use those kind of block wood, your carpentry will be gone case in no time, but it's definitely cheaper.. Make sure that they use plywood, it's more lasting.. It depends if you want to pay for quality carpentry which comes with a price...

Tiling can be cheap or expensive depending on the tile selection that the ID/contractor provides you.. At least $3 per tile will give you a better selection, the tiling might be cheap because they give you a very limited tiling selection.. In the end, if you choose the more expensive tiles, you need to top up the difference which add up to be the same...

Reno makes me lose a few kg in 1 month, it is one of the biggest headache... haha..

Morning all~

Booy> Ok, thanks! Tink i wont need a quilt cover den..

Darrel> It's like tat de lor.. Wat to do?! Gotta go through the procees! Gambatte!

Darrel> my ID from Ideal Hse. I can emial my quote to u if u want. But mine is premium flat so i'm not doing the flooring and hacking..

Darrel> I looked at the quotes until i blur also. The way they quote is different from one another. Sometimes make comparison very hard...in the end we settled for Ideal hse, coz we felt most comfortable with him. heh.

actually when i looked at the quote from ideal hse, i realised they break into living room, bedroom etc...

so when i compare the hacking costs, end up i have to write my own spreadsheet and key in. :S

oh well...

at least my dad offered to sponsor the washing machine, fridge and microwave for us, so that frees up some cash =)

Alicia> The quilt is useful for cold weather or aircon.. Without aircon, the quilt is too thick manz..

Valerie> Trust me.. It's such a painful process..

Darrel> A lot of my big items are all sponsored as well.. COV, reno and furnishing slashed away 3/4 of my wedding budget.. So I can understand all your reno woes... Kan Kai Yi Dian..

Booy> hahahaha! Me hub not really afraid of cold, wen he sleeps at nite, he'll on the aircon & fan. lol~ So if we get a quilt cover, it'll be too hot for him. =)

Booy> No lah. Joking only. haha. But really, reno is really alot of money. juz bought my fridge and washing machine yesterday. Broke sia...

Valerie> Totally understand.. During my reno period, I was always complaining that I felt that I was spending like a millionaire.. Every weekend is a Da Chu Xue.. Few thousands gone every week.. This week, I will buy TV, next week I will buy sofa and bed, another week I will buy the sanitary fittings etc. But my money doesn't come in that fast.. That's when I see my bank account depreciating like nobody business.. Really demoralising, but no choice.. So now all I can say is Kan Kai Yi Dian.. At least you dun need to pay COV.. My hard cash paid even before reno started was close to 40K...

Anyone tot of march in and express highlight songs? I'm still thinking..

Valerie> No choice.. With the COV and the min. sum to pay the bank, upfront we already need to cough out a lot of $$$.. Really bleeding..

Eve> I'm thinking of not using those conventional songs.. But tough to find another one that is meaningful as well... haiz..

I'm thinking of Hokkaido or taiwan if budget.. If got budget, I will go Europe liao..

Chrissy> That's in total for the COV and the sum to pay to the bank as I'm taking bank loan..